• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

the authentic hawker foods of the retro past

[
ghim moh now is upgrading i think. anyone can update.

that hakka ytf is very efficient. it issues Q # but seriously, it's only so so and very expensive!

Used to down like 5 packets of the nasi lemak in toa payoh swimming pool complex after every swimming session back in primary school, cost 15cents a pack! Nobody makes the chilli sambal like they do anymore!

Wonder if the place is still the same or still around?

the really good nasi lemak is the one home cooked by a machik and then her kids would go around hdb flats yelling: nasi lemak....(low pitch), nasi lemak (high pitch)!!

yep! those were the days when nasi lemak is only 20 to 30c a packet with a fish, a slice of cucumber, a lump of chilli paste on a square small piece of banana leaf and a thin piece of fried egg. sometime, the kembong fish was substituted with ikan bilis.

kang chia mee or the trishaw noodle

this one is still available in maxwell h c and chinatown hc. there's always a long Q cos think it cost only $1 or $1.50 for a bowl of mushy noodle with mushier cai xin and the solid soup base. good and simple light breakfast. very difficult to buy a bowl cos it's usually a sold out after a long Q.

the really good nasi lemak is the one home cooked by a machik and then her kids would go around hdb flats yelling: nasi lemak....(low pitch), nasi lemak (high pitch)!!

yep! those were the days when nasi lemak is only 20 to 30c a packet with a fish, a slice of cucumber, a lump of chilli paste on a square small piece of banana leaf and a thin piece of fried egg. sometime, the kembong fish was substituted with ikan bilis.

you get everything door to door then.........nasi lemak, epok epok, sng pao.......you know the timing.....can hear them coming...better than calling for pizza delivery now.

yep! so convenient, cheap and steaming hot. and the bloody gahmen has to stop it :( so far, has anyone heard about food poisoning from such door to door food?

never, right?

what the gahmen really wants is the protection money such vendors are avoiding. what food poisoning? balls to them fuckers!!

yesteryears laksa was really steady poon pee pee! SHIOK!!

i dunno u guys but laksa now seems to have something missing in their ingredients. the over-rated katong laksa is really a deceit.

in the yonder years, there was a laksa man with a pole carrying 2 big pots. he would without fail on the exact timing appeared and honking away. his laksa was really superb! it was like 20c a bowl which consisted of the rough rice vermicelli, towgay and a few pieces of taupok. for garnish, it was topped with finely shredded laksa leaves and a help yourself chilli paste.

the laksa was then eaten using a metal spoon.

simple, cheap and gloriously SHIOK!:D

Was told by grandma that the secret to the power laksa gravy was the sea worms which the laksa man added to his brew.

Re: breakfast you cha kuey or youtiao

satay beehoon and kangkong cuttlefish r local products right?????

Re: yesteryears laksa was really steady poon pee pee! SHIOK!!

...Was told by grandma that the secret to the power laksa gravy was the sea worms which the laksa man added to his brew.

not used tampons meh??????

Its satay gravy. Last time no tampons. Makcik use blood soaked sanitary pads cook satay gravy.
Till this day I eat satay sans gravy.

lianbeng tells leetahbar that sungei road push-cart laksa is still the bestest of the bestest to me lah! :D only use spoon no chopsticks coz those days those coolies no time to use chopsticks lah! just some hum n fishcake thats all!

Yes best of the bestest!
Dun go to wrong one....the real McCoy is at block 27.
The one opposite ah boy motor is imitation stall and been scamming customers for a decade since occupying the old shop space.

Until the PAP decided that they wanted a piece of the pie.

Its satay gravy. Last time no tampons. Makcik use blood soaked sanitary pads cook satay gravy.
Till this day I eat satay sans gravy.

Such a process is called 'Nasi Warp' and once you eat Machik's 'Nasi Warp' you'll not be able to gain erection with other women.

They first dry the blood-soaked sanitary pad in the sun till it dries up and then pound it to a powdery form and usually mix it with drinks to feed it to their targets.

Nasi Warp is commonly practised in Kelantan and Terengganu.

that one is very dirty! they wash the rice noodle with the laksa gravy and then serve that to u. imagine the person having the last bowl.

People's Park one okay or not?

ppark got 2 ytf stalls. in fact, the one that is inner is better and served with noodle. the price now is min. $3 (last time was 2.50) authentic ingredient of soya beans and ikan bilis soup. won't feel neck tightening due to absence of msg.

try the chinatown hc ytf. u can't miss it. there's usually a Q. what so special about this stall is their home made chilli sauce which is very different from chilli paste. it's more like those u find in chicken rice stall pattern.

their fishballs are the best sellers! all hand-made.

$2 haymee in chinatown hc

hiding in a remote corner, u can find the $2 haymee. near it's vicinity, there's a $2.50 laksa usualytf. there's also a solitary malay stall which sells nasi padang and lontong/meesiam. its food used to be $2 but it's $2.50 now. anyway, try the lontong. u won't regret it! it's a quite generous serving with an egg, tofu and lots of hearty veggies. usually i add extras such as tempeh and their special potato goreng. damn shiok!:D