• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Asians and high blood pressure

If you ask the old timer doctors they'll tell you that systolic should not be more than 100 plus your age so if you're 60 a systolic of 160 is normal and nothing much to be concerned about.

If you ask a younger doctor he/she will follow the latest guidelines which is below 120/80 regardless of age. This is because this figure was arrived at via studies done by the drug companies. The more hypertension pills they dispense the better it is for them.

You are correct.

But for an 80 year old pressure of 180 systolic is NOT normal lah.

I used to tell my patients it is like a plumber saying that your old pipes leaky and rattling is normal no need to change or do anything about it.

But these days everyone wants to believe what they want.

We are entering the age of NO SCIENCE OR TRUTHS.

Just what people believe.

If you ask the old timer doctors they'll tell you that systolic should not be more than 100 plus your age so if you're 60 a systolic of 160 is normal and nothing much to be concerned about.

If you ask a younger doctor he/she will follow the latest guidelines which is below 120/80 regardless of age. This is because this figure was arrived at via studies done by the drug companies. The more hypertension pills they dispense the better it is for them.
if you see old timer doctor they will also check diabetic patients using the rapid/instant glucometer. In sinkieland they call it "hypocount".

If fasting 4-7 they will say good. If random 5-10 will say good. If > 10 they will say oh maybe auntie or uncle you ate cake or some dessert last night? Had a good meal? All is good. No bother about HBA1c.

Old timer doctors are great. And their patients love them.

Even when they end up on dialysis or in hospital with stroke their families still love and cherish them.

VS

Young locum comes and says hey uncle you have to do HBA1c. Cost $35. The rapid one says your glucose is 15 too high lah. Even if you ate dessert or not we want to know your HBA1c as a measure of average overall sugar control not one time snap shot.

Patient curses the young doctor for trying to cheat her money pay for unecessary test and ask her to take more medicine so he can earn more money. Fuck the young doctor!

if you see old timer doctor they will also check diabetic patients using the rapid/instant glucometer. In sinkieland they call it "hypocount".

If fasting 4-7 they will say good. If random 5-10 will say good. If > 10 they will say oh maybe auntie or uncle you ate cake or some dessert last night? Had a good meal? All is good. No bother about HBA1c.

Even when they end up on dialysis or in hospital with stroke their families still love and cherish them.

VS

Young locum comes and says hey uncle you have to do HBA1c. Cost $35. The rapid one says your glucose is 15 too high lah. Even if you ate dessert or not we want to know your HBA1c as a measure of average overall sugar control not one time snap shot.

Patient curses the young doctor for trying to cheat her money pay for unecessary test and ask her to take more medicine so he can earn more money. Fuck the young doctor!
Alamak , you donch noe polyclinics do HBA1c regularly on subsidised basis mah ? And in these days almost everybody have a glucometer lah , just one prick before breakfast gives you pretty good reading , right ?

I know of course.

But if you go to a old timer doctor family practice - doctor in his late 60s and above you might still find him and his loyal following of patients.

I used to see this sort of thing all the time as a locum dr.

Remember that in the early 70s and 80s glucometer was not commonplace. That's when these old timers graduated. HBA1c was unheard of too.

I am just using the same speak for Diabetes as the one about normal BP = 100 + Age. LOL!

Kopied from American Heart Association.

IMG_20201003_001622.jpg

Kopied from American Heart Association.

View attachment 92284

Another common one is iatrogenic.

Anti-Hypertensive medication.

Especially in the elderly.

The last I recall geriatricians would accept elderly above age 65 with BP <150 systolic. Risk of fall from dizziness associated with relative low BP is more dangerous than the slightly elevated BP 140-150 systolic.

Cardiologist will disagree with Geriatrician .

The last I recall geriatricians would accept elderly above age 65 with BP <150 systolic. Risk of fall from dizziness associated with relative low BP is more dangerous than the slightly elevated BP 140-150 systolic.

Hi Doc,
Greetings.

My BP always around 80~90.
But I do not feel dizzy.
Using Omron.

IMG_20201003_002044.jpg

VS

Back in the day the rookie or cannot-make-it doctors can be found at the polyclinics, but you knew what you were getting for the cheap price.

These days, polyclinics aren't exactly cheap and rookie, cannot-make-it doctors open clinics all over the heartlands.

Also, doctors and dentists are enthusiastic salespeople these days, because of CHAS. They tend to recommend extra or pricier treatments.

If no quarrel, then I wolly.

At least, they dont use vulgarities like the Big Bitch here.

Btw thanks to your IGNORE button, I ::

View attachment 92241

@sweetiepie.
@glockman

Eh KNN, you tagged me for what? Are you trying to tell me if I don't take my blood pressure pill daily, I'd drop dead the following day with blood shooting out of my nostrils and ears?

Well, you are right! Sadly. Fuck my life!:frown:

Eh KNN, you tagged me for what? Are you trying to tell me if I don't take my blood pressure pill daily, I'd drop dead the following day with blood shooting out of my nostrils and ears?

No Lah.
For Info only Lah.
I vely scare The Punisher blow my brains.

Still on Graveyard shift arh?
No Off to sail your Bertram?

What radar you using?
Furuno??

Hi Doc,
Greetings.

But I do not feel dizzy.
Using Omron.

View attachment 92285

We have the same exact model! I also have the Omron wrist model which I take with me on my travels. I try not to die when I am overseas. Headline will read : Singaporean found dead in hotel room : Suspected stroke and with erection.

Leporter will type
"Sgp die cock standing".:biggrin::laugh::roflmao:.
With your big big peekture.

Still on Graveyard shift arh?
No Off to sail your Bertram?

What radar you using?
Furuno??
Tomorrow evening sailing off. I only get sporadic land-based wifi on my boat, I would be too busy to need connection anyway when I am connecting with a few chiobus.

Don't know what radar, but my skipper would know.

Hi Doc,
Greetings.

But I do not feel dizzy.
Using Omron.

View attachment 92285

are you on any medication?

If not then ok. The lower the better unless you feel dizzy or at risk of falls.

If you are on medication should consider reducing dose or going off the medication. Or if you are happy the way it is just continue.

Back in the day the rookie or cannot-make-it doctors can be found at the polyclinics, but you knew what you were getting for the cheap price.

These days, polyclinics aren't exactly cheap and rookie, cannot-make-it doctors open clinics all over the heartlands.

Also, doctors and dentists are enthusiastic salespeople these days, because of CHAS. They tend to recommend extra or pricier treatments.

Actually no point seeing dr if you don't want to see the doctor.

Please please please. Those who don't want to see doctor and don't want to listen to doctor DO NOT GO TO THE CLINIC OR HOSPITAL!

DO NOT GO!

You can just stay at home or go see someone you want and trust.

Don't waste your time and their time going to the hospital or clinic. Ok?

The worst are those patients go to see doctor to quarrel with doctor and tell dr they are wrong and to do treatment the way the patient think is right.

It's not like you want some special custom bubble tea drink ok? Like Oolong Taro Tea with Grass Jelly or something like that. Doctor anyhow listen to you and do what you want will get dr in trouble ok!

Currently
117/79
pulse 80

Am I ok? 25mg atenolol. But I also take in about 30mg of nicotine daily.

Currently
117/79
pulse 80

Am I ok? 25mg atenolol.
Good.

25mg Atenolol is small dose lah.

Why still taking Atenolol? Your doctor must be old timer.

Somehow in Canada hardly anyone uses Atenolol these days.

If beta blocker is Bisoprolol or Metoprolol. And usually beta blocker not first line anymore
Usually either a Calcium Channel Blocker (CCB) or ACE or ARB inhibitor.

Amlodipine. Telmisartan. Irbesartan. Candesartan.

You are right, others I know have already switched to some other brands. Less side effects I was told. Old timers have old timer doctors.

yup. Often it is not about the medicine.

It is a fit of personalities between patient and doctor.

And the "best" doctors are the ones patients get along with. Are told what they want to hear. Compatible cost wise (this varies what is considered acceptable from patient to patient of course). And the general "niceness" they feel from the dr.

Hence why there are many quacks out there.