• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

euphony

yea just as the rich gets richer. i guess follows the basic principles of darwinian selection. it is the exceptions that really gives us hope that all things are possible.

Self actualization unfortunately still comes mainly to those whose basic needs are met.

One of my friends bought an apartment in LOS, another is gonna get hitched to a Malaysian gal, so likely to retire out of SG too. I hope to get accustomed to living in Nusajaya, though it will be a challenge to convince parents to move over, and my other sibling resides in OZ.

Agreed on the living costs factor, increasingly it could force more S'poreans to live in Johor. Only time will tell.

Shouldn't be a problem adjusting to life in JB, it is just like living in Woodlands, just cheaper :smile:

I won't try to convince my parents to move because they are old & their friends are in Spore. That's why I've factored in the extra cost of continuing to maintain a home in Spore. Owning a home is not that important to me, I'll be satisfied with renting a place in LOS. This may change after I've had an oppurtunity to stay in LOS long time.

Meng aka "Satu Malaysia' - +60 12 770 9242
Overseas Tyre and Services (Michellin yellow signboard)

Other than Eminent, another good place for massage is (closes around midnight to 2am):
Comfort No. 5 Jalan Bestari 8/2, Taman Nusa Bestari 81300 Skudai
+60 7 2366 755

Good vegetarian food place:
Restoran Organik Villa Sayur Sayuran
No.2 Jalan Titiwangsa 3/2, Taman Tampoi Indah, 81200 JB
Florence Choo +607 236 9698

Good place for computer stuff

iSave
G22 Giant Hypermarket
Nusa Bestari
Taman Nusa Bestari
81300, JB

James Tuyo
+607 237 7699

Hehe I happened to eat at that vegetarian restaurant once, the claypot curry veg is not bad, lots of tau pok! The shop is at a corner, just behind the row of lighting and furniture shops facing the main road.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Thailand seems an interesting place to move to after reading some of the posts in the Bangkok thread..one of my friend said Chiangmai is a nice place for retirement..

Yes it is, in fact, i considered LOS way before Johore. In the end, found this to suit my needs better for now. Chiang Rai is also good i heard. Starting to be a lot of foreigners in Chiang Mai nowadays.
It still remains part of my Phase 3 programme. :smile:

euphony

in KL looks like brdb? but their permas jaya in JB was a completed disaster less straits view until senibong came into the picture. or maybe YTL but a predominantly KL player.

Not sure who is the CDL equivalent in malaysia? UEM need to buck up..

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hehe I happened to eat at that vegetarian restaurant once, the claypot curry veg is not bad, lots of tau pok! The shop is at a corner, just behind the row of lighting and furniture shops facing the main road.

Yes nice food there, not too ex too. Buffet style if you go for the rice/noodles and different types of food available. Sell out quite early though. :smile:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Shouldn't be a problem adjusting to life in JB, it is just like living in Woodlands, just cheaper :smile:

I won't try to convince my parents to move because they are old & their friends are in Spore. That's why I've factored in the extra cost of continuing to maintain a home in Spore. Owning a home is not that important to me, I'll be satisfied with renting a place in LOS. This may change after I've had an oppurtunity to stay in LOS long time.

Definitely no problem for me but in the beginning, couldn't get used to an almost noiseless environment at night.
Understand, good for you. You can still buy condos there free hold but only with restriction such as minimum
numbers of locals must be met, etc and the land the condo sits on is still leasehold. Houses that you can buy
are 30 years x 3 leases so its 90 years.

Not sure if that has changed. If you are going to just try there, rental would be good or get those places where you can rent with a view to buying.
Still doable for retirement plus Thailand is even cheaper in some areas except probably furniture and petrol. (I really did go to parts of Thailand to try things out) for a while.

Only issue for me is language and in some parts probably not a place for my parents.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Wuqi, what I like about you is that you are so humble. You are one of the brightest and most-determined guys around.

Thanks avelc, there are tonnes of others who are way ahead and better than me, Singapore is a actually a land of crouching tigers and hidden dragons. Just that their masters
think they are crouching kittens and hidden lizards and keep looking down on them. :(

Compared to the real tigers and dragons, i am but a tiny ant, working hard to make sure the family, parents and now the staff and workers i have are fed.

I reminded my wife this - It is the responsibility of the boss to ensure that their monthly pay goes through, no matter whether or not the boss has enough money to eat.

A thai friend told me that it is the #1 choice for thais who retire. All these years of visiting LOS I've never been to Chiangmai:eek: Will probably do a visit next year & do a look see.

Will want to see how badly it was affected by the floods.

Hehe my friend is not Thai, but she is very well travelled and quite critical of some places. So I guess Chiangmai must have its charm for her to rank so highly. Actually I went Chiangmai many years ago as part of package tour, but can't recall anything special about the place. I prefer Bangkok for the buzz.

Yes it is, in fact, i considered LOS way before Johore. In the end, found this to suit my needs better for now. Chiang Rai is also good i heard. Starting to be a lot of foreigners in Chiang Mai nowadays.

Wow you actually considered Thailand before. For me, never thought of it becos of the language issue but seems that those people in the Bangkok thread got no issue leh, may be feasible afterall. Next time if Msia don't welcome Sporeans to retire in JB, I move to Thailand lor haha.

arsenal

Wow you actually considered Thailand before. For me, never thought of it becos of the language issue but seems that those people in the Bangkok thread got no issue leh, may be feasible afterall. Next time if Msia don't welcome Sporeans to retire in JB, I move to Thailand lor haha.

10 years ago a business associate brought me along yo buy land in a place 1.5hrs away from Bangkok.. it is a beautiful hill.. temperature there was about 24-25c.. with people growing grapes for wine. 20000ft of land cited around 30k.. i realised then there are a lot if nice place near Singapore..

arsenal

I have also lived in Europe, America, north Asia for a while... the paradise to me is actually nusajaya.. other places that i like are Taiwan and sabah..
Singapore is not bad...but expensive and soulless..

mathstub

One of the happiest periods of my life while at the same time being the toughest period of my life was those few years of my childhood in LOS. I love the place, people, culture, food, lives and almost everything there. When I was a kid, I often thought of moving to stay in LOS at some point in my life after I grew up. Retirement in LOS is one of the things often poping up in my mind, maybe mainly due to my childhood memory and experience. The only problem for the foreigners is they cannot own landed property there (at least for Bangkok, for other cities, I am not quite sure). However, for most of the condominiums, buying is not a problem. I went to Chiang Mai when I was a little kid and it was just beautiful. I have not been to Chiang Mai since then. Every time when I visit LOS, I mostly go to Bangkok. Next time, when I go there, I will certainly go to Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai. :smile:

For the language issue, I can speak Thai and so this should not cause me any problem. But most Thai people are eager to communicate with the foreigners in English. Even for some of those who can speak, their English may not be top-notch but it is effective enough for daily communication. Thai people are so friendly and you can always feel you are so welcome there especially if you show your interest in their culture and in blending in, you can easily feel you are one of them. :biggrin:

What you said is true: Chiangmai being a popular place for retirement for Thais (not sure whether it is no.1 choice or not). A lot of my relatives there in Thailand including my aunts, uncles and cousins have bought their houses in Chiangmai for retirement. By the way, each family of each of my relatives has several cars (even though they are just normal people, certainly not the rich ones) and obviously has a decent life there and they always look so happy. I once asked them whether they were interested to move to or retire in other places. They all said "no" because they love Thailand and they said if they could earn money there, they would certainly not consider any other countries and for retirement, they all thought it must be Thailand.

A thai friend told me that it is the #1 choice for thais who retire. All these years of visiting LOS I've never been to Chiangmai:eek: Will probably do a visit next year & do a look see.

Will want to see how badly it was affected by the floods.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section

It is most definitely worth considering and remains on my radar. :smile:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
What's happening to Singapore's legal system?
Days after a teen was stabbed by youths, another 20-year-old youth has been attacked and killed
http://sg.news.yahoo.com/20-year-old-killed-in-youth-attack--report.html

I am sure its just an isolated incident.

As friends told me, they will never believe robberies take place in Singapore. They still don't even when our ang moh colleague sent them the SPF statistics. He replied, even got robbery in SG they will not use knives. Then my ang moh friend asked him, then use what to rob? Use hand?

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
I have also lived in Europe, America, north Asia for a while... the paradise to me is actually nusajaya.. other places that i like are Taiwan and sabah..
Singapore is not bad...but expensive and soulless..

Good for you. Being in the upper 20% of the population in Singapore does not guarantee happiness especially once you really see the world, warts and all. You really realise that there is a world out there.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
One of the happiest periods of my life while at the same time being the toughest period of my life was those few years of my childhood in LOS. I love the place, people, culture, food, lives and almost everything there. When I was a kid, I often thought of moving to stay in LOS at some point in my life. Retirement in LOS is one of the things often poping up in my mind, maybe mainly due to my childhood memory and experience. The only problem for the foreigners is they cannot own landed property there (at least for Bangkok, for other cities, I am not quite sure). However, for most of the condominiums, buying is not a problem. I went to Chiang Mai when I was a little kid and it was just beautiful. I have not been to Chiang Mai since then. Every time when I visit LOS, I mostly go to Bangkok. Next time, when I go there, I will certainly go to Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai.

For the language issue, I can speak perfect Thai and so this should not cause any problem to me. But most Thai people are eager to communicate with the foreigners in English. Even for some of those who can speak, their English may not be top-notch but it is effective enough for daily communication. Thai people are so friendly and you can always feel you are so welcome there especially if you show your interest in their culture and in blending in, you can easily feel you are one of them.

What you said is true: Chiangmai being a popular place for retirement for Thais (not sure whether it is no.1 choice or not). A lot of my relatives there in Thailand including my aunts, uncles and cousins have bought their houses in Chiangmai for retirement. By the way, each family of each of my relatives has several cars (even though they are just normal people, certainly not the rich ones) and obviously has a decent life there. I once asked them whether they were interested to move to or retire in other places. They all said "no" because they love Thailand and they said if they could earn money there, they would certainly not consider any other countries and for retirement, they all thought it must be Thailand.

Its more of a mom and dad issue, i cannot leave them behind no matter what. If they are not willing to go, then i have to reconsider the place and find a compromise. I am so glad your relatives like it in Thailand though.

mathstub

Bro Wuqi, I had the same issue like you when I was in the US. When I was in the US, I tried to take my mom there but she said she would have a hard time adapting and preferred not to go. So in the end, I decided to leave the US with my wife and kid to be close to my mom.

Its more of a mom and dad issue, i cannot leave them behind no matter what. If they are not willing to go, then i have to reconsider the place and find a compromise. I am so glad your relatives like it in Thailand though.

LGLab

Must resist.....dark side.......draw of the dark side is strong.........must hang on.........

HaHa.. i still couldnt resist the dark side. and wanted to move to jb despite not knowing the place well..

Reasons?

1) Avoid a darn stupid uncle which is my mother's brother keeps coming to borrow $$ .. and always my mum will lend him.
2) lower my cost my living .. im sole breadwinner feeding 5 mouths including myself.
3) i want to live like a human and not like a robot
4) stop being afraid of bills in your letter box.
5) leasehold? - my kid will got to repeat my process of getting a hdb and get slain by the government again?
6) at least i get to enjoy a better meals in malaysia during weekends..

Cons
1) my wife gonna die taking care of my new born - 3 mths old and elderly.
2) elderly parents might not get use to jb.
3) i will be darn tired travelling in and out. currently it is 15km away, now i would have make it 38km away + custom.
4) we cannot hire any helpers (maid).
5) getting food is not convenient like going downstairs..

Status
Not open for further replies.