• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[COVID-19 Virus] The Sinkies are fucked Thread.

knowwhatyouwantinlife

The research scientists have done their sums, not sure if you’re aware of the “Hammer and Dance” methods described by them.

I go by nature’s 2:8 rule and postulate that at least 80% of our populace will get this virus, but by and large over 80% of all the carriers exhibit very mild symptoms or they show no symptoms at all.

Of that 20% of cases showing severe symptoms, a large number of them will kaput if our medical system is stressed beyond their operational capacity, on the other hand, 80% of those showing severe symptoms have a good chance of recovery as long as our system is not overloaded.
Isn't that a modification of the pareto principle lol?

It's exactly the same with the Coronavirus if we venture out we accept the risks and we take steps to mitigate them by hand sanitising, avoiding crowds etc.

Those that don't accept the risks can stay home and the government can help them through.

I see no difference in the two scenarios.
Not the same. Operative word being "choice". We choose to go cycling, covid is thrust upon us.

Dangerous traffic is thrust upon me when I go for my bike ride. In no way did I wish it upon myself. I wish that cars would go away. They are the bane of society.

So we are shifting our discussion to cars are bad -> And eventually PMDs are good. You're a crafty one.

I'd feel a lot safer riding amongst PMDs compared to facing the metal juggernaut that is the modern car.

Not in NZ. There are a lot of commutes by bike and the number is rising because of the advent of the ebike.

Half of those in my recreation group also commute to work by bike.

That's because u live with a bunch of hippie fags that eats avocado toasts and is gluten free and insist on ordering the vegan version whenever they eat out,and goes full Taliban whenever some one requests for another bag at the checkout counter.

We recently had an order for one of our products and our extremely environmentally-conscious customer requested that we do not wrap each item in a plastic bag. Save the earth she said. I was like pfff:rolleyes: but said okie! But we will not be responsible for scratches hor. Told our store to just dump all the items into a few cartons and send them on their way. Scratches and all. Not a whimper from said customer.:biggrin:

hofmann

If there were a lock down, the government could enact emergency legislation to compel banks and other lenders to do National Service and give a debt moratorium for a month or two to all borrowers.

Ah longs will heed gahmen’s advice?

Hypocrite-The

The pap has vested interest in the banks. No way will they allow their profits to be jeprodised

Hypocrite-The

Thousands now unemployed due to the lockdown in oz. I hope those that advocate for lockdown look those unemployed n those that are living hand to mouth that the misery caused by the 5 percent is worth it.

Coronavirus shutdowns force businesses to close, thousands left unemployed and accessing Centrelink - ABC News
A headshot of a woman in a blue t-shirt wearing a grey face mask.
Susi just lost her job in a cafe and says she doesn't know how she will make her mortgage payment due tomorrow.(ABC News)
In long queues outside Centrelink offices across Western Australia, people made suddenly unemployed are wondering how they are going to pay their bills, look after their children and pay the rent.

Key points:
A national ban on public gathering has forced many businesses to close
Thousands of workers have been told overnight they no longer have jobs
Centrelink services have been overwhelmed as people apply for help
Anxious people today waited their turn to go inside and register their details for the Job Seeker payment, many having only learned yesterday they were out of a job.

Susi, wearing a mask and staying away from others in the queue, said she had received a text from the owner of the cafe where she worked at 10:00pm yesterday.

"I was the last one in and the first one to go," she said.

"I'm on my own. I don't have any money, I don't have anything, my mortgage is due tomorrow. It's not just me, it's everybody."

Further down in the queue, the stark reality of COVID-19 restrictions requiring the widespread closure of businesses has hit Tom, who worked in hospitality.

"It's becoming very real at the moment," he said.

"[I'm] very worried about it. We need to band together at the moment. It's daunting. It makes it very real."

A woman, who did not give her name, had been waiting to be seen at Centrelink since 7:00am.

"All three of my jobs are hospitality and fitness, so I've lost all of them," she said.

"I have two little kids as well and I'm a single mum."

National closures result in widespread layoffs
They were among tens of thousands of people in the state affected by Prime Minister Scott Morrison's announcement businesses had to close by midday today because people were gathering in some of them against social-distancing guidelines.

Prime Minister Scott Morrison announces comprehensive shut down measures
Pubs, clubs, cinemas, casinos, nightclubs, indoor places of worship, gyms and indoor sporting venues all had to shut their doors.

Cafes and restaurants can stay open, but they can only offer takeaway and delivery services.

The WA branch of the Australian Hotels Association (AHA) estimated the new social-distancing measures would cost about 40,000 people their jobs across the state.

AHA WA chief executive Bradley Woods said between 1,500 and 2,000 clubs and bars would be affected in WA and the impact would be severe.

"This is a heartbreaking and challenging day for thousands of business owners and the 50,000 staff they employ across the state," he said.

The AHA was working with the McGowan Government to get urgent clarification on how takeaway food and alcohol sales could occur.

Mr Woods said this would include volume restrictions on alcohol.

"This is to ensure staff safety and avoid the panic buying that we sadly saw with respect to toilet paper and other essential items," he said.

Businesses rush to adapt
Cafes and restaurants were today busily setting up expanded takeaway menus.

Stuart Lofthouse, owner of Greens and Co on Oxford Street in Leederville, encouraged people to support their local small businesses and the staff who worked there.

"Come out and buy a coffee, within the rules that are laid out," Mr Lofthouse said.

"I think it's going to be a very tough time and the amount of hurt in the community is huge."

Earlier, Joseph Andrew was enjoying one last sit-down coffee in Cottesloe and facing life with now more unemployment.

He had jobs in a local restaurant and a stand-up paddle board store, but expected they were finished.

"I have multiple sources of income and they are all on hold," he said.

"I will have to live much thriftier."

Huge queues at WA Centrelink outlets
Queues of people were seen at Centrelink buildings across Perth this morning, including in Victoria Park where dozens of people began lining up an hour and a half before doors opened.

Queue at Centrelink Victoria Park
Queues at Centrelink in Victoria Park stretched around the building.(ABC News: Marcus Alborn)
Only 20 people were allowed in the building at a time to comply with social-distancing measures.

At the front of the line were Cherie Grant, 26, and Rhiannon Stella, 21, who both lost their hospitality jobs at the weekend.

"We don't have any second form of income so this is what we have to do," Ms Grant said.

Two young women sit on the ground outside Centrelink office to wait
Cherie Grant and Rhiannon Stella both lost their hospitality jobs and are now turning to Centrelink for support.(ABC News: Marcus Alborn)
Bartender Quintus Olsthoorn, 24, who lost his job on Friday when the business he worked for closed, was among the crowd.

"I've still got rent to pay which hasn't gone down, so I've come here because I need to be put on Newstart until I can find a new job, whenever that could be," he said.

"I think it's really tough for anyone who's living pay cheque to pay cheque."

Posted 3h

LaoTze

Thousands now unemployed due to the lockdown in oz. I hope those that advocate for lockdown look those unemployed n those that are living hand to mouth that the misery caused by the 5 percent is worth it.

Coronavirus shutdowns force businesses to close, thousands left unemployed and accessing Centrelink - ABC News
A headshot of a woman in a blue t-shirt wearing a grey face mask.
Susi just lost her job in a cafe and says she doesn't know how she will make her mortgage payment due tomorrow.(ABC News)
In long queues outside Centrelink offices across Western Australia, people made suddenly unemployed are wondering how they are going to pay their bills, look after their children and pay the rent.

Key points:
A national ban on public gathering has forced many businesses to close
Thousands of workers have been told overnight they no longer have jobs
Centrelink services have been overwhelmed as people apply for help
Anxious people today waited their turn to go inside and register their details for the Job Seeker payment, many having only learned yesterday they were out of a job.

Susi, wearing a mask and staying away from others in the queue, said she had received a text from the owner of the cafe where she worked at 10:00pm yesterday.

"I was the last one in and the first one to go," she said.

"I'm on my own. I don't have any money, I don't have anything, my mortgage is due tomorrow. It's not just me, it's everybody."

