• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[COVID-19 Virus] The Sinkies are fucked Thread.

nayr69sg

Staff member
If there's a lockdown, the RC's neighbourhood crime prevention teams would be on patrol to help the local police enforce the lockdown. I hope we'll be armed with truncheons and tasers.
There will be no lockdown lah.

Keep going out! Go party! Go movies! Go USS! ZOO!

Enjoy!

nayr69sg

Staff member
When the triple digit spikes arrive in Singapore with more deaths, Singapore will be lockdown. It's a matter of time. PAP wants to take advantage of Covid crisis for a quick general election victory now. If the country is lockdown, how to have elections? Maybe they will lock it down after elections? Perhaps.
No lah.

Singapore damn power. Their NCID contact tracing is tok gong! Will not need lockdown.

Even if cases triple digit health care system cam handle. I think Singpaore got like 1 million ICU beds for sinkies. And 1 million ICU drs and specialists. No worry lah.

If there's a lockdown, the RC's neighbourhood crime prevention teams would be on patrol to help the local police enforce the lockdown. I hope we'll be armed with truncheons and tasers.

KNN... you forgot the most important thing! A high resolution camera to take picture of those kutus and post them on Facebook for public shaming! :roflmao::roflmao::roflmao:

nayr69sg

Staff member
If we don’t stay to turn things around, who will?

Dont worry. There is nothing to turn around. You guys will be fine.

NCID super zhai.

Keep schools open. Keep restaurants open. Keep USS open.

In fact might as well hold conferences and forums and concerts. Singapore the oasis for the world. Free from covid19!

Hypocrite-The

Most of those that died would have died due to the flu.

Why Italy? The factors behind a coronavirus disaster
Specialists point to several factors why Italy's death toll from COVID-19 is so high, one being the country's average age AFP/Carlo BRESSAN
21 Mar 2020 11:58PM
(Updated: 21 Mar 2020 11:58PM)
Bookmark
ROME: Why Italy?
Loads of people have been wondering why the beautiful Mediterranean country has become the new epicentre of the coronavirus pandemic.
Experts list a range of reasons - from Italy's relatively high age to its strained healthcare system to some old fashioned bad luck - that add up to a disaster not seen in generations.
None of the answers alone explain why the nation of 60 million accounts for over a third of the nearly 11,500 deaths officially reported across the 7.7-billion strong world.
But other countries will want to examine each of these factors and address them through various preventive measures in their bids to avoid becoming the next Italy.
OLD NATION
One of the first factors almost everyone who looks at the figures points to is Italians' average age.
It is high.
The median age of the overall population was 45.4 last year - greater than anywhere else in Europe.
It is also seven years higher than the median age in China and slightly above that of South Korea.
Figures released Friday showed the age of Italians dying of COVID-19 averaging out at 78.5.
Almost 99 per cent of them were also suffering from at least one pre-existing condition or ailment.
Italy's mortality rate among those infected with the virus is thus a relatively high 8.6 per cent.
Italy's mortality rate among those infected with the virus is a relatively high 8.6 per cent AFP/Piero Cruciatti
"COVID-19 fatalities are hitting older age groups hard," University of Oxford professor Jennifer Dowd noted on Twitter.
"Countries with older populations will need to take more aggressive protective measures to stay below the threshold of critical cases that outstrip health system capacities," Dowd said.
Yet Japan's median age of 47.3 makes it an even older nation than Italy - and it has just 35 officially registered deaths.
So age is clearly not the only factor.
BAD LUCK
Some scientists think that it could really have been almost any other country after China.
"I think the question of 'Why Italy?' is the most important question and it has a simple answer: No reason at all," Yascha Mounk of Johns Hopkins University told Canada's CBC television.
"The only thing that makes Italy different is that the first couple of (locally-transmitted) cases arrived in Italy about 10 days before they arrived in Germany, the United States or Canada."
More than 4,000 people have died in Italy in the month since a 78-year-old builder from the Lombardy region of Milan became the first known European fatality of COVID-19.
The grim reality learned in Italy is that COVID-19 spreads much faster once the healthcare system reaches its saturation point AFP/ANDREAS SOLARO
European nations such as Spain and France are now following Italy's trajectory and could theoretically have as many deaths and infections in a few weeks.
"If other countries are not going to react in exactly the right way, they are going to become Italy," said Mounk.
SYSTEMIC COLLAPSE
The grim reality learned across Italy's devastated north is that diseases start spreading much faster once the healthcare system reaches its saturation point.
Doctors have to start making life and death decisions about whom they help first - and why - when they run out of equipment such as respirators and even beds.
"Sometimes you have to weigh the chances of success against the patient's condition," Brescia hospital's emergency unit head Paolo Terragnoli told AFP this week.
"We try to do our best for everyone, while doing an extra something for those who have better chances."
Old and frail patients who are turned away are extremely contagious and - tragically but realistically - fated to die.
One of the Italian government's gravest fears is that the virus will start spreading to Italy's much poorer and far less equipped south.
SCREENING AND COUNTING
The world has suddenly realised that it does not have enough test kits to screen for COVID-19.
Nations such as Italy dealt with this problem by only testing those who already exhibited symptoms such as a fever and a dry cough.
South Korea had the kits and the means to conduct more than 10,000 tests a day.
Germany followed a similar model and its death rate began to drop once even the mild COVID-19 infections began being counted.
This partially explains both why Italy's mortality rate is so high and why COVID-19 was contained faster in some other countries.
Harvard University professor Michael Mina said that 100,000 tests per day "might be optimal" for a country such as the United States.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I like that too, spreading acts of compassion all around.
Hey who knows maybe after this the rest of the world die jia lat jia lat.

