• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

World Cup 2014 Thread...

dredd

Belgium should win
but I think this is another fishing pond game
DRAW

I think the word "kelong" is dreamed up by some ah beng who only knows how to bet football but has with no understanding of the game of football at all. That is why only Ah peks and those who never play football will shout "kelong!" whenever they lose a bet.

Those who are proponents of the game will understand that Football is a sporting game. And in any sporting game, the result is very difficult to predict no matter how skilled you are at the game. That is the beauty of sports, and in football in particular. The goal of the game is to put the ball into the net of your opponent. How you do that is reliant on many factors... skill, playing conditions, luck, decisions... Anyone who has played football will know what I mean. It is very different from watching the game on telly or from a spectator point of view.

Any team that arrives into the world cup finals is no pushover. Therefore skillswise, they are similar.

For punters, you can never predict the outcome of a game for sure. You can only speculate.

Lionheart

sjtorres190614e.jpg

waynne-roon2206e.jpg

England striker Wayne Rooney believes his country’s players need to acquire more “nastiness” if they are to arrest 48 years of underachievement at major international tournaments.

The 1966 world champions were dumped out of the World Cup on Friday, halfway through the competition’s group phase, after losing 2-1 to both Italy and Uruguay in their first two Group D matches.

Rooney has now tasted disappointment at five major competitions and having seen England flop in Brazil despite preparations that were widely considered to be ideal, he feels the problem is one of mentality.

- See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/sp...-need-get-nasty-20140622#sthash.ykTffSlW.dpuf

Haha England must learn from the samsengs, the thugs and the hooligans how to be TOUGH on the field !!! Dont play like pussies!!!

Baimi

FIFA rules determine that teams should be separated first by points, then goal difference,
then goals scored and then their head-to-head record.
However, lots are used as a last recourse if they cannot otherwise be set apart.

World Cup tiebreaker:

a) greatest number of points obtained in all group matches;
b) goal difference in all group matches;
c) greatest number of goals scored in all group matches;
d) greatest number of points obtained in the group matches between the teams concerned;
e) goal difference resulting from the group matches between the teams concerned;
f) greater number of goals scored in all group matches between the teams concerned;
g) drawing of lots by the FIFA Organising Committee

Lionheart

I think the word "kelong" is dreamed up by some ah beng who only knows how to bet football but has with no understanding of the game of football at all. That is why only Ah peks and those who never play football will shout "kelong!" whenever they lose a bet.

Those who are proponents of the game will understand that Football is a sporting game. And in any sporting game, the result is very difficult to predict no matter how skilled you are at the game. That is the beauty of sports, and in football in particular. The goal of the game is to put the ball into the net of your opponent. How you do that is reliant on many factors... skill, playing conditions, luck, decisions... Anyone who has played football will know what I mean. It is very different from watching the game on telly or from a spectator point of view.

Any team that arrives into the world cup finals is no pushover. Therefore skillswise, they are similar.

For punters, you can never predict the outcome of a game for sure. You can only speculate.

i totally agree.
thank you for a wonderful piece of information.
after watching and playing soccer for so many donkey years
i've come to one conclusion: many games are simply one big fishing pond
yes : money, politics, strategies,hang-ups, animosities, arrogance, honour,glory > all do contribute to the game

but i believe $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ is still the number ONE FACTOR in today's soccer games...

Lionheart

ggggafp2206e.jpg

klose1.jpg

DRAW!!!!...HAHA..

As expected, no team is certain of qualifying going into the final round of matches in the 'Group of Death'. Germany will top the group if they beat the United States, who themselves face a wounded Portugal on Sunday.

With one point from two outings, Ghana know they must get the win against Cristiano Ronaldo's side on Thursday to stand any chance of progressing. In short, expect Group G to down to the final minute of play.

- See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/sp...-what-result-means-20140#sthash.WqHaLbkX.dpuf

dredd

i totally agree.
thank you for a wonderful piece of information.
after watching and playing soccer for so many donkey years
i've come to one conclusion: many games are simply one big fishing pond
yes : money, politics, strategies,hang-ups, animosities, arrogance, honour,glory > all do contribute to the game

but i believe $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ is still the number ONE FACTOR in today's soccer games...

If you have played football, you should know that every game is different. Sports is not a 1+1=2 thing. Nothing is certain in sports. Yes, money is big in football as in any sports played professionally because interest is there, but you think its easy to tempt multi millionaires with more money to throw a game? You think FIFA will risk the future of making more $ by allowing it to happen? To fix a game is not as easy as you think and it is very easy to see, such as when a player scores against his own team.

Germany and Ghana is not a fixed game. It is a hard fought match by professional footballers who know the game very well - how to keep the ball, how to attack and ultimately how to use their skills to score. What is the result suppose to be to say that it is not fixed? Germany to win 1-0, 2-0, 2-1? That is in your head because you think that Germany is a better team. In reality, they are not and it shows in the game. You think Belgium should win by 1-0, 2-0, 2-1 otherwise it is fixed and manipulated by $? I think not.

Lionheart

If you have played football, you should know that every game is different. Sports is not a 1+1=2 thing. Nothing is certain in sports. Yes, money is big in football as in any sports played professionally because interest is there, but you think its easy to tempt multi millionaires with more money to throw a game? You think FIFA will risk the future of making more $ by allowing it to happen? To fix a game is not as easy as you think and it is very easy to see, such as when a player scores against his own team.

Germany and Ghana is not a fixed game. It is a hard fought match by professional footballers who know the game very well - how to keep the ball, how to attack and ultimately how to use their skills to score. What is the result suppose to be to say that it is not fixed? Germany to win 1-0, 2-0, 2-1? That is in your head because you think that Germany is a better team. In reality, they are not and it shows in the game. You think Belgium should win by 1-0, 2-0, 2-1 otherwise it is fixed and manipulated by $? I think not.

agree...
but again, many games can be manipulated
and exploited to achieve other ends and perhaps ulterior motives..
let us just enjoy the game hor...many thanks for your wonderful enlightening expositions...

Dinkum

Super Eagles have more to play for than just collecting three points. They won it for the bomb blast victims of terror attacks which killed 14 Nigerians and 26 injured.

Too bad i can't bet on WC matches.

Sir why you can't bet on World Cup matches?

Baimi

This guy bet $350,000 just to win $30,000
on Argentina to beat Iran. Less than 10%
He almost got heart=attack,
2uro4k1.jpg

Lionheart

PORTO ALEGRE, Brazil (REUTERS) – Lee Young Pyo, a former South Korean player turned broadcaster, has created a stir in his homeland for his uncanny success at predicting World Cup winners in Brazil.

Lee has become so accurate with this tips that Koreans have dubbed him “Young-pyo the Octopus,” after the clairvoyant cephalopod named Paul that became a global celebrity for picking winners at the 2010 World Cup.

But neither Lee nor his former team mate and now coach of the Korean squad Hong Myung Bo were going on a limb to make any prognostications about Sunday’s Group H clash with Algeria.

After boldly predicting the downfall of Spain and several other games the furthest Lee would come to calling Sunday’s match was to say: “If Korea plays against Algeria as it did against Russia, Korea will win.”

Hong, who captained the Koreans on their glorious run to 2002 World Cup semi-finals on home soil, was even less forthcoming.

“I can’t say whether we are going to lose or win but what I can say is that of course we are going to play to win,” said Hong ahead of his squad’s final practice session on Saturday.

“In order to get through the group phase we need the points and right now we have just one.” Despite a lack of clarity from the two Koreans, no crystal ball is needed to understand the importance of Sunday’s showdown in this gritty port city.

With Belgium sitting atop the group standings and Russia and Korea joint second after an opening 1-1 draw, Algeria will be fighting for their World Cup lives at Beira Rio stadium.

The ‘Taeguk Warriors’ also view the contest as a must-win. A victory over the Algerians would put Korea’s fate into their own hands with Belgium looming as their final group fixture.

- See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/sp...-korean-octopus-20140622#sthash.M3SyiSRl.dpuf

Thick Face Black Heart

This guy bet $350,000 just to win $30,000
on Argentina to beat Iran. Less than 10%
He almost got heart=attack,

OMG there are really such punters around!

Seriously, you can make $30,000 with $350,000 in the stock and bond market with a lot less risk.

This chap seriously doesn't understand risk. The ball is round, anything can happen and you can NEVER predict or model that risk!

Lionheart

Sorry I support Korean to win by one goal....Going to be a tough game. The Algerian warriors are going in for The Kill....die die must WIN !!!

2380162_full-lnd.jpg

Korea Republic are braced for what coach Hong Myungbo believes Algeria will be a far more potent attacking force when the teams meet in the FIFA World Cup™ on Sunday in Porto Alegre.

TheTaeguk Warriors hold the edge after picking up a point in their 1-1 draw with Russia in the first round of games, while Algeria, beaten 2-1 by group favourites Belgium, will be heading home with another loss.

"Algeria defended well [against Belgium] but I don't think they'll play the same way against us," Myungbo said. "They've got a lot of excellent forwards, they are very quick, these are very dynamic players. "Their three strikers are really rapid, with good individual technique, so when there are duels we have to reduce their opportunities."

