• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Asians and high blood pressure

I'm convinced Hypertension is a state of the mind.

I've done numerous experiments with my own blood pressure monitor and I've found that 10 minutes of mindfulness will invariably reduce my systolic and diastolic pressure by 10mm to 15mm of Hg.

This is the app I use : https://www.calm.com/

Headspace is good too but there is less variety. https://www.headspace.com/

Sustained physical activity brings it down too. 3 hours of cycling reduces it by 20mm Hg or more.

So on days when I measure my BP and it's on the high side for whatever reason... eg forum down, full of spam, threatened with law suit etc I get off my computer/phone and go out for a 50km ride. When I get back it's back to normal or often lower than normal.

There is not a single topic here that cannot end up in an almighty quarrel.

If no quarrel, then I wolly.

At least, they dont use vulgarities like the Big Bitch here.

Btw thanks to your IGNORE button, I ::

IMG_20200907_162807_327.jpg

@sweetiepie.
@glockman

Just my 2 cents. Cut down on carbohydrates. Eat more meat n vegetables n most important. Fibre. Takes lots of it n ensure every day go to the loo. Regular movement is important.
my mantra is rather simple ,

walk ,walk and walk and walk ...that's all ...of course ,you need to give up driving and take public transport mostly

I have this habit of walking miles and miles in my youth ,even while overseas...the momment I moved to a hotel, just pull up a jean and T shirt and survey the surroundings simply by walking ...so much so ,the next day i can tell my driver where what place indeed is

why walk ? just observe the animals ...even a huge one like the elephant ,beleive it not it covers huge mileage everyday ....and hence whatever we eat becomes immaterial whether we can burn it and actually digest it becomes critical

even among human ,what is toxic for one particular race or tribe becomes healthy for another...fat as an example ,not too good in tropics but a vital necessity in cold countries ...it's not want you eat but whether you can digest and burn it or not

I've done numerous experiments with my own blood pressure monitor and I've found that 10 minutes of mindfulness will invariably reduce my systolic and diastolic pressure by 10mm to 15mm of Hg.

Sustained physical activity brings it down too. 3 hours of cycling reduces it by 20mm Hg or more.

So on days when I measure my BP and it's on the high side for whatever reason... eg forum down, full of spam, threatened with law suit etc I get off my computer/phone and go out for a 50km ride. When I get back it's back to normal or often lower than normal.
KNN my uncle agreed on this findings KNN my uncle also tested during bp measurement if his balls is tickled by the person measuring for him the bp tend to rise by approx 20mm (no pun intended KNN) KNN

I'll try that out and report back.

not so simple lah .

yes ! its one of the factor ,summarised to anxiety and tension ..it does drive your BP ..but it's not residual ,it's simply acute meaning what goes up will come down once you are calm and composed

but not for folks who has certain underlying sickness ,kidney disease for example ,do you know that certain hormones that control your BP is produced by the kidney ..hence a damaged kidney keeps your BP up no matter what ...and again there are other factors that drives your BP up too ...cloating, for example ,if your heart arteries are blocked your BP is certainly gonna be high

not so simple lah .

yes ! its one of the factor ,summarised to anxiety and tension ..it does drive your BP ..but it's not residual ,it's simply acute meaning what goes up will come down once your calm and composed

but not for folks who has certain underlying sickness ,kidney disease for example ,do you know that certain hormones that control your BP is produced by the kidney ..hence a damage kidney keeps your BP no matter what ...and again there are factors that drives your BP up too ...cloating, for example ,if your heart arteries are blocked your BP is certainly gonna be high
I'll be more specific I'm referring to essential hypertension which is responsible for the vast marjority of cases.

thats not classified as hyper tension lah ..say your BP is high in your visit to a doctor, the nurse will not take that reading ...she will take it the 2nd and 3rd time ...even if it's still high will ask you to sit for another half and hour at least before taking the final reading

Likely, these

Knn, poly u get all the Aunties doing the testing, so if u get one like Aunty Ho tickling ur balls Ur BP up or Dwn.

Likely, these

Knn, poly u get all the Aunties doing the testing, so if u get one like Aunty Ho tickling ur balls Ur BP up or Dwn.
KNN my uncle think should also be up KNN don't forget mdm got big nehs KNN

thats not classified as hyper tension lah ..say your BP is high in your visit to a doctor, the nurse will not take that reading ...she will take it the 2nd and 3rd time ...even if it's still high will ask you to sit for another half and hour at least before taking the final reading
It's called primary hypertension and for those who are chronically stressed a 30 minute wait is not going to bring it down significantly.

Primary hypertension simply means that everything else has checked out fine ie kidneys, thyroid, cholesterol, blood flow etc. A typical symptom of arterial obstruction is a large delta between the pressure on the left vs the right arm.

When I was diagnosed with hypertension in Singapore I was in my late 20s. Pressure was 140/90 and sometimes even higher.

I started on medication to bring it down to the 115/75 zone.

When I retired my blood pressure problems went away and I came off my medication. It went up slightly to the 120/85 region.

Now that I exercise regularly my blood pressure is 115/65 to about 130/80. Doc says that at my age it's fine and no medication is required.

If you ask the old timer doctors they'll tell you that systolic should not be more than 100 plus your age so if you're 60 a systolic of 160 is normal and nothing much to be concerned about.

If you ask a younger doctor he/she will follow the latest guidelines which is below 120/80 regardless of age. This is because this figure was arrived at via studies done by the drug companies. The more hypertension pills they dispense the better it is for them.

Watch more comedies.... :biggrin:

Laughter decreases stress hormones and increases immune cells and infection-fighting antibodies, thus improving your resistance to disease. Laughter triggers the release of endorphins, the body's natural feel-good chemicals. Endorphins promote an overall sense of well-being and can even temporarily relieve pain.

really hor? hey ,it's you who barged into my post and disagreed too ,remember ?..so now you are telling me to ignore because you some big fuck izzit ?

yup ,you are right on that account because he who knows not that he knows not and yet he knows not that he knows not ,is a fool - avoid him

wanna act big and tough must have some nominal English comprehension ability arso lah

incidently ,your spelling sucks too
Into my ignore list.. Bye..

Watch more comedies.... :biggrin:

Laughter decreases stress hormones and increases immune cells and infection-fighting antibodies, thus improving your resistance to disease. Laughter triggers the release of endorphins, the body's natural feel-good chemicals. Endorphins promote an overall sense of well-being and can even temporarily relieve pain.
What about sex?

It's called primary hypertension and for those who are chronically stressed a 30 minute wait is not going to bring it down significantly.

Primary hypertension simply means that everything else has checked out fine ie kidneys, thyroid, cholesterol, blood flow etc. A typical symptom of arterial obstruction is a large delta between the pressure on the left vs the right arm.

When I was diagnosed with hypertension in Singapore I was in my late 20s. Pressure was 140/90 and sometimes even higher.

I started on medication to bring it down to the 115/75 zone.

When I retired my blood pressure problems went away and I came off my medication. It went up slightly to the 120/85 region.

Now that I exercise regularly my blood pressure is 115/65 to about 130/80. Doc says that at my age it's fine and no medication is required.
still could not figure out your drivel ...if you had high BP at that young age and that the BP improved over excercise and relaxation than the chances are the doctor would not have treated you with BP medication such as Atenolol, because if you pressure goes up when you are stressed the chances are it go down when you rest like sleeping but since the BP medication is still working and you might go into coma ....so ,was it BP medication that doctor prescribed ? and if you had been on BP medication long enough than you must be aware of the 2nd ,3rd and 4th generation of medicines such as Beta blockers ,calcium blocker and Ace inhibitor, what was you on ?

and from what I gather ,I speculate its your blood viscosity the problem ,blood thinners such as aspirin 100 mg or less are standard prescription for this , as well as muscle relaxant to relieve your tension

I am no doctor but had seen enough specialists to know a bit here and there

Into my ignore list.. Bye..
to be ignored arso must understand simple English and write without much grammer or spelling mistake mah? there is indeed a minimum standard for everything ,you appear to fail even that test ...or with your lack of comprehension and atrocious grammer and spelling you would simply stand out as a sore thump

have a nice day

Good point Zhihau. At times I also using my dad's blood pressure monitor to check on my BP. Then recently kena UTI ( Urinary tract infection ), went to the GP, did urine test and Doc did my BP too. My BP reading was fine. Still smoking one pack of Lucky Strikes a day though.