• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

It suddenly dawned upon me that my passport would expire in a year's time.

So far has any bro managed to have your passport renewed or new passport issued @ High Commission in Thailand ?

It suddenly dawned upon me that my passport would expire in a year's time.

So far has any bro managed to have your passport renewed or new passport issued @ High Commission in Thailand ?
You can renew passport in embassy last can do extension but not anymore. Heard you can also apply online now and have it send to the embassy.

Thanks.....but still wondering if there is a proper name for it because I know somehow the Thais will "k-kiang" and give me something else.;)

knn in Thailand its called AIRCARD la huawei-e160e__32864_zoom.jpg

Any device need to serve net must have SIM sure but its inside the AIRCARD and you just stick it in and never see it again. Then you just stick the AIRCARD into your USB port in your computer la.

For those using FREE satellite dish in Thailand, if you're not on UBC, are you able to watch Barclay's Premier League ?

If you really need to put up a dish I can give you contact when you are back. A 张先生 (Taiwanese) he fixed my dishes to watch Taiwanese and Hong Kong programs and I am sure he has a solution for you. I'm not a football fan so this guy will surely be able to tell you now.

Re: KLM to stop from TPE - BKK from 26 March 101

Joe, guess your flying TG here with choice of daily flights (with flexibility of changing) -explains pricing thb12k. CX may come in cheaper thb7-8k, but restricted to 1 daily flight. And of course, you lose out on Star Alliance miles.

It's CX doing transit run to/fro HK (load factor), and you may either get PRC aunty next to you. Once, I got lucky with upgrade return (not that the diff is telling on short runs)

Re: A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand ? Feasible?

Sure you got your head right on this 1?! Alamak, broad shoulders and all that ..dead giveaway sometimes.:eek: And better you than me to vouch for this in WS hehehehe.

You can make do with (more) sinful options mah
YY, really. Normally, you will see the Katoeys more dramatic in their every movements. Even flipping the hair also more women than women. Their walking also machiam like model catwalk.

Yes, Sinkee food is hard to find in LOS. Only way is to cook it myself but it's always more expensive to cook then to dine outside.

Joe, guess your flying TG here with choice of daily flights (with flexibility of changing) -explains pricing thb12k. CX may come in cheaper thb7-8k, but restricted to 1 daily flight. And of course, you lose out on Star Alliance miles.

It's CX doing transit run to/fro HK (load factor), and you may either get PRC aunty next to you. Once, I got lucky with upgrade return (not that the diff is telling on short runs)

You are absolutely right, its for flexibility. You see my return ticket is 27th but I changed last minute on 27th to 28th. Also because of the miles it entitled my to carry 50kg and I do this very often because I will shop for my family in Singapore and when return I will also buy many stuff back.

I like the name. Man Fu Bao.

I prefer our SA-LA-BAO name here

The temperature here is 12 degrees Celsius. mai wai mai wai.

Oh yes ! Thanks for the clarification.

But 3.5G network in Thailand ? Maybe not the entire of Thailand.
many bros answer your question liaoz. Yes, it's call Aircard. If you buy those package with AIS/DTAC/TRUE, it already has a prepaid 3G SIM card with value of 30 hours. I have 3 aircards now. The latest one I bought is a AIS 7.2Mbps Aircard (Hwawei). You can top up the card anytime just like normal SIM card. If you want to use an existing SIM card, you need to call the call centre to have them turn on the 3G service.

My advice is to get the TRUE 3G prepaid cards. You won't be disappointed. I am using it for my ipad.

For those using FREE satellite dish in Thailand, if you're not on UBC, are you able to watch Barclay's Premier League ?
Yes, I am using these set top boxes in upcountry (Surin and Buriram). Can watch live EPL, La Liga, NBA, NFL but all in different languages (Vietnamese, Khmer, Hindi and even Russian). There are 300 channels in one of these boxes.

The temperature here is 12 degrees Celsius. mai wai mai wai.
LOS now is very very hot.

But 3.5G network in Thailand ? Maybe not the entire of Thailand.
BKK is 3G/3.5G ready and so is Phuket, Pattaya and Chiangmai.

These sim cards have a phone number too but you won't be able to call them or make a call from them.
Jah, LOS 3G cards from AIS/DTAC/TRUE can be use for both voice and data calls. Have tried all of them. Only problem I face is when phone is on 3G mode, the data will temporary get disconnected when there is an incoming voice call.

Was at Jomtien last evening to continue recce the place for potential joints.

Photo0471.jpg

Name of Bar is call Lanna Bar. Very new, probably less than a month old.

