• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The politics thread :)

Re: Singapore plans rare protest as population debate rages

I went visiting my friends in Senai on the 2nd day of CNY. As I was driving from Senai Airport towards Senai town, I was shocked to see groups upon groups of foreign workers gathering along the road side. For once I thought I was in little India. You can definitely tell that they are not locals. I think they tend to stay close to where they work instead of venturing outside.

Yes Msia also have foreigners working in essential services but they are not being overwhelmed by foreigners. I don't see massive of them in the JB malls, on the roads, occupying houses, etc to the extent that locals are outnumbered and crowd out from these places. In JB mall, at least it is like the old SG, you see someone you know this is Malay, Chinese or Indian, not like in SG you see za pa lang and the identity is totally lost.

Last week, brought my son, 9 years old, to National Skin Centre for skin problem. He was referred by Polyclinic to see the specialist in the centre . The consultation cost was S$75 with Associate Consultant. On top of that, he was prescribed with Cetaphil Skin Cleanser 473 ml that cost S$ 14.61 and Ego Qv cream 250g that costs S$ 16.15. I found that the retail price of cleanser and cream are only few cents more expensive. What kind of subsidies the government is talking about.

So expensive, how to have more baby.

Nowadays $ talks.

How can we not doubt the govt is a commercial organisation and their policy is to create a monopoly and create policy to make us pay with no choice? ERP is another example. During peak time, all gantry are as expensive as the other towards. There is no incentive to use smaller or other roads..

Last week, brought my son, 9 years old, to National Skin Centre for skin problem. He was referred by Polyclinic to see the specialist in the centre . The consultation cost was S$75 with Associate Consultant. On top of that, he was prescribed with Cetaphil Skin Cleanser 473 ml that cost S$ 14.61 and Ego Qv cream 250g that costs S$ 16.15. I found that the retail price of cleanser and cream are only few cents more expensive. What kind of subsidies the government is talking about.

Yes Msia also have foreigners working in essential services but they are not being overwhelmed by foreigners. I don't see massive of them in the JB malls, on the roads, occupying houses, etc to the extent that locals are outnumbered and crowd out from these places. In JB mall, at least it is like the old SG, you see someone you know this is Malay, Chinese or Indian, not like in SG you see za pa lang and the identity is totally lost.

JB not yet. You can see alot of za pa lang in certain parts of Klang Valley now. There have been newspaper reports that there are alot of foreign owned businesses in Klang town and even KL Chinatown. Landlords in KL tend to not want to rent their property out to Middle Easterns and Africans. This gives an indication of the type of foreign nationalities now found in KV.

Let's not make further comparisons betw Malaysia & Singapore, and let's focus on Singapore's problems. If you speak to the local Malaysian, you will find they have real issues with their govt too. That's why Malaysians would even drive from SG to KL to participate in Bersih rallies.

As guests in other countries, its probably not advisable to comment too much on other countries politics. This is a public forum after all, and can be unwittingly used for political purposes come election time which is v soon....

Comparing policy of both country, actually is I see you good you see me good kind of situation.

While msian think sg goverment has done great job for the country. Sgrean tend to think otherwise.

the water becoming hotter...dun wan get eyes crossed in e end. titter.gif

I think they have a choice to rough it out to work in SG or take it easy and work in JB. Met one JB young salesman told me why he returned to work in JB after a few years working in SG as life is so much better in JB and job is easy - in his own words - no target and just sit and talk talk the day passes - and then after that just a short drive home, no need to squeeze public transport and take more than an hour to reach home.

For sinkies, where r they going to get money if they r out of jobs, or old and useless? Want to set up a stall, oso have to apply permit. $$ again. No permit but open a side road stall, sure kena fine! $$ again. And all these while whether they r employed or not, their daily fixed expenses r there. By hook or crook, they have to settle all the mthly bills. $$ again. Better pray hard they r fit and strong. Cos they cant afford to be sick. $$ again..

I found that the retail price of cleanser and cream are only few cents more expensive. What kind of subsidies the government is talking about.

True. I had a case of skin eczema problem. Usual....went to polyclinic to get referral to NSC... hoping to get subsidize price. Bill abt the same as wat the pte clinic charges me. Only diff was i only went traight to the pte clinic. Waiting time definitely not as long as it took me when i was at polyclinic and NSC. Bottom line is we better have enough $$....when we r old...

Those of you planning to make it big in Singapore might be in for a setback. Singapore recently made certain changes to its Employment Pass Framework law to reduce inflow of foreign workers significantly to create more job opportunities for local professionals. The move is expected to impact even those Indians working there at present across various sectors.

The amendments, made on a proposal by its Ministry of Manpower, has armed the Singapore government to bring down the foreign share of the total workforce to around one-third while encouraging employers to invest in productivity in return for incentives in the form of tax breaks.

The move came as a recent Singapore's policy paper predicted that its population would grow by 30 per cent to 6.9 million by 2030, with immigrants making up nearly half that figure. The paper led to demonstrations in Singapore yesterday, a rare happening in the country, in protest against rise in immigrants.

The step has irked India as the new law does not give India a preferential treatment incorporated in the Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement (CECA) between the two countries, operational since 2005. This stance by the Singapore Government is expected to affect Indians working as middle-level managers, executives and technicians.

Speculations are rife that India might take up the issue with World Trade Organization’s (WTO) dispute settlement body. However, according to Singapore such a decision was imperative in the interest of the natives as the share of the foreign workforce is rising very rapidly.

“The one-third is a long term target and we have not imposed quotas as such for any country. Of course, the end result is still a reduction of the current foreign workforce numbers. But in doing so, I do not think we have contravened our commitments in the WTO or the CECA. Moreover, this is not specifically targeted to any one country. We remain very open to foreign talent,” a senior Singapore government official told Business Standard.

According to the Singapore government, the demand of Employment Passes (EP) has surged since its economic recovery in 2010, necessitating such a step.

There are three types of professional passes under EP – Q1, P2 and P1, depending on the kinds of jobs. As per the new law, the qualifying salary thresholds for Q1 and P2 Passes have been raised from $2,800 to $3,000, $4,000 to $4,500 respectively, while for P1 it remains unchanged at $8,000. The educational qualifications requirements have also been tightened under the Q1 Pass category. Foreign professionals who are already working at present would have to earn even higher salaries to retain their work permits.

The Singapore government is taking these measures--raising the salary ceilings of employment passes or increasing the work permit levy-- to increase cost for companies to bring in foreign talents. Additionally, it will offer incentives to those companies in the form of tax breaks for using high-end technology to do the same job instead of being dependant on labour.

Both India and Singapore are currently reviewing the CECA , the talks for which started in 2010. But it has been stuck ever since over various issues, and now this law is all set to create further hurdles.

According to Indian officials involved in the negotiations, this is a violation of the services trade agreement under CECA. This will also adversely affect Indians who are working there as it might lead to job losses, especially for the middle level workers.

India has submitted a request to Singapore for addressing the matter but has not received a formal communication yet.

Currently, there are about 2,00,000 non-resident Indians in Singapore working in ITES, financial services and scientific research sectors among others, according to one estimate.

http://www.business-standard.com/ar...ca-violation-by-singapore-113021700123_1.html

Now we know why. :rolleyes:

Hmm....and its only India. How abt PRC, Pinoy....

Higher manpower cost will eventually drive up goods and service costs for locals as well as exports. The issue may be partially masked by better economy this year and next few years. However we can expect more inflation in Singapore for sure.

Welcome to the world of fake subsidies! Aqurea cream is another one like that. Don't know about Ego QV cream, now I find Rosken cream much better than Aquera, works well on very dry and cracked skin.

True. I had a case of skin eczema problem. Usual....went to polyclinic to get referral to NSC... hoping to get subsidize price. Bill abt the same as wat the pte clinic charges me. Only diff was i only went traight to the pte clinic. Waiting time definitely not as long as it took me when i was at polyclinic and NSC. Bottom line is we better have enough $$....when we r old...

Won't have enough $$, must buy health insurance to cover the hospital expenses, lucky I have upgraded my shield plan to cover private hospital last time.

For sinkies, where r they going to get money if they r out of jobs, or old and useless? Want to set up a stall, oso have to apply permit. $$ again. No permit but open a side road stall, sure kena fine! $$ again. And all these while whether they r employed or not, their daily fixed expenses r there. By hook or crook, they have to settle all the mthly bills. $$ again. Better pray hard they r fit and strong. Cos they cant afford to be sick. $$ again..

In summary it is call can die but cannot fall sick haha..

Comparing policy of both country, actually is I see you good you see me good kind of situation.

While msian think sg goverment has done great job for the country. Sgrean tend to think otherwise.

Msians think SG govt has done a great job like SG is heaven on earth but somehow they won't join this heaven with open door.

Let's not make further comparisons betw Malaysia & Singapore, and let's focus on Singapore's problems. If you speak to the local Malaysian, you will find they have real issues with their govt too. That's why Malaysians would even drive from SG to KL to participate in Bersih rallies.

As guests in other countries, its probably not advisable to comment too much on other countries politics. This is a public forum after all, and can be unwittingly used for political purposes come election time which is v soon....

I thought that is what we have been doing, complaining about SG situation. When Msians complained about BN, I didn't even reply anything prior to this. But if any Msian deem fit to tell Singaporean to look at positives and to stop complaining, then they should be prepared for such comparison to look at their own backyard - lots of positives that they have taken for granted.

I went visiting my friends in Senai on the 2nd day of CNY. As I was driving from Senai Airport towards Senai town, I was shocked to see groups upon groups of foreign workers gathering along the road side. For once I thought I was in little India. You can definitely tell that they are not locals. I think they tend to stay close to where they work instead of venturing outside.

It is good that they stay close to where they work instead of venturing outside. I haven't been to Senai before, is it something like Bukit Indah? Any interesting shopping mall there?

JB not yet. You can see alot of za pa lang in certain parts of Klang Valley now. There have been newspaper reports that there are alot of foreign owned businesses in Klang town and even KL Chinatown. Landlords in KL tend to not want to rent their property out to Middle Easterns and Africans. This gives an indication of the type of foreign nationalities now found in KV.

Really? I hope JB won't become like that. Reminds me my friend told me her Middle Eastern tenant in KL never paid up rent and then left a Rm2k water bill when finally managed to get rid of them. So she sold off her KL property already becos too far and too troublesome to manage.

Exactly. Today I were talking to my husband on retirement and we were worried that when come 60 plus and fall seriously ill but still alive, how to pay the medical bill ? Should started buying properties earlier for investment , at least when reach retirement , no more loans and can receive passive income . In the worst scenario , sell the property for medical bill .

Won't have enough $$, must buy health insurance to cover the hospital expenses, lucky I have upgraded my shield plan to cover private hospital last time.

I also upgraded my medical shield to private one but I think there is an age limit . The insurance only cover to certain age , right ? Too old , no more insurance?:*: