• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Which is the most significant dialect group in china and is there a ranking?

Pa Cheng or cham cheng would be more 'polite'......Pa Cheng/cham cheng literally means mixed breed. But somehow i still feels its used to describe animals rather than persons.....any hokkien scholars here?
Think Hokkien language very difficult to express "mixed type" - zha zheng. A better alternative will be Mandarin, Hun Xue (Mixed Blood), but when convert to hokkien, become Cham Hui, which in my opinion sounds weird and bloody and does not rhyme well.

Zhap Zheng actually means Mixed Type just Like Zhap Chai which means mixed vegetable. It is not meant to be insulting but somehow when express in Hokkien, it became crude.

NW, Pa Cheng machiam like racing horse breeding. :) Think Cham Cheng sounds better.

Actually, in Thai, a mixed is called Look Kreung (Half Child) which I feel is even more insulting.

On the contrary, luk krung is very complimentary. Most of Thai TV and movie stars are luk krungs.

Any lie or exaggeration would be immediately exposed. I managed to talk my way into police, NTUC and all the way to USA and back. I do not lie or exaggerate. I only talk facts of life, whether in English, Chinese or other languages. Somehow, I happened to be the best English and Chinese speaker in the clan and gang circles. I'm ranking white fan too for that on top of tiger general for streetfighting. Police knows that too, but they're alright with it as long as I remain within legal bounds in the line of duty. Very few people carry both ranks. I'm one of the very few.

what about your looks? I believe 有圖有真相, pointless to keep bullshitting! :D

It's alright if you or anyone thinks that I'm not handsome. I wouldn't brood or worry over your opinions.

On the contrary, luk krung is very complimentary. Most of Thai TV and movie stars are luk krungs.
Yes, most dara Look Krung very Yan Dao and Chio. But if you translate to Hokkien or Chinese, become Buan Kia (半仔)or Ban Zi (半子). This I feel more insulting than Zhap Zheng.

It means nothing more than half breed. I don't feel it insulting at all. Strictly speaking, I'm Mongolian-Teochew. But what the heck? Just put it down as Chinese.

Pa Cheng or cham cheng would be more 'polite'......Pa Cheng/cham cheng literally means mixed breed. But somehow i still feels its used to describe animals rather than persons.....any hokkien scholars here?

Well i doubt anyone that isn't a hokkien peng would even know what pa cheng means. Some sinkees have such poor vocab in hokkien knnbccb is the only hokkien phrase they know.

Then again knowing how bloody sensitive minorities are and their chinese ass kissers are any hokkien phrase used to describe a non chinese would just be considered "racist". I mean some ppl i guess ang mohs and chinese find the term "ang moh" offensive when it just simply means a white person in dialect.

I say just fuck it stick to the term chup cheng.

Angmor is nothing offensive. It just means red-haired. Angmor gao or gui is something offensive. It means red-haired monkey or devil. Chup cheng is somewhere in between. It can be taken as meaning bastard or taken as meaning mixed breed, depending on context.

It means nothing more than half breed. I don't feel it insulting at all. Strictly speaking, I'm Mongolian-Teochew. But what the heck? Just put it down as Chinese.
Wah Lan Eh! Where got Mongol Teochew one?:*:

During the times of Kublai Khan in the Yuan Dynasty, many Mongolians were encouraged to move down south to intermarry. The same was practised by Manchurians in the Qing Dynasty. Even male surnames were changed to Chinese surnames for integration and assimilation. Only the royalties kept their Mongolian or Manchurian surnames.

A Wrong Word

I am not disputing the fact that 性 existed at least 5000 years ago. I was only pointing out the fact that it was transmitted down the maternal side until the end of the Autumn-Spring Warring Period in the Zhou Dynasty roughly 2,500 years ago when transmission down the lineage switched to the paternal side. Whilst first it was a tradition only for the royalty, eventually it became also the customs of the common people. My key point is that it did not stay matrilineal throughout. It is quite obvious that today it is patrilineal as we follow our fathers' surnames.

Aiyo ! Correction: 性 is sex as in 性爱.

What you mean is 姓 = 女 + 生 born of a woman.

The matriarchal naming order was more towards the birth of a place near a water body say like a river. I'm not sure whether it was considered as a tribal name after all.

My surname was like that too. It was a switch from his (the son of the progenitor of that surname) matriarchal surname to a patriarchal one.

Does All Scots Have Red Hair ?

Angmor is nothing offensive. It just means red-haired. Angmor gao or gui is something offensive. It means red-haired monkey or devil. Chup cheng is somewhere in between. It can be taken as meaning bastard or taken as meaning mixed breed, depending on context.

Auburn hair, red hair ... Nothing compares to 苗族 Hmong's ! In fact, I'm very interested with the Hmongs.

It was said that people with red hair tends to have freckles on their faces.

[video=youtube;woCN8lVJSNY]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=woCN8lVJSNY[/video]

Cantonese Is 仔 For 子

dog.jpg

The Cantonese version of 子 is 仔 zai. Both Foochowese and Hokkien use 囝 ghyung or ghya as in 犬囝 kheng ghyung or 狗囝 ghow ghya (puppy).

Re: A Wrong Word

Aiyo ! Correction: 性 is sex as in 性爱.

What you mean is 姓 = 女 + 生 born of a woman.

The matriarchal naming order was more towards the birth of a place near a water body say like a river. I'm not sure whether it was considered as a tribal name after all.

My surname was like that too. It was a switch from his (the son of the progenitor of that surname) matriarchal surname to a patriarchal one.

姓 was retained from ancient usage. Most of our Chinese surnames now are 氏。

Mediacorpse Wants You To Give Up Your Heritage

1793_voc_c_1duit_pbd_o.jpg

Wah. Dialect thread become a serious discussion of Chinese history. Did we study this during secondary school? Cannot remember studying all about these Zhou Wen Wang. Only remember the covers of my sec 1 and sec 2 history book are orange and green.

Also thanks those who provide inputs on the Hokkien and Cantonese dialects. Did not know so much before that. :)

It seems like both China and Singapore are having an evil pact to destroy our heritage in the name of unity. Perhaps, that's how the Northern language came about. Languages change with time. In Sinkieland, we use "lwee" for duit (a Dutch word ?). Ella from SHE teen pop group said 钱 "jhee" instead of "lwee". "Gowyin" for marriage is also wrong ! Too many local Malayu words !

as part of kublai's assimilation strategy to mix mongols with chinese, the yuan court sent mongols to the deep south as far south as vietnam to disperse their troops among local communities. every household was supposed to house and feed a mongol warrior, otherwise whole villages would be pillaged and burnt. obviously, a lonely horny horseman who was far from home and loved ones would find local chicks appealing. alone in a household but with military might behind his back, all women would be game. thus, the long long elaborate rape of china by mongols continued from then until today....every time ramseth seduces a chick, the centuries old rape is re-invoked.

Hey, don't anyhow slander me. I'm a romantic gentleman.

there's slow gentlemanly rape, and there's fast barbarian rape. women prefer the former, and they actually fantasize about being seduced and ravaged repeatedly watching paint dry.

Both Are Han and Tang Tones

... by some Professor of Chinese Studies some 30 years ago, that Cantonese and Hokkien are very ancient dialects, truer to the ancient tongues of the Chinese than Mandarin which is a relatively new and simplified dialect developed from borrowing the most common characteristics of people living in the North. Once established, there was the reversed influence on these regional dialects resulting in several dialect groups having close association with Mandarin. About 40% of China today is a native speaker of a Mandarin-like tongue.

Cantonese and Hokkien are not just the result of outside influence of a small of soldiers sent from the North on a long expedition but a large migration of people driven by war from invading barbarians. They in turn drove south those people who originally occupied Southern China to today's Vietnam and Thailand. One reason why Cantonese speaks Mandarin with a funny accent is that there are too many similarly sounding words which are not exactly the same in the two dialects. Whether Cantonese and Hokkien are Han people originally occupying the North of China, I have no clue. I stand corrected on the above.

I have written this before that 粤语 Cantonese is actually about 70 to 80 percent closer to 汉语 Han language. So, that means your Liu Bei would not have said "jiang jun" to greet his generals but "jyeong kuan" instead.

The Fu Jian language like Foochowese and Hokkien (including Teochew too) were once Tang Dynasty official langauge. See my Previous Posting.

唐 Tang was an old word for 晋 Jin. Where was Jin ? Jin existed during the Chou Dynasty which was split into two periods : 春秋时代 The Spring and Autumn (770BC - 256 BC) and 战国时代 The Warring States (475 - 221 BC). It was also split into 3 states but unlike 齐国 Qi which it did manage to reconquer and unite as one again before surrendering to Qin. Your Tang emperor 李世民 Li Shi Min could not have said "jiang jun" (generals) but "jyong khun" instead. Checkmate !

Jin = 国 Zhao + 国 Wei + 国 Han

Perhaps, the Lee clan dynasty (Tang) did not want a name to clash with the previous Jin Dynasty.

Near the end of the Jin Dynasty, many near 洛阳 Loyang began to migrate in hordes to the south. Where ? Punggol 21 of course ! The Shanghai of that time ? I don't know. But, it was vast and uninhabited. And for those who wish to escape the harsh winter and violence, that was the place for refuge. This was known as 八王之乱. I can't find an English name for that. Qin, Jin and Sui were short lived dynasties.

So, 唐音 Tang Tone is actually our Hokkien, Teochew and Foochowese while Cantonese is known as 汉音 Han Tone. Look, the ancient Koreans were NOT that dumb to learn the so-called southern tribal languages for nothing. They were the ancient official languages of ancient China !

651px-EN-ZHAO260BCE.jpg

there's slow gentlemanly rape, and there's fast barbarian rape. women prefer the former, and they actually fantasize about being seduced and ravaged repeatedly watching paint dry.

I don't give a damn what they prefer as long as they subdue nicely.