• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

To those who went through the hard times in the 50s/60s/70s and even the 80s

ya lor.....carefree cos parents were bearing the burden for us. Now our turn leh.

Was not exactly carefree, we still have to work hard at studies, but life was bearable despite the fact that we had many stifling government policies, you are good in art, you are frowned upon & discouraged. School was relax but competition to succeed was there, I had to run with the pack of the 'top 8' whom I can never catch up for they are just too talented. But success could be attributed to our intelligence & our abilities, rarely we have tuition. Classmates of my time do take up extra lessons in piano, musical instruments, even art classes or ballet or... they did it for they have an inclination for it and the love too. But being excellent in those things not many parents of my day, would want their child to be.

There were only one university, one polytechnic ( SINgapore), so getting into those, not only your grades, have to be good, but your CHINESE have to be good too. So, it produced my generation , many of whom were very good at studies from going further. Many through their parents hard work were sent to overseas universities and higher education; sad to say, many didn't come back.

We have a Ministry of Culture that label many things as decadence, and interest in arts, were like man having a rope round hid neck, whenever he goes over his boundary...Min Of Culture pull the rope.

We have a special ministry to oversee the population, making sure that we stop at TWO or one gets fined..nit only that, that was when we became a FINE country, we get fined for this, fines for that.

We have an early SAF, that cockups are the norm & you serve like a conscript in some gulag in Siberia & one have to "defend the country" for another 13 years of more in Reservist, which was a bane to most employers & employees.

Growing up during those times, were enjoyable, life was easier, simplier, people werr warm & friendly, but we still have to struggle, we can surely be proud of the fact that, whatever success we have to day as SINgapore, we built this CITY!, the PAP didn't , they only provided the opportunity.

The common people of the 50/60/70/80 BUILT THIS CITY/COUNTRY, whom we call home, SINGAPORE.

Ang kong chua( paper card with racing car and bike, SG racing scence ) , use gua peh kow mix with fine glass ( mostly light bulb) for kite fighting string, make your own catalpult ( lastik)
Bro, did i know you before ?..seems Like the same things i have done too..:)

My childhood :

1. Eating satay on a jetty above the sea at Marine Parade (end of Joo Chiat Road)
2. Cream puffs at red house.
3. Kite fighting at the Tanjong Katong Road school field.
4. Penang Laksa along East Coast Road just outside the Red House.
5. Peeping at Malay couples making out at the end of Telok Kurau road.
All this on 20 cents a day.

One of these couples must be Siput Sarawak, (Anita Sarawak's mother) who was living at Lorong J off Telok Kurau Rd and she was a nymphomaniac.

My childhood :

1. Eating satay on a jetty above the sea at Marine Parade (end of Joo Chiat Road)
2. Cream puffs at red house.
3. Kite fighting at the Tanjong Katong Road school field.
4. Penang Laksa along East Coast Road just outside the Red House.
5. Peeping at Malay couples making out at the end of Telok Kurau road.

All this on 20 cents a day.

The jetty/pier at Marine Parade was where fishermen go and auction off their catch starting from as early as 4am everyday.

Was not exactly carefree, we still have to work hard at studies, but life was bearable despite the fact that we had many stifling government policies, you are good in art, you are frowned upon & discouraged. School was relax but competition to succeed was there, I had to run with the pack of the 'top 8' whom I can never catch up for they are just too talented. But success could be attributed to our intelligence & our abilities, rarely we have tuition. Classmates of my time do take up extra lessons in piano, musical instruments, even art classes or ballet or... they did it for they have an inclination for it and the love too. But being excellent in those things not many parents of my day, would want their child to be.

There were only one university, one polytechnic ( SINgapore), so getting into those, not only your grades, have to be good, but your CHINESE have to be good too. So, it produced my generation , many of whom were very good at studies from going further. Many through their parents hard work were sent to overseas universities and higher education; sad to say, many didn't come back.

We have a Ministry of Culture that label many things as decadence, and interest in arts, were like man having a rope round hid neck, whenever he goes over his boundary...Min Of Culture pull the rope.

We have a special ministry to oversee the population, making sure that we stop at TWO or one gets fined..nit only that, that was when we became a FINE country, we get fined for this, fines for that.

We have an early SAF, that cockups are the norm & you serve like a conscript in some gulag in Siberia & one have to "defend the country" for another 13 years of more in Reservist, which was a bane to most employers & employees.

Growing up during those times, were enjoyable, life was easier, simplier, people werr warm & friendly, but we still have to struggle, we can surely be proud of the fact that, whatever success we have to day as SINgapore, we built this CITY!, the PAP didn't , they only provided the opportunity.

The common people of the 50/60/70/80 BUILT THIS CITY/COUNTRY, whom we call home, SINGAPORE.

1. wa, ah bro.
2. my eyes were tearing when reading your materials.
3. yes, me remembered the days of the kallang roar with kassim, kim song & the boys.
4. when ms chee swee lee won the 400m gold in the asian games.
5. for those brief moments, i was once very proud to be some sheep in the making!

You more fortunate (relatively). Old man a lowly truck driver. Moved out when I was 18, stayed in tiny rented (windowless) room with 2 other bums in old shophouse opposite old national theatre. Once, pocket money ran out, and too proud to ask for "bridging loan", rather go hungry for 3 days. One night, stole egg and stale bread from neigbour tenant but darn needed boiling water to do the yakun. Awful common loo and bathroom ..so used to pay princely 20cts for public swimming pool (across river valley rd) for a dip and shower. :o Entertainment was free shows from behind national theatre (Straydogs and Pest Infested era)

Fast forward a bit, also gave tuition. Kns, some lazy students (Indon chinese) can sometimes ask to ponteng see movie (suit my skiving too, chiao sng (still count in tab). Reward meself with a decent ze char then.

At 19/20, tried to date a chio chabor on bus. Got to her, but kns when she ask got wheels ---> zapped my ego. No dice:o

Ah Hia kia Wang Kay Swar Kah.

Along the street do remember Sing Kwang Optical? Used to go to my friend's shop to play.

Theres only 3 chinese words t describe the 3 of you? Start with 老 :D

Lao Ying Xiong?
Lao Qiang Ren?
Lao Shan Ren?
Lao Jing Ying?
Lao Nan Ren?
Lao Jia Huo?
Lao Jiang Hu?
Lao Ai Ren?
Lao Ren Jia?

peeped so much ...see what happened to his eye :rolleyes:

siput caught him peeping
"akan haram, balik cari puki mak nu"
went to mama for this favour
mama punch him in the eye ...
the experience resulted in his hatred for Chinese
and the twitching eye
the rest is history

actually someone did clean the fields of the discarded frenchcaps.......this guy washed them for his later reuse. I dont want to name him in order not to

shame him. All i can say is that he winks a lot on sbf.

knn
who left those french caps lying on the football field in st pat.

You didn't do your civic duty & clear the football field of the 'french caps'??

1. aiyoh! bro.
2. that is suppose to be some 'secrets' hoh.
3. hahahaha!

actually someone did clean the fields of the discarded frenchcaps.......this guy washed them for his later reuse ...
he blew dem in2 balloons b4 washing dem ...