• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grago

So far my furnitures r all brand new from Singapore n no tax le

That's good to hear....:biggrin:

Crystal best get from Singapore, if anything wrong at least not so far to sent item back. But if from KL might be costly, not sure about this but best to inquire about transport charges before committing.....

Sanur

That's good to hear....:biggrin:

Crystal best get from Singapore, if anything wrong at least not so far to sent item back. But if from KL might be costly, not sure about this but best to inquire about transport charges before committing.....

Yes crystal, if it's branded more ex as their import tax r high.

Grago

This is a query for those who had Unifi broadband installed. I am told that the fibre optics cable has to the "pulled" from junction box outside the house to the connection point inside the house!!! I thought that houses in HH have fiber optics cables already installed and need only to be activated when the lines are connected!!! Can someone who has had Unifi installed clarifying this confusion that I am facing. Thanks very much.

arsenal

Hi Grago,

You tried asking for official receipts if they want to tax you..
When I asked for receipt last time, they said nevermind and let me go..

Rgds

Thank you Sanur. Will give Alex a call and work from there.
Not the "whole house" lah...:eek: Just some furniture that have collected over the years and also some Electrics. Have also bought some furniture here. My better halve not so like the furnishings in JB so getting some from here. Hopefully no get tax, better at all, BUT if kena , maybe not so much.......:p

tansi

at LF, not HH, so just for reference. walk around your neighborhood, look for a small green color junction box, usually found on top ofa low concrete block. It has TM stickers on the surface. The box is where the external fiber optic cables ended and it contains a junction block with a connection to each house covered by the particular box. Only when the house owner subscribes to unifi thent TM technician will pay a visit to add a cable from the said box to the house. You have to provide 4 power points for the 4 gadgets that come with the installation--a modem, a router, a TV top box, and a phone charger.
This is a query for those who had Unifi broadband installed. I am told that the fibre optics cable has to the "pulled" from junction box outside the house to the connection point inside the house!!! I thought that houses in HH have fiber optics cables already installed and need only to be activated when the lines are connected!!! Can someone who has had Unifi installed clarifying this confusion that I am facing. Thanks very much.

Narmi

Haha. U see those designer mag , all furnitures fr kl one

A funny trend , those bought house in sg , go jb buy furnitures. Those bought house in jb , buy furnitures fr sg.

Actually many sg furniture shops get their stock fr jb. This is no brainer cos of the cost factor. They may hv design them but it will be made in their my factories. Unless u really go for branded as in European brand or western import.

Grago

at LF, not HH, so just for reference. walk around your neighborhood, look for a small green color junction box, usually found on top ofa low concrete block. It has TM stickers on the surface. The box is where the external fiber optic cables ended and it contains a junction block with a connection to each house covered by the particular box. Only when the house owner subscribes to unifi thent TM technician will pay a visit to add a cable from the said box to the house. You have to provide 4 power points for the 4 gadgets that come with the installation--a modem, a router, a TV top box, and a phone charger.

Hi Tansi, thank you for your clarification.

geritan

Thank you Sanur. Will give Alex a call and work from there.
Not the "whole house" lah...:eek: Just some furniture that have collected over the years and also some Electrics. Have also bought some furniture here. My better halve not so like the furnishings in JB so getting some from here. Hopefully no get tax, better at all, BUT if kena , maybe not so much.......:p

I used Daniel's services. His workers helped to wrap up furniture and electrical appliances. No boxes provided though. Got to get your own. His driver is quite helpful. Though it only allow one for each kind of electrical appliances, the driver is willing to take more than the item listed in the inventory list. He is even willing to help you bring in your liquor if you conceal them in boxes. But this is between you and the driver. For bulky items like piano, you got to take extra care, make sure they secure it properly. I got some damage to my tv console and piano. Generally, if you have electrical items to bring over, it is good to hire a mover as they will apply import permit for you which is tax free.
From what I noticed during my move, the custom officer always ask if I have any electrical appliances. So to avoid paying taxes to them, use a mover.

lakeview

Haha. U see those designer mag , all furnitures fr kl one

A funny trend , those bought house in sg , go jb buy furnitures. Those bought house in jb , buy furnitures fr sg.

Agreed with you, have to support the economy in JB in order for it to grow. S'pore have earns enough from us already.....

DREAMorACTION

Noticed that lately, many of the newcomers introduced themselves that they had been following the forum for a long while, posted a message or two and then remained quiet. For those that posted more, when some questions were posted to them, instead of having a constructive discussion, they chose to remain quiet or run away from question. Anyway, no big deal, will just be very selective in replying posts from now on. I guess that's what many of the old timers figured, and have already done the same.

tansi

There are some links among human traits of low risk-taking threshold, selfishness and bochap. A retired Malaysian once told me that when he brought up an issue concerning the precinct, a sg neighbor gave him a reply of "You can complain to the resident's committee because you are a Malaysian, but I am a Singapporean!"
I agreed with the Malaysian that a person with no balls( pardon me ladies, army talk) complain only when there is no fear at all to complain, but not when he is damn right to complain.
So just provide a clue where to get info and let smart alex DIY, learn it the hard way or remain in the pigeon hole.

Noticed that lately, many of the newcomers introduced themselves that they had been following the forum for a long while, posted a message or two and then remained quiet. For those that posted more, when some questions were posted to them, instead of having a constructive discussion, they chose to remain quiet or run away from question. Anyway, no big deal, will just be very selective in replying posts from now on. I guess that's what many of the old timers figured, and have already done the same.

crystal_tiong

aiyo , only now u know ah ....
some even pm me , when i replied back and ask more , no response liao ....
dun wan to waste time on this ppl/clones .....
Just reply to e regulars will do la .... only wuqi is so kind to answer most of them...

DREAMorACTION

Agree bro.

Anyway regarding your last sentence, don't even feel like providing any more info to these group of people, especially newbies with less than 50 posts. Got numerous PMs also but so many just take info and run. Like we are the info machine and like we don't have better use of our time than to attend to them. Not creating an anti sentiments but these are all factual observations and experiences.

Sometimes I really don't know how bro wuqi puts up with all these but he certainly has my top respects.

There are some links among human traits of low risk-taking threshold, selfishness and bochap. A retired Malaysian once told me that when he brought up an issue concerning the precinct, a sg neighbor gave him a reply of "You can complain to the resident's committee because you are a Malaysian, but I am a Singapporean!"
I agreed with the Malaysian that a person with no balls( pardon me ladies, army talk) complain only when there is no fear at all to complain, but not when he is damn right to complain.
So just provide a clue where to get info and let smart alex DIY, learn it the hard way or remain in the pigeon hole.

DREAMorACTION

Knew it early, but chose to continue to help but finding myself getting frustrated over this and realizing that it's all not worth while. So gonna change the way I see and do things

aiyo , only now u know ah ....
some even pm me , when i replied back and ask more , no response liao ....
dun wan to waste time on this ppl/clones .....
Just reply to e regulars will do la .... only wuqi is so kind to answer most of them...

Status
Not open for further replies.