• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why don't Singapore PROMOTE Teochew, Hokkien, Hakka, Wu, Gan speaking movie and songs

Su Zhou

They also mentioned that Shanghai was a small fishing village and is considered pretty rural before it was colonised by the western powers.

MAP_0000.JPG

Shanghai was a boring fishing village until the 'west ocean' people came onto their shore. The Wu dialect standard one is always Soochowese and not Shanghainese.

myo539 said:
Why does Indonesia adopt and promote the (Rhiau) Malay language and not Javanese (majority group), Ambionese or any of the dyaks or ibans in Kalimantan and the Batak in Sumatra?

The Indonesian adopts Malay for its national language the same reason that Singapore adopts Malay as the national language. Both are multi-racial countries, Indonesia a lot more so. Picking a minority language as the national language does not threaten the minorities. In addition, in Singapore, we have a common working language which is English, a neutral language. This is something the new immigrants do not understand. They want everything to be written and announced in their own language.

Northern Barbarians

It had always been northerners trying to invade and expand central and southward, driving couldn't-care-less Chinese further and further south.

In Taiwan, Hainan, Vietnam, Thailand and even Malaya, Chinese settlements began as early as Tang dynasty era. They were sailors and traders who happened to like the new lands they visited and decided to to settle there for good to get away from the seemingly endless cycles of Chinese dynastic politics and wars.

The same problem came when some politicians here described that most Sinkies were a apathetic lot. Yes, it used to be a hypocritical comment but not anymore. They were the ones that destroyed the oppositions; and they had the tongue in the cheek to say that ?

I think, the Manchus are not 100% of the Yellow Emperor tribe. They and the Mongols are mixed with the non-O haplogroup people like C and D which were the first and second batches of migrants from the east of Africa.

Noah's Ark Landed On Mt Arat

Why should Singapore have a common language with China and Taiwan? Singapore should use English as sole official language to unite ourselves first. All other languages and dialects to upkeep are private matters in a multi-racial country. Do you think USA was founded as all-English or even all-British? No, there were many Germans, Dutch, Italians and other Europeans there at the founding of USA too. It just happened that the English was there first to plant the flag, and all the rest accepted English as the common unifying language in order to found the country together. Singapore was founded by the English too.

indoeuro02c.jpg

An Indian cab driver told me that my tongue could have been Armenian. And behold, its a standalone language on the language tree here. Not sure whether Noah spoke this language there in ancient time.

Old English ? How about this :

[video=youtube;zoMpcrZgMK8]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zoMpcrZgMK8&feature=related[/video]

Re: Noah's Ark Landed On Mt Arat

MAP_0000.JPG

Good modern map of China. Now you can see what I mean by Shanghai sits right in the middle between north and south. Now you can see the demographic relationship between Fujian and Taiwan to see why they're speaking the same dialect. Now can see how Mongolians lost more than two thirds to China by conquering China. Now you can see how Manchuria lost everything to China by conquering China. Old Manchuria comprised Heilongjiang, Jilin and Liaoning.

At the fall of Qing dynasty, Japan started scheming after that and sponsored a Manchukuo (nation, not province). ROC refused. That was the start of WW2 in Asia.

Re: Why don't Singapore PROMOTE Teochew, Hokkien, Hakka, Wu, Gan speaking movie and s

Why should Singapore have a common language with China and Taiwan? Singapore should use English as sole official language to unite ourselves first. All other languages and dialects to upkeep are private matters in a multi-racial country. Do you think USA was founded as all-English or even all-British? No, there were many Germans, Dutch, Italians and other Europeans there at the founding of USA too. It just happened that the English was there first to plant the flag, and all the rest accepted English as the common unifying language in order to found the country together. Singapore was founded by the English too.

Your moron why does english have to be the sole language when there are so many europeans over in the US? You see your reasoning doesn't work.

Re: Noah's Ark Landed On Mt Arat

MAP_0000.JPG

Good modern map of China. Now you can see what I mean by Shanghai sits right in the middle between north and south. Now you can see the demographic relationship between Fujian and Taiwan to see why they're speaking the same dialect. Now can see how Mongolians lost more than two thirds to China by conquering China. Now you can see how Manchuria lost everything to China by conquering China. Old Manchuria comprised Heilongjiang, Jilin and Liaoning.

At the fall of Qing dynasty, Japan started scheming after that and sponsored a Manchukuo (nation, not province). ROC refused. That was the start of WW2 in Asia.

so the line bet north and south is between those 2 red dots at chongqing and shanghai?

I used to have a cleaner from wuhan in hubei so she's middle i guess.

Re: Why don't Singapore PROMOTE Teochew, Hokkien, Hakka, Wu, Gan speaking movie and s

i thought sg hokkien swear words are the rudest and most vulgar?
localised hokkien or not doesn't matter. i have no problems conversing with another hokkien speaker from china, taiwan or malaysia.

