• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

yinyang

Hot dog stand, LOS style. At only 10 baht (40ct):p

image.jpg

Durian anyone?

image.jpg

Dinner last night, mix of northern sausages

image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg

Always enjoy a good dinner at the Long Beach Dempsey. Had been patronizing this branch of Long Beach since they were in Marina South, love their consistently high quality food and good service. So when I needed to go dinner on Friday on a last minute the staff still managed to get a room for me, I knew I had inconvenient the manager once again. And since it was a party of 6 I could order my favourite Alaskan crab but started with

Giant bamboo clamps

Drunken prawns

As the Alaskan crab is huge and as usual I had it done in white pepper

and black pepper

Ohh the crab meat is firm and sweet really missed this for a while. Although could be found in Bangkok but they are usually smaller and of course not cooked in these ways that I like.

We finished with a special new dish 鸳鸯河粉 (yuan-yang kway teow), its cooked like the normal tze-char style with sticky sauce but only with white clams however half the hor-fun is also deep fried and garnished on top of the normal hor-fun. What a fantastic way of cooking and after mixed and bite into it tasted great especially when bite into the deep fried hor-fun. This is a MUST ORDER dish to finish off a perfect dinner.

This pic is when the dish came before mixed

Muthukali

The drunken shrimps looks nice Joe, it only reminded me of the restaurant in Big Splash where you get to choose your fresh seafood and had it done to your liking. Food are reasonable at cost according to weight. Wonder if it's still in operation.

Now that you mentioned.......i went to brussel sprouts nearby there not long ago but did not see if the restaurant still there...remembered they were using the swimming pools to keep the live seafood. The thai connection is that they are related to the one in BKK too.......the seafood supermarket.

yinyang

Silly robbers?

A funny slice of thai mango -robbers only got away with thb200, failed attempt :p

Hapless thieves rob bank of B200
Published: 18 Jun 2013 at 08.16 . Online news: Local News

CHIANG MAI : At least two thieves broke into a Kasikornbank branch in San Kamphaeng district trying to steal money, but only managed to get away with 200 baht.

The break-in took place early on Saturday, but nobody became aware of the failed heist until staff arrived for work on Monday and discovered that the bank had been ransacked, police said.

The burglars had covered a security camera at the rear of the building with gummed tape and then disabled the security alarm by cutting the wires. Investigators believe the thieves were familiar with the layout of the bank building, deputy Chiang Mai police chief Pol Col Mondop Saengjamnong said.

They broke into the building about 2.30am on Saturday. They slipped into the building through a back window after sawing through metal bars. He said the burglars then entered the cooling system control room on the building's second floor where they removed an air duct cover and descended into a room where the safes were kept. But they were unable to open the safes and left the bank with only 200 baht they found in a drawer at the bank counter.

And another episode of monks living the high life

High-flying monk takes flak Published: 20 Jun 2013 at 00.00 Newspaper section: News A group of Buddhists has called for an investigation into the behaviour of Phra Wirapol Sukphol. The group, led by...

Group of Buddhists has called for an investigation into the behaviour of Phra Wirapol Sukphol. The group, led by Waranchai Chokchana, yesterday submitted a petition to Phra Phrom Dilok, the head of Bangkok's...

Last Friday so enjoyed the food that the next day Saturday went for second helping and reordered the same drunken prawns and horfun. Damn shiok man but this 2nd round did not order the Alaskan crab instead had my favourite black pepper crab and a steam parrot fish they call Sea Wrasse

Drunken Prawns again

Sea Wrasse

Black Pepper crab

The horfun again

have to agree with keling kia the drunken prawn damm solid.

bro, last time (think 20years ago), i eat live drunken prawns. prawns soaked in jiu and still jumping in the pot.

donno now still have or not.

have to agree with keling kia the drunken prawn damm solid.bro, last time (think 20years ago), i eat live drunken prawns. prawns soaked in jiu and still jumping in the pot.donno now still have or not.
Chon, Long Beach still do this its up with customers. They will do it in front of you. I really no heart to see the prawns just and struggle and then scalded by boiling water la so I always choose for them to do it in kitchen.

Indo muzzies killing their southern thai muzzie brothers...........

Indonesian smog blankets southern provinces
Published on June 26, 2013 by TFP ·

BANGKOK, 26 June 2013 – Southern authorities have reassured the public that the level of dust particles in the region remains within safe limits although the haze from Indonesian wildfires is beginning to blanket four border provinces.
The Songkhla environmental unit reported that the smog from Indonesia’s Sumatra Island has reached southern Thailand, particularly in Yala, Narathiwat, Satun and Songkhla.

The unit confirmed that the air pollution index has been hovering around 60-89, which is not considered hazardous to human health.

Mobile air quality monitoring units have been deployed in Songkhla and Satun as a precautionary measure.

The smoke from land-clearing fires in Indonesia has not had severe impact on Thailand but has triggered Singapore’s worst environmental crisis in a decade and raised alert among Malaysian citizens.

(NNT: Orapa Chueyprasit)

Heng ah Pii Narong, Bangkok still far away. If hit Bangkok I run to Khon Kaen for sure.

Indo muzzies killing their southern thai muzzie brothers...........

Indonesian smog blankets southern provinces
Published on June 26, 2013 by TFP ·

BANGKOK, 26 June 2013 – Southern authorities have reassured the public that the level of dust particles in the region remains within safe limits although the haze from Indonesian wildfires is beginning to blanket four border provinces.
The Songkhla environmental unit reported that the smog from Indonesia’s Sumatra Island has reached southern Thailand, particularly in Yala, Narathiwat, Satun and Songkhla.

The unit confirmed that the air pollution index has been hovering around 60-89, which is not considered hazardous to human health.

Mobile air quality monitoring units have been deployed in Songkhla and Satun as a precautionary measure.

The smoke from land-clearing fires in Indonesia has not had severe impact on Thailand but has triggered Singapore’s worst environmental crisis in a decade and raised alert among Malaysian citizens.

(NNT: Orapa Chueyprasit)

Chon, Long Beach still do this its up with customers. They will do it in front of you. I really no heart to see the prawns just and struggle and then scalded by boiling water la so I always choose for them to do it in kitchen.
thanks bro, will try out when i balek kampong.

Tamdeedaidee

me like to ask, which Thai restaurant in Golden Mile is cheap, good?
IMHO the best Thai food in GM would be "Beer Thai" located in lane behind Pure Thai disco but beware their "phet nid noi" can b a killer still so unless u can take the heat best is to specifically tell them how many chilli padi u want in your somtam. :biggrin: Consistent quality all the time. Guess coz the owner cooked for the princess before? Unless that big photo hanging behind the cashier counter was Photoshopped?

The other place I like to patronize would be the small stall at the corner next to the Thai CD shop. Name is all in Thai script & never remembered what it is called :p Their cooking would depend on the cook's mood that day.

Prices in GM like macam monopoly... all "park kard" charge the same so no "cheap" place. Plate of stirred fried pork basil with rice "pad krapow moo" is $5 without the sunnyside egg "kai dao". Add $1 if u want one.

Bro Chon, Linda at GM hawker centre looks like closed down already... there is another stall facing the road but it sucks.

yinyang

2 nights ago, went to this rustic thai restaurant for office do (somewhere near Param 3). Great sunset river views.
The small dumpling look alike is of peanut and pork base

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg