• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore Government!!! Love Or Hate???

Glad to see TS easing into his prescribed role.
After some fluff threads to throw us off scent finally true intentions shown.
Cant keep a good man down for long.
I finally understand why most Singaporeans cannot make it when venture overseas compared to HKs and taiwanese. People like u r just someone who just sit back n complain but do nothing!

Also coming to a forum is to speak my mind and not to be concerned who's my friend or foe. Trying to proof yourself in a forum is the silliest thing one can do

I dun think statistic can lie... Indeed SG can have many problems with the govt but the education standard is there which one cannot deny.

Thank you. That's all I wanted to hear. :)

The problem with most of the idiots here is that they don't appreciate how wonderful Singapore is.

Those who have lived and worked abroad are in a far better position to judge.

The problem with most of the idiots here is that they don't appreciate how wonderful Singapore is.

Study in Singapore and speak with a sinkie accent ? No thank you.

I don't deny there's problem with SG or the govt but we cannot wipe out statistics as well...

I ain't no fool to come to a forum for the sake of just shouting.... Many Singaporeans have not reside in overseas, they travel to a city for a few days n they think they understand the place n culture which is wrong. If Singapore is run by the CCCP govt, i think many will go to 56th storey n suicide... Every govt have their pros n cons!!!

Sorry friend, talking about the immigration policy, our govt are also of one kind... NO ACTION TALK ONLY (NATO)!!!

My spouse and I after 10 years of marriage, recently we come back to SG because of our daughter's education. PR was constantly rejected by the govt and Lee Hsien Loong can every year during national day rally says "Come on Singaporeans, build families, have more babies" If my spouse can't even have the assurance to stay or reside in SG, how to build families, how to have more babies!!! Contradicting right

My very close friend...I could say, "wrestle in the sand, play marbles' type...married a Nordic, had children in Canada & refuses to come back here to settle. They did bring the family here & measure the costs, economic , social & even family ties...then decided that any other country...other than here.

Measure that costs carefully...I would have gone a long time ago, if not for family ties...

That's because there are such a large number of Singaporeans who are very unproductive.

If they put in more effort, Singapore's average wage will rise considerably.

The presence of cheap foreign labour is disincentivising the need for companies to come up with other, usually much more expensive ways, to improve productivity. After all, why should they invest in million dollar technologies that most developed countries have already taken up, when they can still continue using third world methods, utilising third world labour, paid at a substandard first world rate. Unproductive Singaporeans is just a cheap excuse for companies, especially a good many SMEs, to pressure the government into bringing more cheap labour in, or these companies will suffer and might go bust, which clearly shows that Singaporeans are not the unproductive ones, the culprits are the companies. There is no doubt Singaporean workers have a part to play too, but considering many companies are actually encouraging workers to take on more work, and many workers are actively doing so. It is not uncommon to find workers in Singapore doing the work that takes two or three people in most countries, furthermore, Singaporeans work the most hours in the world, do they need to work in their sleep before it satisfies people who think they should still put in more effort?

That said, we are in this situation because our unions and government have been highlighting productivity for years, yet they pay lip service in protecting the welfare of the local worker. Work life balance is practically non-existent in some situations employees face, yet it its merely encouraged, not enforced, that companies should give workers better working condition. In these days of rapid globalisation, it will be unfair to expect Singapore will not change because of it. Like most countries, we have opened our doors to foreigners, but unlike most countries, our government have embraced them as a faux pas economic driver. The United Kingdoms is bitching about the foreigners because they brought in 2.5 million over the last ten years or so, and now foreign-born make up 11.3% of the population. In Singapore, our tiny island brought in 2 million foreigners over a similar period, and now the foreign born make up a whopping, 52.3% of the population. Oh sure, the majority of our foreign born population is from Malaysia, guess what, their biggest group of immigrants in UK come from the Republic of Ireland. To top it off, I would like to highlight that in 2011, based on (http://thehearttruths.com/2013/07/30/singaporeans-are-you-being-taken-care-of-by-your-government/), 26% of Singaporeans who pay CPF earn less than $1500, 37% earn less than $2000, and 64% earn less than $3500. It's clear that a large proportion of the Singaporean workers are being taken advantage of, and held hostage to low wages by an influx of foreign workers. The artificial deflation of the Singaporean worker's wage has to end, but sadly I do not see this happening under our current ruling party nor when there is still skewered to the rich initiatives such as tripartism.

