• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The most overrated dishes..

Yeah, always like Zhi Char. Learn a little here and there from ex-gf's brother who works as a 'Head Hand' in one of the HDB kopi tiam zhi char stall. Both are from MY and must admit the MY folks are better in cooking.
MY are the best....but quite a few HK chefs in the heartlands too now to give them a run for their money

These days, the zi char stalls are trying to get innovative with their dishes.
Other than introducing new meats like crocodile and ostrich, they are also using things like beer, marmite, colas, etc in their dishes.
So in some stalls, u may be able to order marmite pork ribs king, or beer marinated chicken or something like that.
Yeah, notice food a little unfamiliar when I was back for family dinner in January this year. Some of the traditional ones l like is:

Keong Cong Yu Pin (Ginger and spring onion fish)
Gu Lou York (Sweet sour pork)
Pai Guat Wong (Pork Ribs)
Tim Jeong Gai (Prawn paste Chicken)
Mai Pian Xia (Cereal Prawns)
Sap Kam Tong or Hum Choi Tong (Mixed Vegetable soup or Salted Vegetable Soup)
Ma Lai Feng Guang (Kang Kong)

and many others.

Most overrated dishes for me:

1. Shark's fins
2. Bird's nest
3. Abalone

Me agree, I dun find anything great about Sharks' fin. It is not the fins, but rather the way it is cooked. It is the broth and the crabs etc...

If you substitute the fin with Tang Hoon, but cook the same way, I still think it taste the same.

Me agree, I dun find anything great about Sharks' fin. It is not the fins, but rather the way it is cooked. It is the broth and the crabs etc...

If you substitute the fin with Tang Hoon, but cook the same way, I still think it taste the same.

Yes shark fins is tasteless. You can replace with fish maw other ingredients and the soup will still taste the same

Don't mind the broth, but don't understand why we eating fins and nests, and they are supposed to be delicacy.
texture and taste not that great to me.

Yeah, notice food a little unfamiliar when I was back for family dinner in January this year. Some of the traditional ones l like is:

Traditional ones still available, but innovative ones are now the "in" thing,
beer, marmite, cola, exotic meats, etc

Traditional ones still available, but innovative ones are now the "in" thing,
beer, marmite, cola, exotic meats, etc

Some of these new dishes works while others are downright weird or awful or both.
Dun fix what's not broken

Some of these new dishes works while others are downright weird or awful or both.

marmite pork ribs is ok, never tried cola or beer marinated anything other than fish and chips batter.

Think Deer meat has been around for quite sometime but depend of availability.

Nowadays, many of the Zhi Char Head Hand are pian jia one. Just add some Bee Jing (Chinese MSG) and garlic can consider Head hand liaoz.

marmite pork ribs is ok, never tried cola or beer marinated anything other than fish and chips batter.

Jw5, do you know why these peopLe invented marmite, or coffee, or chocoLate pork ribs ?..actuaLLy these are the
same ribs that have been used to extract the essence from.So short of dunking them into the bins, they either refry
them into spare ribs, or are heaviLy marinated to churn them into other forms for saLe..:cool:

Coffee ribs also....beer is ok since wine and other alcohol is used in cooking but coffee?

Jw5, do you know why these peopLe invented marmite, or coffee, or chocoLate pork ribs ?..actuaLLy these are the
same ribs that have been used to extract the essence from.So short of dunking them into the bins, they either refry
them into spare ribs, or are heaviLy marinated to churn them into other forms for saLe..:cool:

yeah, understand that, to replace the flavour.......................

Coffee ribs also....beer is ok since wine and other alcohol is used in cooking but coffee?

I love coffee ribs. It takes skill to do them right. You don't want to bite into chunky pieces of coagulated coffee powder, neither do you want pieces of ribs floating in a sea of diluted, watery coffee gravy.

Beer is for beer batter fish and chips. Making authentic UK-style fish and chips is a great skill and art. Even the choice of the type of potato to be used is important (usually, it's Maris Piper). And forget the cheap-ass dory used in western food joints found in food courts/hawker centres/coffeeshops/canteens/cafeterias everywhere. Good fish and chips use haddock or cod.

Keong Cong Yu Pin (Ginger and spring onion fish)
Gu Lou York (Sweet sour pork)
Pai Guat Wong (Pork Ribs)
Tim Jeong Gai (Prawn paste Chicken)
Mai Pian Xia (Cereal Prawns)
Sap Kam Tong or Hum Choi Tong (Mixed Vegetable soup or Salted Vegetable Soup)
Ma Lai Feng Guang (Kang Kong)

and many others.

Thumb up very good translation!

Yes shark fins is tasteless. You can replace with fish maw other ingredients and the soup will still taste the same

Wonder if you can recaLL the 'Fake sharkfins' scandaL that the Majestic Restaurant was serving ?..actuaLLy not
many diners wouLd know if they are having the reaL stuff or not; unLess the fins are served whoLe..

Yes, sharkfin and birdnest soups are overrated and overpriced. Both are tastless and their nutrional values are also overhyped. Sharkfin soup is based on starched chicken soup with pieces of peeled crab and birdnest soup is sweetened up by boiling in rock sugar.

Hai weLcome bro.You seems Like a foodie too..:)