• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sinkies Snapping Up JB Properties Near RTS Station!

Pinkieslut

Singaporeans snap up residential units near RTS station in Johor Bahru​

Analysts said home prices have increased in recent years, with properties around the Bukit Chagar RTS station – the Malaysia terminus – seeing the highest demand.
Singaporeans snap up residential units near RTS station in Johor Bahru

View of the Johor-Singapore Causeway with Johor Bahru landmarks such as City Square shopping mall in the background. (File photo: iStock)
Listen to this article

7 min

This audio is generated by an AI tool.

Rebecca Metteo

Darrelle Ng

13 Jan 2024 11:25AM(Updated: 13 Jan 2024 11:53AM)
Bookmark
WhatsAppTelegramFacebookTwitterEmailLinkedIn

JOHOR BAHRU: Some Singaporeans are snapping up properties near the Rapid Transit System (RTS) Link in Johor Bahru in anticipation of easier access across the border once the project is completed.
Analysts said home prices have increased in recent years, with properties around the Bukit Chagar RTS station – the Malaysia terminus – seeing the highest demand.

“The RTS is a big draw factor,” said real estate agent Ryan Khoo, who deals with properties in Johor. “It will make the travel between Singapore and Johor Bahru a lot shorter.”
The service will ease the notorious bottlenecks along the Causeway – one of the world’s busiest border crossings – by transporting up to 10,000 passengers each way every hour.
JEM_0745.jpg
View of a portion of the Rapid Transit System (RTS) Link between Johor Bahru and Singapore on Jan 11, 2024. (Photo: CNA/Jeremy Long)
“The RTS will be a game changer,” said Dr Timothy Wong, a senior lecturer at the National University Singapore’s (NUS) Department of Economics.
“It is part of the greater plan to integrate the economies of these two cities more closely. The RTS plays quite nicely into the Johor-Singapore special economic zone (SEZ) because it eases the movement of people across the border.”

RTS ATTRACTS HOME BUYERS​

The light rail transport is one of the main draws that persuaded one such Singaporean to buy properties across the Causeway.

Freelance lecturer Daniel Ong recently purchased two units from a development project located near Bukit Chagar station, citing additional factors like amenities and lower prices.
“It is easily accessible by public transport, what more with the RTS coming up,” he told CNA.
“My wife and I quite enjoy the food and doing some shopping over there. We also find that the cost of living is definitely much lower than in Singapore.”
The 66-year-old plans to rent out one of the units and use the other as a retirement or vacation home.

Older properties in the same area have also seen renewed interest from buyers, despite competition from new condominiums, said observers.

PRICES ON UPWARD TREND​

Industry players said increased demand has pushed prices of properties within walking distance of the terminus up by about 18 per cent in the last two years. A two-bedroom condominium now costs about S$240,000 (US$180,000).
“This increase is expected to continue as the RTS progressively gets completed,” said Dr Lee Nai Jia, head of real estate intelligence and digital and software solutions at the PropertyGuru Group.
“When it's fully operational, I think we will see another increase of maybe about 5 to 6 per cent. Prices are then likely to stabilise from there.”
Integrated developments with offices and retail spaces are also expected to be built in the area in the future.

DOUBLED RENTAL PRICES​

Rental prices have gone up as well. Apartments near the border are now commanding almost twice the rental compared to the pandemic period, when the Movement Control Order (MCO) prevented travel and caused rates to fall.
“(Each) studio unit previously was asking about RM1,000 (S$290) to RM1,200 per month during the MCO. Now the monthly rental is ranging from RM2,000 to RM2,300,” said Mr Keith Ooi, group managing director of real estate agency Knight Frank Malaysia.
The potential of earning a rental income led Singapore buyer James Lim to purchase a two-bedder condominium at a freehold mega project last month.
“When the RTS opens in two years’ time, this property price will definitely go up. The rental price will also definitely be quite attractive as compared to other places,” said the 55-year-old, who also owns properties in other Malaysian cities including Genting and Kuala Lumpur.
Industry players said a majority of tenants are Malaysians working in Singapore who are willing to commute daily across the border in exchange for the lower rental prices. Other sizeable groups of renters are Singaporeans and Chinese nationals.
2024-01-11t051031z_1_lynxmpek0a06k_rtroptp_3_malaysia-singapore-sez.jpg
Prime Minister of Singapore Lee Hsien Loong Prime Minister of Malaysia Anwar Ibrahim and their delegates pose for a photograph during a ceremony to commemorate the completion of the connecting span for the construction of the Johor Bahru…see more

