• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Best curry mee is back at Hong Lim Hawker Centre

Pardon my ignorance, where's the famous lor mee at Old Aiport HC? can let me know the exact position? i will go try :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

The Fish soup corner stall 2nd floor (nearest to chinatown point) is nice and long queue also, 2nd floor also have wantan mee, voted by Stomp as the best wantan mee in SG (FishyPie's standard, LOL), next to the wantan mee stall there's a Hainanese Curry Rice, not bad also...

I saw the fish soup stall queue...not sure if the Wanton Mee is the best.

Pardon my ignorance, where's the famous lor mee at Old Aiport HC? can let me know the exact position? i will go try :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Xin Mei Xiang Lor Mee
Blk 51 Old Airport Road
#01-113 Old Airport Road Food Centre

pc_190x143.jpg

Xin Mei Xiang Lor Mee
Blk 51 Old Airport Road
#01-113 Old Airport Road Food Centre

pc_190x143.jpg

Ok, thanks, but doesnt look like it specialise in Lor Mee alone.... The one at Amoy is not bad, also the one at Crawford Hawker centre inside, not the next HDB below 1.

groinroot

.............., the lady is pretty unhygienic. those with weak stomach will run to lausai after eating...i did once!!
but somehow, i prefer the ah heng's curry despite his small chicken pieces. it looks cleaner!

With Filthy Trash ahtiongs and ahnehs manning many food stalls now, unhygienic food is the order of the day. I have a friend in NEA and he claimed that his Ministry only checks when there is a complaint or when someone is hospitalized due to food-poisoning. It seems that the govt will only act when there is mass food poisoning or a case such as the notorious Indian rojak at Geylang Serai occurs.

1. The curry noodle, downstairs
2. The Crayfish Hor Fun
3. The Hokkien Praw Noodle Soup
4. The Char Kway Teow
5. The Dumplings shop.."bak chang"

Numbers 1, 2, 4, long queue, "Bak Chang", sometimes closed & it is now $3 for one average, Crayfish Hor Fun Have to go their before 12pm sometimes, sold out very quickly.

I have eaten all the stalls. Anyone tried the jelly shark's meat - a very old teochew specialty? The so called " Sungei Road" laksa is also there ( cannot campare with the one in Bendemeer Rd ).The Outram Road CKT is still good. The Crayfish is still okay - I don't like the disposables. The bakchang is good! The salted egg one is shiok! The 2 sisters $2 wanton mee is still okay. I think no more $2 after renovation. The prices of most stalls all gone up, esp the two chicken curry mee stalls. Go there with a strong stomach.

roadrunner

Going slightly off topic here so apologies in advance:smile: it's great to see that nobody is fighting & arguing here :smile: i'm really enjoying all the good comments here & it's really making me hungry. However something has caught my attention, do you think Singapore's food has gone sweeter over the years?

I remember Wanton Mee/Kon Loh Mee being savoury, i remember one stall when i was very very young used a dark meat broth to flavour it, later other stalls started using convenient ready made sauces like oyster sauce, soy sauce, a dash of fish sauce, then came tomato ketchup & dark sweet sauce.

Even the kosong roti prata has gone sweet, it used to be slightly salty if you ate it without curry, now some pratas are sweet & even the curry sauce is sweet!

Char kway tiao used to be smokey & slightly salty with the pork lard, now it's just drowned in sweet black sauce.

Laksa also used to be savoury & spicy, now it seems sweet & spicy!

Even the mighty Chicken Rice these days uses Thai Homali/Jasmine rice, it doesn't taste sweet but it smells sweetly fragrant & some people even put in pandan leaves to boil the rice!

Otah-Otah also sweeter these days, (note: Otak = brain in Malay, don't make that mistake)

Mee Siam use to be a lot sharper & sour with their assam/tamarind, these days again sweeter.

I know food needs that added sugar to get nice flavours out but i think it's gone too sweet liao, anybody agrees with me?

I like the wanton mee, black sweet sauce type, soup good also. got other things to see if its your type......:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Is the black Sweet Sauce type, Malaysian style, I use to eat these like that in JB, KL, Penang etc. the local ones especially the Cantonese would be soy sauce, oil, Tomato Sauce or Chilli sauce.

However something has caught my attention, do you think Singapore's food has gone sweeter over the years?
I agreed. Even the soup is sweeter.All of them added "beecheng".After eating, you become very thirsty and you have to drink tons of water. I think the hawkers use short-cuts - cut down on the stocks used to prepare the soup or the gravy. Yes, to cover up everything, just add sugar or "beecheng". Spot on!

Going slightly off topic here so apologies in advance:smile: it's great to see that nobody is fighting & arguing here :smile: i'm really enjoying all the good comments here & it's really making me hungry. However something has caught my attention, do you think Singapore's food has gone sweeter over the years?

I remember Wanton Mee/Kon Loh Mee being savoury, i remember one stall when i was very very young used a dark meat broth to flavour it, later other stalls started using convenient ready made sauces like oyster sauce, soy sauce, a dash of fish sauce, then came tomato ketchup & dark sweet sauce.

Even the kosong roti prata has gone sweet, it used to be slightly salty if you ate it without curry, now some pratas are sweet & even the curry sauce is sweet!

Char kway tiao used to be smokey & slightly salty with the pork lard, now it's just drowned in sweet black sauce.

Laksa also used to be savoury & spicy, now it seems sweet & spicy!

Even the mighty Chicken Rice these days uses Thai Homali/Jasmine rice, it doesn't taste sweet but it smells sweetly fragrant & some people even put in pandan leaves to boil the rice!

Otah-Otah also sweeter these days, (note: Otak = brain in Malay, don't make that mistake)

Mee Siam use to be a lot sharper & sour with their assam/tamarind, these days again sweeter.

I know food needs that added sugar to get nice flavours out but i think it's gone too sweet liao, anybody agrees with me?

There was an article recently that talking about shortages of duck eggs here, never knew that in the past they used duck eggs for Char Kway Teow & or luank, it seems that the egg give the food a sticky consistency, in which hen eggs doesn't, no wonder nowadays they don't taste so good.

Mee Siam, there was the Malay type of Mee Siam with the fermented beans ( brown), the Indians have two type, one the southern Indian type & the one by the Bengali's ( hope I got this right), the Mee Siam with the pink colored bee hoon & thick gravy & the Chinese, Tamarind gravy, some, slightly sweet.

I dun want to quote long post....

Someone mentioned sungei road laksa....there is only one at block 27 Jin Shui kopi shop near kelantan lane...eat since I was a boy at 50 cents a bowl. Dun get rip off by the fake opposite ah boy motor.

Someone mentioned CKT....hill street at bedok south is reopened