• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Great Orchard Road Flood ( STOMP )

Re: The Feng Shui Strikes Back Again !!!

lucky1jpg1276665800929-data.jpg
lucky4jpg1276665806617-data.jpg

lucky3jpg1276665804570-data.jpg
lucky2jpg1276665802757-data.jpg

Jalan Besar affected by floods too
Posted on 16 Jun 2010

Orchard Rd is not the only area affected by
heavy rain this morning. According to
STOMPer mkd1983, flood occurred in
Jalan Besar and Veerasamy Road too.

jalanbesarjpg1276693110258-data.jpg

In his email, the STOMPer said:

"This morning's (Jun 16) downpour flooded
Jalan Besar and Veerasamy Road.
"People were seen folding up their pants and crossing the roads.
The flood was at knee level. This is not the first time this
has happened as there was a similar flash flood few years back.
"Maybe the authorities must really look into this
and rectify it to prevent it from occurring again."

jalanbesar3jpg1276693111399-data.jpg
jalanbesar4jpg1276693111743-data.jpg

jalanbesar1jpg1276693110649-data.jpg
jalanbesar2jpg1276693111008-data.jpg

03.jpg

Stupid arse people running
SCDF making brothers
on the ground looking stupid
with a miniature pump
for liposuction

When will their stupidity of people
sitting up there and pencil pushers
ever end . Flow rate is so slow

Is it stinginess of officials
or the lack of common sense .

What have they done after the last flood, only less then a year ago? Nothing!

Will they do anything after this flood? ......

In Today's paper, PUB has said, it has ruled out Marina Barrage as the reason, because it is operating normally.

So, what then?

2i1jnf9.jpg

Tourism Board roll out exclusive dragon boat ride to tourists.

The STB said the new dragon boat services named "Orchard Sea Dragon"
will boost tourism and forcasted the total visitors for this year will be increased.

16 Jun, 2010.

STB oledi think ahead of chiu.

:eek: :o :eek:

alamak!!! this pic become famous liao! other forum also circulating this pic!!! pls make known its from sammyboy and from fellow samster popdod ho!!!

Yes they have mentioned that they have done something for the latest flood .

They just announce that it's not the Marina Barrage fault .

After feeling safe from blame . They can safely do nothing just yet .

That's all folks .

Yes they have mentioned that they have done something for the latest flood .

They just announce that it's not the Marina Barrage fault .

After feeling safe from blame . They can safely do nothing just yet .

That's all folks .

Really CCB type of answer to tell CITIZENS I do not wnat to tell you also can.

But reality is they have to convene a meeting today to see who to take the fall. Just like MBS power failures, they quickly got a FT to take the wrap.

EVERYTHING CITIZEN ALSO DONT KNOW. CPF, TIUMASICK, SWF.....ALL LUN LUN

LADIES AND GENTLEMEN, USE YOUR VOTE WISELY.

<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

What have they done after the last flood, only less then a year ago? Nothing!

Will they do anything after this flood? ......

In Today's paper, PUB has said, it has ruled out Marina Barrage as the reason, because it is operating normally.

So, what then?

Of cos says Marina Barrage is not at fault. If not..it is a waste of taxpayer's money, to build a white elephant that can do nothing:X

Why PUB blame marina barrage and tide in the first place? It is a land locked area de and there is no canals :X all drains r choked with rats hoho.

Full of...pap rats..lol

Put it simply . It's just a localised rain cloud that directly unleashed
it's maximum potential in the shortest time onto a small area.

Meaning to say, the existing drainage system just could not cope
with that amount of surface run off that it was intended .

Meaning also to say you can over-kill with higher capacity throughput but you
cannot under intended in order not to have future worst senarios .

They cannot just built for the sake of building 1 foot wide drains everywhere and anywhere .

Anyway it's easy for us to comment . Maybe of space restrictions . There are limitations .

They have to consider the throughput aggregate building up when it merge .

See how our veins are designed you will know there is God .

Row, row, row a boat down Orchard Road,
merrily, merrily, we go GSS shopping lol!

Seriously, is the underground MRT station flooded, the underground pedestrian mall? the underground carparks, the below the road shops in Lucky Plaza?

KNN the insurance companies have another reason to increase the premium again! Already the motor insurance is more than the road tax!

Is it an espionage to sabotage the economy and security of Singapore?

You mean the monsoon rain will be charged with sabotage? :rolleyes:

Orchard Road will NEVER flood, says TNP in 1999
June 16th, 2010

sampan3.png

<--- http://www.temasekreview.com/2010/0...explained-why-orchard-road-will-never-flood…/

Well, almost never.
For a flood to hit anywhere in Singapore, it takes
a combination of high tides and about 100mm of rainfall within an hour.
And Orchard Road is protected by its mighty rain drain
— the Stamford Canal.
Thanks to it, shoppers haven’t had to slosh through
waist-deep waters since 1960s.
But what makes a good drain?
According to a
Ministry of Environment (ENV) spokesman,
it’s the flow capacity of a drain and not its storage capacity.
In other words, it isn’t the size of the boat that matters,
but the motion of the ocean.
And Orchard Road’s supersucker had plenty of that.
It can empty an Olympic-sized pool before your cup of latte has time to cool.
It’s very handy around this time, with La Nina is expected to bring about more wet days in the next two months.
La Nina is the weather phenomenon responsible for the heavier rains and cooler temperatures around the region.
Already, it has increased rainfall by 25 to 30 per cent this year, noted a Meteorological Service spokesman.
Singapore’s worst ever flood happened in 1978 when 512 mm fell in 24 hours.
Seven people died in that flood.
To prevent such disasters from recurring, the Government has spent some S$1.1 billion since 1984 on about 800km of drains all over Singapore.
sampan3How can you do your bit to avoid doing your shopping in sampans?
Simple. Just don’t chuck your rubbish in the drains. Let the rain drains do their work, and go with the flow.
Singapore was hit by flash floods today, submerging many parts of the city-state — including Orchard Road. What happened to ‘NEVER’?

* This article first appeared in Singapore’s The New Paper on Jan 22, 1999.

There is a reason for the flooding of Orchard Road, Duanwu Festival (Chinese: 端午節), also known as Dragon Boat Festival is today. Remember to give sacrifice Rice Dumpling for Duan Wu if not this nation will be Sinkapore!

Duanwu commemorates the life and death of the famous Chinese scholar Qu Yuan. He was a loyal minister serving the King of Chu during the Warring States Period in the third century BC. Initially his sovereign favored Qu Yuan, but over time, his wisdom and erudite ways antagonized other court officials. As a result Qu Yuan was accused of trumped-up charges of conspiracy and ejected by his sovereign. During his exile, Qu Yuan composed many poems to express his anger and sorrow towards his sovereign and people.

In the year 278 B.C., at the age of 37, Qu Yuan drowned himself in the Milo River. He clasped a heavy stone to his chest and leaped into the water. Knowing that Qu Yuan was a righteous man, the people of Chu rushed to the river to try to save him. The people desperately searched the waters in their boats looking for Qu Yuan but were unsuccessful in their attempt to rescue him. Every year the Dragon Boat Festival is celebrated to commemorate this attempt at rescuing Qu Yuan.

When it was known that Qu Yuan had been lost forever, the local people began the tradition of throwing sacrificial cooked rice into the river for their lost hero. However, a local fisherman had a dream that Qu Yuan did not get any of the cooked rice that was thrown into the river in his honour. Instead the fish in the river were eating the rice. Thus, the locals decided to make zongzi to sink into the river in the hopes that it would reach Qu Yuan's body. The following year, the tradition of wrapping the rice in bamboo leaves to make zongzi began.

Just throw all your Rice Dumpling along Orchard road, River.

31050610.jpg

HE IS GAY!!! It was a LOVER QUARREL!! :p:p:p:p

I know this is a dumb question, but if it's high tide, does it mean that that the water level of the Orchard Road flood will be significantly higher? If so, by how much?

This got nothing to do with tides . Orchard road isn't even close to the coast .

It's a localized condition because of many reasons .

1) Clogging of drains by rubbish . Restriction like a blood clot . Bottle necks .

2) Throughput of drainage at maximum potential vrs the storm which
unleash it's potential far greater than the drainage construction
that is able to remove water from the area .

_44029901_gall_flood1_ap.jpg

The Blame Game

<--- http://singsupplies.com/showthread.php?t=63069&highlight=Parody

Wong Kan Seng : Even though I am Minister of home affairs.
This is not my affair . It should be K Shanmugam for enacting lax laws .

K Shanmugam : No no it's not under my control, it should be Mr Gan Kim Yong for manpower . we have not enough men to do the necessary patrol .

Mr GAN Kim Yong : Are you mad K Shanmugam, you drag me into this you should at least got Prof S. JAYAKUMAR in Co-ordinating Minister for National Security in to answer all these for letting in all the foreigners that created all these crimes .

Prof S. JAYAKUMAR : I am stumped . Please refer to Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports Dr Vivian BALAKRISHNAN.

Dr Vivian BALAKRISHNAN : I cannot say it's acceptable but it's our children that need nurture . You know children these days lack the parental care that our generation has . Parents working long hours and come home late. Birds not feed, cats not feed and dogs don't get their walks .
This lack of nurturing is cause by poor health .
You will need to get Minister for Health
Mr KHAW Boon Wan to answer for it.

Mr KHAW Boon Wan : Sorry next week I have my operation appointment . Anything else.

K Shanmugam : It's not that we want to let them into Singapore it's under the request of Minister for Trade and Industry , Mr LIM Hng Kiang .

Mr Lim Hng Kiang : Sorry we only lease and record input and output figures . This was in review by Minister for National Development, Mr MAH Bow Tan who wanting long term viable and cheap labour for many industries .

Mr MAH Bow Tan : You are mad, we plan no doubt . Even though we are paid millions we don't plan so far . The guy you looking for is Minister for Finance Mr Tharman SHANMUGARATNAM . He was for cheap labour due to request from private companies .

Mr Tharman SHANMUGARATNAM : Can't help it . Private companies requested that cheap labour be brought in because they can keep costs down and profit high . Look at out tax collection report . It has being doing down down down . The one you should call to answer is Mr LIM Swee Say who begin to go cheap campaign before the permission to go ahead was given .

All agreed that Mr Lim Swee Say is not to be touch even though Cheaper faster and better MTV was produced . Which cheapen the view of all local labour .

It was then decided it was the fault of Minister for Foreign Affairs, Mr George Yong-Boon YEO who is in-charge of affairs of the foreign . Since Mr George Yeo was Foreign Affair, he was not to be found . But was found later somewhere in France learning French cooking .

So unanimously, it was suggested by
Minister for the Environment and Water Resources and
Minister-in-charge of Muslim Affairs Dr YAACOB Ibrahim
as a 1 in 50 years thing .