Photo0468.jpg

Customer playing pools and at bar counter. Quite relaxing place.

Photo0470.jpg

Photo0469.jpg

The opposite side is under going construction for another 20-30 bars.

If you buy those package with AIS/DTAC/TRUE, it already has a prepaid 3G SIM card with value of 30 hours. I have 3 aircards now. The latest one I bought is a AIS 7.2Mbps Aircard (Hwawei). You can top up the card anytime just like normal SIM card. If you want to use an existing SIM card, you need to call the call centre to have them turn on the 3G service.

My advice is to get the TRUE 3G prepaid cards. You won't be disappointed. I am using it for my ipad.

BKK there's 3G and there's 3.5G. 3.5G (HSPA+) is faster (theoretically up to 21Mbps down, but in real world, around perhaps 3-7Mbps). A 7.2Mbps Huawei is 3G not 3.5G but good enough - you will get perhaps 2-3 Mbps down.

True has 2 offerings: 3G (TrueMove) and 3.5G (TrueMove-H). They are not the same - different network. TrueMove has time-based prepaid plans but network sucky. TrueMove-H has only volume prepaid plans but good speeds/connection.

DTAC has time-based plans too. But, as with all time-based plans, there is no free lunch. They will throttle your connection down after a certain volume is reached (called "fair use" policy) so you might get 2Mbps down at first, but once you cross a threshold, speed will automatically drop to 300-600 Kbps.

These data-only SIM cards, you can only buy in a telco shop- they won't ask you for passport. 7-11 is where you buy top-ups.

Yes, I am using these set top boxes in upcountry (Surin and Buriram). Can watch live EPL, La Liga, NBA, NFL but all in different languages (Vietnamese, Khmer, Hindi and even Russian). There are 300 channels in one of these boxes.

Okay manz ! TRUE shall be the ONE. Because I stay near a hotel, so I can sit at the lounge and surf the NET with free aircon and music. I will go to TRUE @ Fortune Centre to enquire.

As for the set top boxes, got "brand" or not ? How much does it cost ? Last time I called an Ang Moh who was supposed to be providing such service, he wanted to charge me a bomb. Kept asking for the directions of my windows and balcony. Unfortunately, my unit is a bit low rise and balcony blocked by another building about 10 metres away.

Not all TG fares earn miles. When you buy an airticket (non-budget), there are many classes of ticket even in Economy (there are called "fare classes" e.g. Y/B/M/W/S/K what lah also got etc, all at different prices for a given moment). Some you can change with no penalty, some you must pay. Some you don't earn miles. You read the "fare restrictions/conditions" to determine this. SQ same same.

About ordering food, as Joetys says, all legacy carriers allow you to specify food preference in Y (economy). For example, some pax are vegetarian,Muslim/Hindu/have allergies etc and have certain dietary restrictions.

About luggage, how many and how heavy depends on your class of travel, where you going (e.g. intra-asia, transpacific etc), and your status with airline. For example, Star Alliance Gold and above can check in 3 bags of 20kg each intra-asia.

At BKK, if you fly business class and above, the majority of airlines will give you a "Premium Lane" pass. It's a gold-colored paper the size of the boarding pass and it gets you into a priority immigration line (can use inbound and/or outbound). What I do is I've saved a couple of these when the normal lines are short and I keep them for the future. Got downside though, I kenna burned recently because 1 year back, AOT changed these passes to version 2.0 (gold) so all my previously saved ones all became worthless. For TG, no pass is given nowadays, just show business-class boarding pass gets you into the line.

Disclaimer: If my $$, I fly budget all the time. Cheapest possible. Don't need food, don't need check-in luggage. Don't need to select seat.

.. (non-budget), there are many classes of ticket even in Economy (there are called "fare classes" e.g. Y/B/M/W/S/K what lah also got etc, all at different prices for a given moment). Some you can change with no penalty, some you must pay. Some you don't earn miles. You read the "fare restrictions/conditions" to determine this. SQ same same.
example, some pax are vegetarian,Muslim/Hindu/have allergies etc and have certain dietary restrictions.
At BKK, if you fly business class and above, the majority of airlines given.... nowadays, just show business-class boarding pass gets you into the line.
Disclaimer: If my $$, I fly budget all the time. Cheapest possible. Don't need food, don't need check-in luggage. Don't need to select seat.
Yo, myriad of ticketing on regular airlines (with restrictions):confused:
As for pre-booking meals, note Khun Joe's preference for hearty ah neh (non vege) makan. Most if not all my
co-passengers (not of choice) of south asia descent invariably order vege meals. Once on a MAS flight from KL to Bkk, poor Indian family across the aisle forgot advance order vege makan. So flight attendant had to give
them some choc bars.