It appears that some prefer to promote this type of Hokkien in Singapore?

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/UxORt3yGTfw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
[Caution : Mature audience only]

Wah, long digression on anthropology and historical linguistics - it's interesting, but the thread queries about selection of a dialect instead of a language as the lingua franca of the country. It begs the question why select a dialect over a language?

After all that have been said and done, it boils down basically to the PAP government's long term pragmatic strategy.

They have been proven right. They are able to see the big picture and think long term. Imagine if English had not been chosen as the main language of instruction in Singapore. Would European and American MNCs bother to invest billions of dollars in the country in the initial stuggle towards industrialisation - investments that have brought jobs and propelled Singapore from third world to first world?

Imagine if our bilingualism policy has not taken root. Would our people be able to have an added advantage of being able to converse with the Chinese and Indian business people? For that matter, learning Malay - a language understood by our immediate neighbours - the Malaysians and the Indonesians.

There is nothing wrong being able to use only one language (like the Japanese), but it would undoubtedly value add a person's worth if he knows another language, or a second language. Won't you wish to be like Chang Meiyang who not only sings in Hindi, but also talks Hindi (in addition to English and other languages?) He went from being a contestant to being a host of the India got Talent competition.
Enjoy :
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/LbxPnq8OZqs" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Re: B'cos Hongkies Had Der Dough To Make HK Movies & Dramas

The sad thing is my cousins and many of my relatives enjoys watching TVB. I'm more into Japanese and Koreans, I'm not into Chinese stuff anymore. HKmovies were not as great as the 80's and 90's eras. And movies from China are getting better, however they promote Chinese nationalism way too much. They made Mao zedong look like an angel in their bullshit bias movies, and their movies are full sadness, terror, violence.

I think HK artist in the 80's to 90's was the best. I wouldn't say HK artists are ugly, is just Koreans are well known for their plastic surgery and extreme make over. Although I must say there are some naturally pretty born Koreans, many are fake.

I mean this generations of HK artist are shit, although there are some accept-ions most HK, Taiwan, China artists are shit and boring. K-pop is the best type of genre in Asia in my opinion. Most of them are-talented at what they do. The only thing I don't like is the appearance of the Korean boy-band, because look like an bunch of feminine gay boys, they have no shame. They dress themselves like girls, put tons of make up, wear pink lipsticks, and uses white powder to lighten their skin.

I disagree, I still enjoy watching TVB shows..times have change but the storylines etc are still good. U dont like it dont watch lor...

And Korean dramas are mainly for gals...as only gals like them and something about the story lines....but have to admit lah...got real hot chicks in the Korean and Jap tv industries....

It appears that some prefer to promote this type of Hokkien in Singapore?

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/UxORt3yGTfw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
[Caution : Mature audience only]

wah lan, Hokkein really damn crude man,...even this sort of songs also can sing in public...I was right all along that Hokkein is crude...this is the perfect example...

his hokkien sounds so singaporeanish but i doubt that performance was held in sinkie.

ok i hear some local phrases i doubt it's held in sg so it must have been held in mudland.

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/GpDAkdotVZ4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Re: B'cos Hongkies Had Der Dough To Make HK Movies & Dramas

The sad thing is my cousins and many of my relatives enjoys watching TVB. I'm more into Japanese and Koreans, I'm not into Chinese stuff anymore. HKmovies were not as great as the 80's and 90's eras. And movies from China are getting better, however they promote Chinese nationalism way too much. They made Mao zedong look like an angel in their bullshit bias movies, and their movies are full sadness, terror, violence.

I think HK artist in the 80's to 90's was the best. I wouldn't say HK artists are ugly, is just Koreans are well known for their plastic surgery and extreme make over. Although I must say there are some naturally pretty born Koreans, many are fake.

I mean this generations of HK artist are shit, although there are some accept-ions most HK, Taiwan, China artists are shit and boring. K-pop is the best type of genre in Asia in my opinion. Most of them are-talented at what they do. The only thing I don't like is the appearance of the Korean boy-band, because look like an bunch of feminine gay boys, they have no shame. They dress themselves like girls, put tons of make up, wear pink lipsticks, and uses white powder to lighten their skin.

hey this tvb show quite good wat

[video=youtube;UqyZyiQJ8_E]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UqyZyiQJ8_E&feature=related[/video]

The Taiwanese have since the late 1980s started promoting the Min Nan dialect which is spoken by the majority of the population. Min Nan is used also now in official functions as can be seen in the debate by the two VP candidates in the recent elections which was conducted in the dialect. TV and radio programmes, movies and songs are now mostly in Min Nan. Of course there is a price to be paid for this extensive usage of the local dialect and that is the standard of Mandarin invariably will fall. Taiwanese in the 1960s/1970s could speak better Mandarin than the present generation. I remember one old Taiwanese TV personality by the name of Pao Kuo Liang who could speak very good Mandarin and you now compare him to Jacky Wu to see the difference.

