• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

If you think the opposition is not electable, don't vote them

Make all of these off the cuff remarks. LSS has got more intelligence than the entire NSP combined. His ideas are spot on, just that they hurt people like you. To that I say: :oIo:

Vivian did well for YOG, and the price is nothing. 4 million population? A mere $100 a head you make so much noise?

Because of Mah Bow Tan, many members of my family have happily upgraded their HDB flats to condos with more than 50% paid. You missed the boat? Too bad and :oIo:

If so called Sporeans don't care what happens to their fellow citizens, what kind of "country" has Spore become :confused:

It's no wonder that so many people have decided to leave for greener pastures :rolleyes:

I don't need to vote oppostion because I owe nothing to no one, and like many other Singapore citizens, I vote according to who serves me best, not some abstract political notion like "denying the PAP".
Your vote is your choice, and like you said, you don't owe anyone anything.

But that's what the pap supporters and voters will say as well. The civil servants, grassroot leaders, family and friends of pap members, rich businessmen, rich corporate executives, people who benefit from the pappies in power, uncles and aunties, eldelies and retirees who worshipped LKY and the old guard and don't realise or care that things have changed.

My view is to vote the opposition candidates in first. Get as many pap mps out of parliament as possible. Make the government accountable and compassionate to the ordinary citizen, make them less arrogant and condescending in their attitude. Even those pap mps who were voted out will come back as better candidates and represent the people better, or even if they leave the political scene, hopefully they will be more humble and empathetic. Forget about the individual traits and characteristics of the opposition politicians for now, there will be plenty of time and opportunities to scrutinize and criticize them when (or if) they are ever ready to take over as the government.

Do it not for yourself but for your fellow ordinary Singaporean.

I will even vote for Tonychat just to break PAP's dominance.
Tonychat may actually make a decent MP.

1. He'll pester the ministars and policymakers with the same rhetoric repeatedly until they explain their position clearly or change it.

2. He'll keep harping on the bad behaviour of some Singaporeans, which we can't deny does exist, until someone does something to teach this group of errant people a lesson.

3. Even if points 1 and 2 don't happen, his presence will increase funding and assistance for the mentally challenged.

i did that the last time, i voted for a clown called Goh Meng Seng and that was one of my biggest mistake. I am never going to make the same mistake again

why? is it biggest mistake? he did not win, therefore he cannot change your GRC. So why would you call it a big mistake. Nothing change.

The qn might not be directed at me, but I have a beef with his intelligent incoherence, finesse with labels like liar, hypocrite, hoodwinking, attacking his party when I or anyone else offer suggestions and class of rude labels.

He left very rude remarks on people's Facebooks until probably told to stop. He added people he didn't know to spread RP's word and they kind to approve his request, but didn't expect that.

You probably not aware that nearly all the who's who in civil society and opposition had public spats with him. That includes leaders of TOC, SDP affiliates and people in SPP. Some others in WP, NSP and New Asia Rep including GMS are just closing one eye and being tolerant, but poor NAR editor got left and right, still tried to sound nice because he didn't have many avenues left.

I've not seen a party chief act like a sec sch boy. In the past, SDP had people to do it. Nevertheless I will vote any opposition.
It's not right to call someone a liar, unless there is proof that the person has told lies consistently over a period of time. It's not even right to say that someone has said a lie, unless there is irrefutable proof that what he said was indeed a lie.

I don't know KJ at all, as I've never met him and don't go to his facebook or read comments about him other than here. But I've met his father and brother. Spoke to his father only once for less than 10 minutes, and he was one of the most gracious gentleman I've ever met. I happened to see his brother three times, once in a public bus and twice while walking on the street, and although we don't know each other from Adam, each time, he smiled at me. But I can't conclude anything about KJ from these chance encounters.

Recently, you made a statement in this forum that former WP candidate for Aljunied Tan Wui Hua, earned more than a pap ministar. I questioned the accuracy of your statement, but you did not respond then. Perhaps you wouldn't mind responding now?

why? is it biggest mistake? he did not win, therefore he cannot change your GRC. So why would you call it a big mistake. Nothing change.

i gave them a chance to make a difference, the fact that they did not won wasn't quite the end of the world yet. After their losses, the true nature of our 'opposition' came into being, they are much better at tearing themselves apart than tearing apart the PAP

Imagine what they will really be like if elected into parliament?

It's not right to call someone a liar, unless there is proof that the person has told lies consistently over a period of time. It's not even right to say that someone has said a lie, unless there is irrefutable proof that what he said was indeed a lie.

I don't know KJ at all, as I've never met him and don't go to his facebook or read comments about him other than here. But I've met his father and brother. Spoke to his father only once for less than 10 minutes, and he was one of the most gracious gentleman I've ever met. I happened to see his brother three times, once in a public bus and twice while walking on the street, and although we don't know each other from Adam, each time, he smiled at me. But I can't conclude anything about KJ from these chance encounters.

Recently, you made a statement in this forum that former WP candidate for Aljunied Tan Wui Hua, earned more than a pap ministar. I questioned the accuracy of your statement, but you did not respond then. Perhaps you wouldn't mind responding now?

Why would you bother with facts when you think I called KJ a liar? When he has been calling people synonyms of that all around.

Tan Wui Hua's was working for an Australian MNC based in Singapore. Then he had been poached by a Dubai company offering a few times of his salary in 2006, that's why he left.

Now you would think a CFO of an Australian MNC can't be less than anything $200,000 pm, do the Math now. Then search or ask around.

I don't know if you do know, junior ministers earn around $100,000 pm.

Make all of these off the cuff remarks. LSS has got more intelligence than the entire NSP combined. His ideas are spot on, just that they hurt people like you. To that I say: :oIo:

Vivian did well for YOG, and the price is nothing. 4 million population? A mere $100 a head you make so much noise?

Because of Mah Bow Tan, many members of my family have happily upgraded their HDB flats to condos with more than 50% paid. You missed the boat? Too bad and :oIo:

People like you who have profited from the property bubble will similarly be dealt with when the bubble burst.

Only fools laugh at Lim Swee Say's jokes. And only a fool will say LSS is smart. He is a political idiot and as a person a real nincompoop! I am shamed that we have such a person in such a powerful position. It really goes to show the quality of the people that support such a pathetic and irresponsible person. he is deaf to criticism and thus it must be true that people like you only sniff up his arse otherwisehe won't have the time of the day for you.

Let's see where LSS ends up working as once the PAP are out of power. In fact, let's see where all the PAP MPs end up working once they are voted out of office.

LHL appointed LSS Chief Whip. LSS has the power to remove non-ministerial PAP MPs.

Your vote is your choice, and like you said, you don't owe anyone anything.

But that's what the pap supporters and voters will say as well. The civil servants, grassroot leaders, family and friends of pap members, rich businessmen, rich corporate executives, people who benefit from the pappies in power, uncles and aunties, eldelies and retirees who worshipped LKY and the old guard and don't realise or care that things have changed.

My view is to vote the opposition candidates in first. Get as many pap mps out of parliament as possible. Make the government accountable and compassionate to the ordinary citizen, make them less arrogant and condescending in their attitude. Even those pap mps who were voted out will come back as better candidates and represent the people better, or even if they leave the political scene, hopefully they will be more humble and empathetic. Forget about the individual traits and characteristics of the opposition politicians for now, there will be plenty of time and opportunities to scrutinize and criticize them when (or if) they are ever ready to take over as the government.

Do it not for yourself but for your fellow ordinary Singaporean.

We have to vote the PAPies out without a doubt. There is no middle ground. If the PAPies are still in power after the next GE, then you can expect even more FTs to come to Singapore.

The PAPies need the votes of the new citizens desperately. If they remain in power, things will get worse and maybe even out of hand for us to do anything in the future.

The PAPies have been importing foreign workers and to encourage them to take up citizenship for more than a decade. The PAPies wish they can open up the floodgates bigger but they can only open the gates as wide as it can get. But given time, they will achieve their target of diluting a disgruntled citizenry.

They know farewell that once the FWs earn enough, a large number will leave for their homeland with their CPF and the true blue Singaporean will be stuck here with hardly enough monthly CPF to have a decent life.

This is our last chance to salvage our country for ourselves and our children. There is no other way.

We have to vote the PAPies out without a doubt. There is no middle ground. If the PAPies are still in power after the next GE, then you can expect even more FTs to come to Singapore.

The PAPies need the votes of the new citizens desperately. If they remain in power, things will get worse and maybe even out of hand for us to do anything in the future.

no need if, pap 95% will win the coming election with more than 2/3 majority, what happen next. will lesser % of pap votes or more oppositions in parliament make them think twice about importing more FT to Singapore or like you say they will import more and more citizens to win elections.

i gave them a chance to make a difference, the fact that they did not won wasn't quite the end of the world yet. After their losses, the true nature of our 'opposition' came into being, they are much better at tearing themselves apart than tearing apart the PAP.
Imagine what they will really be like if elected into parliament?

oh ic you are fan/supporter of chiam. But why dun you said PAP used their power and money and send in moles into the opposition to divide and conquer. We do not know who is the moles, but there might be some insider causing damage. So, if you stop voting sdp, that means PAP moles won.

Yeah, and they didn't even give him the NCMP seat and he went A-Team as in A for AWOL.

Only fools laugh at Lim Swee Say's jokes. And only a fool will say LSS is smart. He is a political idiot and as a person a real nincompoop! I am shamed that we have such a person in such a powerful position. It really goes to show the quality of the people that support such a pathetic and irresponsible person. he is deaf to criticism and thus it must be true that people like you only sniff up his arse otherwisehe won't have the time of the day for you.

You people are really funny. People in their constituency will tell you how impressed they are that they have seen either Vivian or Swee Say many times over. For Ministers, they are indeed very hard working MPs.

And when you oppo jokers finally get someone possibly electable like KJ, you all start to whack him. You only want idiots like the MONGREL who bit his masters' hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan or the joker M S Goh. KJ is at least intelligent and has finese.

LHL appointed LSS Chief Whip. LSS has the power to remove non-ministerial PAP MPs.

Nonsense. The Chief Whip's job is to ensure the MPs attend Parliament and vote along party lines, nothing else. In a Parliament like Singapore where even the opposition vote in favour of most of the bills, the job (which is unpaid anyway) has got little to do.

Lest you start whacking Chiam, Low and Lim for being compliant, their job is to vote against a bill only if it goes against their manifesto and Low/Lim have consistent on that i.e. they won't satisfy most of the jokers on this forum because they won't oppose for the sake of opposing. They live up to the principle of being "His Excellency's Loyal Opposition".

Why would you bother with facts when you think I called KJ a liar? When he has been calling people synonyms of that all around.

Tan Wui Hua's was working for an Australian MNC based in Singapore. Then he had been poached by a Dubai company offering a few times of his salary in 2006, that's why he left.

Now you would think a CFO of an Australian MNC can't be less than anything $200,000 pm, do the Math now. Then search or ask around.

I don't know if you do know, junior ministers earn around $100,000 pm.
You have misunderstood my first paragraph. I was actually empathising with you. I never thought or think that you called anyone a liar, or at least, there's no logical basis for me to think that.

Regarding my third paragraph and your further clarification, I still think you are mistaken, but appreciate your explanation.

The pappies will still be in power after the next election, but my view is that if they lose a few seats, those remaining will be less arrogant and condescending in their attitude towards the ordinary citizens and be more mindful of our wishes.
They will worry that their individual positions and with it the money and power, will be at risk if they don't take heed of the peoples' wishes.

no need if, pap 95% will win the coming election with more than 2/3 majority, what happen next. will lesser % of pap votes or more oppositions in parliament make them think twice about importing more FT to Singapore or like you say they will import more and more citizens to win elections.
My view is that they will think twice.
They won't be sure if the new citizens voted for them or not or whether the new citizens would vote for them or not.
But they would be sure that the old citizens are not happy with their policies and are not afraid to reflect this unhappiness in the vote.
They will be mindful to risk their individual positions.

The pappies will still be in power after the next election, but my view is that if they lose a few seats, those remaining will be less arrogant and condescending in their attitude towards the ordinary citizens and be more mindful of our wishes.
They will worry that their individual positions and with it the money and power, will be at risk if they don't take heed of the peoples' wishes.

Ask anybody who's met Swee Say or Vivian doing walkabouts and ask them whether they find either condescending.

VB was YPAP Chair and LSS was YPAP Sec. Gen. when I was with NTUC.

They're not condescending in manner of speech and attitude towards commoners. I can vouch for that. VB spoke to us whole day nicely about Malaysian relationship and LSS spoke to us nicely about inter-religious harmony and he pet project at that time, Newater.

Yes, when you speak to them face-to-face, they're very nice and amicable, never patronising or condescending. But true tigers camouflage their stripes and colors. TKL (then NTUC Income CEO) had a bust up with LSS. LSS was no sick cat. He kicked TKL out of NTUC without blinking when the colours on his face turned and changed. That's when one get to see the true colours.