My very close friend...I could say, "wrestle in the sand, play marbles' type...married a Nordic, had children in Canada & refuses to come back here to settle. They did bring the family here & measure the costs, economic , social & even family ties...then decided that any other country...other than here.

Measure that costs carefully...I would have gone a long time ago, if not for family ties...
Me dear friend, I ain't no migrants... My dad, mum, grandpa, grandma, including all my relatives are in Singapore.

The first thing i learn when i was in HK : " To succeed, one must learn how to 六亲不认"

For me is simple, my wife n i r not desperate for a SG PR. The next 30 or 50 years is still the china market n for me personally i already had a foothold overthere. After my kid graduate, we will all moved back to China or HK again.

people who lived and worked abroad for long periods have lost touch with Singapore's society. they know too little or do not really understand the current existing conditions in Singapore.

To reiterate, I'm not a fan of PAP but neither do I hate them. As mentioned, there are bad issues like my PR for my spouse but there are also positive of the current govt.

Allow me to quote an example : I've encounter so many youngsters who wanted to get married but because a lack of cash n China do not have CPF scheme, they can't get married because the guy can't afford a house and the govt doesn't subsidize at all. In SG, young couples can marry and easily get a HDB of your own. First timer can still take a loan with the govt but does China have such policy?

Ask any of your chinese friends, a person admitted to hospital n the 1st thing a hospital in China ask for what? Not yr details but money. In SG, the govt can subsidize.

Again, I'm not saying the SG govt are good... FTs are a problem, rising cost and worst of all, SG govt make a mistake never admit... But like what i say, we have to be sensible and make comparisons.

To reiterate, I'm not a fan of PAP but neither do I hate them. As mentioned, there are bad issues like my PR for my spouse but there are also positive of the current govt.

Allow me to quote an example : I've encounter so many youngsters who wanted to get married but because a lack of cash n China do not have CPF scheme, they can't get married because the guy can't afford a house and the govt doesn't subsidize at all. In SG, young couples can marry and easily get a HDB of your own. First timer can still take a loan with the govt but does China have such policy?

Ask any of your chinese friends, a person admitted to hospital n the 1st thing a hospital in China ask for what? Not yr details but money. In SG, the govt can subsidize.

Again, I'm not saying the SG govt are good... FTs are a problem, rising cost and worst of all, SG govt make a mistake never admit... But like what i say, we have to be sensible and make comparisons.

yes. make sensible comparisons. the PAP govt has to decide whether bringing in so many FTs to give Singapore the so-called competitive edge is worth it that comes with deteriorating social conditions in Singapore. the people generally believe that the 6.9 million figure is ludicrous. the PAP govt will be punished for the 6.9 at GE2016.

There may not be as much space for each individual anymore but that doesn't equate to "deterioration" as the advantages of a larger population outweigh the disadvantages.

Cities around the world are getting more congested because more people want to live in cities despite the crowds. If congested cities were awful places, the population of cities would be falling.

I finally understand why most Singaporeans cannot make it when venture overseas compared to HKs and taiwanese. People like u r just someone who just sit back n complain but do nothing!

Also coming to a forum is to speak my mind and not to be concerned who's my friend or foe. Trying to proof yourself in a forum is the silliest thing one can do

Are you doing anything?
So have you made it overseas?
Who's trying to prove oneself here?
btw dun need to kei kei misspell prove as proof....this is the oldest trick in the book for IBs....lol

Are you doing anything?
So have you made it overseas?
Who's trying to prove oneself here?
btw dun need to kei kei misspell prove as proof....this is the oldest trick in the book for IBs....lol

I concur. You are sharp, man !

Another absolute piece of nonsense from you. I have at least 5 nephews and nieces that studied overseas, found life there so much better and cheaper than S'pore that they all stayed back in their country of study, never to return. Two other relatives who came back after their studies realized how fuck-up life was in S'pore and went back to where they graduated. Best thing was their parents who objected initially are now resident there elsewhere, after trying it out there, they too realized how much more quality of life elsewhere offer.

In any case you should be the last person to have a right to comment as such, if S'pore is that good, then why the fuck are u in NZ?