On priority perks, like 1st to board ..must confess I use my old expired (3 years liao) SQ SA gold card. Works so long as SQ don't change card style or colour. :o But once from Shanghai, blxxdy eagle eyed ground crew caught me with my pants down in looping Q (so red faced, go to back Q kns).

Was lucky to do business class once to Europe on working trip (purposely stopover Bkk on TG). Wow, priority immigration and good lounge in swampy. Another time, a farang colleague passed me his gold
card in Copenhagen transiting before long 13hrs pig of flight home. Diff with european lounge staff (vs here in
Asia) is they never check my passport or verify against my boarding pass -just took my word and
shooed me in (maybe lucky busy evening). I mailed his gold card back:cool:

And on budget airline pricing, you'll be surprised regular airline can be competitive (even cheaper) on non-peak
periods. For budget, principle is early advance booking (money in bank 1st).

Re: A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand ? Feasible?

Normally, you will see the Katoeys more dramatic in their every movements. Even flipping the hair also more women than women. Their walking also machiam like model catwalk.
This funnie specially for you, machiam expert to pick out katoeys:p:

One evening in KL with Mary..

A Sikh gentleman was walking along Jalan Bukit Bintang, in Kuala Lumpur one night and a very gorgeous girl caught his eyes.
He initiated a conversation with her, and quickly discovered that she is one of those "exclusive" ladies-of-the-trade.

"How much do you charge?", asked Gerdial Singh

Mary replied, "It starts at 500 ringgit for a hand-job."

Gerdial said, "500 ringgit for a hand-job? No hand-job is worth that kind of money!"

With a saucy flick of her eyelashes, Mary said, "Do you see that Mary Restaurant on the corner?"
"Yes."
"Do you see the next Mary's about another block further down?"
"Yes."
"And beyond that, do you see the third Mary's, just by the side of the old Cathay cinema?"
"Yes."
"Well," said Mary, smiling invitingly,"I own those.

And, I own them because I give a hand-job that's worth 500 ringgit."

Gerdial then exclaimed, "What the hell? You only live once. I'll give it a try."
They retired to the nearby Marriott Hotel.

A short time later, Mr Gerdial Singh was sitting on the bed realising that he just experienced the hand-job of a lifetime, worth every bit of 500 ringgit.

He is so amazed, he enquired, "I suppose a blow-job is 1,000 ringgit?"

Mary replied, "RM1,500."
"I wouldn't pay that for a blow-job!"

Mary then responded, while signalling Gerdial to come closer to her.

"Come closer to this window, big boy. Do you see that bank just across the junction to Jalan Sultan Ismail?

I own that bank outright. And I own it because I give a blow-job that's worth every sen of 1,500 ringgit !"

And poor Gerdial, basking in the afterglow of that terrific hand-job, decides to put off his intended new mobile phone and says, "Give it to me !!!"

Ten minutes later, he was sitting on the bed more amazed than before.

Mr Singh can scarcely believe it but he felt he truly got his money's worth.

He decided to dip into what else he may have left with him for one more glorious and unforgettable experience.

He then asked Mary,"How much for some pussy?"

Mary replies, "Come over here to this other window, I want to show you something.

Do you see how the whole city of Kuala Lumpur is laid out before us ..... all those beautiful lights, banks .... corporate offices .... business houses ..... and big-&-small shops and places?"

"Wowwww !!" Gerdial shouted out in awe, "You own the whole city ??"

"No," Mary replied, "but I would if I had a pussy.

LOS now is very very hot.

BKK is 3G/3.5G ready and so is Phuket, Pattaya and Chiangmai.

Jah, LOS 3G cards from AIS/DTAC/TRUE can be use for both voice and data calls. Have tried all of them. Only problem I face is when phone is on 3G mode, the data will temporary get disconnected when there is an incoming voice call.

I see it's different for each country. In sg these broadband sim cards can only send a limited number of sms and no phone calls with a number of data plans. One plan is 3 days unlimited for 18 bucks or 9 hours at different times.

I have one sim card from ais and i need to subsribe for 50 bhat everyday for unlimited if i enable 3G service if not it's 1 bhat per min. If you forget about it you'll find all your alot of credit gone at the end of the day.

So they don't have a specific data sim cards like sg? If you use the broadband modem you won't be able to make phone calls from it.