WHY SINGAPOREANS CHOOSE JB​

Real estate agents said there has been a surge in demand for Johor properties from Singapore buyers since early 2023.
Most home seekers are above 40 years old and are planning their retirement options, they said. Aside from the stronger Singapore dollar and the draw of reducing their cost of living expenses, they also cited the proximity to the country as a huge appeal.
“The good thing about retiring in JB is that you (are so close to) Singapore … you're still connected to your Singapore friends and family. Plus the RTS will make the travel a lot shorter,” said Mr Khoo.
Others purchased Johor properties as holiday homes or for investment purposes.
“Some Singaporeans are opting for an alternative destination with a lower or more competitive pricing. I see JB as a complement to the Singapore housing market – an alternative destination for buyers and investors,” said Mr Ooi.
He added that the overall outlook for Johor’s property market remains positive, with demand expected to continue on an uptrend.

Related:​

Fares for Johor Bahru-Singapore RTS Link to be 'determined commercially' by operator: Chee Hong Tat

RTS AND SEZ​

Dr Wong said that while the heightened demand spells good news for property developers, this could also cause living expenses to be pushed up in Johor Bahru.
“There is going to be greater segmenting of income within JB because the city centre is going to become a wealthier district. That will send people who have lower incomes to the periphery,” he told CNA’s Singapore Tonight.
With the SEZ in the works, however, Dr Wong said the initiative would be beneficial for businesses in both cities.
“From a business perspective, there are synergies that Singaporeans and Malaysians can make that can take place in JB … that would enrich both cities. For example, export-driven sectors such as manufacturing can gain from (the SEZ),” he said, giving an example of Singapore companies setting up in Johor, where land, material and labour costs are lower, and where commuting will soon be easier.
On the Singapore side of the border, real estate analysts said they foresee an uptick in demand for homes near Woodlands North as the RTS nears completion, and expect new residential units to be added to the neighbourhood in the future.
The governments of the two nations celebrated a construction milestone in the RTS project on Thursday, with about 65 per cent of structural works completed on both sides.
The RTS Link is expected to start passenger service by December 2026.

A Singaporean

Retard low ses Sinkies are pathetic. Cannot even make enough to pay for the very basic necessities to live. Now must travel to JB. Xia suay.

k1976

Situation ish now jin promising...heard from my nephew that a few ah bangs are even thinking to start their own scam organizations enterprise to huat big big....all pure breed local born
Retard low ses Sinkies are pathetic. Cannot even make enough to pay for the very basic necessities to live. Now must travel to JB. Xia suay.

Balls2U

I know one retired old fart who rents out his HDB and condo here and rent a small apartment in JB to stay. Everyday eng eng cheng cheng roaming around looking at jiuhu chiobus'. Comes back only once or twice a month, where he will stay with his daughter. Happy life.

ChinaCommunistSG

I know one retired old fart who rents out his HDB and condo here and rent a small apartment in JB to stay. Everyday eng eng cheng cheng roaming around looking at jiuhu chiobus'. Comes back only once or twice a month, where he will stay with his daughter. Happy life.
If u want to retire in JB, you don’t have to buy the house cause u do not know what will happen 20 yrs down the road.

I always think you can just rent the house there

“The good thing about retiring in JB is that you (are so close to) Singapore … you're still connected to your Singapore friends and family. Plus the RTS will make the travel a lot shorter,” said Mr Khoo.
So near yet so far is the ugly truth. The RTS will be jam packed with Malaysians living in jb working in spore.

I wonder how expensive will the property tax of these units near RTS be? My jb condo already Rm1.6k and maintenance fees almost $300 means $5k a year spending and that’s the MINIMUM spending. Get nothing but EVIL DIRTY shit in return for me.