• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Which is the most significant dialect group in china and is there a ranking?

There's no point and no reward being bilingual or multiligual. I speak five languages and three dialects and I'm one of the most hated and hounded here. Dear friends, stick to the one language you like but some basic English is good for international travels. That's about it.

You speak 5 languages fluently or gibberish? Some language purists won't even consider the singlish some sinkees speak as proficiency in english.

u teochew, can enlight me why self made fish cake call meat ball in teochew? ba-yee.

I not Teochew lah, the last time I check, my kar chng not ang................ :o

Thought fish cake is her piak? :p

You speak 5 languages fluently or gibberish? Some language purists won't even consider the singlish some sinkees speak as proficiency in english.

You can call it gibberish if it suits you. It doesn't matter to me anymore.

I not Teochew lah, the last time I check, my kar chng not ang................ :o

Thought fish cake is her piak? :p

it ba yee according to the teochew porridge i patronised for the past 30years. peanut is tao zing. etc etc..

My goodness. Some rare sobbing lamentation from the great Pharoah himself. Now you admit that English is essential.

Well said. It's a sobbing lamentation. You should step forth to stand for election and grill those PAPs. Opposition needs minorities like you.

like a typical teochew ah pek, ram is a big cannon fairy.

to be fair to ramseth, he is NOT ugly. but he is certainly no where near handsome as he claim to be. just a typical kopitiam uncle. no more no less.

Well said. It's a sobbing lamentation. You should step forth to stand for election and grill those PAPs. Opposition needs minorities like you.

Oh please, I live in Singapore because I'm born here. Serving Singaporeans? Oh please, wait till death do us part. These are people calling me chup cheng. Serve them? I'd rather cremate a million dollar notes with them to make sure that they're cremated to ashes. Not all, some are very nice Chinese friends, but too few, the majority are like that, as even sampled in this forum as you can well read for yourself.

to be fair to ramseth, he is NOT ugly. but he is certainly no where near handsome as he claim to be. just a typical kopitiam uncle. no more no less.

i not saying he ugly, i am saying ram is a tau pao aka bullsh*ter. i live in teochew heartland most of my life, i had seen my fair share of teochew old men telling cock & bull stories since i was a toddler.

chup cheng u want serve ppl?? u want to ban a lot of chinese practices u know. can burnt incensed paper. chinese cannot tout but other race ok. only angmor is good lah to u chup cheng. if 1 day u r in power, the chinese in sg will suffer. luckily that day will never happen.

chup cheng like to stirr shit. period.

Yes, if I have a say, I'll ban burning incense and joss in public. You can still do it at home or at temple. That I wouldn't mind or ban. This is not something anti-Chinese as racial thing. This is just against the practice, whether Chinese or not if anyone practise that. I'd ban Christians evangelizing too. That amounts to touting and harassment too.

Well said. Indeed well articulated. But we have to bear in mind, traditions, whether Chinese or others, cannot be so easily and arbitralily argued away.

You can call it gibberish if it suits you. It doesn't matter to me anymore.

I'm sure your jap and thai must be primary school standard at the most. Oh well that's good enough. I suppose the other 2 languages u can speak are mandarin and english. What's the 5th? Singlish?

Firstly i'm not taoist or anything but still i respect chinese practices. What windows says about you is true. You won't admit it but you are bias against chinese. You have that ang moh superior mentality. The most ironic thing about ppl like you is that a pure bred ang moh unless he's a white supremacist doesn't think like you. More often that not it's the mixed breeds that have this racial superiority thing in their minds. A white supremacist doesn't even consider you their kind though. The chinese definitely don't.

More Than That !

You are correct only up to about 2,500 years ago. 姓 was matrilineal until around 500 BC in the Zhou Dynasty and it was practised only among the noblemen and royal family. After that 姓 became patrilineal and also widely adopted by the common people. 氏 is more a name of the clan. So in modern times, a woman who marries into a family carries the husband's 姓 but kept her own 氏。

根据徐旭生等学者的研究,华夏的各支祖先,最初包括传说时代的三大集团。这三大集团主要分布在黄河领域,即中原的华夏和东方的东夷,以及分布在长江领域或南方的苗蛮。其中,华夏集团主要有姓的黄帝、姓的炎帝,东夷集团主要有嬴姓的太昊、少昊。后来的夏商周三族以及秦、赵等等,似乎都是这两集团的后裔。例如,周人为姬姓,秦人为嬴姓。

As you can see, it went far beyond Xia ? Not more than 7000 but at least more than 4000 years ago.

Han Dynasty !

2008_4_27_39947_7239947.jpg

Teochew, Hokkien and Canton were definitely not in the Qin/Han boundaries which by south ended at Suzhou/Hangzhou area. Teochew, Hokkien and Canton were subordinate states something like colonies. It was until Tang Dynasty that these were officially integrated as provinces.

Yes, Teochews and Hokkiens were fishermen and seafarers. The sea restriction 海禁 from Ming to Qing dynasties affected them the worst. That's why they migrated in masses.

南广 South Vast(land) or Guang Zhou was conquered during Qin time. A large army marched from 燕 Yan (Beijing ?) and went all the way down to Canton. The land was vast ! Because there wasn't many inhabitants around. 闽 Min was not Hock Kian yet but it was a state bordered by mountains which Qin did not bother to capture it. It was during Han time that those Min Yue people (majority of the male died in a battle) which were later deported to the north which it became a vacuum in the capital city of Ye (before Fu Zhou). Both Min and South Vast were considered the territories of the 100 Yues.

The Yues were not Han. But, there's a possibility that they are still considered Xia people.

Song = Shang

20100403170710-1708814496.jpg

u play koei romance of three kngdoms? the region should around Loyang and Xuchang, in present day henan province. the old shang dynasty capital of shangqiu was nearby. During the spring and autmun period, shangqiu was also the capital for the state of song, occupying a strategic area, a place where great conqueror must have to rule supreme over the central plain.

The state of 宋 Song was actually a small 商 Shang state given out of courtesy by the Chou king.

Re: Song = Shang

All Spring & Autumn states were conferred by Zhou under 裂土分封 except Chu, Wu and Yue in the south 自立为王。