Myungbo, a national icon back home after skippering Korea to fourth place in 2002, was also wary of the Algerians' midfield. "They like to press hard, we have to resist this pressure and play in space as one should," he said.

The former Los Angeles Galaxy player, who hasn't yet decided on a starting line-up for Sunday's game, says he will be sending his team out to take three points.

"I can't predict the result," he said. "But what I can say is that we're going to play to win, because we absolutely have to win to hope to reach the next round. We want to score first...our players are going to try to convert [chances], but we'll have to be patient. We're going to have opportunities - the key to the game will be if we can convert these into goals."

sorry to say that you are too naive to think people play for sportsmanship. many years ago, every sinkie betting st sgpools know that by watching the odds go down for one team, they will bet the other, and the result is proven right that the team with less bets which you can judge by looking at the odds will emerge the winner.
especially italian league liga A.

Lionheart

sorry to say that you are too naive to think people play for sportsmanship. many years ago, every sinkie betting st sgpools know that by watching the odds go down for one team, they will bet the other, and the result is proven right that the team with less bets which you can judge by looking at the odds will emerge the winner.
sorry hor
the italians are really very krafty on the fields
and also off the fields....sorry my italian friends
but i think $$$ can sway anyone - even the best and the
most honourable and righteous..
one sms 5 millions into your account...why not???

and of course the goalies are the ones most favoured!!!

dredd

First of all, football is a sport. let's be clear about that. Professional players play the game to win, punters bet on them to win, lose or whatever... SGPools offer bets relying on odds on the outcome of a game. No one can help you if you are "naïve" to think that you can predict the result of any game and put money down to think you are right. If the result doesn't work out as what you expect, you shout "kelong!" like the uneducated uncles do every night at the coffeshop near my place.

I hear some of the logic such as, "Brazil only need a draw to be in the next stage so a draw is likely..." or "Costa Rica already thru, so they no need to play so hard to win and keep their players for the second round..." and I have to laugh. They think Brazil want a draw, they will get a draw? If sports is like that where everyone can determine the results, then no need to play sports already. 90 minutes is a long time to manipulate a fixed game without people noticing something amiss.

Your views on SGPools is how you look at it, not a reflection of what is true. It is a bet on odds, nothing more. Sometimes you win, sometimes you lose - odds are that in the long run, you lose because of "gambler's ruin" setting in. And in football, the result is notoriously difficult to predict.

that was many years ago, things may have changed... good luck...:o

First of all, football is a sport. let's be clear about that. Professional players play the game to win, punters bet on them to win, lose or whatever... SGPools offer bets relying on odds on the outcome of a game. No one can help you if you are "naïve" to think that you can predict the result of any game and put money down to think you are right. If the result doesn't work out as what you expect, you shout "kelong!" like the uneducated uncles do every night at the coffeshop near my place.

I hear some of the logic such as, "Brazil only need a draw to be in the next stage so a draw is likely..." or "Costa Rica already thru, so they no need to play so hard to win and keep their players for the second round..." and I have to laugh. They think Brazil want a draw, they will get a draw? If sports is like that where everyone can determine the results, then no need to play sports already. 90 minutes is a long time to manipulate a fixed game without people noticing something amiss.

Your views on SGPools is how you look at it, not a reflection of what is true. It is a bet on odds, nothing more. Sometimes you win, sometimes you lose - odds are that in the long run, you lose because of "gambler's ruin" setting in. And in football, the result is notoriously difficult to predict.

sorry hor
the italians are really very krafty on the fields
and also off the fields....sorry my italian friends
but i think $$$ can sway anyone - even the best and the
most honourable and righteous..
one sms 5 millions into your account...why not???

and of course the goalies are the ones most favoured!!!

SgGoneWrong

Why call them uneducated uncles?
If there's no such thing as Kelong, why ISD is detaining one of the biggest soccer matches fixer?
Professional players and teams are merely humans who can get tempted by lots of money to get a certain outcome.

I thought the Germans have more pride and coming from a wealthy country would play a more dignified game than to draw and almost lost to Ghana who was beaten by USA.

dredd

Why call them uneducated uncles?
If there's no such thing as Kelong, why ISD is detaining one of the biggest soccer matches fixer?
Professional players and teams are merely humans who can get tempted by lots of money to get a certain outcome.

I thought the Germans have more pride and coming from a wealthy country would play a more dignified game than to draw and almost lost to Ghana who was beaten by USA.

Thanks for making clear my points.