• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Workers' Party

from TR Emeritius

Teo Chee Hiam:
September 14, 2014 at 7:45 pm (Quote)
Gerald Giam
If you ask me, i would say, “What do you think?”
What can wp do ?
If wp unable to do its job of Gettysburg ng answers from pap, there is no point giving more seats to wp.
Pls consider joining SDP or SFP.
There you can speak like a real Opposition mp.

Pritam Singh

As expected, Malaysia's decision to raise toll charges on 1 Aug 2014, ostensibly in fulfilment of the Eastern Dispersal Link (EDL) contract have been matched by Singapore.

"Where did Iskandar figure in Singapore’s toll hike? Could it have considered a less steep hike in toll charges in view of the fact that Singapore did not contribute to constructing the EDL? Even so, if a decision had been taken by the LTA not to increase toll charges, it would inevitably have been read as a signal by some in Malaysia, that Singapore will not react to terms in contracts such as those that led to MRCB being awarded the concession for the EDL, with potentially more road construction in Malaysia ultimately funded mainly by Singaporean taxpayers. Perhaps this is what the Senior Minister of State for Transport Josephine Teo meant when she said in parliament, “there is no assurance that toll charges foregone by one side will be translated into lower total charges which benefit motorists.”

A (very) short history behind the latest Causeway tolls hikes
singapore2025.wordpress.com

So, as forewarned by the Land Transport Authority, Singapore has matched Malaysia’s toll hikes at the Causeway. This was a long-time in coming. As a result of the angst this issue has created, some...

Pritam Singh

"….I support all initiatives that lead to a peaceful resolution of the Israel-Palestinian conflict resulting in a just and internationally recognised settlement which creates a sovereign homeland not just for the Palestinians in the West Bank and Gaza, but one which ensures the right of Israel’s existence as well. Until a final settlement is reached, I also support all humanitarian efforts to assist all those affected by the Israel-Palestinian conflict….At its recent Hari Raya celebration for Aljunied GRC residents held at Jalan Damai, Workers’ Party MPs and members who had also joined the call to raise funds for the humanitarian effort in Gaza, handed over a cheque to the Badan Agama Dan Pelajaran Radin Mas (BAPA) or Religious & Educational League Of Radin Mas, a non-profit social organization which was first formed in Singapore in 1957."

Pritam Singh: Reply to letter in Lianhe Zaobao on Humanitarian
support for Gaza

singapore2025.wordpress.com

Original letter sent to Lianhe Zaobao and published (see above) on 8 Sep 2014 I refer to the article published on 3 Sep 2014 and thank Mr Ye for his letter. Mr Ye would know that PAP MPs who parti...

[h=5]The Workers' Party[/h]Paid a visit to our friends at Geylang Serai. Hope you got your copy of the Hammer. Happy reading! #hammer #workersparty #wp

10685752_940057752677475_4699301848844611068_n.jpg

Workers party is PAP (B) team
WP is a silence party.
Voting for WP is indirectly voting for PAP

Don't trust PAP:
September 12, 2014 at 10:34 am (Quote)
Is Singapore truly a democracy?
PAP is doing everything to stay in power, gerrymanagering, importing and converting foreigners into citizens who would vote for PAP, withholding information from the citizenry.
Did these exiles really telling lies or having we been hearing lies and propaganda from PAP and pro-PAP SPH news media?
Is our cpf money still there for us to withdraw when we need it?
Is PAP still tightening foreigner import? Why then I am seeing more foreigners everywhere, in CBD, my housing block?
Why are more Singaporeans becoming jobless and more people are earning less than $1,000a month than before? when PAP says foreigners are bringing more and better jobs.

[h=1]2014.08.17 Hari Raya Celebrations[/h]Updated <abbr title="Thursday, September 11, 2014 at 3:50pm" data-utime="1410421812" class="timestamp">on Thursday</abbr> · Taken at Basketball Court between 324 and 332 Hougang Ave 5

Hougang SMC held its annual Hari Raya Celebrations on 17 Aug 2014. It was a night full of fun and good food, and the audience was treated to non-stop jokes and laughter from the versatile emcee, who could speak fluently in Malay, English, Tamil and even Teochew!

Photo credit: Suresh Vanaz

10367563_930345203648756_267762539665967177_n.jpg

10689609_930345390315404_6518407387926466744_n.jpg

10622949_930345490315394_3940371415299224149_n.jpg

From TR Emeritius:

udge Dredd:
September 3, 2014 at 3:45 pm (Quote)
Aljunied GRC people
HAve your lives improved since you voted in WP to your GRC??
Has your pay increased?
Are you jobless or half employed now?
What good thing has WP done to improve your life or help you since you voted for the 5 of them into parliament?
They have good pay every month to just keep quiet in parliament.
How about you, residents of Aljunied??
Can you keep quiet, work once a week and collect $15k per month too??

Chen Jiaxi Bernard

On Sunday, I took this photo with Encik Rahim. A former Barisan Socialis member and a honorary member of the Workers' Party since 2007, he contested in Pasir Ris and East Coast GRC in 1997 and 2006 respectively. A technician by trade, his interest in protecting and promoting the welfare of workers and improving their standard of living fueled him to play an active role in the trade unions for over 35 years. He joined the Party in January 1988 and was the Vice-Chairman of the Party from 1994 - 2006. He has tirelessly steered the Party forward and saw the need for leadership renewal in 2006. With that, he selflessly stepped aside and he is happily enjoying his retirement from work and political activism. In the Party's fiftieth commemorative book, Encik Rahim has been described as being "driven by socialist ideals." It was a pleasure to see him donning party colours again on Sunday. Thank you for your service to the nation, Encik.

Photo credit: Yew Chuen Chae

10628579_10152309862696625_5657957135337617345_n.jpg

From TR Emeritius

Can't believe:
September 13, 2014 at 5:36 pm (Quote)
@Slacker
Totally agree with you. WP MPs are so silent, so quiet, so meek that it appears that there are no opposition MPs in parliament and PAP has complete dominance in parliament ! Tell me what is the use of voting in opposition MPs who do not want to speak up on behalf of the very people who have supported/ voted them in. During elections WP talked so much about being our voices in parliament, slapping the PAP when things go wrong, or fearlessly opposing government policies which adversely affect the lives of average Singaporeans. I think with the exception of Gerald Giam, the rest including LTK are all passengers in the elected opposition camp, a total disappointment. Some even say the WP is PAP’s ‘B’ team. WP chooses not to speak up on the many current hot issues to “slap” PaP, :- CPF, employment, transport, education, security breaches, PR/ new citizen issues, but instead it is the ordinary citizens who are speaking up, people like Roy, Leong, Hui Hui, Gilbert Goh, …………..

From TR Emeritius

Can't believe:
September 13, 2014 at 5:36 pm (Quote)
@Slacker
Totally agree with you. WP MPs are so silent, so quiet, so meek that it appears that there are no opposition MPs in parliament and PAP has complete dominance in parliament ! Tell me what is the use of voting in opposition MPs who do not want to speak up on behalf of the very people who have supported/ voted them in. During elections WP talked so much about being our voices in parliament, slapping the PAP when things go wrong, or fearlessly opposing government policies which adversely affect the lives of average Singaporeans. I think with the exception of Gerald Giam, the rest including LTK are all passengers in the elected opposition camp, a total disappointment. Some even say the WP is PAP’s ‘B’ team. WP chooses not to speak up on the many current hot issues to “slap” PaP, :- CPF, employment, transport, education, security breaches, PR/ new citizen issues, but instead it is the ordinary citizens who are speaking up, people like Roy, Leong, Hui Hui, Gilbert Goh, …………..

WP is a silence party:
September 16, 2014 at 8:42 pm (Quote)
Gerald Giam Yean Song, why no ask toll fees increased at checkpoint. Why no ask why Singapore no follow Malaysia Ministers pay. Why no ask why MDA banned “To Singapore, With Love”.
Oppositions voters are more concerned why you no ask these questions.
Gerald Giam Yean Song, stop your wayang and dun waste time in parliament asking things which oppositions are not interested.
WP is a silence party and afraid to offend their PAP ‘A’ team. WP is PAP ‘B” team.

WP is a silence party:
September 17, 2014 at 11:02 am (Quote)
This Gerald Giam think you might has a chance in GE16 at East Coast GRC. Tan ku ku he will get it simply all die hard opposition already knew WP is a silence party. I predicted Aljunied GRC either will go to other opposition party if there is a 3 corner fight or back to PAP.
Where are WP members during protest at HLP ????

[h=5]Daniel PS Goh[/h]
It is Legacy Week in Australia. On the way to the market this morning, we met many soldiers, sailors and airmen out in their uniforms selling mementos, quietly and solemnly, at street corners to raise funds for families of injured and deceased veterans. Bought a HMAS Sydney sailor teddy for my boy from an airman who had offered a pilot teddy instead, haha

It is meaningful for me because Legacy Week started in 1942 and many Australians died valiantly in the defence of Malaya/Singapore. For that matter, many Malayans/Singaporeans died too. So it is not that we do not have a tradition of veterans who made sacrifices and left behind families.

And these days, there are Singaporean servicemen who die and get injured in training, paying the inevitable price of defence readiness for the rest of us. Are we doing enough to remember their sacrifices and assist their families beyond the public exchanges of blame, shame and public relations game regarding National Service these days?

[h=5]The Workers' Party[/h]
[h=1]Sylvia Lim at ASEAN Inter-Parliamentary Assembly 2014[/h]<abbr title="September 16, 2014" data-utime="1410840000">September 16</abbr> · · Taken in Vientiane, Laos

Sylvia Lim (MP for Aljunied GRC) arrived in Vientiane, Laos on Sun Sep 14 for the 35th General Assembly of the ASEAN Inter-Parliamentary Assembly, as part of Singapore's delegation led by Speaker Halimah Yacob. She took part in discussions of the committee of Women Parliamentarians on Monday Sep 15, ahead of the Inaugural Ceremony on Tuesday. The delegation of 15 Singapore MPs will be meeting their ASEAN counterparts for discussions on economic, political and social topics of regional interest throughout the week.

10553585_941933372489913_5544325371689003557_n.jpg

10686737_941933369156580_8144790284183820170_n.jpg

Aljunied GRC, wake up:
September 19, 2014 at 4:26 pm (Quote)
Do you think WP able to retain Aljunied GRC ????
I doubt so simply many and many die hard opposition voters already give out hope on WP. We cannot denied that WP is a silence party and never press hard questions to your friends in white. WP is PAP (B) team.What had WP done since GE2011 in parliament????
1. Aim case closed !!!!
2. CPF min sum withdrawal at 65 and WP supported PAP.
3. “To S’pore With Love” MDA banned and WP agreed without noise.
4. WP is a wayang party
Void your vote if WP is contesting.
It make no difference whether there is WP MPs in parliament or not after all WP is completely a silence party.
Where are WP members when RN n HHH spoke at HLP????

Chen Jiaxi Bernard

The PA has confirmed again it is working for the narrow interests of the PAP, not the national interests of Singapore. The civil service can well take care of "explaining/ implementing/ improving government policies. However, the role of the PA that we hear articulated today in a broken record form is one that has been determined by the Secretary-General of the dominant political party with the purpose to exclude rather than include. In a ironic twist, the PA with their actions has alienated a good portion of Singaporeans and is an impediment to the government and the Prime Minister in realising their vision of a fair and inclusive Singapore. The PA is the PAP's vehicle for its own party political purposes. It is the vehicle for pure politics - divisive politics and Singapore politics at its very worst.

The PA preaches and practices ugly divisive politics with such blatant and consistent disregard and disrespect for the will of the electorate. The PA in attempting to masquerade as a noble and honourable public service entity, has through their own selfish and political acts, ran straight into opposition with the principles of governance, code of ethics and the conduct of public service. Shame.

New advisers for Hougang and Aljunied grassroots organisations - Channel NewsAsia
[url]www.channelnewsasia.com

Mr Goh Chee Koh has been appointed as the Adviser to Hougang Grassroots Organisations (GROs), and Dr Kee Wei Heong will...

[/URL]