• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The search for a lasting happiness

lolabunny

OK OK.. so I self centred also lor :o:p

How does a person rectify mistakes easily? Sometimes I find that I make mistakes but I don't know how to go about making things better.

It's not like correcting a spelling error in an essay.

pia

How does a person rectify mistakes easily? Sometimes I find that I make mistakes but I don't know how to go about making things better.

It's not like correcting a spelling error in an essay.

Not easy.. sometimes, depending on your outlook, do you consider it a mistake in the first place?

Easy: If to you, it was a mistake not getting your degree, go get it doing part-time etc.

Hard: If you think it was a mistake not having a good relationship with your parents, work on the relationship to improve it. Or a broken friendship which you later realised it's your fault, not your friend's.

First, a recognition of whether it's a mistake or not. Then, if yes, genuine sincerity to want to make amends.

Of course what's hard for some may be easy for others, and vice versa.

I've made and sadly am still making mistakes (that's life!)

Rectification doesn't mean you have to turn back the clock to undo, or doing something big to counter that mistake, sometimes it just being forgiven for the past mistake.

And to be forgiven is happiness rite? :smile:

Getting lor sor here.. people will think I'm really that old :biggrin:

zack123

Human beings just cannot stop being self centred can we? :wink:

When people talk about happiness, it is always to ourselves and never to bring happiness to another.

In this entire thread, no one has mentioned anything about making another person happy.

:smile::p

Trust me if you practice my advice, it will make many people happy:biggrin:

TeeKee

In general

Yes we make mistakes but there's no need to think so long about it. Just learn from it.

Breathing properly is a good and simple exercise which has been ignored by many. The lack of proper oxygen flow to the body affects the functions of every part of the body. Yoga and pilates promotes this.

Other form of exercises includes jogging swimming etc which ensures that you remain healthy physically and thus promote good vibes.

Added all 3, you are on your way to the pursuit of happiness.

i have to admit i ain't perfect. but you have to see and explore why i say the things i said. it's not for my personal benefit or gains. i ain't selling Christ for some kind of reward..it doesn't benefit me more if you become Christian more than it benefit you. but it hurts you more if you worship anything other than God, our Lord Jesus Christ.

i dun think what you mentioned will work. you are talking more on the physical aspect of life. Happiness cannot be achieved by exercise alone, even though a healthy body is gives you the positive minds.....there's still something missing. it's only temporal. as a matter of fact, people who less healthy have more faith in God than people who are strong and healthy, beacuse they have to rely on God more to sustain them.

Please dun do Yoga, it's a cult and will bring evil spirits in you, the final stage is to open your third eyes so that you can see like God. Anybody who try to be God will suffer severely.

zack123

i have to admit i ain't perfect. but you have to see and explore why i say the things i said. it's not for my personal benefit or gains. i ain't selling Christ for some kind of reward..it doesn't benefit me more if you become Christian more than it benefit you.

i dun think these will work. you are talking more on the physical aspect of life. Happiness cannot be achieved by exercise alone, even though a healthy body is gives you the positive minds.....there's still something missing.

Please dun do Yoga, it's a cult and will bring evil spirits in you, the final stage is to open your third eyes so that you can see like God. Anybody who try to be God will suffer severely.

Yoga originates from India based on Hindu philospohy. But you are very myopic when you say that its related to evil spirit. People practice yoga to achieve spiritual calmness. What's wrong with that?

Move with the time

TeeKee

Yoga originates from India based on Hindu philospohy. But you are very myopic when you say that its related to evil spirit. People practice yoga to achieve spiritual calmness. What's wrong with that?

Move with the time

Hindu worship idols....that is unacceptable to God. One question, how long does your calmness last before you next yoga practise?

See what happens if you worship idols? You become the devils. May Lord Jesus Christ forgive your sins!

Hindu Threat to Christians: Convert or Flee
http://www.nytimes.com/2008/10/13/world/asia/13india.html

zack123

Hindu worship idols....that is unacceptable to God. One question, how long does your calmness last before you next yoga practise?

