• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The politics thread :)

Re: Singapore plans rare protest as population debate rages

Now come this stupid 6.9 million population. I wonder what would msians do if they are in Sillyporean shoes now?

When ones ricebowl being threatened, the first instinct is to defend it. As Mingchye had pointed it out...the ISA been abolished leow. So wat do u tink our Msian bros/sis would do?;)

Wow so many people went for the protest at Hong lim park. whoami, one speaker said it is not too late yet, I certainly hope she is right (paiseh didn't get her name). I like her speech mentioned how it should be economy for us, not us for economy haha.

Cant make it yday. Was at Batu Pahat. Attended a wedding reception.

Yes. It was a grand turnout, imo. All races fm all ages were tere ya.

I dont know wat she meant by not too late. MIW already tabled it.

Swiss Standard of Living??? Hmmm......:rolleyes:

My recent visit to polyclinic cost me $44 for consultation, medication and x ray...in the same queue at the pharmacy, I saw elderly paying $45 and one over $100 for those with more medications...like that call govt subsidised then the Rm1 don't know call what - govt blessings?!

Really have to pity the old folks. Oeidi old and fragile..and not all can afford such expensive medication. Not to mention took hours juz to wait for doc and medication.

Few yrs back, my aged mum was hospitalised. No wards available. She had to make do, lying on a bed at the alley/corridor (with all the noise, ppl walking here and tere) and only after 8 pm then she managed to admit to a ward. And mine u, we paid full cost. Come 2030, hhmmmmm......

Tats y i said MY garment not tat bad lah. They may not be perfect. But as foreigners, I got eyes to see. I do envy some of the welfares given out to their rakyats. Sinkieland? Everything is $$$. Even buying a motor bike oso need COE! Damn!:mad:

Cant make it yday. Was at Batu Pahat. Attended a wedding reception.

Yes. It was a grand turnout, imo. All races fm all ages were tere ya.

I dont know wat she meant by not too late. MIW already tabled it.

Swiss Standard of Living??? Hmmm......:rolleyes:

Nevermind, be there in spirit in do. What is Batu Pahat like? Something like Pontian? I was in Pontian recently and nothing much there.

Not too late to fight lah. Swiss standard of living for those earning $600k peanuts only lah..

Really have to pity the old folks. Oeidi old and fragile..and not all can afford such expensive medication. Not to mention took hours juz to wait for doc and medication.

Few yrs back, my aged mum was hospitalised. No wards available. She had to make do, lying on a bed at the alley/corridor (with all the noise, ppl walking here and tere) and only after 8 pm then she managed to admit to a ward. And mine u, we paid full cost. Come 2030, hhmmmmm......

Tats y i said MY garment not tat bad lah. They may not be perfect. But as foreigners, I got eyes to see. I do envy some of the welfares given out to their rakyats. Sinkieland? Everything is $$$. Even buying a motor bike oso need COE! Damn!:mad:

Yeah we foreigners in JB can see that everything from food to petrol to medical to houses all got subsidy, and these are real subsidies, not the fake ones we get in SG. And they get not every 5 years but everyday.

See many locals leaving their cars idle for long period of time, sometimes with children sleeping inside, petrol must be too cheap. Also can see many Msian Chinese in the JB malls have three kids, surely no shortage of kids.

Recently met one with six kids, and not talking about old era but now as their eldest child only a teenage, youngest a few years old. And this couple has never worked in SG, started with a low cost house bought for Rm20k last time and now in terrace house bought for Rm160k plus.

Nevermind, be there in spirit in do. What is Batu Pahat like? Something like Pontian? I was in Pontian recently and nothing much there.

Not too late to fight lah. Swiss standard of living for those earning $600k peanuts only lah..

Yes, Batu Pahat something like Pontian. Teres kampong houses here and tere. But my relative stay in a terrace house. Very cheap when they bought. Tats y again i always tell them...be appreciative of wat ur garment had provided u...

Yeah we foreigners in JB can see that everything from food to petrol to medical to houses all got subsidy, and these are real subsidies, not the fake ones we get in SG. And they get not every 5 years but everyday.

See many locals leaving their cars idle for long period of time, sometimes with children sleeping inside, petrol must be too cheap. Also can see many Msian Chinese in the JB malls have three kids, surely no shortage of kids.

Recently met one with six kids, and not talking about old era but now as their eldest child only a teenage, youngest a few years old. And this couple has never worked in SG, started with a low cost house bought for Rm20k last time and now in terrace house bought for Rm160k plus.

For Msian raising kids...no problem. Jobs plenty for them in Sinkieland. Juz need to wake up early and back home bit late. Abit of inconvenience and lots of reward$ come pay day$. :)

Yeah need to wait for hours when crowded, waited one hour to register, then one hour to see doctor and then more wait for x ray and then waited to collect the medicine and then long queue to pay. Old and fragile people also need to wait. I don't mind if pay Rm1 get this kind of standard but now pay high high and get this standard.

Oh the shortage of beds must thank Khaw Boon Wan for delaying the building of hospital for years while increasing population. I have heard of the construction of Jurong hospital in 1997 and until now it is still constructing as it was delayed for years by this smart alec due to cost issue.

For Msian raising kids...no problem. Jobs plenty for them in Sinkieland. Juz need to wake up early and back home bit late. Abit of inconvenience and lots of reward$ come pay day$. :)

I think they have a choice to rough it out to work in SG or take it easy and work in JB. Met one JB young salesman told me why he returned to work in JB after a few years working in SG as life is so much better in JB and job is easy - in his own words - no target and just sit and talk talk the day passes - and then after that just a short drive home, no need to squeeze public transport and take more than an hour to reach home.

Pardon me for the interruption.

About my ex-job, I used to travel extensively. Observations I made about those AngMo (labors) I met in construction, renovation etc were happily working lads. Reason, their paid were sufficient to cover all their living expenses and their have plenty of time to relax and do their hobbies.

Here? I hear complaints from contractors (cleaners) that they could not find labors, even they offered higher pay like more than S$800 (very long hours). Once I was pissed and told him straight in the face, if someone offered you S$2000, will you take the job? He was stunned and later told me his monthly expenses were more than S$2000 per month (housing, kids tuition, car and etc).

Whether you like it or not, these contractors and companies are taking advantages of this system to bring in more and more FT to get more profits. They could have offered other alternatives. Infrastructure, please refer to my earlier post on the grassroot leaders.

It is not surprising that there are shortage of labours in JB, can you imagine how many johoreans come to Singapore to work every morning by motorcycles, cars, buses?

Last time my office in Australia has never had problem recruiting angmoh cleaners, they have minimum wage all properly spelt out, cleaners earning S$2k plus near S$3k. And the cleaner drove a big MPV. Can't get cleaners in SG? Pay $2k plus near S$3k - with normal working hours and duties - not like the fake Sakae sushi dishwasher job - and see the response.

Yeah need to wait for hours when crowded, waited one hour to register, then one hour to see doctor and then more wait for x ray and then waited to collect the medicine and then long queue to pay ...
juz curious ...

haf u visited a clinic/hospital in jb 2 c a doctor? ... if not, y? ... if yes, how? ...

I am not prasing the foreigners but without these guys our hospital, shipyard, seaport, airport, our overall plan for infrastucture will come to a stand still and our street will be filled with garbage. It is a true problem that Singaporeans are shy away from these industry. As the matter of fact, Malaysia is also facing the same issue as us. Factories in Malaysia have to hire operators from Indo, Bangladesh, Nepal, Vietman and Myanma, because the locals do not want to work as operators. The properties that we buy in JB are also mainly built by foreign workers. We are facing a serious problem.

I think my daughter's pay is above average. So far the company has been treating her well. Perhaps the need to work 5.5 days was the reason why the locals are keen.

I am also not against foreigners in SG, it is a question of too many of them. Yes foreigners do the essential services but they also created the demand for these services and take up the space be it MRT, schools, hospital, parks not to mention jobs. Now the white paper is even talking about reclaiming land to accommodate them!

Yes Msia also have foreigners working in essential services but they are not being overwhelmed by foreigners. I don't see massive of them in the JB malls, on the roads, occupying houses, etc to the extent that locals are outnumbered and crowd out from these places. In JB mall, at least it is like the old SG, you see someone you know this is Malay, Chinese or Indian, not like in SG you see za pa lang and the identity is totally lost.

juz curious ...

haf u visited a clinic/hospital in jb 2 c a doctor? ... if not, y? ... if yes, how? ...

never leh, heard that it cost about Rm20 to Rm30 for gp with medication...but x ray I don't know where leh...

To each his own. All of us lived through diffrent experiences in life. We will certainly have different views and seeing thing from different perspective. I respect the differences in opinion. I think the most important thing is that we do not give up our hope on the Red Dot. Otherwise our kids could become Foreign Talent hated by the hosting country as well if things turn bad.

Pardon me for the interruption.

About my ex-job, I used to travel extensively. Observations I made about those AngMo (labors) I met in construction, renovation etc were happily working lads. Reason, their paid were sufficient to cover all their living expenses and their have plenty of time to relax and do their hobbies.

Sorry forgot to include this.

Well, I can see where the kids are coming from, the present system is setting a bad model to them. Civil servants holding directorships in many companies, don't they feel this is senting the wrong signals to public? Also, some of the key civil servants, during their tenure have screwed up big time, but seems like they can easily get away with it. If you are those bright kids, what will you think?

I think Parents have a part to play too. Instead of having their kids attending neighbourhood school, they want their kids to be in SAP school. I have been told that SAP school students are pretty self centred because they want to out do one another. This trait will pretty much stay with the kids when join the workforce or become a govenrment servant.

Exactly, all the problems lied in the present system. Income gaps become wider and wider, it is time to implement the minimum wages.

Last time my office in Australia has never had problem recruiting angmoh cleaners, they have minimum wage all properly spelt out, cleaners earning S$2k plus near S$3k. And the cleaner drove a big MPV. Can't get cleaners in SG? Pay $2k plus near S$3k - with normal working hours and duties - not like the fake Sakae sushi dishwasher job - and see the response.

Agreed. I think it is the beauty of this forum, to communicate with other forumers (having different views) from all walks of life.

I have not given up yet, because red dot is not equal to ruling party. :)

Really, this white paper things is getting into my nerves.

To each his own. All of us lived through diffrent experiences in life. We will certainly have different views and seeing thing from different perspective. I respect the differences in opinion. I think the most important thing is that we do not give up our hope on the Red Dot. Otherwise our kids could become Foreign Talent hated by the hosting country as well if things turn bad.

I think they have a choice to rough it out to work in SG or take it easy and work in JB. Met one JB young salesman told me why he returned to work in JB after a few years working in SG as life is so much better in JB and job is easy - in his own words - no target and just sit and talk talk the day passes - and then after that just a short drive home, no need to squeeze public transport and take more than an hour to reach home.

They certainly have a choice. Their overheads and daily expenses not as high as in Sinkieland.

But we...have no choice. We have a stake in Sinkieland. We need to work and stay in Sinkieland. Unless we go for Plan A...adopt our msian neighbours way of life. Travel to and fro..work in Sinkieland, stay in JB. And i really pity those who have young childrens. Alot of sacrifices and inconveniences...bring them to and fro. Tks to 60% dafts!

MingChye, fm ur post, i can ustand where ur coming fm.;)

Actually i raised those points to compare wat ur garment (and our garment) have offer to their rakyat. Eg low cost housing which are oreidi available even before najib came to office. Medical care at $1 for all rakyats. Oil subsidies for all rakyats. In additional ur garment even allow their rakyats to withdraw their EPF at 55. There are more "care" which ur garment had showered on the rakyats. But like all garment, u cant please everyone. But at least the basic necessities are there and being subsidize by ur garment.

1. Sinkies can withdraw CPF at 65. Not all hor. Only in mthly payments till u mampus.
2. 3 room flats oreidi cost close to $300K.
3. Govt clinic Doctor consultation fee @$10..excluding medication

Ayah...so many grievances lah. Kong baey leow. Tpt cost, Api Air cost, etc etc etc if compare to ur MY, i tink Msians should be contented lah. If not they are most welcome to come to Spore and renounce their Blue ic in exchange for Pink ic.;) But i know of so many msian friends who rather stick to PR status. Reasons given...got family in Msia. Cannot renounce. Is tat their genuine reasons? :)

Last week, brought my son, 9 years old, to National Skin Centre for skin problem. He was referred by Polyclinic to see the specialist in the centre . The consultation cost was S$75 with Associate Consultant. On top of that, he was prescribed with Cetaphil Skin Cleanser 473 ml that cost S$ 14.61 and Ego Qv cream 250g that costs S$ 16.15. I found that the retail price of cleanser and cream are only few cents more expensive. What kind of subsidies the government is talking about.

So expensive, how to have more baby.