• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

My top 3 best chicken rice stalls

Not sure if anyone can remember this or ever came across this stall in an Industrial estate in Woodlands/Sembawang. Its serves chicken rice but the chicken still has a bit of blood running. I was told that it is well known for this. I struggled with the whole concept as I thought chicken unlike other meat must be well cooked. We were brought after inspecting some site up north. Some in the group were aware of it and enjoyed it.

Anyone came across this type of chicken rice.

Not sure if anyone can remember this or ever came across this stall in an Industrial estate in Woodlands/Sembawang. Its serves chicken rice but the chicken still has a bit of blood running. I was told that it is well known for this. I struggled with the whole concept as I thought chicken unlike other meat must be well cooked. We were brought after inspecting some site up north. Some in the group were aware of it and enjoyed it.

Anyone came across this type of chicken rice.

The chicken used in real traditional Chinese/Hainanese chicken rice must be left bloody juicy after slaughtering, i.e. halal chicken shouldn't be used, it's dripped and drained too dry. That's why Malay chicken rice or Indian Muslim briyani chicken must always be spiced and fried; there's no other way to cook such meat so dried to go with rice. There're other ways not to go with rice of course, e.g. soto or curry that can disguise it's dryness, but the real taste is all gone in the boil.

However, non-halal chicken is getting shorter and and shorter in supply as most exporters and importers want the halal logo to make it available to all.

i tried the one at the basement of katong shopping centre, it was good. but my all time favourite is still the soya sauce chicken at toa payoh lorong 4. all time best!:o

You are so full of shits....

Have you slaughtered a chicken? Have you even seen how a chicken is slaughtered? Have you defeathered a chicken? Have you even seen how a chicken is defeathered?

i tried the one at the basement of katong shopping centre, it was good. but my all time favourite is still the soya sauce chicken at toa payoh lorong 4. all time best!:o
Soya sauce chicken at cross street also nice, there are 2 stalls there, unfortunately, Hainanese chicken is white boiled chicken, LOL.

Did you try the soup at katong? and the free acar? :D:D:D

yes, i did...

Soya sauce chicken at cross street also nice, there are 2 stalls there, unfortunately, Hainanese chicken is white boiled chicken, LOL.

Did you try the soup at katong? and the free acar? :D:D:D

Have you slaughtered a chicken? Have you even seen how a chicken is slaughtered? Have you defeathered a chicken? Have you even seen how a chicken is defeathered?
Dun be stupid, i stayed at Padang before, you know how to choose a good chicken? is by holding their wings and look at their asshole, if its red, means it is healthy. Killing it is by cutting the throat and leave it in a box to bleed out the blood. After that they are thrown into a big metal container with rubber studs attached by the sides, theres a spinner inside. They put the chicken inside with hot water, on the spin and the feathers will fall off from the chicken.

Not bad. OK. You're right. But that's industrial scale. Slaughtering just one on family scale in a family kitchen would be quite different and more manual.

DIY Chicken rice recipe, this is my own recipe, LOL

The Chicken
1 chicken
6 clove of garlic
1 stalk of green onion
2 inches thick of ginger
2-3 tablespoon of salt
Sesame oil

Put the garlic, geen onion and ginger inside the chicken, prepare a pot of boiling water with salt, enough to cover the chicken, put the chicken inside, use medium heat to cook for 15 mins. After that, off the fire, close the pot and leave it for 20 minutes. After that, take it out, shock it with running water (optional), hand rub the chicken with sesame oil, leave it 10 minutes, ready to chop :D, the head, neck and feet can throw back to the soup.

*important
Skimmed the chicken oil from the stock, use half for the rice, half for the chillies

The Rice
4 cup of rice
1 stalk of pandan
2 spoonfuls of minced garlic
1 spoon of butter
chicken stock from chicken pot
1 tablespoon of salt

Melt the butter in the wok, fried the garlic till fragrant, pour the the rice and stir for around 30 seconds. Transfer it to the rice cooker, pour the chicken stock, put the pandan and the salt, ready to cook.

The Chilli
20-25 red chilli padi (blend)
1-2 garlic (put too much garlic will make it bitter)
8 slices of ginger (blend)
Chicken oil
Half a tablespoon of salt
Half a lime juice

Blend everything, add the chicken oil, salt and lime last.

The Soup
Leftover chicken stock
1 Daikon (cut to bitable portion)
1 Carrot (optional)
Salt to taste
Pepper to taste

Just throw Daikon and let it cook, yum yum :D

Not bad. OK. You're right. But that's industrial scale. Slaughtering just one on family scale in a family kitchen would be quite different and more manual.
Not in industrial state, but from wet market in Indo. At home, not very sure, LOL

I see where you are coming from and certainly explains the dryness of chicken done by Indians and Malays. The one in Woodlands was a little extreme.

The chicken used in real traditional Chinese/Hainanese chicken rice must be left bloody juicy after slaughtering, i.e. halal chicken shouldn't be used, it's dripped and drained too dry. That's why Malay chicken rice or Indian Muslim briyani chicken must always be spiced and fried; there's no other way to cook such meat so dried to go with rice. There're other ways not to go with rice of course, e.g. soto or curry that can disguise it's dryness, but the real taste is all gone in the boil.

However, non-halal chicken is getting shorter and and shorter in supply as most exporters and importers want the halal logo to make it available to all.

Not in industrial state, but from wet market in Indo. At home, not very sure, LOL

In the good old days, my grannies bought chicken from the dry departement of the wet market, brought home alive. Some Malay grannies did that too. Chicken is halal until the moment it's slaughtered and how it's slaughtered. Unlike pig that's not halal however it's slaughtered. Anyway pig is too big to bring home whole and alive.

I saw how they slaughtered wild boar, slit the throat, let the blood flow, then stroke the stomach, the urine and feceas all come out, quite gross.... -__-"

Yeah, that's what we did in Johor jungle. I'm no expert, just an "NCO" following "Officer" instruction. Have to clean out the bowels first even if the intention to roast the boar whole. Actually my experience wasn't just stroking the stomach, we slit the stomache too to clean out the bowels faster, then spreadeagle the boar for roasting.

Ok, back to Chicken rice, Jalan Sultan Textile centre 4th floor, also have chicken rice, but only on Friday 1pm till 3pm, after that dun have liao.... they are mixed rice vegetable stall, but their chicken/rice/chillies are really not bad.

Hold both wings back, pluck feathers from the throat before slitting it, bowl of water with salt for the chicken blood if you intend to use the chicken blood later.

put the chicken aside after it stop kicking, boil hot water, shower it on the chicken and start plucking it feather, when it is almost bald use a beard plucker to pluck remaining feathers roots.

I am the only 1 in my family to slaughter the chickens, we get every year from the sewer collector who usually present us with a dozen chickens every year.....:):):)

Where's the chicken? :eek::eek::eek: and the rice? :eek::eek::eek::D:D:D

why dun you go to that Loy Kee branch and compare it with Bonn Tong Kee again?

Of course eat first talk later lah! :rolleyes:

If can find time, will drive down to gpgt Loy Kee next time! :D