• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

You know SIA is in trouble ...

The best part about this story is when the sick couple approached an NHS hospital to seek preferential treatment, they were politely told to go the back of the queue.

London got private hospital what? Otherwise those football players will never get treated. Simply pay for the service no need to queue one.

SIA just calibrating their service to competitors. If competitors offer crap service, why should SIA be streets ahead especially if the fare r about the same?? It's all about competition and profitability. How many times have we seen companies offering premium product at unsustainable prices and go bust and crap companies winnning the pie!

Isnt using.the A380 for a HK route abit of an overkill? Thought it was meant for those USA or europe long haul flights.

I have the same thinking too. Initially I thought it was a long haul flight with stopover in HK. But then I was told is a U turn flight, SIN-HKG-SIN on the same day.

aaa...how come no see laksa boy comments..."only marons will fly SQ" :D

the present design of the door is so good, even if it is not fully closed, it is perfectly safe. you will scare everyone near the door but 100% no problem. the pressure in the cabin force among the door and prevent from opening.

I came back from Myanmar last week by SQ997. I was feeling disappointed with this flight stewardess, once I got into my seat I told her that I don't need the blanket and past it to her for safe keeping instead of throwing under the seat, she told me to wait and will get back to me later but I waited till the plane took-off she has not come to collect it until I've to past to her again when she passing by.

Secondly, the same stewardess when she was serving drink, I took a cup of beer from her and asks for some peanuts and again she said please wait but I waited until I've finished my cup of beer I still don't get my peanuts. I felt abit annoying so when she passed by again I stopped her and say I'm disappointed that I didn't get my peanuts and immediately she went back to get 2 packets for me but not even apologise for her forgetfulness.

You expect better treatment then you should avoid cattle class.

Just imagine how would the cabin crews cope with a hundred plus passengers who all behaved like you.

You're disappointed ? It is people like you who make them look down on locals. You don't need the blanket ? Toss it in the overhead bin or under the friggin seat even, who cares. Do you think you are in a bar ? You can ask for peanuts anytime with your beer? If you waited too long just walk to the bloody galley and ask for peanuts nicely, you monkey. The cabin staff are freakin busy and they are human. They work for a living just like you. You want exceptional service, fly business. I have flown SQ almost every month on average for almost a decade. I am a local and I am treated extremely well on most flights and never discourteously. On several occasions it was good enough for me to send a complimentary note to the their feedback line.
Some of the newbies are a bit blur. It's a flight. You don't have much to do till it lands. Be patient. Ask for more peanuts on a US airline and see what you get.

Brother please do not get me wrong. It is not the intention of getting exceptional services. The overhead bin is meant for hand-carry bag and cabin-bag. My intention of returning the clean/unused blanket so that it can be used by others who need it, more so it help to save cost :) My experience with other Airlines likes; Thai Airway, Lufthansa and Emirates when I ask for beer it comes with a packet of nuts.

Just imagine how would the cabin crews cope with a hundred plus passengers who all behaved like you.

I don't think I am expecting better treatment, it is not the case here. Anyway, there's lots of differences when flying Regional Carrier and International Carrier.

Well next week I will be going to Istanbul, Turkey on business class as I'm entitle to when crossing other continent :)

Have a nice week ahead :D

I don't think I am expecting better treatment, it is not the case here. Anyway, there's lots of differences when flying Regional Carrier and International Carrier.

Well next week I will be going to Istanbul, Turkey on business class as I'm entitle to when crossing other continent :)

Have a nice week ahead :D

Go 1st class and for sure the cabin crews will address you by your name; business class they may not.

When I wrote that below, it was to portray within one individual a number of behaviour sets that were somewhat unreasonable on the part of passengers.

1) An SIA plane departing early in the morning from a foreign country is not able to get the same day ST. It is not possible. Newbies sometime can't work it work. most will ask politely but I how I have seen poor behaviour despite the explanation.

2) Asking a particular beer is fine but forcing them to go thru the entire list of beverages is poor behaviour. The list is on flight food menu yet some people are downright idiots. I once saw an Indian making helluva noise about vegetarian food which was not available. He missed the connecting flight (not his fault) but he should understand the circumstance.

3) Taking down and putting in personal effects in the overhead cabins by asking cabin crew when you are able bodied person is also poor behaviour. Unless there is a meal tray in front of you and you can't move.

4) The worst behaviour off course is allowing their kids to be complete brats - kicking the chair in front, standing on seats and disturbing passengers. Again the Indians take first place.

Thankfully, all these pretty much goes away when your are in Business class but there are oddballs every now and then.

For some reason, people think that cabin crew are their personal butler.

On an early morning flight back to Singapore from the middle East just before take off , I asked the stewardess for the Straits Times. She gave me the previous day's paper. Really disappointed. Then after take-off I asked if I could get a particular type of beer that is popular on Belgium. She told me that she had not heard of the beer and they did not carry it. I then told her to run thru the beer list and I could see that she was not happy. As I paid money for my ticket, I was not prepared to give way. I then picked a beer. Later I asked her what are the movies for the month and she told me to check the entertainment guy. I let that pass but I hit the roof when the food was served. The main dish was in a small tray and it was hard to cut the meat with the plastic knife and fork. I called her over and told her to get a real plate and some stainless steel cutlery. She said for security it was not possible. I thought it was a lame excuse. How to hijack a plane with cutlery. Thats when I realised I was not getting my money's worth.

I consider myself a reasonable customer. To date I have not asked any cabin crew to lower my seat to sleep. It is within the rights to ask and they have to do it.

Seriously don't you the service is bad.

... For some reason, people think that cabin crew are their personal butler.
wen me c ft pinoy stewardess in sia flight, me can oso b led 2 tink dat datz my pinoy maid ... :o

Addressing people by name is a practice usually found in Business Class and certainly in First class. It also applies to holders of top tier FF status. No matter where they sit including cattle class, they will be addressed by name and the head of cabin crew will introduce himself to the passenger. They are also accorded special privileges and even business class meals. The guy sitting next to this chap will end up with the wrong idea is it is an Ang Mo. Ang Mo expats working in neighbouring countries fly back to Singapore for weekends. The crew overtime will know them and their FF status will eventually hit the top tier. Their company will only provide economy class for short flight. Thus the erroneous perception.

That does not mean that SIA cabin crew are not prone to fawning over Ang Mos, they are still at it. For the ladies it is a ticket to a new country. And now with many countries giving equal status to gay partners, the men are at it as well. Not to mention the push factor within the country.

Have not seen a Pinoy cabin crew n SIA. The one thing I did notice over the years is the ladies across the cabin crew airline industry are pretty much average. Not the beauties that you see in the past. Guy in SIA told me many are not keen because they are dealing with ordinary passengers and not the better educated and well heeled of the past. Also told me that taking MC for Indian flights was big problem in the past. Not sure how they fixed it.

wen me c ft pinoy stewardess in sia flight, me can oso b led 2 tink dat datz my pinoy maid ... :o

do you think sia would spread passengers like that if they were empty? rhetorical question.

even if they don't, i will move myself to the empty seats and convert 3 seats into a bed. the stewardess can join me if she wants! :D

Maybe the flight is enroute to the US , stopping at HK to pick up passengers:confused:

Personally I would prefer to fly with Eva because it is cheaper & they provide more leg room. I've given up on SIA.

No fifth freedom rights for SIA in HK.

Request for nuts is not asking for exceptional treatment.

That's the problem of the airline. If it sells itself based on service, then it had better deliver.

Do you think you are in a bar ? You can ask for peanuts anytime with your beer? If you waited too long just walk to the bloody galley and ask for peanuts nicely, you monkey. The cabin staff are freakin busy and they are human.
Busy? It depends on the duration of the flight. For flights exceeding 3 hours, the cabin crew relaxes after the meal service ...that's why you hear lots of yapping in the galley.

They work for a living just like you. You want exceptional service, fly business. I have flown SQ almost every month on average for almost a decade. I am a local and I am treated extremely well on most flights and never discourteously. On several occasions it was good enough for me to send a complimentary note to the their feedback line.
Asking for nuts is not a demand for exceptional service. Why can't a pax ask for nuts or a drink? Is SQ a self-service airline?

Ask for more peanuts on a US airline and see what you get.
Done that, I get two packs of nuts when I request for one. The stewardess on SQ will only bring one.