Yes I am aware of that. Most people do not understand how the system work or how their "profits" do not translate to actual wealth. Even so, realistically, getting married requires some form of property, by purchase or lease, so they have no choice but to join the system. Not sure if this has been mentioned before, besides the Nassim Jade incident, HJ and her man have also purchased 2 penthouses through a joint co. This area is very close to KH's previous apt near Orchard area. So yes, they will be affected should property prices go down too. Vested interests, no doubt.
Actually, I hate to break the news to you, but its gets much worse and much more depressing than that.
As you already mentioned, the cost of housing actually has a direct bearing on the fertility and birth rate of singaporeans. The women are right, there is no possbility of starting a family when they cannot assure themselvesof their own roof over their heads. In most countries, if you cannot afford to buy property, u rent first. Its much cheaper and it enables you to save for a down payment. So, they rent first and than start a family, and than when they can, they buy their first home. But in SIngapore, rents are just as expensive as a mortgage payment. If you pay rent, you can hardly save anything for a downpayment, and that's why people end up using their CPF savings. U can blame the high rent on the PAP too.
When I say its worse, just imagine this. HDB decides to sell u a flat at its cost of say $150,000. After down payment, what is your monthly payment? Probably no more than $700 a month. Now compare this with a $450K flat today, and your mortgage payment is $2000 plus every month. Lets say your mortgage payment was really $700, because you bought your flat at the HDB breakeven cost of $150K. Now all of a sudden, you can take a $1500 a month job, your wife can take a $900 a month job, and with only a $700 mortgage payment, you are doing ok.
But now, imagine u have a mortgage payment of $2000 +, you cannot accept a $1500 job, you have to get a $4000 job just to stay afloat. this is where the competitive age is lost, because our fixed cost is now so high. One of The PAP's big excuse is that we have to be competitive, so all the FTs are let in to undercut the local wages. Well, they cannot undercut if the locals can survive comfortably on $1500 a month. I know this case of a local born sinkie who was working as a crane operator earning $3600 per month. His company hired an FT from PRC for $1800 a month, and laid him off. If this crane operator had a low fixed cost, he can and will be able to work for $1800 per month, hence his employer need not look for an FT.
This is how bad the impact of a high cost HDB flat program is. It actually cost us our competitive age. Don't forget too that the govt. owns 90% of the land in singapore. They dictate the rent for everything. If the kopitiam uncle buys his kopitiam from HDB for $900K versus $250K in the old days, he has to charge the food sellers more in rent. They in turn charge their customers more per plate. Multiply this by 1000s of similar scenarios, and you have high cost of living. SO, this is why I say its gets much worse.