• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The myth of difficulty getting a job in SG

[h=2]Myth 235 – The myth of difficulty getting a job in SG[/h]
dmca_protected_sml_120n.png
PostDateIcon.png
December 27th, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

LKY-on-need-of-FT-img084-300x231.jpg
“Singapore cannot do without Foreign Talents. Local citizens’ fear that they are competing unequally cannot be helped. Without Foreign Talents the jobs will not be there to begin with. We will continue to welcome Foreign Talents. Singaporeans have to accept the discomfort”.

Many Sinkies are crying father and mother that getting a job is so difficult in Sin City. Some have experienced writing and sending out hundreds of letters without a reply. As for the PMETs, they know what it is like and many refuse to apply anymore, and have given up hope. Same goes for those above 50 years old, also no hope, has beens, finito, unless they are very well connected.

This is the general impression given and repeated in cyberspace. There are so many horror stories posted in Gilbert Goh’s Transitioning.org blog for the unemployed. The cases sound genuine, and in most cases are.
The funny thing is that foreigners have no problem finding a job in this Sin City except Sinkies. Maybe they are called Sinkies not for nothing. Sinkies have no place in Sin City. There are more than a million foreigners happily employed here and in many high paying jobs. How can Sinkies claim they cannot find a decent job here? This must be a lie or a myth.

Many foreigners don’t even need to set foot here before landing a job. They are offered jobs in their home countries and can start work the moment they land in this island of opportunities for foreigners. And many many more are coming as Sinkies make way for them and reduce themselves to social scum, whole day kpkb for no reason but having only themselves to blame. They are just not good enough. And many Sinkies are saying so too, from the top to those quitters who come back to soak up whatever they can find here.

The only thing one can say about these Sinkies is they deserve it. They no longer know how to fight back, how to scratch, and happily let the assholes tag them as daft, lazy, expensive, timid, good for nothing, and unemployable. And everyday they can only see plane loads of foreigners happily landing in Changi to take up jobs waiting for them here.

How did this happen and for so long, and everyone is so comfortable with this state of affairs?
P.S. Max posted this in TRE:
I have a Master degree in Logistics from a top ten Australian university. Been jobless at 48, for 3 years having been laid off after losing job to foreigner. Applied for PR for my foreigner wife whom I met and married while working overseas but was rejected by ICA.Having applied numerous jobs without any response, finally found one without competition and an all Singaporeans company. Am now driving a taxi, no complains about foreigners, because 100% Singaporeans in this company.
The truth is that Sinkies have been urged to go for higher education and now find out that they are over qualified. So they must downgrade to be taxi drivers. Their high qualification has become a liability. Top jobs are reserved for FTs, low jobs for FWs. Sinkies with high qualifications are unfit for both.

Chua Chin Leng aka redbean

* The writer blogs at http://mysingaporenews.blogspot.com.

Aiyah!: December 27, 2013 at 8:24 pm Aiyah!(Quote)
Sin City has only place for cheap and lousy workers. This is a country that the perennial power had created to outcast citizens.
So, if you are cheap and lousy, this is a place for you. Otherwise, be someone transferred from overseas.
Even many foreigners are trying to come to Singapore by all means. Some are ex-classmates of our colleagues, others are cousins of my colleagues . . .using shameful reasons to get a foot here.
They are happy to hold whatever pass that can be issued to them on the pretext that, my HQ overseas is aware of this request and approved to come.
For several years, many Singaporeans cannot get any job because the perennial power would use lame excuse- Your Company approved it. There is nothing we can do.
On this same recourse, we are just employees- THERE IS NOTHING WE CAN DO EITHER!! With such major loopholes, we ended- up having thousands of expensive foreigners who are not qualified as HR, Accountants, IT Managers, Credit Card Debt Analyst . . .etc. Can the public service imagine wasting 3 hours X 8 mths training these leeches in the office?
Does Singapore REALLY need these 20% FAKE FTs to survive? Absolutely not. They are just needed to appease the foreign investors under the false pretext of Global Investment.

a1eb8ec795ff69bcc38fa9238906d581
<CITE class=fn>Armchair Anarchist:</CITE>
December 27, 2013 at 8:58 pm Armchair Anarchist(Quote)

The Armchair Anarchist is in his early 50s and had a 30 year career in top tier banks in global financial centers such as London, New York, Tokyo and of cos Singapore where I spend my formative years in my field of work. I am currently regional head of my division for Asia Pacific and a member of the global executive committee of said division, having been so for the last 10 years.

In the last 5 years, the global financial crisis struck, destroying hundreds of thousands of jobs in the banking and securities industries. But in Armchair Anarchist’s particular field of expertise, demand for highly experienced staff has been very strong due to regulatory pressure and balance sheet deleveraging. I had been offered jobs in Frankfurt, London, New York and Hong Kong; many after just 1 or 2 interviews. You will notice that I did not mention Singapore. For I did not get a single job offer from that supposedly pre-eminent financial and wealth management center. Yes I had been to interviews with banks seeking my particular skills. But guess what? The interviewers were all Indians from India and the feed back I got from my contacts in the industry tells me that the jobs eventually went to fellow Indians from the sub-continent.

There is no question that there is widespread prejudice and racism in the hiring practices in Singapore. This happened because the govt never considered it necessary to enact anti-prejudice legislation and Singaporeans are too passive in fighting for their rights. This sort of thing would have faced legal challenges in other countries but not in Singapore.

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]

5552: December 27, 2013 at 9:15 pm 5552(Quote)
Our No. 1 enemy is PAP who brings to us this predicament. We still have
a choice in 2016. Vote wisely. Vote PAP OUT OF POWER. We may go through
some transitions , but it is no big deal as long
as policies are formulated with Singaporeans interest at heart.

Sperm: December 28, 2013 at 3:05 am Sperm(Quote)
PAP is the biggest traitor to our country , inviting foreigners to take our jobs and depress our wages !
Which country in the world does this sort of thing to its own citizens ?
Better to have an investigation into who device such discriminating polices that goes against the Singaporeans who are hardworking and intelligent to know they are being screwed over by PAP
Acting manpower minister who has no real working experience is just a PAP accessory to parrot what his master wants, he won’t dare for a investigation and will claim our policy don’t discriminate against Singaporeans !
This is what happens when you are paid million dollar salaries !

Many foreigners don’t even need to set foot here before landing a job. They are offered jobs in their home countries and can start work the moment they land in this island of opportunities for foreigners. And many many more are coming as Sinkies make way for them and reduce themselves to social scum, whole day kpkb for no reason but having only themselves to blame. They are just not good enough. And many Sinkies are saying so too, from the top to those quitters who come back to soak up whatever they can find here.

At what kind of pay? Rather than pay living wage to sinkees, employers here prefer to hire more while paying less. That's why sinkapore's productivity is so low. Sinkees are left on the store shelf as employers prefer foreigners as they are more easily controlled.

The only thing one can say about these Sinkies is they deserve it. They no longer know how to fight back, how to scratch, and happily let the assholes tag them as daft, lazy, expensive, timid, good for nothing, and unemployable. And everyday they can only see plane loads of foreigners happily landing in Changi to take up jobs waiting for them here.
I have to agree with you on this. Sinkees should fight back ...do whatever is necessary to sabo foreigners, instill fear in them, make sinkapore a living hell for them. That's the way to take back our country.

envy, gluttony, greed, lust, pride, sloth, wrath...

working along these lines, anyone can get rich :o:o:o

Soon, my friend, soon.

The Gen X and Y are fighting back. The baby boomers Gen will not stand quiet to get their CPF@55 money back. There need a break through lawyers willing to fight in court for the people.

There is no question that there is widespread prejudice and racism in the hiring practices in Singapore. This happened because the govt never considered it necessary to enact anti-prejudice legislation and Singaporeans are too passive in fighting for their rights. This sort of thing would have faced legal challenges in other countries but not in Singapore.

VA:F [1.9.22_1171][/QUOTE]

Soon, my friend, soon.

The Gen X and Y are fighting back. The baby boomers Gen will not stand quiet to get their CPF@55 money back. There need a break through lawyers willing to fight in court for the people.

[/QUOTE]

The PAP doctrine is to control the people by controlling rice bowls and the roof over heads and then reinforcing their power by corralling all the talent with golden fences. They forgot they have to assure the rice bowls and the access to shelter. Now that they cannot assure either, can they control the people ? Yes. For a while with ever more repressive measures and trying to scare them with hard truths. We all know how that ends. Let's hope it is a landing.

Personal encounter - the truth is getting a job in sg is not difficult at all, the problem is how much you are willing to take up the job.

Yes, words of Wisdom indeed.

Similarly, renting out your condo or flat is not difficult. It is only the correct rental amount. If we rent a condo unit out for $100, confirm there are lots of takers.

Soon, my friend, soon.

[/QUOTE]

In the past unhappy Sporeans could vote with their feet & join the many queues out of the country. However you now have so many Sporeans negatively impacted by the PAP policies from the young to the very old. males & females. Not all of them can emigrate

The PAP has had it easy, pushing around & bullying passive Sporeans. You can only push people around so much before they push back. Maybe the next GE will be the breaking point when the majority finally react & maybe it might take until 2020. Resentment will just build up & the longer people repress their rage, the more violent will be the blowout when it comes. You may see even see a few lynchings:eek:

No need for violence, riots, lynching ...etc!! That's not the Singaporean way. Just vote them out... End of story!!

Exactly, if we are not happy with PAP, just vote them out.

Unlikely some Foreign Trash Vegan here who advocate violence.

Yet, when we see his UMNO masters, he shit in his pants.

Exactly, if we are not happy with PAP, just vote them out.

Unlikely some Foreign Trash Vegan here who advocate violence.

Yet, when we see his UMNO masters, he shit in his pants.

Lai Lai Lai! Come support this thread. :):):)

If the PAP continues to ignore the "lesser mortal" the feelings of frustration & anger will continue to build up.
From the "Hello Kitty" craze, we can see how how many rational Sporeans can behave irrationally. :o

If they find that their CPF is gone how do you think the majority of Sporeans will react:confused: