• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

To those who went through the hard times in the 50s/60s/70s and even the 80s

Ellenborough street? :D
Before you cross the river, Ord rd was just side road from River Valley main. Mine was just 50m inside.

Make friends with ah neh mama stall (you know the tiny narrow type with shelves against the wall on 5 foot path). Trusted me enough to sometimes asking me to jaga so he take 5 go toilet. Knew where he kept his loot. But hardworking fellow, slept on makeshift plank next to his stall. Can read FOC forerunner of 8 Days then, anyone remember "Fanfare" pop mag fronted by eh goondu Sylvia Toh Paik Choo?

Across in Ellenborough street, on bridge you had this teochew storyteller with audience over a joss stick (commercial break, at most exciting moment)

My family was one of the earliest settlers in a HDB flat - a one room flat (they call it 沒房沒廳) at Chai Chee.
6 person squeezed into the unit consiting one one hall (no bed room) and a small kitchen, circa 1969/70.
I am a pioneer.

ya ..from what i recall of previous posts....bro equalisation and windsor are all in their 60s. Some others too. Wait for them to contribute

to this thread.

if uncle equalisation was 3-4 during jap occupation then he at least 73yrs old liao. he almost as old as my old man who already hand in IC.

It was indeed hard times during the Jap Occupation when I was a kid.

We were always on our toes and were advised to keep out of the way of the Jap soldiers.

I still remember vividly there was one incident where I wandered along the fringe path of our kampong trying to catch spider (or was it grasshopper?) when I saw straight ahead there were two Jap soldiers approaching. I quickly climbed up a tree hoping that they would not see me. They did not see me but stopped underneath the tree for a smoke !!

I was trembling with fear until I wet my pants and the urine was starting to drip on their uniforms !! Lo and behold, suddenly at that moment there was a loud clap of thunder and the skies opened. They dashed off subsequently.

It was indeed a scary episode to say the least.

Aiya ...why didnt you stay in this rented place with 2 other chios or at least milfs? Life would have been more enjoyable and since windowless then no. one can ''catch dog '' when you doing your stuff.
Which reminds me of another anecdote, after later progressing to stay in Peony Mansion (Bencoolen St). Think it's still there, but a haven for cheapo lodgings in recent years for FLs in partitioned tooms. Neighbouring room housed malaysian chabors working Gold Leaf (taiwan porridge) restaurant near Orchard Rd. Celebrate their birthdays with simple party and dancing in rooms (with alcohol as lubricant). Almost makan 1 milf, but halfway kns she mabuk yelled out her ex hubby's name. What a dampener!:o:p

yes bro...70 to 72 something like that. You are right.

my old man was 6yo in 1942, was staying in bukit timah then. lucky grandfather run road to town before the jap landed in singapore so avoided the bukit timah massacre. but old man seldom talk about the jap era, maybe had bad memories of it.

Those with stayed or had relatives in China Street and Hokkien St area will remember the old war houses with 3 floors and you had to climb up narrow stair cases. Many old shops there, including the famous food stalls such as Hokchiew loh mee with huge meat balls. That was my play ground and learned my cycling on the streets there.

ya ...many dun wanna talk about that period even my dad. I think mebbe he kena whacked by them . He used to TCSS with me a helluva

lot when he was alive but never talked about that period. The only person i know who talked about WW2 Jap occupation was this

teacher from my former school Elizabeth Choy.

my old man was 6yo in 1942, was staying in bukit timah then. lucky grandfather run road to town before the jap landed in singapore so avoided the bukit timah massacre. but old man seldom talk about the jap era, maybe had bad memories of it.

My childhood :

1. Eating satay on a jetty above the sea at Marine Parade (end of Joo Chiat Road)
2. Cream puffs at red house.
3. Kite fighting at the Tanjong Katong Road school field.
4. Penang Laksa along East Coast Road just outside the Red House.
5. Peeping at Malay couples making out at the end of Telok Kurau road.

All this on 20 cents a day.

My family was one of the earliest settlers in a HDB flat - a one room flat (they call it 沒房沒廳) at Chai Chee.
6 person squeezed into the unit consiting one one hall (no bed room) and a small kitchen, circa 1969/70.
I am a pioneer.

I don't think so u are pioneer, I think my aunty beat you. she was in the original Queenstown estate, when it was build in the 50s under SIT. Definitely older than 69/70 by around 10 years. It was a small 2 room, and the railway line was right outside her kitchen window. When the train go by u can feel it as well as hear it.

It was indeed hard times during the Jap Occupation when I was a kid.

We were always on our toes and were advised to keep out of the way of the Jap soldiers.

I still remember vividly there was one incident where I wandered along the fringe path of our kampong trying to catch spider (or was it grasshopper?) when I saw straight ahead there were two Jap soldiers approaching. I quickly climbed up a tree hoping that they would not see me. They did not see me but stopped underneath the tree for a smoke !!

I was trembling with fear until I wet my pants and the urine was starting to drip on their uniforms !! Lo and behold, suddenly at that moment there was a loud clap of thunder and the skies opened. They dashed off subsequently.

It was indeed a scary episode to say the least.

U pissed on Japs? Damn lucky the kampeitai translator Lee Kuan Yew did not turn you in. U will be shot in front of firing squad.

this would be along the beach just off from Sea Avenue.
Doesn't quite sound like hard times, if his was shooting the breeze (albeit on budget 20cts).

Btw, thought you paktored in Katong Park (now next to nice condos off Tg Rhu)

My childhood :

1. Eating satay on a jetty above the sea at Marine Parade (end of Joo Chiat Road)
2. Cream puffs at red house.
3. Kite fighting at the Tanjong Katong Road school field.
4. Penang Laksa along East Coast Road just outside the Red House.
5. Peeping at Malay couples making out at the end of Telok Kurau road.

All this on 20 cents a day.

my childhood too...except

2) had fruitcake too..
5) ventured further to katong park too..

do I know U..??:rolleyes:

Haha. Choi, I was more into that Siva Choy (I mean his funny columns) on Kitchi Boy (or similiar):p

I thought that Siva Choy was a Chinese, until I discovered he was Siva Choyi an Indian, heh heh, and Sylvia Toh ( Paik Choo) was a beautiful girl, ha ha ha , kitchi boy, sarabat store..etc.. I remember "Fanfare" magazine my favourite, I hoarded the first edition to the last, still have two of the giveaways that came with it, which I will never part , The New Seekers EP, " I would buy the world a Coke", & Paul Mccartney " Give Ireland Back To The Irish" ( with the green shamrock) EP's. I lost my box of memorable s when moving house many eons ago, which included the entire Fanfare Collection plus a lot of other things, like my scrap books. Scrap Books that included every newspaper cuttings of "Cassius Clay" matches till he became Mohammed Ali...newspaper cuttings of movie advertisement on Thursday every week on Straits Times ( not Shit Times) every copy of Asia Magazine, the pull out that comes every sunday & cuttings of Sun Tan the Cartoon.

Am I able to get archives copy of Fanfare at National Library to view??

Growing up, I learn not to love the people that were running the country, swore that, when I am able to vote... I vote WISELY...have to struggle through a stifling society, education system, National Service & Reservist, starting a career...and every where ones turn, the "heavy hand" of oppression is there, but I survived!