See what happens if you worship idols? You become the devils. May Lord Jesus Christ forgive your sins!

Hindu Threat to Christians: Convert or Flee
http://www.nytimes.com/2008/10/13/world/asia/13india.html

You shall not make wrongful use of the name of the LORD your God, for the LORD will not acquit anyone who misuses his name.

Neither shall you bear false witness against your neighbor

lolabunny

Not easy.. sometimes, depending on your outlook, do you consider it a mistake in the first place?

Easy: If to you, it was a mistake not getting your degree, go get it doing part-time etc.

Hard: If you think it was a mistake not having a good relationship with your parents, work on the relationship to improve it. Or a broken friendship which you later realised it's your fault, not your friend's.

First, a recognition of whether it's a mistake or not. Then, if yes, genuine sincerity to want to make amends.

Rectification doesn't mean you have to turn back the clock to undo, or doing something big to counter that mistake, sometimes it just being forgiven for the past mistake.

Getting lor sor here.. people will think I'm really that old :biggrin:

If you are so old, then you must know the Rape of Nanking and how the Japs brutalized chinese peasants in WW2.

What is even MORE tragic or unforgivable, and is EVEN WORSE than all the tortures and killings, is that the Japs WON'T ADMIT TO the Rape of Nanking.

There is no point in admitting to a mistake and just learning from it or getting forgiven. Getting forgiven makes the sinner feel better, but it really doesn't help the victim.

To be sincere in recognising a mistake and making amends, we must first apologize.

Japan has chosen instead to whitewash history.
Given how much has been covered and how internationalized Japs have been, it is amazing that not a single peep has come out of Japan and its citizens to say sorry.

And that is exactly why Japanese society has degenerated to this degree. Why else would we get so much AV, porn, schoolgirl prostitution for branded items (both the schoolgirls selling and the businessmen buying) --> where else in the world would we get all this in one warped country?

So this is a country which does not admit its war crimes NOR apologize to its victims.

Is rectification important when one has made a mistake? You tell me. :smile:

My point is: when one makes a mistake, don't just think of your own personal stupidity or insensitivity.

Think instead of the person you've done wrong. Shouldn't the Japs be doing that?

I'm not judging anyone or labelling who's self-centred etc.

But it's like walking away and feeling good after doing a good deed. The point is, the good deed was not done to make oneself feel good -- which does, and that's not wrong.

I think we should think of other's point of view and be more empathetic. Only then, can we become better. :smile:

TeeKee

You shall not make wrongful use of the name of the LORD your God, for the LORD will not acquit anyone who misuses his name.

Neither shall you bear false witness against your neighbor

Ex 20:3-4 (NIV) "You shall have no other gods before me. You shall not make for yourself an idol in the form of anything in heaven above or on the earth beneath or in the waters below."

God destroys idols; He is the great iconoclast. Even good things can become idols, and while reveling and boasting seem good at the time, it is a grave disservice to idolize anything or anybody. The result is God's wrath, on you and the idol. God will not be eclipsed.

James 4:3-4 (Phi) You don't get what you want because you don't ask God for it. And when you do ask he doesn't give it to you, for you ask in quite the wrong spirit--you only want to satisfy your own desires. You are like unfaithful wives, never realizing that to be the world's lover means becoming the enemy of God! Anyone who chooses to be the world's friend is thereby making himself God's enemy.

Col 3:5-6 (Jer) That is why you must kill everything in you that belongs only to earthly life: fornication, impurity, guilty passion, evil desires and especially greed, which is the same thing as worshipping a false god. All this sort of behavior makes God angry. (Eph 5:5)

zack123

See your thread and how you have put things out of context.

Did your church teach you to manipulate texts?

yinyang

zack123 said:
...But you are very myopic when you say that its related to evil spirit. People practice yoga to achieve spiritual calmness. What's wrong with that?
Weird, yoga is no religion. Only therapy (mind, body), cuts across all denominations. Where does idol worship come in (can't be in some closet)?

