• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious It's Official! Sinkies Own Their HDB Flat! Oppies, Pls Stop Spreading Lies That HDB Is A Long-term Tenancy!

This is another of the government's example: for a 3-room flat which is worth S$350,000 now and has 64 years left on its lease, the flat value will decline to S$148,000 after 30 years, which again means that in the next 30 years, S$202,000 of your flat value will be wiped out.

It will look something like this:
35th year: S$350,000
45th year: S$280,000
55th year: S$210,000
65th year: S$148,000
75th year: S$100,000
85th year: S$60,000
95th year: S$30,000
99th year: S$0

The average rental of an entire HDB flat is about $2500 per month. So, it will cost about $30,000 a year. Assuming if you do not sell, for whatsoever reason, the actual value of the HDB flat is what you would have paid if you rented it instead.

For a 99 year lease flat, you would have received total rental value of $2.97 million over 99 years. Sinkies would need to pay $2.97 million in rent if they rented their flats on a monthly basis.

Many sinkies have stayed at least 10 years in their HDB flats, which means they received $300,000 in rental value with a remaining 89 years left on their lease.

I would say PAP has given sinkies very good value for HDB flats.

You achieved it not entirely due to your own efforts or your family or friends, important as that is.
A huge part of your success also depended on your environment, whether the society was meritocratic enough to allow social mobility.
Lots of people in ASEAN, India, Bangladesh, Africa, Central America worked very hard, received help from family and friends, and still live in poverty, making a miserly wage barely enough to put food on the table.
These people understood that hard work alone isn't enough to succeed. A stable society that allows social ability is necessary, and that depends a lot on the government of the day and the sort of values it stands for. Look at the human migration from central america into north america, or from africa to europe, or from chinkland and india into singapore. You don't see sinkies moving en masse to china in search for a better life.
Don't let your irrational hate for PAP cloud your judgement.

There are more established people in many other countries than Singapore. So stop trying to shamelessLEE claim credit for your under-performing and inadept PAP LEEders. Your personal condemnation of people speaks for itself. What is irrational and hatred that you placed upon me and determined my personal judgement as cloud? So all people, including myself, must accept your judgement as factually correct or else we are irrational and unable to rationalise for ourselves? As you have regarded yourself to be better able in everything than all others, I accede to and respect your presumptuous thinking.

I must be stupid and wrong in thinking that a Prime Minister who is afraid and unable to decide on naming his own successor is an incompetent national leader. I must not question but accept readiLEE what my PAP LEEders dish or even vomit out. No, Singapore is NOT hollowing out. No, My brother did not go to establish his business in China over the past two decades. Tomorrow, to show my appreciation to our esteemed PAP LEEders, I should relocate all my overseas businesses back to Singapore. Maybe I should visit our most honourable and distinguished senior gentleman, Prime Minister LEE, to kowtao and pay my respects.

In Singapore, COE and car ownership goes hand in hand. If you aren't aware of it, then are you even living in Singapore?
The comparison is simple. Owning a car for 20 years will cost you about $200,000 in parking fees while parking a car in HK will cost you $760,000 immediately.
Sinkies pay and pay small amounts over a long duration, Hongkies pay a huge lump sum upfront for 99 years. I rather pay and pay small amounts since I can end car ownership anytime I want, even before the 10 year COE expires. HK government sucks you dry immediately for 99 years' worth.

Am I living in Singapore? Well, what can I say except "JOHN TAN KNOWS BEST". I am a NOBODY.

Parking a car in HK SAR WILL COST $760,000 immediately? JOHN TAN is the expert. Even the people of HK SAR MUST accept and HAVE TO AGREE.
[What a Staged to FIT an d FIX!]

HK Government sucks you dry immediately for 99 years' worth? I know not whether JOHN's claim is TRUE or FALSE, but I do know that this is a fact in Singapore. The Singapore Government sucks you dry immediately for 99 years' worth a HDB flat rental. The Singapore Government sucks you dry immediately for 10 years' worth of car rental.

long term tenancy is the best solution for majority of the working class who need shelters over their heads. this will apply to anywhere in the world. but hdb goes a few steps further by providing greenery, lawns, parks, children playgrounds, pedestrian friendly covered walkways, bike friendly paths, ample parking, roads for easy access to vehicles, kopitiam korners, eateries, food courts, hawker centers, bus stops, bus connections to mrt stations, etc. well paid young tech workers in sillycon valley who can never secure homes in the valley will be more than happy to lease brand new 99-year flats which offer basic amenities, at least 69 sq m or 699 sq ft of space, and cost less than $699k. the problem in sillycon valley is that gov leaders have no vision, no solution, no guts, no funds, no power and no tools to do what hdb has done, although everyday they talk cock and utter sound bytes about housing issues and how they will tackle them while in office. so far, they are clueless and at a total loss in resolving the acute housing crunch not only facing teachers, police, firemen, first responders, nurses, social workers, cooks, waitresses, but also highly paid tech workers who cannot afford $6.9k rent and would rather share rooms or live in vans and rv's. they all would envy what sinkies are enjoying today when it cums to a pigeon hole to sleep and shit in. case closed.

sinkie bto pigeon hole.
13433142_952779714842402_2915068171231953751_o.jpg

sillycon valley pigeon holes for tech workers.
spdn0714mvhomeless.jpg

sillycon valley pigeon holes for the homeless.
sf-tents.jpg

Must I [since the YOU was used] stay in HK SAR and Auckland to understand the situations therein? To clarify that I am not 'a frog in a well', let me state that I have stayed and worked in Kristainstad-Sweden, Taskent-Uzbek, Shijiazhuang-Hebei and Brisbane-Australia. I have been on working visits to Anglo and Franco countries in Africa, and South Asia. I own FREEHOLD [not 999 leasehold] land in Singapore and properties in Malaysia. I am a true indigenous Singaporean and have served my National Service. However, I celebrated Malaysia's National Day because it's a public holiday for me and my money-making machines in that country. Why do I keep saying that Singapore is HOLLOWING OUT!

Do I appreciate or like the PAP? No, Why should I? What have they done for me? What have they done to me?
Do I love Singapore. Yes, THIS IS MY COUNTRY. I was born here and I hope to die here...
but...
It's stupid for PAP LEEders to formulate and implement policies to FIX Singaporeans into staying in the country;
It's ungentlemanLEE to misinform, misuse and abuse;
It's unjustified to penalise everyone just because of the fear of a few;
It's inhumanely to decide and act on someone's behalf, on the pretext of doing it for one's good.

You have been very successful thanks to the PAP. You should show more gratitude.

I must be stupid and wrong in thinking that a Prime Minister who is afraid and unable to decide on naming his own successor is an incompetent national leader.

I'm pretty sure Pinkie would have performed better in this aspect if there had been 10-year-series for this. Oh wait, the mentor must have given Pinkie some secret scrolls of sorts, which must only be opened during an emergency! Where is it? :tongue::tongue::tongue:

You have been very successful thanks to the PAP. You should show more gratitude.
I have been very successful. Yes, I achieve and am proud of it.

Thank the PAP. Why? The PAP provided the environment and the opportunity?
Plants and animals survive in harsh environments because they adapt and thrive better than others. Must the plants and animals thank the PAP LEEders for the sunlight, water and air? Yes? The PAP provided the ground in the desert, brought in the sunlight and its LEEders watered the plants every day? Ask Mr Sim WH!
What the PAP provides today does not necessary mean it has been doing all along, then and now.
Reflect on the self before rushing to demand others to reflect. Arrogance breeds complacency.

I feel sad that PAP supporters are mere followers who try to fit blindly instead of striving actively to complement and supplement the cause and work. Supporters who step in to act high and mighty to ridicule and admonish will only add fuel to fire. Intention and results are miles apart. Jumping to quick conclusions without proper understanding or knowledge is reactive and usually detrimental and sucidal. Instead of smoothening, more kinks are added. It's no wonder that the PAP has to resort to monetary rewards to entice talents to serve and lead. It was a strategy that brought more harm than good. The PAP of today is true testimony of a poorLEE implemented strategy gone awry.

I do not actively support any political party. I support what is good for the country and its people, citizens and foreign talents. I can empathise with foreign talents because I am one in a few countries which afforded opportunities to strive and share. I donated motorised wheelchairs and beds in two countries. I donated to schools and higher institutions of education in Singapore.

I share what is within me, and within my means. I afford credit when its due. I accord respect when it's deserved. I spit at what is unbecoming or unjustified.
Listen, obey and follow? Reflect on thyself first. SeriousLEE, are you helping to pave the pathway or are you adding more obstacles? WHAT a person thinks and does is important to any organisation/political party. It's the HOW IT'S DONE that is more crucial and influential. Don't deprive me of my god-given right to THINK and DECIDE for myself and my loved ones. Are YOU one of my loved ones? Why should I love thee?

I have been very successful. Yes, I achieve and am proud of it.

Thank the PAP. Why? The PAP provided the environment and the opportunity?
Plants and animals survive in harsh environments because they adapt and thrive better than others. Must the plants and animals thank the PAP LEEders for the sunlight, water and air? Yes? The PAP provided the ground in the desert, brought in the sunlight and its LEEders watered the plants every day? Ask Mr Sim WH!
What the PAP provides today does not necessary mean it has been doing all along, then and now.
Reflect on the self before rushing to demand others to reflect. Arrogance breeds complacency.

I feel sad that PAP supporters are mere followers who try to fit blindly instead of striving actively to complement and supplement the cause and work. Supporters who step in to act high and mighty to ridicule and admonish will only add fuel to fire. Intention and results are miles apart. Jumping to quick conclusions without proper understanding or knowledge is reactive and usually detrimental and sucidal. Instead of smoothening, more kinks are added. It's no wonder that the PAP has to resort to monetary rewards to entice talents to serve and lead. It was a strategy that brought more harm than good. The PAP of today is true testimony of a poorLEE implemented strategy gone awry.

I do not actively support any political party. I support what is good for the country and its people, citizens and foreign talents. I can empathise with foreign talents because I am one in a few countries which afforded opportunities to strive and share. I donated motorised wheelchairs and beds in two countries. I donated to schools and higher institutions of education in Singapore.

I share what is within me, and within my means. I afford credit when its due. I accord respect when it's deserved. I spit at what is unbecoming or unjustified.
Listen, obey and follow? Reflect on thyself first. SeriousLEE, are you helping to pave the pathway or are you adding more obstacles? WHAT a person thinks and does is important to any organisation/political party. It's the HOW IT'S DONE that is more crucial and influential. Don't deprive me of my god-given right to THINK and DECIDE for myself and my loved ones. Are YOU one of my loved ones? Why should I love thee?

Clapping......

giphy.gif

I'm pretty sure Pinkie would have performed better in this aspect if there had been 10-year-series for this. Oh wait, the mentor must have given Pinkie some secret scrolls of sorts, which must only be opened during an emergency! Where is it? :tongue::tongue::tongue:

All students use the same textbook. However, performances vary. Why? Likewise, all cooks have the same recipe. However, the finished dishes usually do not taste the same. What makes a cook a capable and competent chef? Can a cook be better than a chef? The answer is inherent in the SELF...

lawrence-wong-file-photo.jpg

SINGAPORE: The claims that HDB flat buyers do not own their flats and are renting them is "factually and legally wrong", said Minister for National Development Lawrence Wong.

There is also no basis to such a claim, he said at the HDB's Peak Forum for building professionals on Tuesday (Sep 4).

Mr Wong added that all buyers of leasehold properties, private or public, enjoy ownership rights over their properties during the period of lease.

They can also sell their properties and benefit from any upside, or rent it out if they choose to, he said, adding that it's "important to set the record straight".

"Since the beginning of the Government land sales programme in 1967, all sites for private residential land have been sold on leases not more than 99 years.

"We have limited space and we need to recycle land to create housing for future generations," Mr Wong said.

Read more at https://www.channelnewsasia.com/new...sing-factually-legally-wrong-renting-10682292

SINGAPORE: The claims that HDB flat buyers do not own their flats and are renting them is "factually and legally wrong", said Minister for National Development Lawrence Wong.
There is also no basis to such a claim, he said at the HDB's Peak Forum for building professionals on Tuesday (Sep 4)
Mr Wong added that all buyers of leasehold properties, private or public, enjoy ownership rights over their properties during the period of lease.
They can also sell their properties and benefit from any upside, or rent it out if they choose to, he said, adding that it's "important to set the record straight".
"Since the beginning of the Government land sales programme in 1967, all sites for private residential land have been sold on leases not more than 99 years.
"We have limited space and we need to recycle land to create housing for future generations," Mr Wong said.
Read more at https://www.channelnewsasia.com/new...sing-factually-legally-wrong-renting-10682292

My issue is "The Government will take back MY FLAT at the end of 99 years. My family will have NOTHING left. My children and grandchildren stay where? My things then put where? PAP and HDB uncles told me that my flat will only get higher in value. My RC people also said HDB very good, very nice, very safe. Got lift some more. No need to walk or climb. All you people never tell me that after 99 years become no more. How can trick people like that. How can cheat old people like me. No good one"

My issue is "The Government will take back MY FLAT at the end of 99 years. My family will have NOTHING left. My children and grandchildren stay where?

I'm not staying in my parents' HDB flat. I'm married and have my own property. It's the same for you and for many sinkies.

They would have moved out of their parents' home by their 20s. Or are you some manchild still living with your aged parents and still expecting them to do your laundry for you?

I expect my children to get married in their 20s and buy their own BTOs or condos instead of sponging off me rent free.

Your family will not have nothing left just like you were not left with nothing unless your parents were paupers.

I'm not staying in my parents' HDB flat. I'm married and have my own property. It's the same for you and for many sinkies.
They would have moved out of their parents' home by their 20s. Or are you some manchild still living with your aged parents and still expecting them to do your laundry for you?
I expect my children to get married in their 20s and buy their own BTOs or condos instead of sponging off me rent free.
Your family will not have nothing left just like you were not left with nothing unless your parents were paupers.

Such obnoxious arrogance! The world is not just about you or I. So please, don't just keeping dwelling on the I and use it as a point of reference. There are many elderly and young Singaporeans who need guidance and support. Have a heart. If you have a role to play in this forum, I understand,,, please buck up and do a better job.

Such obnoxious arrogance! The world is not just about you or I. So please, don't just keeping dwelling on the I and use it as a point of reference.

I made a valid point of reference.

From the HDB figures, thousands of young couples are applying for BTOs each year. Hence, they are having their own 99 year lease flats. Singles too can buy their own resale flats after 35 years old. Hence, they will have a flat that would outlast their lifespans.

So when old sinkies kick the bucket, they don't have to worry about their kids being kicked out into the streets. Only a small handful who can't get married or too poor to strike out on their own will be in trouble. But that would happen in about 40-50 years time, where most of us wont' be around already.

So what are you so upset about? Are you kids too loser to get their own BTOs?

Such obnoxious arrogance!

Some 35% of the retirees did not hit minimum sum in 2007 while the percentage rose to about 45% being unable to hit the minimum sum in 2012. Tiagong about 60% managed to hit minimum sum last year.

It doesn't mean they are poor. They could have lots of money in their POSB or Citibank accounts. Or they could also be supported by their kids or from their security guard jobs.

Tiagong about 60% managed to hit minimum sum last year.

Majulah PAP! Majulah Singapura!

It doesn't mean they are poor.

Either you're insinuating IRAS didn't do a good job to hunt down those who under-declared their incomes or your mathematics fail big time.

I made a valid point of reference.

From the HDB figures, thousands of young couples are applying for BTOs each year. Hence, they are having their own 99 year lease flats. Singles too can buy their own resale flats after 35 years old. Hence, they will have a flat that would outlast their lifespans.
So when old sinkies kick the bucket, they don't have to worry about their kids being kicked out into the streets. Only a small handful who can't get married or too poor to strike out on their own will be in trouble. But that would happen in about 40-50 years time, where most of us wont' be around already.
So what are you so upset about? Are you kids too loser to get their own BTOs?

The issue is not about you or I. We are not good point of reference. Have a heart for the many elderly Singaporeans who need help, regardless of how they landed up in such a predicament. Your posting derides and belittles them. It's inappropriate and unkind. Be more sensitive to the feeling of other fellow forummers who visit this courtyard.

Have a heart for the many elderly Singaporeans who need help, regardless of how they landed up in such a predicament.

The tail-end of the baby boomers would have gotten past 55 recently. While majority of the baby boomers failed to hit minimum sum over the last decade, I hope they can see the predicament their children and/or grandchildren would face should the BTO prices continue to climb.