• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Online users express anger towards Chan Chun Sing over his remarks of calling people “idiots” and “disgraceful”

micromachine

Lieutenant General
Last week, Minister for Trade and Industry Chan Chun Sing conducted a closed-door meeting with a group of business leaders organised by the Singapore Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Industry (SCCCI).

In the meeting, he addressed a number of issues including people’s behaviour of panic buying and hoarding essential items in Singapore. He noted that this behaviour “has long term implications” on the country’s international standing.

Mr Chan was referring to incident of Singaporeans clearing out supermarket shelves as they stock up on rice, instant noodles, hand sanitisers and more after the country’s Disease Outbreak Response System Condition (DORSCON) level was raised to orange as the coronavirus outbreak continued to escalate.

Describing the entire thing as “xia suay” or “disgraceful”, Mr Chan said, “We embarrass ourselves, disgraceful, we disgrace ourselves.”

Mr Chan added that he was “ashamed” at the behaviour of some Singaporeans who were stocking up on so-called essential items in fear that the country would run out due to supply chains being affected by the global outbreak.

Mr Chan then referred to the videos and photos circulating online showing people buying food and things like wet wipes in bulk, resulting to empty shelves at various stores.

He went on to say that he was reaching the limit of his patience, “cannot tahan”, and wanted to “scold people” for their behaviour.

He also noted his incredulity of Singaporeans panic buying not only food but also things like toilet paper.

He lamented, “No paper, water also can. So why do we behave so idiotically?”

He also went on to also complain about “selfish idiots” who bought up alcohol swabs and use them to “clean tables”. Mr Chan emphasised that alcohol swabs are for medical purposes, like for a diabetic person to use to clean their skin before checking their blood sugar level or injecting insulin.

Mr Chan then narrowed in on how the behaviour of Singaporeans during this time could affect the country’s standing on a global level.

He added when the society starts to panic, suppliers will use that opportunity to raise prices.

He said, “Already got people trying to raise the price. Then you all behave like idiots, the foreign supplier lagi raise their price.”

Mr Chan reiterated, “So some of us, just a small group behaving like idiots will kill all of us. It will kill our current price negotiation strategy, it will kill our future business opportunity.”

The minister went on, “Every country can behave like idiots, Singaporeans must not behave like idiots. Then we behave properly, then we show the world how different we can be. Then people will have confidence.”

Mr Chan then warned his audience, “If we continue to behave like that, the virus won’t kill us. Our own behaviour will kill ourselves.”

Upon reading Mr Chan’s remarks on the public’s behaviour, many netizens expressed their anger on the choice of words he used at the meeting.

More at https://tinyurI.com/qwlc44b

covertbriar

ger1j7k.png

A lot more at https://tinyurI.com/qwlc44b

Keechiu is very happy to lead a bunch of idiots. Smart people would not allow him to lead them. :wink:

Another idiot is Mark Andrew Yeo. :laugh:

If he is not happy he should stop leading this bunch of idiots.

In any organization if it is full of idiots you can have the best leaders and still fail. In companies you can fire and sack idiots. In a country you can't.

This is why I migrated. I refuse to be living in a country full of idiots.

Hypocrite-The

Did he really say it? or is this just hear say? If this is fake and malicious news,,it will give the pap an excuse to further clamp down on social media,,,

The chinese singaporeans should stop regarding themselves as "locals".they are immigranst like the cecas and tiongs.

CPTMiller

Did he really say it? or is this just hear say? If this is fake and malicious news,,it will give the pap an excuse to further clamp down on social media,,,
There must be word by word fact before we accuse anyone.
Example video or news report.
This elite leaders can shut down the access to the site if they want to.
Example recent Facebook action on statestimes review

70% Sinkies are masochists, the more you scold them and abuse them, the more aroused they get, and they become more inclined to vote for you.

If he is not happy he should stop leading this bunch of idiots.

In any organization if it is full of idiots you can have the best leaders and still fail. In companies you can fire and sack idiots. In a country you can't.

This is why I migrated. I refuse to be living in a country full of idiots.
U just exchanged one type of idiots for another. :cautious:

Maybe Lee Hsien Loong asked Heng and Chan to play a 'good cop, bad cop' game, everybody (most of the 70% and the neutrals) would then hate CCS and rally towards HSK. Especially when it's perfectly timed with Budget Day. :wink:

nayr69sg

Staff member
U just exchanged one type of idiots for another. :cautious:
At least where I live it is not overcrowded with them.

Need space lah. Personal space. When you are skiing up in the mountains on black or double black runs there are very if any people around.

Seriously, not having people in your face all the time is relaxing.

Reactions: jw5

How come he never blame the 70 percent idiots and their idocy for voting them in over and over again? hypocrite much?

poore

joker sia, ppl do not have confidence in you lah ,look at how you speak, how u portray yourself.other countries already think we xia suay and idiots for having u in parliament

nayr69sg

Staff member
joker sia, ppl do not have confidence in you lah ,look at how you speak, how u portray yourself.other countries already think we xia suay and idiots for having u in parliament

lol! right on the dot!

CCS is a comedian!

mastermaster

Just goes to show the capabilities of the government in time of crisis management.

Singapore is so lucky to be free from other forms of natural disasters occurring and this Covid-19 issue really will test out their $m worth which they blatantly claim is their reward.