So there you have it, zack123's rebuttal on name (Lord's) dropping:biggrin:

TeeKee

My point is: when one makes a mistake, don't just think of your own personal stupidity or insensitivity.

Think instead of the person you've done wrong. Shouldn't the Japs be doing that?

I'm not judging anyone or labelling who's self-centred etc.

But it's like walking away and feeling good after doing a good deed. The point is, the good deed was not done to make oneself feel good -- which does, and that's not wrong.

I think we should think of other's point of view and be more empathetic. Only then, can we become better. :smile:

Question of the Week: "What has the Bible taught you about forgiveness?"

When I had a great need to express forgiveness, I remembered Jesus saying, when he was about to be crucified, “Father forgive them, for they know not what they do.” (Luke 23:34). When I felt as though I would like to retaliate either with harsh words or in one case write a letter listing all the wrongs a person had done to me, these thoughts came to mind. Jesus was crucified and he forgave completely, no resentment, no memories of past injustices. I could definitely do the same. These thoughts have helped me many times, and I have been able to share them with others.

http://www.spirituality.com/article... has the Bible taught you about forgiveness?"

lolabunny

That's a very self-centred way of thinking. :smile:

You don't have to do something big, but thinking that forgiveness is the only thing, is just plain cowardly -- it makes you feel better but it doesn't help things.

TeeKee

Weird, yoga is no religion. Only therapy (mind, body), cuts across all denominations. Where does idol worship come in (can't be in some closet)?

So there you have it, zack123's rebuttal on name (Lord's) dropping:biggrin:

The question becomes, is it possible for a Christian to isolate the physical aspects of yoga as simply a method of exercise, without incorporating the spirituality or philosophy behind it? Yoga originated with a blatantly anti-Christian philosophy, and that philosophy has not changed. It teaches one to focus on oneself instead of on the one true God. It encourages its participants to seek the answers to life's difficult questions within their own conscience instead of in the Word of God. It also leaves one open to deception from God's enemy, who searches for victims that he can turn away from God (1 Peter 5:8).

Whatever we do should be done for God's glory (1 Corinthians 10:31), and we would be wise to heed the words of the apostle Paul: "Fix your thoughts on what is true and honorable and right. Think about things that are pure and lovely and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise" (Philippians 4:8, NLT).

http://www.gotquestions.org/Christian-yoga.html

zack123

Ex 20:3-4 (NIV) "You shall have no other gods before me. You shall not make for yourself an idol in the form of anything in heaven above or on the earth beneath or in the waters below."

God destroys idols; He is the great iconoclast. Even good things can become idols, and while reveling and boasting seem good at the time, it is a grave disservice to idolize anything or anybody. The result is God's wrath, on you and the idol. God will not be eclipsed.

James 4:3-4 (Phi) You don't get what you want because you don't ask God for it. And when you do ask he doesn't give it to you, for you ask in quite the wrong spirit--you only want to satisfy your own desires. You are like unfaithful wives, never realizing that to be the world's lover means becoming the enemy of God! Anyone who chooses to be the world's friend is thereby making himself God's enemy.

Col 3:5-6 (Jer) That is why you must kill everything in you that belongs only to earthly life: fornication, impurity, guilty passion, evil desires and especially greed, which is the same thing as worshipping a false god. All this sort of behavior makes God angry. (Eph 5:5)

"Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called children of God" (Matt 5:9).

pia

That's a very self-centred way of thinking. :smile:

You don't have to do something big, but thinking that forgiveness is the only thing, is just plain cowardly -- it makes you feel better but it doesn't help things.

That's where you are self-centred :p You are not the centre of the earth, and you are not the only party in the equation. If the wronged party finds the grace to forgive you, there is no bigger thing you can or need to do. You will be humbled. That is true happiness... :smile: