• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

If you think the opposition is not electable, don't vote them

The pappies will still be in power after the next election, but my view is that if they lose a few seats, those remaining will be less arrogant and condescending in their attitude towards the ordinary citizens and be more mindful of our wishes.
They will worry that their individual positions and with it the money and power, will be at risk if they don't take heed of the peoples' wishes.

You are talking about the PAP and not some democratic loving political party. You truly have been hoodwinked!

Why do you think the PAPies control the mainstream media all these years? Why do you think the PAPies have arrested, bankrupted and imprisoned so many of their political enemies? Why do you think they charge skyhigh prices for your meager homes?

You actually think the PAPies will give a damn that they lost a few seats and therefore they will try to be good? Hello! The PAPies know that the majority of the population hates them to the core! Their election talks have always consisted of NTUC and RC types being bused in. Otherwise no Singaporean wants to attend their election talks.

They can't speak with a straight answer and they pay themselves the highest political office salaries in the world. They know they disgust people.

But they don't give a damn. IF they remain in power, they will continue to turn on the screws on true blue Singaporeans. Don't forget that the main reason for the influx is to flood voter numbers with foreign-born votes who are likely to be PAP supporters. They will continue to do so as long as they are in power and as long as they see it as a good strategy to stay in power.

You quite pathetic lah. So easy to cheat your feelings.

Yes, when you speak to them face-to-face, they're very nice and amicable, never patronising or condescending. But true tigers camouflage their stripes and colors. TKL (then NTUC Income CEO) had a bust up with LSS. LSS was no sick cat. He kicked TKL out of NTUC without blinking when the colours on his face turned and changed. That's when one get to see the true colours.

That is exactly how politicians should be. Humble to their electorate. But a prima dona CEO wants to challenge you, you stand firm.

Walk softly and wield a big stick.

Ask anybody who's met Swee Say or Vivian doing walkabouts and ask them whether they find either condescending.
Some of the peoples' heads are bowed so low in deference, they won't even know if someone is making monkey faces at them.
I have to admit that I don't have an issue with the demeanour and attitude of ministars like TCH, GY and Tharman.

Some of the peoples' heads are bowed so low in deference, they won't even know if someone is making monkey faces at them.
I have to admit that I don't have an issue with the demeanour and attitude of ministars like TCH, GY and Tharman.

Anyone who's met LSS or VB will tell you that they're instantly likeable face to face.

You are talking about the PAP and not some democratic loving political party. You truly have been hoodwinked!

Why do you think the PAPies control the mainstream media all these years? Why do you think the PAPies have arrested, bankrupted and imprisoned so many of their political enemies? Why do you think they charge skyhigh prices for your meager homes?

You actually think the PAPies will give a damn that they lost a few seats and therefore they will try to be good? Hello! The PAPies know that the majority of the population hates them to the core! Their election talks have always consisted of NTUC and RC types being bused in. Otherwise no Singaporean wants to attend their election talks.

They can't speak with a straight answer and they pay themselves the highest political office salaries in the world. They know they disgust people.

But they don't give a damn. IF they remain in power, they will continue to turn on the screws on true blue Singaporeans. Don't forget that the main reason for the influx is to flood voter numbers with foreign-born votes who are likely to be PAP supporters. They will continue to do so as long as they are in power and as long as they see it as a good strategy to stay in power.

You quite pathetic lah. So easy to cheat your feelings.
I'm not saying that the pappies will try to be good if they lose a few seats or that they will suddenly realise their mistakes and be kind and benevolent.
That's not what will happen.
What will happen is that after they lose a few seats and a few of their comrades, they will be afraid of losing their individual positions and start to worry if they will lose more votes if they don't start listening to the people. The problem is that too many of them have had too much power for too long. If some of them lose that power, the rest will start to rethink their individual strategies and actions, not collectively.

Don't go around calling people pathetic just because you hate pap and cannot stand it when anyone says something that appears to you to be in their favour. In fact, I'm not even doing that. If you think that the pap are going to lose power and the opposition parties will form the government in the next elections, you are an optimist with no hope.

Anyone who's met LSS or VB will tell you that they're instantly likeable face to face.
To be frank, I used to like both of them.
When LSS first became a ministar, I thought he was this down-to-earth friendly person who can speak singlish freely with the common people and who understood and empathized with the ordinary citizen.
Then he started singing, inventing catchphrases, commenting about his cpf statement, spouting pap policy when he's supposed to be speaking for the ordinary workers, dressing like zorro, etc. I can tell that some people find him endearing, but I can't understand why.

I thought Vivian would be someone who would try to change things for the better. The last time I saw him on tv, his voice was choking with emotion when he said how thankful he was to the vounteers of YOG. Of course, that was after he said that the food poisoning cases would take some time to investigate and resolve. I actually shuddered a little when I saw that interview on tv. His emotional voice didn't convince me unfortunately.

The situation is so dire that any candidate is better than a PAP candidate. I will vote opposition even if he is a one eyed retard. If I get to vote.

AGREE ! AGREE ! :D
I WILL VOTE FOR ANY OPPOSITION REGARDLESS OF WHETHER THEY ARE GOOD, BAD OR IDIOTIC !!
I HAVE HAD IT WITH THE PAPPIES !! :mad:
ENOUGH IS ENOUGH !! :mad:

Yes, when you speak to them face-to-face, they're very nice and amicable, never patronising or condescending. But true tigers camouflage their stripes and colors. TKL (then NTUC Income CEO) had a bust up with LSS. LSS was no sick cat. He kicked TKL out of NTUC without blinking when the colours on his face turned and changed. That's when one get to see the true colours.

TKL is speaking this Sat at the SDP rally. Maybe there will be a rematch soon. It will be an interesting contest to see how "fierce" LSS can be if he has to face TKL in an electoral competition.

TKL will lose hands down against LSS. Don't think many taxi and car drivers have forgiven him for the way he treated them when he was at INCOME. And that, they attribute directly to him. :D

JBJ was no different. Ask the cashiers and supervisors at Cold Storage in Centrepoint. He was nasty and absolutely arrogant. But in pubic a hero and an angel.

Just use these people as tools to fight the PAP. Don't fall in love with them. These are perfect people to be a constant thorn on PAP's side. I am sure you know that old man hates JBJ with a passion.

When they get two big for their breeches, we can cut them to size as Ling found out the hard way.

This is a numbers game. Break the PAP monopoly and tell them they need the voters to keep them in power. If we look for nice people who speak well and have an unblemished record, nothing will happen. KJ is a perfect attack dog. Just make sure you know that you are the master and he the dog.

I am well aware of his arrogance. Probably one of the worst that I met.

Moving two decades forward from Harban Singh's time, I'm talking about candidates like Kenneth Jeyaretnam or Desmond Lim.

Arrogant beyond belief, and ultimate spoilers, if you ask me.

TKL will lose hands down against LSS. Don't think many taxi and car drivers have forgiven him for the way he treated them when he was at INCOME. And that, they attribute directly to him. :D

TKL tried to take a stand against the problem of escalating fraudulent motor claims. The problem remains unresolved and insurance premiums have continued to sky rocket after he was removed. It is currently not on the political radar. TKL will however be thrilled if the PAP brings it up now and start a national debate on it.

TKL is a good candidate for Holland-Bukit Timah. The incidence of people in that GRC who lost money on structured products is higher than the rest of Singapore. Also the regular flooding, the PAP’s response and the impact this has had on property prices has eroded PAP support.

I however hope that TKL takes a rain check and leaves Minster Lim alone. This is because Minister Balakrishnan is in that GRC. The Opposition needs Minister Balakrishnan to survive the election and continue on a Minister for MCYS. As long as he is there, Singaporeans will be reminded of the much hated YOG. The Opposition will continue to be able to talk about the $387 million (esp when the PAP is raising the GST to 10%) and all of the other unhappy YOG screw ups.

From the YOG, we also see that Minister Balakrishnan has a proven talent for mismanaging things and being less than honest to cover them up. He is therefore the person the Opposition would want in charge of the sensitive casino issue. Under him, the chances of miscalculation and screw up would be highest. The casino issue can then blossom to become one of the major issues in the 2017 elections. Currently, there are only two PAP Ministers who have proven themselves capable to handling the casino “political hot potato”. These are Minister Khaw and Minister Tharman. It will be interesting to see if post elections, one of these Ministers would be the "sucker" that is rotated to head MCYS so that Minister Balakrishnan can be moved to a “safer” Ministry.

You are really naive aren't you. Then again, they way you express your views about gambling, and now wanting to resort to bettting ...

People actually still hate TKL for his motor insurance practices. After so many years, the bad things about NTUC are still attributed to him, not TSC.

Any linking of minibonds to PAP is at best strenuous.

TKL tried to take a stand against the problem of escalating fraudulent motor claims. The problem remains unresolved and insurance premiums have continued to sky rocket after he was removed. It is currently not on the political radar. TKL will however be thrilled if the PAP brings it up now and start a national debate on it.

Everyone is entitle to their political view and their free choice to vote..

I will vote for opposition whether they are electable or not as I fear PAP more than an incompetence oppposition..

1. I will never see my CPF after paying for my HDB

2. They want me to have more babies.. If i lose my job ? How? see MP and they wondering why you dun want to take up a $900 job with 3 rotating shifts?

3. The amount of FTs flooding Singapore and taking away jobs.. Can a FTs become PAP minister if they prove to be cheaper and better?

4. The list go on.. The main reason is FEAR of PAP..

P.S I serve NS for what? die for Rich PAP MPs and FTs?

You are really naive aren't you. Then again, they way you express your views about gambling, and now wanting to resort to bettting ...

I don't bet unless I know I will win. The last time I made a bet like the one I made with you was with a very senior PAP elder over the Philippine Presidential elections. He ended up writing a very flattering essay about me.

You made no bet with me at any time. Stop having delusions and go take your medicine.

TKL was for over 30 years a cadre member of the PAP. He had been involved in Politics for very long time and had been a shortlisted candidate for Marine Parade GRC. He was not picked. He was then "retired" and the chap from Prudential took over. He no longer draws an income from a GLC.

Suddenly we have man who claims to fight for the common man, highlighting financial abuse of customers etc. While he was in NTUC income, his firm was allowed access to NS men, SAF and many other GLCs to flog their insurance. He also had a captive market in NTUC and many other GLCs.. All he had to do is run it.

Its like career criminal who has decided to run an orphanage out of the goodness of his heart.

Note he has never revealed anything about the PAP or its inner workings. The presidential office is a useless institution and he wants to run it. For what?

Its like career criminal who has decided to run an orphanage out of the goodness of his heart.

After the last "leaf" has fallen, I believe we will see many more of these "career criminals" emerging. The competition within the PAP for plum jobs and positions is intense. Every year, many stars fall. Many people are passed over or are prematurely retired. If they now choose to fight on the side of the Opposition, I see no reason to discrimate against them and refuse their help.