Singapore become the world super power! Bom beeps beeps man!

Machiam like Zion from The Matrix!

Arent there many movies where during end of world situations in disaster the people all head fo Singapore for safety?

The world is ending we need to head to Singapore! We will be safe there!

Gallego99

I do find Singaporeans quite arrogant right now. They are saying things like come back to Singapore. Singapore is good not like Europe.

So I would like to see Singapore fail just like they failed us at SGH in 2003.
The top Universities in UK have asked students(both local and foreign) to go back as lectures and exams will be conducted online to reduce the risk of spreading in lecture halls. The G is way behind the curve and they're taking unnecessary risk with the kids.

nayr69sg

Staff member
The top Universities in UK have asked students(both local and foreign) to go back as lectures and exams will be conducted online to reduce the risk of spreading in lecture halls. The G is way behind the curve and they're taking unnecessary risk with the kids.
Cos Singapore says the NCID damn super tok gong!

Can catch all cases and quarantine. Detect. Isolate and treat strategy!

Keep everything open. Sinkies keep going out. Enjoy!

Hypocrite-The

Destroying a livelihood doesnt mean you cannot rebuild. You can.

However when people and their loved ones die they are gone forever.

Clearly there are differences in opinion.

What I propose people who are against lockdown do is say things like

"I would rather risk my wife, children, father, mother, grandfather and grandmother and MYSELF. My customers and clients dying than shut down the economy and business and destroying livelihoods"

Instead of talking as if the people who will die have nothing to do with you at all.

And why should anyone who has worked hard,,started a business or gain a career etc have their rice bowl destroyed because of a flu? U talk soo much about loved ones...ppl continue to work etc because they know,,the risk and fatality of this virus is low,,,no different to the flu. They need to put food on the table to feed their families,,,the lockdowns are ineffective because there are many who have no symptoms are already spreading the virus,,,herd immunity is the way to go. It is much easier to quarantine the vulnerable,,,why must the majority suffer because of the minority?

Hypocrite-The

So Loong was right! Less danger than flu. Worry for nothing. Come. Sing song with us! :cool:
Yr beloved Pinky and his dog Ah keat should be more afraid of the virus,....afterall Pinky is a cancer patient,,,he is high risk,,and knowing him,,super Kiasee,...AH Keat had a stroke before,,one never fully recovers from a stroke,,,doubt he can handle the stress too

Cardiovascular and respiratory problems most at risk. Must be careful, else Heng may not see PMO! :eek:

Hypocrite-The

What are the coronavirus symptoms and what should I do if I have it?
By medical reporter Sophie Scott
Updated 15 Mar 2020, 2:44pm

A person holding a coronavirus test PHOTO: If you have symptoms of coronavirus, authorities recommend you seek medical attention. (AP: Ted S Warren)
RELATED STORY: I'm one of 4 per cent that coronavirus might kill. What you do today could save my life
RELATED STORY: 14 frequently asked questions on coronavirus
RELATED STORY: The curious cases of COVID-19 that infected an Australian couple very differently
The number of confirmed cases of coronavirus in Australia has soared past 200.

As nations around the world step up their responses to try to contain the outbreak of COVID-19, here are the symptoms of the disease and what you should do if you think you have it.

What are the symptoms of coronavirus?
The most common symptoms are:

• Fever
  • Tiredness
  • Dry cough
But some people also experience:

• Aches and pains
  • Nasal congestion
  • Runny nose
  • Sore throat
  • Diarrhea
These symptoms are usually mild and begin gradually.

