• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious It's Official! Sinkies Own Their HDB Flat! Oppies, Pls Stop Spreading Lies That HDB Is A Long-term Tenancy!

Kopi0Kosong

Some 35% of the retirees did not hit minimum sum in 2007 while the percentage rose to about 45% being unable to hit the minimum sum in 2012. Tiagong about 60% managed to hit minimum sum last year.

53% for 2016. 60% for 2017 should be right. This data information is presented to provide reason for the Government to squeeze and withhold more money from the younger and future generations. Another point of contention is the ongoing shifting of ceiling for minimum sum.

The devil is always in the details- the percentage only tells one side of the story. The yearly increment of the minimum sum dropped from about over $10,000 per year in 2007/08 to $5000 per year in 2015/17 period. Massaging these figures can assuage the percentage of retirees clearing the minimum sum and closing the lid to prevent an eruption of displeasure due to the constant high increment of the retirement sum.

Kopi0Kosong

The tail-end of the baby boomers would have gotten past 55 recently. While majority of the baby boomers failed to hit minimum sum over the last decade, I hope they can see the predicament their children and/or grandchildren would face should the BTO prices continue to climb.

The higher the percentages the better. It provides good valuable information.

People have no choice but to see and worry when it impinges on them directLEE. The PAP Government has just put in a stopper to prevent further escalation and to stabilise prices of HDB flats, BTO included. The upper pricing is LEEgaLEE established and set with the engagement of private developers building HDB blocks. They are ready to bite the HDB bullet. They are ready to challenge to be FLATtened. Play the DONE TO and not the DONE FOR.

Kopi0Kosong

The devil is always in the details- the percentage only tells one side of the story. The yearly increment of the minimum sum dropped from about over $10,000 per year in 2007/08 to $5000 per year in 2015/17 period. Massaging these figures can assuage the percentage of retirees clearing the minimum sum and closing the lid to prevent an eruption of displeasure due to the constant high increment of the retirement sum.

As suggested earlier, use the DONE TO and not the DONE FOR. Focus on the retention and the ever-changing, and not the 5 or the 10, the quantum. Help the victims and not play with the saintLEE Devil. The answer is in your last line. Cheers.

long term tenancy is the best solution for majority of the working class who need shelters over their heads. this will apply to anywhere in the world. but hdb goes a few steps further by providing greenery, lawns, parks, children playgrounds, pedestrian friendly covered walkways, bike friendly paths, ample parking, roads for easy access to vehicles, kopitiam korners, eateries, food courts, hawker centers, bus stops, bus connections to mrt stations, etc. well paid young tech workers in sillycon valley who can never secure homes in the valley will be more than happy to lease brand new 99-year flats which offer basic amenities, at least 69 sq m or 699 sq ft of space, and cost less than $699k. the problem in sillycon valley is that gov leaders have no vision, no solution, no guts, no funds, no power and no tools to do what hdb has done, although everyday they talk cock and utter sound bytes about housing issues and how they will tackle them while in office. so far, they are clueless and at a total loss in resolving the acute housing crunch not only facing teachers, police, firemen, first responders, nurses, social workers, cooks, waitresses, but also highly paid tech workers who cannot afford $6.9k rent and would rather share rooms or live in vans and rv's. they all would envy what sinkies are enjoying today when it cums to a pigeon hole to sleep and shit in. case closed.

sinkie bto pigeon hole.
13433142_952779714842402_2915068171231953751_o.jpg

sillycon valley pigeon holes for tech workers.
spdn0714mvhomeless.jpg

sillycon valley pigeon holes for the homeless.
sf-tents.jpg

Americans have this blind faith that the market will solve all problems.

bic_cherry

Just call it 'ownership with many terms and conditions', or 'lease with generous benefits' which are both accurate descriptions.

Both Sinkees and their ministars are guilty of very rigid, inflexible, dichotomous/ dogmatic thinking and thus cannot come to a consensus /compromise about the situation at hand.

