As the Singapore economic situation deteriorates as the months passes. Will private property correct 50% or more from the 2007/08 peak?.
Yes, because this financial crisis is global, worst than Asian financial crisis...it will last around 2 years...
if the gov don't pump $$ n takes drastic measures..property will plunge n lose 60-70% in value:(
60-70% is pretty drastic. Prices will even be at pre 1997/98 levels?.
Yeah lor, for an unit worth one million, 10% is 100k leh. 60-70% is 600-700k. anyway shoot off mouth. At that kind of market correction, everyone will jump off building leow. 20-30% would be extreme leow.
Look at this thread again by early or mid 2010...most people won't believe in US property slump prediction before this financial crisis, which now devalued by almost 80%.
A $300 psf property has been speculated till $1000 psf by speculator n developer (price check - SEP 08), what do u think will happen when more people lose their jobs in the coming months n banks reluctant to lend out large sum of $?
unless there's gov intervention, sin property will plunge like african currency..
Do you actually know what kind of development comprise of $300 psf?
I was about to ask the same question too.
My place (12 units apartment) at upper paya lebar was en-block at 298 psf in 2004(freeehold) now developer asking for $900-1200 psf(depends on size)
within 5 years a $300 psf property, due to market speculation n developer's had made the price jump to approx $1000 psf.. isn't it ?
Look at this thread again by early or mid 2010...most people won't believe in US property slump prediction before this financial crisis, which now devalued by almost 80%.
A $300 psf property has been speculated till $1000 psf by speculator n developer (price check - SEP 08), what do u think will happen when more people lose their jobs in the coming months n banks reluctant to lend out large sum of $?
unless there's gov intervention, sin property will plunge like african currency..
very possible. UK home prices have drop 40% in 6 months only!!!!!!!!!
it's not so simple as the previous model of high property prices is what drag USA, UK, Japan,HK, singapore etc into BIG trouble. all these subprime crises benefit only a very few people like the property agents and developers but ultimately bankrupt the nation and the common people. that's why malboro tan told that simon chap and REDAS guys to go fly kite when they ask govt to prop up the market.
very possible. UK home prices have drop 40% in 6 months only!!!!!!!!! USA home prices on the whole have drop 30%-50% in past one year and in some counties have drop 80% or even more so much that the value of the property is less than the value of the outstanding mortgage i.e. negative equity!!!! in Spain the properties have crashed 40% in two months. That's why they called it subprime crises.
In Singapore this would be worse and if you read the papers esp the shitty times and read the "in between" lines you get the hint that the government is NOT going to support the property business anymore as It is a very bad and expensive mistake all the countries are learning from .
A high property price means a high mortgage which means a higher salary as disposable income is limited and in times like these with retrenchment and inflation, the govt just do not have the resources to pump in money to prop up a dying market as they ahve to ration out welfare to the poor. they just cannot let the property prices go up as it means more unhappiness and more wage increases and price singapore out of the world competitiveness markets. all these talk about asset enhancement is just hog wash as you cannot eat a house nor make money out of it when the economy is bad(already rentals are falling 20-30%). whether your HDB flat is worth $200K or #$300K is immaterial as you still have to stay in it. if you downgrade who is going to buy unless you have a steady stream of foreigers or PR but in a worsening economy they are leaving not coming in!!!
just think about it. it's not so simple as the previous model of high property prices is what drag USA, UK, Japan,HK, singapore etc into BIG trouble. all these subprime crises benefit only a very few people like the property agents and developers but ultimately bankrupt the nation and the common people. that's why malboro tan told that simon chap and REDAS guys to go fly kite when they ask govt to prop up the market.
Facts:
(1) go along sixth avenue quite a number of units going for sale.
(2) several global billionaires have committed suicide what say the slightly above average in income.
(3) most likely large numbers of foreigners will be retrenched...this means no HDB rental income for some to pay/topup for loan on condo or house...what if these people have a pay freeze, cut or even retrenched...they will have to let go at a lower price and downgrade, at least 20% lower...
(4) banks unwilling to lend...i am 32 and can plonk down $100K in cash for a $500K condo and service $2000 cash a month, but I only earn $3K plus...dont think they will lend...heard that even angmoh earning $10K a month in MNC cannot get $40K car loan from my agent fren...