• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The politics thread :)

Re: Singapore plans rare protest as population debate rages

Aging population are global issues, right? But look at how our great leaders tackle this issue compared to those countries (I don't think their pays are close to our great leaders, right?) mentioned in this article.

South Korea is a very stressful society, much more than Singapore with the current and projected number of immigrants.

There are a number of flaws in this article in making the comparison between the countries:
- The size of the countries are much bigger than the Red Dot
- They are made up of homogeneous race having the same caltural background
- How can you compare a population to 50M to that of 5M?
- They are native to the country. Red Dot is made up of migrants
- They have much longer history than the Red Dot

With so many negative news on the ruling party over the last couple of years, plus the fact that they have just lost Hougang East. Why would they take the risk of pissing off Singaporean by bring out the population issue? One thing for sure, teh MIW has done a lousy job in explaining the WP in layman term. They assumed that Singaporeans are as smart as them.

I do see a real problem with the population issue. Not so much on the number of people, rather on how Singaporean are behaving when the White Paper was tabled. All I saw were self centered Singaporeans asking what the government will do to protect them instead telling the govenring what they can do to prevent the issues highlighted in the paper. Have we asked ourselves what we have done for the country?

Singaporeans are a bunch of spoilt brats. A lot of the post baby boomers have not gone through much hardship. They thought that good life comes naturally. They are so picky about their job and where their work place is. My daughter who has just graduated recently found a job in Jurong. She did not quite like the location initially but I encouraged her to go for it. I was not surprised when she told me recently that a lot of her colleagues are non Singaporean. This is a Singapore listed company but can not find Singaporean to work for them. A number of Singaporeans disappeared after one day work. While we blame the MIW for bring in FT, we, Singaporeans, are the ones who are causing this problem.

Another good article that I would like to share ....

S Korea – they grow economy thru innovation & productivity
February 14th, 2013 | Author: Contributions
Due to low fertility rate of 1.2 and a generation of baby boomers born around 1960s, the S. Korean society is one of the fastest ageing in the world. So far the S. Korean govt has not resorted to massive immigration and opening the floodgates to cheaper foreign labor. Businesses without access to cheap foreign labor have to increase productivity by investing in automation, improving its businesses processes and innovation.

Despite mounting pressure from businesses demanding cheap foreign labor from Philippines, China and India, the S. Korean leaders did not succumb to pressure to implement pro-business policies to allow businesses to import cheap labor to boost their profits. The S. Korean economy did not sink from the lack of labor force growth instead flourished with improvements in labor productivity and the innovation of home grown industries.

We sometimes forget that S. Korea is a relatively small country with a population of 50M given its cultural influence and industrial giants like Samsung. The policy choices made by S. Korea are hardly unique. Smaller countries like Finland and Denmark (5.5m population) with ageing population chose to focus on maximizing the talents of their indigenous population and growth through productivity.

The PAP claims we need to import foreigners to care for old (support ratio argument). The aged in these countries are well taken care of without the need for massive import of people. Did our massive import of people in the last decade help to secure a comfortable life for our elderly? No, many of our old folks are working at an age when they should be retired and struggling with poor health because there is little help for them from the state.

The White Paper “projects” a 45% foreigner population and this % is higher if you count foreigners converted to citizens – the people born and raised in Singapore will probably drop to below 50%.

To see how extreme the PAP policies have been and will continue to be with the White Paper, we take a look at S. Korea’s plan for 2030:

“With one of the world’s fastest-aging populations, South Korea has gone from a country where labor was the only abundant resource to one seeking staff to help run the plants and farms of Asia’s fourth-largest economy. While neighboring Japan has largely rejected imported labor as a solution to its aging workforce, South Korea is beginning to accept it. Immigrants have risen sevenfold since 2000, to 2.8 percent of the population, and could make up more than 6 percent by 2030, the government said.” Bloomberg Report [Link]

World class innovations from S. Korea
Yes, a dynamic vibrant world beating S. Korean economy that presently has 2.8% foreigners will increase it to 6% by 2030. By keep its labor force tight, and not yielding to pressure from businesses for cheap foreign labor, S. Korea had been able to build on its its first economic miracle to create a 2nd carried by the cultural creativity of Gangnam Style and technological innovation in Samsung’s Note II.

Singaporeans today are told there is no alternative but to continue with with old policies of growth by importing labor. Our business lobbies, the various chambers of commerce, echo the threats of businesses to leave or close down unless they are given access to foreign labor – the last 15 years of pro-business policy of opening the floodgates to foreign labor has made our businesses more dependent on foreign labor. Unless we take bold steps to break out of this vicious cycle now, the damage we bring to ourselves will be irreparable.

Lucky Tan

* Lucky Tan is an avid online blogger since 2005. He likes to study the thoughts of Singapore leaders and the laws of Singapore. He blogs at http://singaporemind.blogspot.com.

You may not have noticed this, but the complaints first started around 2005 period. Before that, Singaporeans were a docile bunch who work hard for an honest living. To summarise, Singaporeans quality of life has steathily gone downhill since Dragon took over, due to low productivity & influx of foreigners.

To give an example, when Dragon first took over, on my current salary, I would have been living it up in a District 10, freehold 3 bedder condo, driving an MPV as my ex-boss did 10 years ago. Fast forward 10 years later, and doing roughly the same job as my ex-boss, I am living in a District 23, 99 yr condo, n making home purchase in JB for my retirement plan.

Inderjit said it right when he said the Swiss std of living has been achieved under Dragon. But not for the commoners, only the top elites. How's that for good governance? Is it little wonder that MIW is set for a coalition govt in 2021, based on current trends? Overall, MIW has failed in their delivery of the implicit social contract in exchange for the people's votes, hence the current discontent.

Actually, the things I wished to highlighted earlier was why countries like Finland and Denmark or even Korea with ageing population chose to focus on maximizing the talents of their indigenous population and growth through productivity whereas the highest paid ministers in the world chose to do short-cut by just importing, and in huge quantities at the expense of their citizens.

Back to your points. Maybe you can tell me why there were flaws?

You indicate that the countries are much bigger, that is the points, even though they can accommodate more but they would rather take the other option. You also remember our ministers always like to compare, especially the Swiss standard right? So I don't see anything wrong here.

Population ratio of Korea to Singapore is 10 times more but their lands if I am not wrong is more than 100 times more.

Koreans are native and Red dot is not? Then what is the point that I carry my “pinky” IC and served my bloody 2 and half years NS for? If we are migrants, then anybody from any country can become ministers in Singapore too.

If you can recalled in the 70s and 80s, products from Korea were considered “cheap”. Now?

With so many negative news on the ruling party over the last couple of years, plus the fact that they have just lost Hougang East. Why would they take the risk of pissing off Singaporean by bring out the population issue? One thing for sure, teh MIW has done a lousy job in explaining the WP in layman term. They assumed that Singaporeans are as smart as them.

You mean Punggol East? Let me clarified, I am only interested (not the PAP or WP) how the congestion can be solved. If the white paper was brought out now, when 2016 comes, all the anger already suppressed by then and they have higher chances of winning. If they bring out the white paper in 2016, you can figure out what will happened, right? Also, no one is as smart as them, even their grassroot leader has problem understanding their logics. http://www.tremeritus.com/2013/02/15/letter-from-a-grassroots-leader-to-pm/

This is a sweeping statement, no matter in which countries, there will be people coming from all walks of life, lazy or not, Singapore is no acception.

Singaporeans are a bunch of spoilt brats. A lot of the post baby boomers have not gone through much hardship. They thought that good life comes naturally. They are so picky about their job and where their work place is. My daughter who has just graduated recently found a job in Jurong. She did not quite like the location initially but I encouraged her to go for it. I was not surprised when she told me recently that a lot of her colleagues are non Singaporean. This is a Singapore listed company but can not find Singaporean to work for them. A number of Singaporeans disappeared after one day work. While we blame the MIW for bring in FT, we, Singaporeans, are the ones who are causing this problem.[/QUOTE]

Like how ginfreely mentioned it is easy for Msians (esp Msian Chinese) to praise Singapore, I see the same thing coming from you about BN in Msia too ;)

MingChye, fm ur post, i can ustand where ur coming fm.;)

Actually i raised those points to compare wat ur garment (and our garment) have offer to their rakyat. Eg low cost housing which are oreidi available even before najib came to office. Medical care at $1 for all rakyats. Oil subsidies for all rakyats. In additional ur garment even allow their rakyats to withdraw their EPF at 55. There are more "care" which ur garment had showered on the rakyats. But like all garment, u cant please everyone. But at least the basic necessities are there and being subsidize by ur garment.

1. Sinkies can withdraw CPF at 65. Not all hor. Only in mthly payments till u mampus.
2. 3 room flats oreidi cost close to $300K.
3. Govt clinic Doctor consultation fee @$10..excluding medication

Ayah...so many grievances lah. Kong baey leow. Tpt cost, Api Air cost, etc etc etc if compare to ur MY, i tink Msians should be contented lah. If not they are most welcome to come to Spore and renounce their Blue ic in exchange for Pink ic.;) But i know of so many msian friends who rather stick to PR status. Reasons given...got family in Msia. Cannot renounce. Is tat their genuine reasons? :)

Different leh, whoami and family converting to Msians, so it is okay for him to praise BN sky high..actually he only said BN not bad - not sky high - provide the basics like you say about affordable housing and medical, precisely these basics are what PAP is lacking and Singaporeans got to ci kei bo chong..

Btw just curious how Msians managed to execute these protests when still having ISA? Didn't the Msian intelligence or police capture these protestors under ISA?

Tats rite. Though Msians dont earn high salary, their cost of living may have gone up. But not as high as in SinKieland. Simply look around us in Sinkieland. Nothings cheap!

When Mingchye said Gerakan and MCA are juz lapdogs for UMNO. I dont wish to comment much on tat. I dont tink its right for me to criticise MY garment.;) But if he were to ask me whether my Malay MPs go all out to help the Malays, hmmmm...wat do u tink?

As for their recent protests, thumbs up for the MY garment for not using the ISA. Better not try tat in SinkieLand...:rolleyes:

MingChye, fm ur post, i can ustand where ur coming fm.;)

Actually i raised those points to compare wat ur garment (and our garment) have offer to their rakyat. Eg low cost housing which are oreidi available even before najib came to office. Medical care at $1 for all rakyats. Oil subsidies for all rakyats. In additional ur garment even allow their rakyats to withdraw their EPF at 55. There are more "care" which ur garment had showered on the rakyats. But like all garment, u cant please everyone. But at least the basic necessities are there and being subsidize by ur garment.

1. Sinkies can withdraw CPF at 65. Not all hor. Only in mthly payments till u mampus.
2. 3 room flats oreidi cost close to $300K.

Ayah...so many grievances lah. Kong baey leow. Tpt cost, Api Air cost, etc etc etc if compare to ur MY, i tink Msians should be contented lah. If not they are most welcome to come to Spore and renounce their Blue ic in exchange for Pink ic.;) But i know of so many msian friends who rather stick to PR status. Reasons given...got family in Msia. Cannot renounce. Is tat their genuine reasons? :)

"But many Singaporeans now struggle to get by on an average monthly wage of about S$4,100 ($3,300). High taxes have inflated the price of the cheapest new car to about S$110,000 and housing prices have doubled in a decade."

KNN, after so many years with my co, listed in SGX, my gross pay only $3000 plus. Msians are damn lucky. They dont have to move house to Sillypore. Work here, earn S$, and still get good benefits and welfares from their government. Whereas Sillyporeans were forced to stay in JB. Not that they like to move to JB or Msia. What other choice do we have. Now come this stupid 6.9 million population. I wonder what would msians do if they are in Sillyporean shoes now?

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/protest-vo...sk-singapores-future-063715842--business.html

The ISA has been abolised in Malaysia back in 2011 lah. There were two other similar laws repealed too. The Peaceful Assembly Bill was introduced to allow demonstrations.

Please read up the context first before linking it to say the BN government is so enlightened to abolish these bills etc. Start by googling the Bersih rallies where the first and second ones were conducted prior to abolishment of the ISA and two other laws. Those street rallies occurred back in the previous PM Abdullah Badawi's time and the latest big one occurred in KL in Jan 2013.

Wow so many people went for the protest at Hong lim park. whoami, one speaker said it is not too late yet, I certainly hope she is right (paiseh didn't get her name). I like her speech mentioned how it should be economy for us, not us for economy haha.

One speaker said got 4000 to 5000 people there...

hlp2_zpscfaf8ae1.jpg

hlp1_zps0d9206f6.jpg

My recent visit to polyclinic cost me $44 for consultation, medication and x ray...in the same queue at the pharmacy, I saw elderly paying $45 and one over $100 for those with more medications...like that call govt subsidised then the Rm1 don't know call what - govt blessings?!

I do see a real problem with the population issue. Not so much on the number of people, rather on how Singaporean are behaving when the White Paper was tabled. All I saw were self centered Singaporeans asking what the government will do to protect them instead telling the govenring what they can do to prevent the issues highlighted in the paper. Have we asked ourselves what we have done for the country?

Singaporeans are a bunch of spoilt brats. A lot of the post baby boomers have not gone through much hardship. They thought that good life comes naturally. They are so picky about their job and where their work place is. .................

Can also interpret as they were arrogant and so they didn't think there is any risk. Alternatively, can interpret as they didn't take the risk, that is why brought out the white paper only after the by-election and not before, if not the lost margin would be worst.

Ask what we have done for the country? Ask that to the foreigners first, they seem to think they are the host more so than Singaporeans and demanding for rights to this and that and telling Singaporeans to stop complaining.

Post baby boomers Singaporeans are spoilt brats becos your daughter company cannot find Singaporeans to work? What kind of salary are they paying and for what jobs? I also met a few Msian contractors who didn't turn up for appointment or are very late for appointment, initially agreed and then declined my small renovation jobs after they have more lucrative bigger projects, like that can call ALL Msians are spoilt brats too?

... All I saw were self centered Singaporeans asking what the government will do to protect them instead telling the govenring what they can do to prevent the issues highlighted in the paper. Have we asked ourselves what we have done for the country? ...
u want peasants 2 solf ze issues hi-lited in ze paper 4 ah loon? ... u tink ah loon got humility 2 listen 2 peasants' words? ... he tinks peasants r daft, oni there 4 his fixing n manipulation 2 further benefit himself n his jin-gng n their cronies! ...

wat peasants haf done 4 their cuntry? ... ah loon boasted how his party warped a fishy village in2 a metropolitan c-t? ... who help dem did dat? ... peasants! ... did dey ever gif any credit n thanks 2 dose peasants who help dem achief dat? ... no! ... but wat did dey do in return? ... locked up their cpf until dey dun even get 2 c it! ... is dat ze way u treat dose haf given u ze bestest yrs of their lives 2 u? ...

so, weneva ah loon cum out wif any self-benefiting policy, he can juz fix peasants but telling dem not 2 question him, but 2 question demselves wat dey haf done 4 their cuntry ...

u want peasants 2 solf ze issues hi-lited in ze paper 4 ah loon? ... u tink ah loon got humility 2 listen 2 peasants' words? ... he tinks peasants r daft, oni there 4 his fixing n manipulation 2 further benefit himself n his jin-gng n their cronies! ...

wat peasants haf done 4 their cuntry? ... ah loon boasted how his party warped a fishy village in2 a metropolitan c-t? ... who help dem did dat? ... peasants! ... did dey ever gif any credit n thanks 2 dose peasants who help dem achief dat? ... no! ... but wat did dey do in return? ... locked up their cpf until dey dun even get 2 c it! ... is dat ze way u treat dose haf given u ze bestest yrs of their lives 2 u? ...

so, weneva ah loon cum out wif any self-benefiting policy, he can juz fix peasants but telling dem not 2 question him, but 2 question demselves wat dey haf done 4 their cuntry ...

Haha that's right, ask the Australians too what have they done for their country and tell them therefore they should let foreigners flood their countries, as their country not enough population considering the size of the land. Really warped logic.

Aiyah, the foreigners worked one or few years only the govt sing praises like they contributed alot to this country already, peasants can work for decades or generations and it is all expected.

Pardon my sloppy writing. I meant Punggol East. WP was White Paper, not Worker Party.
I agree with your point of view that we need to take care of the local talent first. What I was trying to say is that it is difficult to compare with other countries due to diffrences in social struture and history background. I am not for the White Paper but I think it serves as a wake up call for us to seriously look at the problem. I am worried for my kids' future too. I guess most Singaporeans have the interest of the country at heart.
Actually, the things I wished to highlighted earlier was why countries like Finland and Denmark or even Korea with ageing population chose to focus on maximizing the talents of their indigenous population and growth through productivity whereas the highest paid ministers in the world chose to do short-cut by just importing, and in huge quantities at the expense of their citizens.

Back to your points. Maybe you can tell me why there were flaws?

You indicate that the countries are much bigger, that is the points, even though they can accommodate more but they would rather take the other option. You also remember our ministers always like to compare, especially the Swiss standard right? So I don't see anything wrong here.

Population ratio of Korea to Singapore is 10 times more but their lands if I am not wrong is more than 100 times more.

Koreans are native and Red dot is not? Then what is the point that I carry my “pinky” IC and served my bloody 2 and half years NS for? If we are migrants, then anybody from any country can become ministers in Singapore too.

If you can recalled in the 70s and 80s, products from Korea were considered “cheap”. Now?

You mean Punggol East? Let me clarified, I am only interested (not the PAP or WP) how the congestion can be solved. If the white paper was brought out now, when 2016 comes, all the anger already suppressed by then and they have higher chances of winning. If they bring out the white paper in 2016, you can figure out what will happened, right? Also, no one is as smart as them, even their grassroot leader has problem understanding their logics. http://www.tremeritus.com/2013/02/15/letter-from-a-grassroots-leader-to-pm/

This is a sweeping statement, no matter in which countries, there will be people coming from all walks of life, lazy or not, Singapore is no acception.

Singaporeans are a bunch of spoilt brats. A lot of the post baby boomers have not gone through much hardship. They thought that good life comes naturally. They are so picky about their job and where their work place is. My daughter who has just graduated recently found a job in Jurong. She did not quite like the location initially but I encouraged her to go for it. I was not surprised when she told me recently that a lot of her colleagues are non Singaporean. This is a Singapore listed company but can not find Singaporean to work for them. A number of Singaporeans disappeared after one day work. While we blame the MIW for bring in FT, we, Singaporeans, are the ones who are causing this problem.
[/QUOTE]

I am not prasing the foreigners but without these guys our hospital, shipyard, seaport, airport, our overall plan for infrastucture will come to a stand still and our street will be filled with garbage. It is a true problem that Singaporeans are shy away from these industry. As the matter of fact, Malaysia is also facing the same issue as us. Factories in Malaysia have to hire operators from Indo, Bangladesh, Nepal, Vietman and Myanma, because the locals do not want to work as operators. The properties that we buy in JB are also mainly built by foreign workers. We are facing a serious problem.

I think my daughter's pay is above average. So far the company has been treating her well. Perhaps the need to work 5.5 days was the reason why the locals are keen.

Ask what we have done for the country? Ask that to the foreigners first, they seem to think they are the host more so than Singaporeans and demanding for rights to this and that and telling Singaporeans to stop complaining.

Post baby boomers Singaporeans are spoilt brats becos your daughter company cannot find Singaporeans to work? What kind of salary are they paying and for what jobs? I also met a few Msian contractors who didn't turn up for appointment or are very late for appointment, initially agreed and then declined my small renovation jobs after they have more lucrative bigger projects, like that can call ALL Msians are spoilt brats too?

Thanks for your response on this.

I think the current issues that we need to look into are what the ruling party have done for us for the past ten years or more? Have our lifes (standard of living, cost of living) improved under the present system?

Recently spoken to several kids (~15 year olds) and it is a worrying sign, their ambitions (in the past, our ambitions were teachers, polices, doctors etc) are to be MPs/ministers, why because according to them, they can enjoy high social status, directors in many companies, high pay and not much responsbilities (according to their parents). They did not realised that being a civil servants are to work for the people instead of letting people to work for them.

Now, do you want to blame ourselves or the ruling party?

Pardon my sloppy writing. I meant Punggol East. WP was White Paper, not Worker Party.
I agree with your point of view that we need to take care of the local talent first. What I was trying to say is that it is difficult to compare with other countries due to diffrences in social struture and history background. I am not for the White Paper but I think it serves as a wake up call for us to seriously look at the problem. I am worried for my kids' future too. I guess most Singaporeans have the interest of the country at heart.
[/QUOTE]

I hated the government's pro elite position. This has caused the "me too" and "think alike" problem that ulitmately leading to their disconnet from the heartlanders.

I think Parents have a part to play too. Instead of having their kids attending neighbourhood school, they want their kids to be in SAP school. I have been told that SAP school students are pretty self centred because they want to out do one another. This trait will pretty much stay with the kids when join the workforce or become a govenrment servant.

The development in the world has put us in a whole set of challenges. Let's hope that we can strike a balance and come out with something that will ensure our kids having a decent live in the future. I may not be around to witness by 2030.

Recently spoken to several kids (~15 year olds) and it is a worrying sign, their ambitions (in the past, our ambitions were teachers, polices, doctors etc) are to be MPs/ministers, why because according to them, they can enjoy high social status, directors in many companies, high pay and not much responsbilities (according to their parents). They did not realised that being a civil servants are to work for the people instead of letting people to work for them.

Now, do you want to blame ourselves or the ruling party?
[/QUOTE]

Who's parents do not want their kids to have a head start in live especially with so many spears struck in their hide? You recalled the primary 8 system, who started all these competitions? But it is causing unnecessary stress to the kids. You watch the news yesterday? More and more younger people have developed mental illness.

For once, I have never been so proud as a Singaporean.
http://www.tremeritus.com/2013/02/17/photo-essay-of-hong-lim-protest-more-pics-sent-in-by-readers/

I think Parents have a part to play too. Instead of having their kids attending neighbourhood school, they want their kids to be in SAP school. I have been told that SAP school students are pretty self centred because they want to out do one another. This trait will pretty much stay with the kids when join the workforce or become a govenrment servant.

The development in the world has put us in a whole set of challenges. Let's hope that we can strike a balance and come out with something that will ensure our kids having a decent live in the future. I may not be around to witness by 2030.
[/QUOTE]

Pardon me for the interruption.

About my ex-job, I used to travel extensively. Observations I made about those AngMo (labors) I met in construction, renovation etc were happily working lads. Reason, their paid were sufficient to cover all their living expenses and their have plenty of time to relax and do their hobbies.

Here? I hear complaints from contractors (cleaners) that they could not find labors, even they offered higher pay like more than S$800 (very long hours). Once I was pissed and told him straight in the face, if someone offered you S$2000, will you take the job? He was stunned and later told me his monthly expenses were more than S$2000 per month (housing, kids tuition, car and etc).

Whether you like it or not, these contractors and companies are taking advantages of this system to bring in more and more FT to get more profits. They could have offered other alternatives. Infrastructure, please refer to my earlier post on the grassroot leaders.

It is not surprising that there are shortage of labours in JB, can you imagine how many johoreans come to Singapore to work every morning by motorcycles, cars, buses?

I am not prasing the foreigners but without these guys our hospital, shipyard, seaport, airport, our overall plan for infrastucture will come to a stand still and our street will be filled with garbage. It is a true problem that Singaporeans are shy away from these industry. As the matter of fact, Malaysia is also facing the same issue as us. Factories in Malaysia have to hire operators from Indo, Bangladesh, Nepal, Vietman and Myanma, because the locals do not want to work as operators. The properties that we buy in JB are also mainly built by foreign workers. We are facing a serious problem.

I think my daughter's pay is above average. So far the company has been treating her well. Perhaps the need to work 5.5 days was the reason why the locals are keen.