• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

the authentic hawker foods of the retro past

lianbeng says: this pigcher speaks 1000 words liao! :D

I love Ghim Moh market. For a period of 2 years I had breakfast there almost everyday. Missed that place so much especially the dorsai, appom and putumayam from Heavens Curry stall

DSCF6926+aa.jpg

the one authentic hawker food i miss in sg is the teochew "jui jia pau". used to buy dozens at tekka market. cannot find it anymore. :(

crystal dumpling if that's what u were trying to say. it'si avaiable at alexandra village hc but the prices have risen so much, i rather u give it a miss. it's like 80c a small one with turnip n hay bee fillings. other fillings include the black tau sar, chives and etc.

this teochew snacks was a humble food and cost maybe 3 or 4 for $1 last time. the ingredients used are cheap but the labour that goes into making it is quite tedious.

crystal dumpling if that's what u were trying to say. it'si avaiable at alexandra village hc but the prices have risen so much, i rather u give it a miss. it's like 80c a small one with turnip n hay bee fillings. other fillings include the black tau sar, chives and etc.

that's it. i'll check out alexandra village on the next visit. die die must have it. thanks!

This is legendary buddy

120 #01-10 Bukit Merah Lane 1, Alexandra Village Food Center

I remember during the late 70s and early 80s. Those Boat Quay stalls behind Std chartered/BOC building. Tere was this particular Malay stall managed by 3 fat sisters selling Malay food. Every day the queue long long. The sambal goreng and even the mata lembu (egg) seemed like simple dish. But the taste juz different fm wat we had nowadays. I havent even mentioned abt the rest of the dishes. Even famous stall like Haja Maimunah or even Sinar Pagi food cant beat tis stall at Boat Quay. Till today, I am still looking for tis stall or the owner. But to no avail.:(

the many wholesome and authentic hawker foods of the yesteryears are mostly extinctly. what we are having now are such a pale differences especially in prices which do not tally with its quality and quantity.

who are the main culprits for such to happen? primarily, i would blame it on the avaricious gahmen which minions brag on $10 chai tow kuey and all those expensive craps which a commoner can hardly afford. :(

ludicrously, after shooting down most of the honest to goodness hawkers, they ve realised their biggest mistake and are fruitlessly trying to seduce youngster back into the hawker line.

fat hope! balls to them fuckers!!

the really good nasi lemak is the one home cooked by a machik and then her kids would go around hdb flats yelling: nasi lemak....(low pitch), nasi lemak (high pitch)!!

yep! those were the days when nasi lemak is only 20 to 30c a packet with a fish, a slice of cucumber, a lump of chilli paste on a square small piece of banana leaf and a thin piece of fried egg. sometime, the kembong fish was substituted with ikan bilis.

Yes. Keep it simple. Dont make nasi lemak like rojak tat come with chicken drum stick lah, hot dog lah, fish cake lah, etc etc. Juz plain simple kembong or ikan bilis fish, timun and most important is the sambal paste and all wrap up in daun pisang.

Re: yesteryears laksa was really steady poon pee pee! SHIOK!!

that one is very dirty! they wash the rice noodle with the laksa gravy and then serve that to u. imagine the person having the last bowl.

lianbeng replies: lasap jia lasap tua lah! :D when u r hungry...human meat also can eat!

<<MEE REBUS....the one that i had long before your fatiher's time was superb! its soup base was from sweet potato, beef bones and power punched spices like tumeric, lemongrass etc>>]

yes, this sweet potato flour tastes much better than those that use tapioca.
btw, the ghim moh hc notchet close, only the one at holland close - behind posb at c'wealth ave.

$3 bak kut teh

the bak kut teh was once a staple for coolies in old singapore. it was a herbal soup brewed from big pig's bones. the brew was naturally darker due to the tcm herbs that were added in.

later, a new version with less tinge of herbal fragrance was concocted. that was the teochew version which is more peppery and clearer soup.

$3 bak kut teh is still available. there is one in hong lim hc which is located at the ground floor. the stall is manned by 2 lkbs. if u r there, also order the ter ka or stewed pork trotter which is also $3. prices are very economical, the same goes for another stall located at ABC hc which was originally from alexandra village hc. they shifted to the present abc when alexandra upgraded and has since remained.

both stalls give free flow of soup and generous pork ribs about 2 to 3 pieces depending on the sizes. they also serve side condiments such as chai buay, braised peanuts, tao kee, kim chim (dried lily flowers) and etc.

try all if u could. only $1 per dish. cheap like anything and quite good!

retro lontong - the one with the oomph!

lontong in the old days is rare or impossible to find now in any hawker stalls.

one main ingredient used was unripe nangka flesh or jackfruit which my kampong had aplenty. the machik would cut one of the unripe jackfruit, dig out the individual fruits and cut the rind into cubes and cook that up as the good o' tra ditional lontong. she would also make the rice ketupat wrapped and rolled up in banana leaf.

another ingredient was salam leaf or sometime called the Indonesia bay leaf which really gave the gravy a solid oomph! then there were the usual condiments of hay bee and spices thrown it.

finally there would be the fragrantly fried kelapa and samba chilli that used to garnish the lontong with come with tofu, tempeh, halved egg.

I really miss that kind of authentic lontong of the old days which my late grandma could conjure up the best I had ever tasted.

Re: breakfast you cha kuey or youtiao

so you guys think any chance of roti prata (kosong) will ever go back to 40 cents piece ?

Yes. Keep it simple. Dont make nasi lemak like rojak tat come with chicken drum stick lah, hot dog lah, fish cake lah, etc etc. Juz plain simple kembong or ikan bilis fish, timun and most important is the sambal paste and all wrap up in daun pisang.

How come no one mention Changi Village hawker centre Nasi Lemak? Maybe because drop in std and overpriced?

I used to live in the east and frequent Changi Village regularly. For makan. Honestly, that nasi lemak stall is no big deal. The other stalls have almost the same standard but for unknown reason, that stall attracts customers.

The real Ampang Yong Tau Foo attached picture if have eaten this Real Ampang
the one at Upper Thomson is shitty nowhere near, taste wish is far away,
It now cost RM 1.00/piece but big slice, 4 of us ate 60 pieces its so delicious!

Ampang KL Yong Tau Foo.jpg

The real Ampang Yong Tau Foo attached picture if have eaten this Real Ampang
the one at Upper Thomson is shitty nowhere near, taste wish is far away,
It now cost RM 1.00/piece but big slice, 4 of us ate 60 pieces its so delicious!

View attachment 10493

Not sure where is the real authentic Ampang?? So many has setup. My favorite is the one at Katong near the Catholic Church.