PS: dichotomous thinking is one symptom of a BORDERLINE PERSONALITY DISORDER :
==============
BORDERLINE PERSONALITY DISORDER
Dichotomous Thinking and Borderline Personality Disorder
By Kristalyn Salters-Pedneault, P | Reviewed by Richard N. Fogoros, MD
Updated June 29, 2018

USA, New York State, New York City, Brooklyn, Young couple having relationship difficulties
Jamie Grill/Creative RF/Getty Images
Dichotomous thinking, also known as "black or white thinking," is a symptom of many psychiatric conditions and personality disorders, including borderline personality disorder (BPD). Dichotomous thinking contributes to interpersonal problems and to emotional and behavioral instability.

Characteristics of Dichotomous Thinking
Many people experience dichotomous thinking sometimes, but it can be a problem when extreme conclusions about yourself, other people, or circumstances, interfere with your emotional stability, relationships, and decisions. If most of your thoughts break down to black or white, good or bad, and all or nothing, then it is possible that you have a strong tendency towards dichotomous thinking.

This extreme thinking can cause serious overreactions or emotional responses and may result in significant consequences if you tend to behave impulsively in response to your extreme feelings. Whether it's breaking off a relationship or poor work performance, dichotomous thinking can affect your quality of life.

Dichotomous Thinking and Borderline Personality Disorder
BPD is a condition that is challenging to live with. BPD is often difficult to diagnose because people who have it may experience extreme mood swings and erratic behavior, but generally cannot see themselves as having a problem, and instead view others as the problem. People with BPD are more likely to display dichotomous thinking than people who do not have BPD.

Examples of Dichotomous Thinking
Dichotomous thinking can cause conflicts and agitation, disrupting your own inner sense of peace and disrupting peace between yourself and others. If you have BPD, you may experience dichotomous thinking without even realizing it.

For example, you might frequently flip-flop between seeing yourself as a remarkable success or a major failure based on the praise or criticism of others.

A person with dichotomous thinking may meet a new coworker at work. In the beginning, the coworker is viewed as amazing, perfect, and better than any other coworker or friend ever encountered before. People with dichotomous thinking tend to have favorites and to believe that everything about a favorite person or thing is superior to others. However, as time goes on, someone with dichotomous thinking may suddenly swing to the opposite extreme. If ignored by the coworker, or if the coworker behaves in a disappointing way, a person with dichotomous thinking may lose respect for or hate this formerly favorite coworker, unable to sustain relationships that are not distinctly "love" or "hate".

This can lead to being easily manipulated by those who are viewed as "good" or to abrupt breakups in friendships and romantic relationships.

In some instances, dichotomous thinking can result in financial problems. Impulsive purchases and a lack of balanced judgment at work and in one's personal life can have serious consequences.

Treatment of Dichotomous Thinking
Dichotomous thinking and BPD can be very detrimental, holding you back from living a rich, full life. There are treatments for both conditions. If you have symptoms, it is recommended that you seek out a healthcare professional who is trained and experienced in treating borderline personality disorder.

During your therapy sessions, your therapist or psychologist may ask you to discuss examples of your daily routine and talk about different perspectives. If you often think in extremes, your therapist can help you identify the middle ground, introducing you to a new, more balanced way of thought. As you progress, you will learn to consider your own assumptions by asking yourself the following questions before you allow your thoughts to upset you:

Is there evidence that supports my thoughts?
Am I considering all angles or am I leaving things out?
Could your assumption be challenged by someone else? How?
Does everyone else see it this way?
Am I being fair to others in making this opinion?
By taking a step back, you can build the skills necessary to learn to form a more realistic perception of your relationships and your environment.