Further down in the queue, the stark reality of COVID-19 restrictions requiring the widespread closure of businesses has hit Tom, who worked in hospitality.

"It's becoming very real at the moment," he said.

"[I'm] very worried about it. We need to band together at the moment. It's daunting. It makes it very real."

A woman, who did not give her name, had been waiting to be seen at Centrelink since 7:00am.

"All three of my jobs are hospitality and fitness, so I've lost all of them," she said.

"I have two little kids as well and I'm a single mum."

National closures result in widespread layoffs
They were among tens of thousands of people in the state affected by Prime Minister Scott Morrison's announcement businesses had to close by midday today because people were gathering in some of them against social-distancing guidelines.

Prime Minister Scott Morrison announces comprehensive shut down measures
Pubs, clubs, cinemas, casinos, nightclubs, indoor places of worship, gyms and indoor sporting venues all had to shut their doors.

Cafes and restaurants can stay open, but they can only offer takeaway and delivery services.

The WA branch of the Australian Hotels Association (AHA) estimated the new social-distancing measures would cost about 40,000 people their jobs across the state.

AHA WA chief executive Bradley Woods said between 1,500 and 2,000 clubs and bars would be affected in WA and the impact would be severe.

"This is a heartbreaking and challenging day for thousands of business owners and the 50,000 staff they employ across the state," he said.

The AHA was working with the McGowan Government to get urgent clarification on how takeaway food and alcohol sales could occur.

Mr Woods said this would include volume restrictions on alcohol.

"This is to ensure staff safety and avoid the panic buying that we sadly saw with respect to toilet paper and other essential items," he said.

Businesses rush to adapt
Cafes and restaurants were today busily setting up expanded takeaway menus.

Stuart Lofthouse, owner of Greens and Co on Oxford Street in Leederville, encouraged people to support their local small businesses and the staff who worked there.

"Come out and buy a coffee, within the rules that are laid out," Mr Lofthouse said.

"I think it's going to be a very tough time and the amount of hurt in the community is huge."

Earlier, Joseph Andrew was enjoying one last sit-down coffee in Cottesloe and facing life with now more unemployment.

He had jobs in a local restaurant and a stand-up paddle board store, but expected they were finished.

"I have multiple sources of income and they are all on hold," he said.

"I will have to live much thriftier."

Huge queues at WA Centrelink outlets
Queues of people were seen at Centrelink buildings across Perth this morning, including in Victoria Park where dozens of people began lining up an hour and a half before doors opened.

Queue at Centrelink Victoria Park
Queues at Centrelink in Victoria Park stretched around the building.(ABC News: Marcus Alborn)
Only 20 people were allowed in the building at a time to comply with social-distancing measures.

At the front of the line were Cherie Grant, 26, and Rhiannon Stella, 21, who both lost their hospitality jobs at the weekend.

"We don't have any second form of income so this is what we have to do," Ms Grant said.

Two young women sit on the ground outside Centrelink office to wait
Cherie Grant and Rhiannon Stella both lost their hospitality jobs and are now turning to Centrelink for support.(ABC News: Marcus Alborn)
Bartender Quintus Olsthoorn, 24, who lost his job on Friday when the business he worked for closed, was among the crowd.

"I've still got rent to pay which hasn't gone down, so I've come here because I need to be put on Newstart until I can find a new job, whenever that could be," he said.

"I think it's really tough for anyone who's living pay cheque to pay cheque."

Posted 3h

All that happening there, and all over the fucking world.
And Leongsam want to talk of his friend in Auckland who got to close his stupid restaurant and want us to pity his fucking friend.

He must be Leongsam fuck buddy.
Except he flip Leongsam over and tiew his backside.

Very interesting times ahead for all of us!

I am retired, and got quite a bit so I not worried about money.
Even so, I am very very uncertain just what my money can get me in the months and years ahead.

It is a brand new ball game and anyone who say he knows is a fucking liar.

Emoji Laugh GIF - Emoji Laugh Laughing - Discover & Share GIFs

Laughing Emoji GIFs - Find & Share on GIPHY