• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

World Cup 2010 Forecastology

:D:D:D ...

I BURST out laughing when I heard this on Mediacorps Chinese news on radio this morning....

Probably encouraged by the gutsy 1-2 loss to Brazil, North Korea decided to telecast last night's World Cup game live to their home audience in order to whip up public patriotism.

The announcer reported: mid way through the second half, the live transmission was cut & screen started showing diiligent workers working on industry factory floor & Dear Leader Kim Jong Il gesturing & lecturing ....

What sore losers & thin-skinned cowards the North Korean government are :oIo: !

:D:D:D ...

I BURST out laughing when I heard this on Mediacorps Chinese news on radio this morning....

Probably encouraged by the gutsy 1-2 loss to Brazil, North Korea decided to telecast last night's World Cup game live to their home audience in order to whip up public patriotism.

The announcer reported: mid way through the second half, the live transmission was cut & screen started showing diiligent workers working on industry factory floor & Dear Leader Kim Jong Il gesturing & lecturing ....

What sore losers & thin-skinned cowards the North Korean government are :oIo: !
Si Elephanto, mai cek ak lah, kenna humiliated liao still laugh at them -_-"
But if it's Singapore.............. whahahaha LOL :D:D

Yesterday was a sweet day. The whipping of Honduras and the gang rape of North Korea has redeemed the reputation of Europe and put the fear of God in those who would write Europe off. Many young herd members who had joined after seeing heretics earn money from buying outsiders were sent to the slaughterhouse and culled. The balance has been restored and there is happy talk that the days of small teams slaying giants is over.

Today marks the start of kelong-ridden final game of the Group stage. Instead of 3 matches, we have 4 matches to bet and watch. The following is the mid-day summary of what the herd is buying.

Mexico-Uraguay: There is strong speculation is that this will end in a draw. This is because this will allow both Mexico and Uraguay to move on to the next stage. The bookies are not stupid and know this too. They have therefore shortened the odds of the draw accordingly. So far betting in this market is thin as the herd is wary of losing money on a “fixed” match.

France-South Africa: The recent poor form and quarrel within the French team have led the herd to completely write off France. There is also feeling that South Africa will want a good win against a major European team to “save face”. Betting is heavy on South Africa to win this match.

South Korea-Nigeria: The herd has always had a love affair with South Korea. Looking at the way the group stands, the herd feels that Nigeria has all but been eliminated. South Korea can however still advance if they win this match. Expectations are therefore that South Korea will throw everything they have at Nigeria to secure a win. Betting is heavy on a South Korea win.

Argentina-Greece: Argentina’s handsome defeat over South Korea has transformed the image of Argentina in the eyes of the herd in SG. Where once the herd thought of Argentina as a lousy team led by a drugged up has-been coach, they now see Argentina being led by THE HAND OF GOD with possibly the most talented striker in the world. The feeling is that “hot-blooded” Argentina will not be satisfied with a draw and will go for a win to prove their superiority to the world. There is thus heavy betting on another Argentina victory. It should be noted that the betting volume is not as haeavy as it should. This is because there is speculation that smart thing for THE HAND OF GOD to do is to rest key palyers and field a second team. This speculation is fueled by media reports of THE HAND OF GOD experimenting with a radically different line up during recent training. A second possible factor affecting betting is that Greece is probably one of the most hated European teams to have ever become Champion of Europe. There is a strong desire to see Greece broken and beaten by Argentina.

There is a strong desire to see Greece broken and beaten by Argentina.

Diego Maradona played his last World Cup game against Greece in USA 1994. He scored a goal in a 4:0 victory for Argentina. But after the game, he failed a dope test and was expelled from the tournament.

I cant believe last night the commentator said Portugal is 3rd in FIFA Ranking.... tsk tsk tsk

Very heavy bet flow today.

Overwhelmingly herd buying South Afrcia for France-South Africa match and South Korea for Korea-Nigeria match.

Surprisingly, there is also some buying of France, probably inspired by yesterday's Portugal/Spain victories and a new theory that France will play for pride tonight.

Market for Argentina-Greece is moderate due mainly to concerns that second team might be fielded. Volume likely to pick up once Argentina team line up is confirmed.

For Mexico-Uraguay, the "draw" theory seems to be loosing credibility. The herd starting to think that there will be a fight to avoid being second and having to face dreaded Argentina.

Unlike the previous matches, things usually move and change very rapidly for this stage of the competition.

Talk about high-scoring games, I recall that the highest combined score per game was 11 goals each in 2 games, both featuring Hungary:

1954 : Hungary 8 West Germany 3

1982 : Hungary 10 El Salvador 1

That 1954 1st Round game is Germany's heaviest defeat ever in the World Cup. However, West Germany still reached that Final and beat Hungary 3:2 to win it.

Among the powers, Argentina suffered their heaviest defeat in 1974 with 4:0 to a Johan Cruyff-inspired Holland in the 2nd Round. However in 1978, both reached the Final and the Mario Kempes-inspired Argentina won it 3:1.

England is supposed be the pariah among the powers, but actually have one of the best holding records even when down. England has never lost any game by more than a single-goal margin except once in the 1962 Q-Final 1:3 to Brazil. However, England have also never won any game by more than a three-goal margin.

Things have finally quieten down.

The France-South Africa match has one of the strangest structures I have ever seen. As mentioned before, there are 2 competing theories of what will happen.

1) South Africa will come out charging. A quarreling and demoralised French team will collapse and it will be complete French humiliation.

2) France will pull themselves together and play like lions tonight. They will prove to the world that they are not rubbish by raping South Africa.

These two extreme views have led the market to conclude that a draw is somehow impossible, possibly because the two sides will go at each other like wild animals.

Things have finally quieten down.

The France-South Africa match has one of the strangest structures I have ever seen. As mentioned before, there are 2 competing theories of what will happen.

1) South Africa will come out charging. A quarreling and demoralised French team will collapse and it will be complete French humiliation.

2) France will pull themselves together and play like lions tonight. They will prove to the world that they are not rubbish by raping South Africa.

These two extreme views have led the market to conclude that a draw is somehow impossible, possibly because the two sides will go at each other like wild animals.
Yeah, but these 2 extremes means nothing if Mexico and Uruguay decides to draw, whahaahaha :D:D:D

Many predicted it will a draw between Mexico and Uruguay, but i seriously doubt so. One who lose will face Argentina in the next time. Better siam Argentina now, LOL :p:p:p

Hopefully Mexico will win :p:p

Lastest news i heard was the south african team has seek the help of their no 1 black magician in their country to put a spell on the france team and help them through to the last 16...bros believe it at your own peril because i am giving france one last chance..if not i will have french toast for breakfast for the rest of my life:p

this match bet 2 goal and 3 goal...to be safe! french will prevail...

Lastest news i heard was the south african team has seek the help of their no 1 black magician in their country to put a spell on the france team and help them through to the last 16...bros believe it at your own peril because i am giving france one last chance..if not i will have french toast for breakfast for the rest of my life:p

Yeah, but these 2 extremes means nothing if Mexico and Uruguay decides to draw, whahaahaha :D:D:D

Many predicted it will a draw between Mexico and Uruguay, but i seriously doubt so. One who lose will face Argentina in the next time. Better siam Argentina now, LOL :p:p:p

Hopefully Mexico will win :p:p

The following is the latest on THE HAND OF GOD. His actions and his words suggest two things -

1) He is doing the smart thing and resting his key players
2) He will adopting a new attacking formation since Argentina and defensive game don't fit in the same sentance.

Unlike the previous game, he has opted not to make any flashy remarks to the press. He has instead gone low key and was observed by the sporting press to be experimenting with new formations. This suggest that he has been thinking about something new to break down the famous defensive play of the Greeks. Beyond this match, this has obvious applications since many of the weaker teams have adopted similar tactics to slay giants.

Given that this is THE HAND OF GOD who invented many of the tactics of modern football, it would be safe to assume he has probably come up with something. Tonight's match is a safe place to experiment and test it out given his team's strong position.

On the Greeks, the need to win will be their weakness. They obviously cannot adopt their famous defensive tactics. They would not however want to do it too early since an early lead would unleash the full fury of the Argentine team on them for the entire match. They will probably send out feelers to see if THE HAND OF GOD is open to a leisurely first half similar to that of the Netherlands-Japan match. The game would then begin in ernest in the 2nd half. This is in itself a gambit that might be attractive to Argentina since Argentina will go to the next round with a draw. THE HAND OF GOD seems to be indicating that he is not inclined to accept this gambit in his remarks below.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2010/jun/22/world-cup-2010-diego-maradona-lionel-messi-argentina

Several major names will be absent from Argentina's line-up against Greece in Polokwane tonight, but the most famous of all will start. In the phoney war before this World Cup began it was suggested that Lionel Messi was "irreversibly damaged" but Diego Maradona, the Argentina coach, insists his star player is in rude health ahead of his side's final Group B match.

"He always wants to play and I thought I should give him a break, but if you have a player as good as Leo – who is the best player in the world – I think it would be a sin to leave him out," said Maradona.

Asked about claims by the fitness coach, Fernando Signorini, concerning Messi's "low energy levels", Maradona replied: "If Messi is having a bad run then let him continue with that bad run, because I'm extremely pleased with his performances."

Argentina will again start with a front three, with Sergio Agüero and Diego Milito brought in alongside Messi. However Carlos Tevez, Gonzalo Higuaín, Gabriel Heinze and Javier Mascherano will be rested. Jonás Gutiérrez is suspended.

Victories over South Korea and Nigeria seem to have calmed Maradona a little and he is keen to play down his side's chances. "Brazil haven't played well, but they've finished off matches when they have had to," he said. "That's why they're still the great favourites. We are not candidates or favourites. We are here to give joy to the Argentines, to play as we like, in the way which makes us happy. I like my team because it is solid in the back and it is permanently on the attack."

Greece, meanwhile, need to beat Argentina and rely on a favourable result in the South Korea v Nigeria game to make the knockout stages but Thanassis Prittas believes the unlikely is possible. "In every match all teams make mistakes. It's the same with Argentina," the midfielder said. "The quality of their defence does not match their attack."

That much is true. But given Greece's form in this tournament, you would not bet on their chances of exploiting it.

Actually, wouldn't it be spectacular if France, England, Italy and Germany all got knocked out in 1st Round? No more European ex-world champions left at 2nd Round; what a sight to behold.

Yay, with Greece sneakily won the Cup, LOL :D:D:D