Shanghainese too are very proud of their dialect and heritage but somehow they never challenge the paramount status of Mandarin, the national language. News and other TV & radio programmes in Shanghai are all in Mandarin not in Shanghainese. Only in sit com do you hear the Shanghainese dialect and even these are not spoken by the main characters but usually by some minor characters or comedians. You also notice that their movies and songs are all in Mandarin. By and large, Shanghainese both young and old could speak fairly good Mandarin.

Dude, are you joking? Min Nan has no official status in Taiwan. Most of the Tv, radios, programs, movies, songs in Taiwan are mostly in MANDARIN. If it was common, I be watching minnan speaking movies everyday, but like I said before, it's rare to find Taiwanese movies that speaks any Hokkien or Min dialect at all, and even the ones that sing in Min Nan have an portion of Mandarin in them. Mandarin is used like 90% of the times among Taiwanese.

When I was in Taiwan, I only heard an very few people speak Hokkien on public. Also the mandarin that the Taiwanese people speak is influenced by Hokkien, not because Taiwanese speak mandarin today. An mandarin speaker from China cannot completely understand Taiwanese mandarin.

Re: Northern Barbarians

The same problem came when some politicians here described that most Sinkies were a apathetic lot. Yes, it used to be a hypocritical comment but not anymore. They were the ones that destroyed the oppositions; and they had the tongue in the cheek to say that ?

I think, the Manchus are not 100% of the Yellow Emperor tribe. They and the Mongols are mixed with the non-O haplogroup people like C and D which were the first and second batches of migrants from the east of Africa.

Haplogroup O is an descendant of Haplogroup K, which came from middle east. And mtDN M and N which is found in 30% of Chinese, Japanese, Koreans,and Southeast asian are descendant of African mtDNA L2 and L3. C and D are older haplogroup than O, but Mongolian C3 evolved in Siberian and Tibetan D3a evolved in Tibet mountains, C3 and D3a is younger than Chinese O3 which evolved from China (sub-group O3a5). All people today are an descendant of ancient humans, but they were not africans, they were australoid people who are the most genetically distant from Africans. Their skull and features are different to Africans, despite the fact they appear african (due to environment adaption). All people today are related with Australoids, like the Australian aborigines. The Proto-mongoloid evolved from Proto- australoid. and Mongoloid (East asian features) evolved from Proto- Mongoloid ( like Amerindians) due to physical adaption to the cold dating 10,000 BC+

The Buryats, evenks, Oroqen have the highest frequencies of C3 in the world. from 60-91%

000802ca560a0d93ce8e0e.jpg

The Tibeto-burmese such as the Tuija have 70% D1 and D3a.

tujia.jpg

2247821_b6c2cb666d.jpg

The Indonesian adopts Malay for its national language the same reason that Singapore adopts Malay as the national language. Both are multi-racial countries, Indonesia a lot more so. Picking a minority language as the national language does not threaten the minorities. In addition, in Singapore, we have a common working language which is English, a neutral language. This is something the new immigrants do not understand. They want everything to be written and announced in their own language.

I'm really confused about indonesian and malay. Cos indonesian sounds like malay but i was told that many of their words are very different from malay.

Btw your reasoning doesn't cut it at all. Sg adopted malay cos sg is so much smaller than mudland but indon is bigger than mudland and isn't afraid to fight with mudland why the fuck would they need to adopt malay at all?

Romance Of The Three Kingdoms

yes, correct. it's the yangtze river, north and south dividing line.

Yangtze_River_Map.png

DSCN9939.JPG

That's right ! The same theory goes to England too. The Nazi German's weakness was their own navy. The only way to conquer the entire England was to surround and choke (sea siege) Britain of its resources by using U-boats attacking any transport ships and its convoys that were coming from USA. But, the German lost when they decided to attack Russia instead. This was the same error which the Japs did when they attacked SE Asia by destroying Pearl Harbour which woke up a sleeping dragon that will exact vengeance on them instead of consolidating their control in China first as planned in the Tanaka Memorial (田中上奏文 Tanaka Josobun). They disobeyed it and the result was disastrous.

The YangTze River must be protected at all cost. If the enemy do cross it, it almost certain that the entire south will fall. That's why when 国姓爷 Koxinga aka 郑成功 Zheng Chenggong had to defend Hokkien, I do not see the chance of winning the war against the bloody Manchus.

