• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why Singaporean Needs A Western Name?

Not sure about the rest of you but having a angmoh name in the company is like wearing a bulls eye on your head. Everytime something need to be done the boss will choose you because your name is the simplest to call. I am a Roman Catholic with an angmoh name togather with my chinese name but only my inner circle friends and family call me by that usually I will not respond if other people call me by that name.

Not sure about the rest of you but having a angmoh name in the company is like wearing a bulls eye on your head. Everytime something need to be done the boss will choose you because your name is the simplest to call. ...
last time me got 1 angmo lecturer ...

sumtimes during tutorial lessons, she wud ask questions n pick sum1 2 answer ... she'd go 4 dose e-z 2 pronounce names 1st ... like john la, ahmad la ... den, she wil pick dose e-z 2 pronounce chinese names ... like ah sing la ... ppl like me who hv difficult 2 pronounce names, oways never got called ... heng, man! ...

Then please use your native language to communicate in this forum henceforth. If any of your communications in future is not in your native language, remember to slap yourself each and every time you dont use your native language.:rolleyes: Unless you are a European or Westerner.;)

Why do Singaporean need a European/Western Names?Are Singaporean lack self confident to use their Asian names?Lack self confident to use their natives language?Lack confident to practice their borned to be religion?

Are Singaporean (unlike Japanese) simply followers of their European Masters?

then please use your native language to communicate in this forum henceforth. If any of your communications in future is not in your native language, remember to slap yourself each and every time you dont use your native language.:rolleyes: Unless you are a european or westerner.;)

很难吗?

在学校,没有学母语?

还是全部还给老师了? :d

Why do Singaporean need a European/Western Names?Are Singaporean lack self confident to use their Asian names?Lack self confident to use their natives language?Lack confident to practice their borned to be religion?

Singapre is not a western name.

It's a malay name that's been angelicized. That's okay since if was called singapura the m&ds would have more claims to say SG belongs to them when it belongs to all Sinkess.

For eg in mandarin singapore is xin jia po. Would u then say it's a chinese name? It's a name that's been translated from english to chinese.

Not sure about the rest of you but having a angmoh name in the company is like wearing a bulls eye on your head. Everytime something need to be done the boss will choose you because your name is the simplest to call. I am a Roman Catholic with an angmoh name togather with my chinese name but only my inner circle friends and family call me by that usually I will not respond if other people call me by that name.

How calling urself aloscious or some greek ang moh name? Not easy to pronounce.

I've asked the same question before. 9 out of 10 Chinese, very likely more, have Western names. They simply do not like to be addressed by their Chinese names (E.g.: Ah Kow or Ah Seng, etc) at all. A serious case of an inferiority complex if I've ever seen one.

If you want to piss of a Chinese, just address him by his Chinese name. :D

shut up lah shit skin all cos u might a kow a few chinese that behave like that doesn't mean all of them are like that.

How about shit skins like yourself who adopt ang moh surnames like gomez for eg?

Hello bormia.

I can understand why Chinese want to pretend their "Ang Mohs".

However, I can't for the life of me figure out why some Chinese are trying to be BLACK!:eek:

It can't get lamer than that!:rolleyes:

<object height="344" width="425">

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/_rnj_0yFGr8&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" height="344" width="425"></object>

hip hop is a subculture that although was started by blacks does not include skin color nowadays.

Of course an idiot aka twit like you won't know that.

Lots of Chinese I've come across are either Buddhists or claim to be free thinkers. But have English names all the same. Evidently they are ashamed of their names given by their own parents.

I used to have loads of fun during NS calling these Chinks by their given Chinese name - E.g.: Boon Pah or See Peng, etc.. .. "DON'T CALL ME THAT, MY NAME IS JONATHAN!!!" :D

A chronic case of low self esteem.

hi soothu kotai panni nayee keling kia don't talk rubbish i knew a keling with an ang moh name of morgan and a tongue twisting surname and another shit skin called steven.

How calling urself aloscious or some greek ang moh name? Not easy to pronounce.

Having a not so easy to pronounce name is kind of a double edge sword. Your friends and family may find it hard to pronounce and some of those so called greek names or pagan names that some ppl use as western names are not Catholic names.

Can you tell me why our muslem friends using ABC to form their name??
I thought ABC for ang moh?? No price for correct answer

why singaporean chinese still think they are some kind of pure china chinese after 3 or four generations?

Why singaporean chinese still think they have to be total china man in order to retain some kind of identity when in the first place they or even their father has step foot in china.

why other ang mo has evolved into different countries with different naming styles and culture but chinese still so fucking lame and one track minded.

why cheena beng who cant speak proper english and behave like cock can still earn good money and drive their pseudo-race car subaru with obnoxious ah lians - they also have sucky trying too hard england name like jasper, galen and jay, etc...

cheena and bengs are the same. jus that cheena pretend to come to this forum to think that they have "arrived" and then reveal their unhappiness about being too western. the irony is laughable.

if you really despise english, have a word with yourself. what are you typing.

why singaporean chinese still think they are some kind of pure china chinese after 3 or four generations?

Why singaporean chinese still think they have to be total china man in order to retain some kind of identity when in the first place they or even their father has step foot in china.

why other ang mo has evolved into different countries with different naming styles and culture but chinese still so fucking lame and one track minded.

why cheena beng who cant speak proper english and behave like cock can still earn good money and drive their pseudo-race car subaru with obnoxious ah lians - they also have sucky trying too hard england name like jasper, galen and jay, etc...

cheena and bengs are the same. jus that cheena pretend to come to this forum to think that they have "arrived" and then reveal their unhappiness about being too western. the irony is laughable.

if you really despise english, have a word with yourself. what are you typing.

If you are a Chinese,Hey,good to hear that you are trying to be different!This is exactly what I am advocating that we should be different but not blindly copying somebody's culture,language and religion!You are simply followers!

Examples :How we can be different by still having dialects name and not the mainland Chinese pinyin names!

Example : If our local Chinese who converted to Christian in droves who are contributing so much to Christianity,surely if they are self confident enough can also contribute to their borned to be religion Taoism like contributing 20% instead of 10% of their income to the temple and with money,we can definitely make Taoism modern and appealing!

End of the day,We Asian especially Singaporean must be more self confident and try to be yourselves and not somebody else! 咱们要对自己的认同感到自豪!!千万不要低估自己!

I defy u to show me one single article or publication that mentions his name as Harry Lee.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lee_Kuan_Yew :rolleyes:

Lee Kuan Yew, Honorary GCMG, Honorary CH (Christian name: Harry, Chinese: 耀; pinyin: Lǐ Guāngyào; POJ: Lí Kng-iāu; born 16 September 1923; also Lee Kwan-Yew) was the first Prime Minister of the Republic of Singapore, from 1959 to 1990.

He needed "Harry" when he was a WOG. He later decided that he wanted to pretend to be a leftie.