If you recognize that you have a tendency to dichotomous thinking, it is also important to avoid acting on your extreme thoughts or making sudden decisions. You might want to write things down or discuss them with a trusted friend or therapist. These steps can give you time to consider your decisions and to get feedback from a neutral source before you take action that could cause harm to your relationships or your finances.

https://www.verywellmind.com/dichotomous-thinking-425292

Americans have this blind faith that the market will solve all problems.
just like hk, the wealthy and powerful who own land are extremely stingy in developing large tracts of land as the tighter and denser the supply of housing units the higher the demand and higher the price. they practice keynesian economics to the t. and the local govs are no different as they see massive revenues (and the renumeration of themselves and their cronies) in holding back land and selling it only to developers who can shell out gobs of money. they talk about jobs and investment but they forget that workers with jobs but with no homes do not pay the lion's share of local taxes (parcel and property tax) as they commute to work from another city 69 miles away where rent is lower. the sg model of pubic housing that actually appreciates in value before 69 years is the best! why do sinkies need to own it when they can sell it for a hefty profit after 6.9 years and upgrade to a private condo? sillycon valley tech workers can only dream of such a win-win scheme.:cool:

The issue is not about you or I. We are not good point of reference. Have a heart for the many elderly Singaporeans who need help, regardless of how they landed up in such a predicament.

I do have a heart for the pioneer and merdeka sinkies. I do a lot of volunteer work at the RC to help the residents. You could also do the same and be a volunteer.

You also need to have a heart at the bigger level. A competent government will ensure that things run well and eliminate poverty on a national level, leaving only small cracks affecting a small number of people.

We don't want a case of a weak government with a very vibrant charity arm whose intent is just to turn charity into a permanent booming industry. There are lots of charities in Africa and the middle east who have done nothing to eliminate poverty, and whose work seems to only perpetuate poverty through charity lest the army of charity workers lose their jobs once poverty and war is eliminated.

It's inappropriate and unkind. Be more sensitive to the feeling of other fellow forummers who visit this courtyard.

It's tough love. Ah Gong would have approved it. Or would you prefer me to be as politically correct as many of the western politicians?

the sg model of pubic housing that actually appreciates in value before 69 years is the best! why do sinkies need to own it when they can sell it for a hefty profit after 6.9 years and upgrade to a private condo?

when all the prices are pushed up high, you sell high, you buy high. Then what? Cash out and emigrate?

Kopi0Kosong

Just call it 'ownership with many terms and conditions', or 'lease with generous benefits' which are both accurate descriptions.

Both Sinkees and their ministars are guilty of very rigid, inflexible, dichotomous/ dogmatic thinking and thus cannot come to a consensus /compromise about the situation at hand.

PS: dichotomous thinking is one symptom of a BORDERLINE PERSONALITY DISORDER :
If you recognize that you have a tendency to dichotomous thinking, it is also important to avoid acting on your extreme thoughts or making sudden decisions. You might want to write things down or discuss them with a trusted friend or therapist. These steps can give you time to consider your decisions and to get feedback from a neutral source before you take action that could cause harm to your relationships or your finances.

https://www.verywellmind.com/dichotomous-thinking-425292

Thank you. You have helped to express and share the thoughts of the majority Singaporeans. Either of the two terms makes no difference to the majority of the HDB lessees, especially when they are living in the flats and not selling. Their primary concern and fear is the anticipated death of their flats. This awakening or reminder has brought forth the fear of having to deal with a death, one which they, knowingly or unknowingly, have to face.

A PAP minister, whether intended or otherwise, surfaced out this 'death sentence for HDB flats.' This reminder ran counter to what other prominent PAP LEEders had been doing, praising and aggrandising the benefits of HDB flats. This is the real bone-of-contention among the people. "I must save my dying child, no matter what it takes"

This situation has come at an opportune time. It affords a new opportunity to all politically interested parties, PAP included. It serves a 'way out' for ALL.
Maximise and strategise. The time is now. The ruLEEng PAP has decided and started plans to bite the bullet. This time round, the 'DONE FOR' will go to WHO?

'A drowning man is not troubled by rain, will clutch at a straw, or will grab the blade of a sword' - My, your and their CHOICE?

Kopi0Kosong

i am shocked that people still think HDB is expensive. :eek:

It's not expensive for people with a golden tap. Those people don't even need it.
It's bearable for those who already have taps.
Public housing is for those without a tap. Based on present day situation, young adults of tomorrow will face difficulties to find a tap.

FinalLEE, to some, HDB is their golden tap...tap, tap and tap.

Kopi0Kosong

when all the prices are pushed up high, you sell high, you buy high. Then what? Cash out and emigrate?

WHY is the situation thus? Ask. We must ask! Who DID it TO us? The people with the golden taps? They have prior knowledge 'cos they are LEElated? Is that WhY these people described as A LAND OF OPPORTUNITIES? Their golden taps flow with the tune of 'PAPa MONEY, MONEY, MONEY'

A PAPa TrAP for a golden Tap.

that's the formula. cash out at peak and emigrate to a cuntry or state that's still relatively affordable yet offers a higher quality life. california is no longer affordable and no longer sane and safe. must think of places like thighland.

ChenHaoNan

I get worried when our crazy rich ministars who are all Ivy League scholars pretend to not understand the difference between leasehold private condos and leasehold hdbs and try to BS to the people that they are similar.

Kopi0Kosong

I get worried when our crazy rich ministars who are all Ivy League scholars pretend to not understand the difference between leasehold private condos and leasehold hdbs and try to BS to the people that they are similar.

Staged to FIT and FIX. They are just play-acting to salvage what they had wrongLEE done - sweet-talking and not painting a true picture. They had painted HDB flats as castles-in-the-sky to the people, even though the black-and-white is very clear. This is a bullet that the arrogant and manipulating PAP LEEders will have to face and hopefuLEE FLATten. In fact, the old man had seen it coming...

OK, enough is enough. No more argument, you own your HDB flat and you are not tenants.

Minister Lawrence Wong: I will arrest Singaporeans who say HDB is not ownership
“There have been allegations going around. It is factually and legally wrong to suggest that Housing and Development Board (HDB) flat buyers do not own their units, but are simply renting them. There is no basis to such a claim. While all feedback and views about the issue were welcome, the debate must always be based on facts, not misinformation and half-truths…These facts are clear… the law is very clear… and it’s important to set the record straight.”

http://statestimesreview.com/2018/0...st-singaporeans-who-say-hdb-is-not-ownership/

Kopi0Kosong

OK, enough is enough. No more argument, you own your HDB flat and you are not tenants.

Minister Lawrence Wong: I will arrest Singaporeans who say HDB is not ownership
“There have been allegations going around. It is factually and legally wrong to suggest that Housing and Development Board (HDB) flat buyers do not own their units, but are simply renting them. There is no basis to such a claim. While all feedback and views about the issue were welcome, the debate must always be based on facts, not misinformation and half-truths…These facts are clear… the law is very clear… and it’s important to set the record straight.”

http://statestimesreview.com/2018/0...st-singaporeans-who-say-hdb-is-not-ownership/

You OWN the flat = PAP is happy
You are not tenants = PAP lagi happy
but...
HDB not happy = against contract = void?
Flat uncles and aunties = indifference = still staying in same pigeon hole
= still worry about LEE HL gonna take away my flat.

Must continue to dig and make big = LHL and LW must try to cover and cover = more holes
Must get enough holes to bury PAP bulLEEs

is this our destiny? our forefathers migrated to Sinkiestan and now coming full circle as we move out?
sinkie foreskins migrated to sinkapore because ang mohs arm twisted the local sultan and his malay subjects for a treaty in perpetuity, and chink and neh coolies and peasants followed the new ang moh sultans wherever they went. now they followed ang mohs to arsetralia and kiwiland. sinkapore is never meant as a permanent stop. ang mohs are the best!