During the late Han era or the 3 kingdoms period, the river had to be protected. The fewer the ships they (Cao Cao's troop) could get hold on to, the better the chance for the south to prevail. This is like pushing a million troop through a valley - what could a few men in the valley do ? Do not forget the logistical nightmare that they have to plan and schedule for a million troop landing. No ammo means you are unarmed, no food or water means you are dying without being killed, no oil means no tanks or vehicles - simple as that !

d2bd336e03dfed6c4c0f29eead229739.jpg

李煜 Li Yu (937 - 978), historically known as Last Emperor of 南唐 Southern Tang, reigned from 961 to 975.

In terms of politics, Li Yu was an incompetent emperor. When Li Yu was 38 years old, the Song army went across the Yangtze River and besieged Jinling. He surrendered to Song after the capital was lost the next year, but was poisoned to death later by 赵匡胤 Zhao Guangyi, Emperor Taizong of the 宋 Song Dynasty.

For all that, Li Yu was versatile in art, such as calligraphy, painting, poems, and so on, among which his achievement in ci was especially outstanding. His ci poems were mainly collected in Ci of the Second Emperor of Southern Tang. Altogether 32 pieces, the content can be classified into two categories: the first category was written before he surrendered to 宋 Song, which is narrow in theme and mainly reflects palace life and love; the second category was written after his surrender to Song, which depicts the scene of his overlooking afar by relying on the railing or returning back his formal life in his dream and expresses his infinite attachment and misery to the "former homeland" and "past events". Li Yu's works are mostly pathetic and sorrowful, including Corn Poppy Flower, Waves Sift Land, the Midnight Crow, and so on.

That stupid Li Yu fell into a trap 反间计 and he killed Lin Ren Zhao who protect the river with his navy. After General Lin's death, Zhao Guanyi (the first Song emperor) crossed the river and the game was over.

林仁肇 Lin Ren Zhao (? -973 Years), 福州 Fuzhou, physically manly, gallant and shooting, Five Dynasties, Southern Tang famous, understood as After Zhou Xiande annuals (955 years) in November, led his militia south Shizong Chairong Huainan, one venture apt dead Southern Tang.

[video=youtube;kUfYaN8kSnw]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kUfYaN8kSnw&feature=related[/video]

[video=youtube;xYmQD2Rx-L0]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xYmQD2Rx-L0[/video]

The very same thing the Song troop had to do when the northern barbarians raided the north and many cities had fallen into the hands of the Khitans, Jin and Mongols consecutively. When the Mongols crossed the river, it spelled the end of Song.

River is water. Like I have said before, water and men do not mix. That is your deadly great wall against your enemy : use it to your advantage !

Jah_rastafar_I said:
I'm really confused about indonesian and malay. Cos indonesian sounds like malay but i was told that many of their words are very different from malay.

Btw your reasoning doesn't cut it at all. Sg adopted malay cos sg is so much smaller than mudland but indon is bigger than mudland and isn't afraid to fight with mudland why the fuck would they need to adopt malay at all?

Midland has nothing to do with it. It was to maintain racial harmony. Both Singapore and Indonesia endorse this principle. Midland does not.

Re: Northern Barbarians

Haplogroup O is an descendant of Haplogroup K, which came from middle east. And mtDN M and N which is found in 30% of Chinese, Japanese, Koreans,and Southeast asian are descendant of African mtDNA L2 and L3. C and D are older haplogroup than O, but Mongolian C3 evolved in Siberian and Tibetan D3a evolved in Tibet mountains, C3 and D3a is younger than Chinese O3 which evolved from China (sub-group O3a5). All people today are an descendant of ancient humans, but they were not africans, they were australoid people who are the most genetically distant from Africans. Their skull and features are different to Africans, despite the fact they appear african (due to environment adaption). All people today are related with Australoids, like the Australian aborigines. The Proto-mongoloid evolved from Proto- australoid. and Mongoloid (East asian features) evolved from Proto- Mongoloid ( like Amerindians) due to physical adaption to the cold dating 10,000 BC+

The Buryats, evenks, Oroqen have the highest frequencies of C3 in the world. from 60-91%

000802ca560a0d93ce8e0e.jpg

The Tibeto-burmese such as the Tuija have 70% D1 and D3a.

6a00d8341bf67c53ef014e89ef7234970d-800wi

The ancestors of Neanderthals left Africa about 400,000 to 800,000 years ago. The Neanderthals were already in Europe when they went south and met the migrating modern humans that were coming out of the east of Africa about 80,000 to 50,000 years ago. They went extinct, or were simply absorbed into the modern human population, about 30,000 years ago. The Chinese are non-Africans of course. Africans do NOT have the Neanderthals' DNA.

The most complex DNAs should be the road junctions - Egypt and India. No wonder they had the earliest civilisations.