• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore Government!!! Love Or Hate???

The presence of cheap foreign labour is disincentivising the need for companies to come up with other, usually much more expensive ways, to improve productivity. After all, why should they invest in million dollar technologies that most developed countries have already taken up, when they can still continue using third world methods, utilising third world labour, paid at a substandard first world rate. Unproductive Singaporeans is just a cheap excuse for companies, especially a good many SMEs, to pressure the government into bringing more cheap labour in, or these companies will suffer and might go bust, which clearly shows that Singaporeans are not the unproductive ones, the culprits are the companies. There is no doubt Singaporean workers have a part to play too, but considering many companies are actually encouraging workers to take on more work, and many workers are actively doing so. It is not uncommon to find workers in Singapore doing the work that takes two or three people in most countries, furthermore, Singaporeans work the most hours in the world, do they need to work in their sleep before it satisfies people who think they should still put in more effort?

That said, we are in this situation because our unions and government have been highlighting productivity for years, yet they pay lip service in protecting the welfare of the local worker. Work life balance is practically non-existent in some situations employees face, yet it its merely encouraged, not enforced, that companies should give workers better working condition. In these days of rapid globalisation, it will be unfair to expect Singapore will not change because of it. Like most countries, we have opened our doors to foreigners, but unlike most countries, our government have embraced them as a faux pas economic driver. The United Kingdoms is bitching about the foreigners because they brought in 2.5 million over the last ten years or so, and now foreign-born make up 11.3% of the population. In Singapore, our tiny island brought in 2 million foreigners over a similar period, and now the foreign born make up a whopping, 52.3% of the population. Oh sure, the majority of our foreign born population is from Malaysia, guess what, their biggest group of immigrants in UK come from the Republic of Ireland. To top it off, I would like to highlight that in 2011, based on (http://thehearttruths.com/2013/07/30/singaporeans-are-you-being-taken-care-of-by-your-government/), 26% of Singaporeans who pay CPF earn less than $1500, 37% earn less than $2000, and 64% earn less than $3500. It's clear that a large proportion of the Singaporean workers are being taken advantage of, and held hostage to low wages by an influx of foreign workers. The artificial deflation of the Singaporean worker's wage has to end, but sadly I do not see this happening under our current ruling party nor when there is still skewered to the rich initiatives such as tripartism.

One of the best elaboration of the situation in Singapore ever on this forum. Great job, bro Poomer. People like Leongsam should read this 1000 times to get into their thick head what and how S'poreans are suffering, rather than based on some airy fairy theory.

people who lived and worked abroad for long periods have lost touch with Singapore's society. they know too little or do not really understand the current existing conditions in Singapore.

Not true. These people still have strong ties in Singapore and would be updated first-hand and regularly about how hard pressed Singaporeans are (even for those who have no connections here, technology can provide them latest info with just a click). My personal experience is each time I meet up with relatives and friends who have migrated eg during Chinese New Year or Christmas, they would just shake their heads in disbelief over what is happening in Singapore and smile with relief that they need not suffer like us. To them, the policies by the PAP are just absolute rubbish aimed at enriching the rich and poorering the poor.

One of the best elaboration of the situation in Singapore ever on this forum. Great job, bro Poomer. People like Leongsam should read this 1000 times to get into their thick head what and how S'poreans are suffering, rather than based on some airy fairy theory.

Cannot lah!

Our Leongsam too busy spinning and spinning hosannas to smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY because Leong thinks that LKY single handedly raised him and his family from sharing a steel bucket as toilet with 50 families to toilet for each and every family not only in Singapore but all around the world

His other time will be to compose odes to a horse

How can he find the time to read 1000 times?
And even if he did so, will he grow wiser?

You must understand that some people are born brain dead or without a head

Those kind of people are not just in PAP. 60% voted for them so why not Leongsam be one of them?

Maybe he got business selling KY with axle grease and sinkies all lined up to buy and use that as they lay their heads low low and arseholes up high high for smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY to fuck and screw

Cannot lah!

Our Leongsam too busy spinning and spinning hosannas to smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY because Leong thinks that LKY single handedly raised him and his family from sharing a steel bucket as toilet with 50 families to toilet for each and every family not only in Singapore but all around the world

His other time will be to compose odes to a horse

How can he find the time to read 1000 times?
And even if he did so, will he grow wiser?

You must understand that some people are born brain dead or without a head

Those kind of people are not just in PAP. 60% voted for them so why not Leongsam be one of them?

Maybe he got business selling KY with axle grease and sinkies all lined up to buy and use that as they lay their heads low low and arseholes up high high for smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY to fuck and screw

Well said, bro, well said!

Are you doing anything?
So have you made it overseas?
Who's trying to prove oneself here?
btw dun need to kei kei misspell prove as proof....this is the oldest trick in the book for IBs....lol
Sorry, I'm not a U-grad... So mistaken prove for proof! How???

Yes, maybe I'm not doing anything for my nation, but neither did I ask my govt to aid me when I left SG 13 years ago... Whether have I made it in overseas why not you make a trip to china and you'll know the answer rather than just sitting back here and complaining!!!

In my statement, please point out to me which of my past post or statement have I ever tried to prove myself in a forum? I wouldn't be as silly as u to do that. Thanks

Let's be honest with ourself, ain't Singaporeans a spoilt brat? Moved out of Singapore and take a look back at this tiny island n see how fragile it is!!!

By saying that HKs n taiwanese are better businessman than Singaporeans, it is the true fact. Can anyone quote me an example of a single Singaporean that really excel in China? Even LKY sent tonnes of scholars to Suhou Industrial Park yet a failure.... I know some jokers over here may conclude that "O so you mean you make it in China", but all i can say is even today if i can have a foothold in China, it's because of the HKs, taiwanese n mentor who taught me how to handle with Chinese n understand their culture before even talking about others.

Can anyone tell me how many Singaporeans dare to venture into 2nd n 3rd tier cities in China like Wuhan n Nanchang. 10 years ago when i told my friend Wuhan, they ask me where? is it beside Shanghai and I laugh... There's less than hundred Singaporeans permanently station in Wuhan or maybe I should even say less than 50.

And for ppl like Narong, you know what... When SG govt sent delegates to Wuhan, you know what did the Wuhan mayor told our govt? " Now then you come in, HKs n Taiwanese came into Wuhan 10 years ago already"... So Narong, I wouldn't mind you bark for the sake of barking in this forum, but please bark with brains n knowledge. Words by mouth can lie, statistic never lies

Let's be honest with ourself, ain't Singaporeans a spoilt brat? Moved out of Singapore and take a look back at this tiny island n see how fragile it is!!!

By saying that HKs n taiwanese are better businessman than Singaporeans, it is the true fact. Can anyone quote me an example of a single Singaporean that really excel in China? Even LKY sent tonnes of scholars to Suhou Industrial Park yet a failure.... I know some jokers over here may conclude that "O so you mean you make it in China", but all i can say is even today if i can have a foothold in China, it's because of the HKs, taiwanese n mentor who taught me how to handle with Chinese n understand their culture before even talking about others.

Can anyone tell me how many Singaporeans dare to venture into 2nd n 3rd tier cities in China like Wuhan n Nanchang. 10 years ago when i told my friend Wuhan, they ask me where? is it beside Shanghai and I laugh... There's less than hundred Singaporeans permanently station in Wuhan or maybe I should even say less than 50.

And for ppl like Narong, you know what... When SG govt sent delegates to Wuhan, you know what did the Wuhan mayor told our govt? " Now then you come in, HKs n Taiwanese came into Wuhan 10 years ago already"... So Narong, I wouldn't mind you bark for the sake of barking in this forum, but please bark with brains n knowledge. Words by mouth can lie, statistic never lies

True. But then who caused all this? Isn't it the PAP education system that stifles creativity and out-of-box thinking? Isn't the PAP philosophy that only top scholars are accorded the highest status? Isn't it the PAP that demands absolute obedience rather than critical perspectives? Isn't it the PAP that rewards only those who toe its line? PAP had social engineered its people into robots with no mind of their own and look to only the political masters for answers because the PAP had been telling the people for 50 years that they had all the answers and they know best. It's all PAP fault or more accurately, the Old Fart's fault.

Agreed, Singapore govt has been over emphasized on paper qualifications rather than really those who have the brains.

And worst of all, all this so well educated ppl are so rigid which makes them fail in china

Agreed, Singapore govt has been over emphasized on paper qualifications rather than really those who have the brains.

And worst of all, all this so well educated ppl are so rigid which makes them fail in china

you must admit that the pap give sinkies a good basic education. whatever the sinkie does after acquiring basic education is up to his/her initiative. don't expect the pap to coach his/her business acumen every inch of the way. street smarts are acquired by rolling up sleeves, getting into the action and learning from mistakes, better from others'. they cannot be taught in schools. don't blame sinkie schools and the sinkie educational system for sinkies' lack of acumen. there are many sinkies who succeeded outside of sg and are top dogs in their respective careers and business. the sg educational system prepared them well. if the same sinkies were to have their basic education in the u.s. or mexico, they would now be flipping burgers or folding burritos. :rolleyes:

Another absolute piece of nonsense from you. I have at least 5 nephews and nieces that studied overseas, found life there so much better and cheaper than S'pore that they all stayed back in their country of study, never to return. Two other relatives who came back after their studies realized how fuck-up life was in S'pore and went back to where they graduated. Best thing was their parents who objected initially are now resident there elsewhere, after trying it out there, they too realized how much more quality of life elsewhere offer.

Your family obviously have the "lazy" gene and that is why they prefer to live abroad.

Singapore is a great place for those with drive and initiative but it does not treat laggards kindly. There is no place in Singapore for useless people.

Your 5 nephews are not wanted in Singapore. Please email or txt them today and tell them never to come back.

I live in NZ because of my hobbies. Since I've retired, I can live anywhere I want.

That's a bit rich coming from you. You're the one who wants your daughter to receive a Singaporean education. :rolleyes:

My spouse and I after 10 years of marriage, recently we come back to SG because of our daughter's education.

I have no doubt that the Singapore education is one of the best in the world....Majulah Singapura!!!

Many quitters have returned for reasons of their own. Many too have selfish reasons. Putting the blame on their children is the worst thing to do. There is no need to justify your return to your motherland. There is no need to justify your exit too. If you like this place, stay. If you don't like, leave and move away.

But don't give frivolous reasons that betray your ugly side. I have friends who have left the country.They are very happy in their countries of adoption but they continue to love Singapore and wish Singapore well. I have friends who have returned after many years in their countries of adoption, and they are greatly impressed by the progress Singaporea has made. They returned and kissed the ground of Singapore.

Love it or Hate it, Singapore rocks. Majulah Singapura!!!

That's a bit rich coming from you. You're the one who wants your daughter to receive a Singaporean education. :rolleyes:
Maybe you've misunderstood what I'm trying to say...

Yes, a education is important but when selecting talents, over reliance on papers would kill talents off. I'm not talking off without facts. I'm one without a Degree not even a Diploma... During my school times is billiards, mahjong, n fighting on the street...

But today ask a Scholar to challenge me in China 2nd or 3rd tier city, I dun think i'm inferior to them in anyways....

Education is important which is why I sent my daughter back. But an education is just a key to the door. Our company employs so many graduates from HK, Taiwan n China and all this some graduate from very honorable university in the world but guess what.... They are too rigid

I have no doubt that the Singapore education is one of the best in the world....Majulah Singapura!!!

Many quitters have returned for reasons of their own. Many too have selfish reasons. Putting the blame on their children is the worst thing to do. There is no need to justify your return to your motherland. There is no need to justify your exit too. If you like this place, stay. If you don't like, leave and move away.

But don't give frivolous reasons that betray your ugly side. I have friends who have left the country.They are very happy in their countries of adoption but they continue to love Singapore and wish Singapore well. I have friends who have returned after many years in their countries of adoption, and they are greatly impressed by the progress Singaporea has made. They returned and kissed the ground of Singapore.

Love it or Hate it, Singapore rocks. Majulah Singapura!!!
True... I've seen many Singaporeans complaining when back home, but when they travel, they show off that they are from Singapore!!! Contradicting

You speak for yourself

I felt so embarrased when people say they are Australian, they are English, they are Germans and with pride that they have a country.

I could not bring myself to say I am a Singaporean as that will imply I have a country because I do not have a country as my country was stolen from me by smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY and his PAP walking bags of excrement turds and vomits

When pressed, I said I was born in Singapore.

You speak for yourself

I felt so embarrased when people say they are Australian, they are English, they are Germans and with pride that they have a country.

I could not bring myself to say I am a Singaporean as that will imply I have a country because I do not have a country as my country was stolen from me by smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY and his PAP walking bags of excrement turds and vomits

When pressed, I said I was born in Singapore.
Sorry, I dun have to speak for myself... Not to mentioned too far away, how many times when I was in CLK airport waiting for my flight and heard a bunch of ppl talking loudly n when i turned my head, Singaporeans!!!

When I travel, my passport is covered up with a case!!! I'm not particularly proud of Singapore but neither am i ashamed of my own country.... Go to China and when the ppl over there ask u where r u from n you answered them Singapore and see what's their response....

Just for your info, when i was in Taiwan... Taiwanese girl preferred SG guys more than their own homeland guys!!!

You sit n complained but when dun you ask yourself, do something for yourself!!! Although I brought my kid back to SG for education but most of my time still in Greater China region!!! I dun like SG, I moved on... What's the use of just complaining and say u r ashamed of your own country... Does that make you a better person or nationality???

Sorry, I dun have to speak for myself... Not to mentioned too far away, how many times when I was in CLK airport waiting for my flight and heard a bunch of ppl talking loudly n when i turned my head, Singaporeans!!!

When I travel, my passport is covered up with a case!!! I'm not particularly proud of Singapore but neither am i ashamed of my own country.... Go to China and when the ppl over there ask u where r u from n you answered them Singapore and see what's their response....

Just for your info, when i was in Taiwan... Taiwanese girl preferred SG guys more than their own homeland guys!!!

You sit n complained but when dun you ask yourself, do something for yourself!!! Although I brought my kid back to SG for education but most of my time still in Greater China region!!! I dun like SG, I moved on... What's the use of just complaining and say u r ashamed of your own country... Does that make you a better person or nationality???

And you some expert on Taiwan?
I was living there for years and happy to be accepted as a local by them.
My problem there , and other countries, that too many girls chased me and I had not enough time for all of them.

Do I need your bloody approval for whatever I do or write?
Do I need your bloody judgement and who the fuck are you that I care for your judgement?

What I do with myself is my fucking business and not your fucking business.

If you are proud with a cuntry where the self elected leaders screw and fuck the people here , go and be proud of that without dragging me into your fucking pride.

And you some expert on Taiwan?
I was living there for years and happy to be accepted as a local by them.
My problem there , and other countries, that too many girls chased me and I had not enough time for all of them.

Do I need your bloody approval for whatever I do or write?
Do I need your bloody judgement and who the fuck are you that I care for your judgement?

What I do with myself is my fucking business and not your fucking business.

If you are proud with a cuntry where the self elected leaders screw and fuck the people here , go and be proud of that without dragging me into your fucking pride.
Yes, you dun need my approval but neither am I interested into how you live as a person... But if you dun wanna others to say that you're a person who only complains, then action.

Also please note that you're the one replying to my post, so ain't you contradicting yourself when you wanna poke your nose into other ppls words but yet claiming others is judging you as person.

You can write or bark for all i cares, but if you wanna reply my post. Then make sure you've statistics in hand and not just complain....

Btw, I'm a Taiwan newbies... I'll be back in China n down to Taiwan in end August, why dun we meet up in Taiwan n show me how well-versed or how well accepted are you in Taiwan... Show me your statistic n dun just bark, thank you!!!

Fuck off.
Neither am I interested to let you know how I live.
If action meant to take off and let the PAP continue to screw and fuck my people here, you do the brave thing and fuck off to wherever you fuck off to.
If you think that make you brave, go be brave.

As if I need to prove any fuck thing to you as if you some kind of fucking guru.

You took it on yourself to speak for other people so I should keep quiet to let you think you can speak for others?

:kma:

You some kind of small boy who think he is big? Your telling of being married for ten years and your daughter needing schooling tell me you a bloody small boy.
Your wife or you yourself or even both might just be a product of my nights out that I then forgot about.

And you think you are fit to judge me?