• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

the authentic hawker foods of the retro past

Re: breakfast you cha kuey or youtiao

The real Ampang Yong Tau Foo attached picture if have eaten this Real Ampang
the one at Upper Thomson is shitty nowhere near, taste wish is far away,
It now cost RM 1.00/piece but big slice, 4 of us ate 60 pieces its so delicious!

View attachment 10493

The Ampang Yong Tau Foo in Katong is not bad. But they close very early.

The food there is closest to the original. For me, it's authentic.

Yes. Keep it simple. Dont make nasi lemak like rojak tat come with chicken drum stick lah, hot dog lah, fish cake lah, etc etc. Juz plain simple kembong or ikan bilis fish, timun and most important is the sambal paste and all wrap up in daun pisang.

I never underrstood why they have to add chicken wings, hot dogs, fish cakes etc to nasi lemak. Is it just to justify charging a higher price?

Those items don't go well with the dish at all.

If I want any extra toppings, i always go for bergedil, and definitely not hot dogs or fish cakes!! Those simply do NOT belong in nasi lemak, period!!!

I never underrstood why they have to add chicken wings, hot dogs, fish cakes etc to nasi lemak. Is it just to justify charging a higher price?

Those items don't go well with the dish at all.

If I want any extra toppings, i always go for bergedil, and definitely not hot dogs or fish cakes!! Those simply do NOT belong in nasi lemak, period!!!

You see, sometimes the non-Muslims want to indulge in non-halal goodness... so they add extra stuff such as luncheon meat onto nasi lemak. It's not authentic, but who cares?

Tau Kwa Pow...used to be a grumpy old man who sold it at various places in and around joo chiat .
Initially was in a small hawker centre b/w Lion City Hotel and the Large Hwaker Centre/Market beside it then he moved
to a coffeshop next to the large hawker centre/Market and then shifted to a coffee shop in Joo chiat almost opposite old fei Fei wanton mee

He had super hot chilli sauce that comprised about 8 separate ingredients and you could see him mix batches of it ...then he just disappeared..
not sure if he relocated again or stopped completely..

tau kwa pok - the "innocent" food to avoid

Tau Kwa Pow...used to be a grumpy old man who sold it at various places in and around joo chiat .
Initially was in a small hawker centre b/w Lion City Hotel and the Large Hwaker Centre/Market beside it then he moved
to a coffeshop next to the large hawker centre/Market and then shifted to a coffee shop in Joo chiat almost opposite old fei Fei wanton mee

He had super hot chilli sauce that comprised about 8 separate ingredients and you could see him mix batches of it ...then he just disappeared..
not sure if he relocated again or stopped completely..[/QUOTE

not trying to scare the hell out of everyone here. seriously tau kwa is healthy food. but when u add the "pok" it's a very terrible unhealthy food prepared in the most unhygienic way.

taukwapok is a more porous version of tau kwa or soya bean curd. it is deepfried in dunno what kinda of oil which are re-used dunno how many donkey times until the oil become dunno what carcinogenic level.

my humble advice is try to avoid or restrain taking too much.

Re: tau kwa pok - the "innocent" food to avoid

Earlier this year, the future of hawker centres was in the news. The chief concern was the sustainability of the institution (if one can call it that), but much of the discussion centred around how to keep food cheap. A side issue was the declining quality, for which a 'Hawker Academy' idea was floated. It struck me even then that insufficient attention was being paid to a much more fundamental question: where are hawkers going to come from in the future? All the talk about pricing and training will be meaningless if not enough people want to be hawkers. Read more of this post -yawningbread

the actual diabolical intention of the gahmen imo is this. the newly grads are now mostly unemployable since their sinister long term plan is to get the FTs in, grant them PR and then finally upgrade to voting pirated singaporeans. of course, they need to sextisfiy such group of back up pap voters first. hence all the plum jobs go to them

what about our very own true blue sgp grads?

and ladies and gents, that's how they ejaculated out the "be a hawker" promotion to the grads.

get the evil scheme of things ala carte pappie's style?

$2 chok in toa payoh kopitiam

my li'l brother leetahsar brought me to this nifty kopitiam located at the corner of a hdb flat in toa payoh and next to the market cum hawker centre.

it was a gem discovery!!

the individually prepared century egg chok was fabulous. it consists of 1 whole century egg chopped into small pieces and one whole raw egg with lots of bite sized lean meat and generous minced pork.

guess how much the price?

only $2.

it was the best and most satisfying wholesome breakfast i ve ever tasted served all the way to your table and not self-service. beat that!