Coronavirus questions answered

Breaking down the latest news and research to understand how the world is living through an epidemic, this is the ABC's Coronacast.

According to the World Health Organisation (WHO), some people become infected but don't develop any symptoms and don't feel unwell.

Experts say up to 80 per cent of people who get COVID-19 will recover from the illness without needing special treatment.

But one out of six will become seriously ill and develop breathing difficulties.

Older people and those with underlying health problems such as cardiovascular disease, diabetes, respiratory problems and high blood pressure are more likely to develop serious illness.

Symptoms will generally appear three to four days after exposure to the virus, but sometimes up to 14 days later.

Am I at risk?
In Australia, the people most at risk of getting the virus are those who have recently been in a high-risk country or region, and people who have been in close contact with someone who has coronavirus.

If you have returned from a country or region that is at higher risk for COVID-19, you cannot attend work if you work in a setting with vulnerable people.

According to federal Health Department advice, we have learned from previous experience with other coronaviruses that the people most at risk are those with compromised immune systems, such as people with cancer, as well as:

• Elderly people
  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people, as they have higher rates of chronic illness
  • People with chronic medical conditions
  • People in group residential settings
  • People in detention facilities
What the experts are saying about coronavirus:

OK, I think I have it. What should I do?
If you have symptoms of coronavirus, authorities recommend you seek medical attention.

The first thing to do is to call the coronavirus health information hotline on 1800 020 080.

Why events are being cancelled
We were warned that more extreme measures to control coronavirus were coming. Now, the Prime Minister has outlined what they are. We look at how they will affect you and the rest of the population.

It's operating 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

They will tell you whether you should go to a clinic attached to a hospital in your area or to your GP (making sure to call them ahead of your visit).

They may advise you to go to one of the 100 pop-up and drive-through clinics that are being set up across Australia.

GPs are now being reimbursed for telephone consultations on coronavirus, for those who think they might have it, or who have pre-existing health problems and do not want to come into a doctor's waiting room.

If you need to see your GP, call their office ahead of time to explain your symptoms, travel history and any recent close contact with someone who has COVID-19, so the practice can prepare for your appointment.

They can also advise whether a tele-health consultation is appropriate.

If you've recently been overseas or in close contact with a confirmed case of COVID-19, information about whether you need to self-isolate can be found on the Department of Health website.

It's good to check sites like these regularly, as the information from authorities is being frequently updated as we learn more about the virus, and the number of cases grows.

Space to play or pause, M to mute, left and right arrows to seek, up and down arrows for volume.

VIDEO: The Federal Government advertising campaign on coronavirus and influenza (ABC News)

Should I get tested?
Your doctor will decide if you need testing, based on the following criteria:

• If you have returned from overseas in the 14 days before you felt unwell
  • If you have been a close or casual contact of a confirmed COVID-19 case in the 14 days before you felt unwell
  • If you have a fever or acute respiratory infection (e.g. shortness of breath, cough, sore throat) with or without fever
  • If you have a severe community-acquired pneumonia and no other obvious cause, with or without recent international travel
  • If you are a healthcare worker with direct patient contact and have a fever (higher than 37.5 degrees) and an acute respiratory infection (e.g. shortness of breath, cough, sore throat)
The guidelines for testing are being regularly updated as the spread of the virus changes in Australia.

What is the test for COVID-19?
The COVID-19 test can be ordered by a specialist coronavirus clinic, your local GP or a hospital emergency department.

Testing methods may include a blood test, a swab test inside your nose or in the back of your throat, or a sputum test, which examines a mix of saliva and mucus.

Your questions on coronavirus answered:

How do I avoid getting coronavirus?
The best way to avoid catching coronavirus from touching a contaminated surface is to wash your hands properly and avoid touching your face.

You should also wash your hands:

• After you use the bathroom
  • After you cough or sneeze
  • After taking public transport
  • Before eating and preparing food
  • After touching animals
  • When caring for someone who is sick
If you need to cough, you should cough into your elbow or into a tissue and dispose of it straight away.

Xisiqomelir

Singkies already enjoy imprisoning themselves in a 69.69 sqm pigeonhole with 69-year leasehold, why not lock them down totally and make it official?

Hypocrite-The

Cardiovascular and respiratory problems most at risk. Must be careful, else Heng may not see PMO! :eek:
No wonder no sight and no sound from Pinky,,,he hides than comes out once in a while show face than disappear again,,,he is soo lucky to have the best job in the world