• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore Flyer FIASCO - MERGED thread.

theblackhole

they flyer has its own rescue team...don't anyhow blame our world class governance for the delay...they called their own contract rescue team which then called for help..so our world class rescue team went and did their duties...and then god made the wheel spin the fortune once again...

why all these bad omens and bad business and bad publicity? singapore is on the map ! we are the best! nobody is injured! no singaporean is injured! we are always first class and world class. merry christmas singaporeans!!! majulah singapura!!!

Einfield

they flyer has its own rescue team...don't anyhow blame our world class governance for the delay...they called their own contract rescue team which then called for help..so our world class rescue team went and did their duties...and then god made the wheel spin the fortune once again...

why all these bad omens and bad business and bad publicity? singapore is on the map ! we are the best! nobody is injured! no singaporean is injured! we are always first class and world class. merry christmas singaporeans!!! majulah singapura!!!

This is just a stupid giant Ferris wheel for god sake.

Over Heat and caught Fire?
Did they undersized the cables?
Did they put in thermal protection?
Did they include in complete electrical failure and still the wheels must rotate to bring people down?

Who sign off for this piece of crab?

As for the rescue, It is a stupid and risky rescue, I don't see any huge airbag below in case people slip and fall.

Welcome to Singapore, Disney land with death sentence.

This is just a stupid giant Ferris wheel for god sake.

Over Heat and caught Fire?
Did they undersized the cables?
Did they put in thermal protection?
Did they include in complete electrical failure and still the wheels must rotate to bring people down?

Who sign off for this piece of crab?

As for the rescue, It is a stupid and risky rescue, I don't see any huge airbag below in case people slip and fall.

Welcome to Singapore, Disney land with death sentence.

To save/cutting cost, they took away motor protector,thermal protection, NFB, ELCB only for one main, undersiezed motor, cables and also make in China one. Smaller Control panel with poor air ventilation. And also no alarm/smart detector before breakdown should have error or alarm before totally stop to prevent people stuck inside the flyer half way. That why is break down.

theblackhole

aiyah, our rescue was perfect! done by world class rescue team on world's tv. where can snap lah? we have world class cable and harness. no need for any airbag lah. we have the best team in the world. so don't worry. please don't stop travelling in this world flyer.it's the best in the world. see three stoppages and nothing serious had happend.this shows how superb we are! majulah singapura!!!

ahleebabasingaporethief

Singapore Flyer Breakdowns.....Maybe The Real Story Behind......

In this World class #1 country where got icon so easily breakdown? KNN sia sway the MIWs and the Ministars.

we are in international news

yahoo, we are famous.

the world biggest wheel

Just watched BBCs report of the incident.

Alot more drama then what was reported by the 154th. Had a hospitalization case, angry tourists, took 8 hours for the "rescue' :rolleyes:

Merry Xmas everyone. Maybe 2009 will be better??

Just watched BBCs report of the incident.

Alot more drama then what was reported by the 154th. Had a hospitalization case, angry tourists, took 8 hours for the "rescue' :rolleyes:

Merry Xmas everyone. Maybe 2009 will be better??

Like that look like MEdiacock and Shifty Times is doing thiers job 100%perfectly cover up all the bad news.

prince123456

i have been telling those moron .. singapore is a hot and humid country
. how the hell the engine can last without overheating ...

damn stupid sia... :oIo:

prince123456

Re: Singapore Flyer Breakdowns.....Maybe The Real Story Behind......

its overheat lar.. bro.. u see the place they put the wheel.. so hot and humid.. which engine can take it.. unless u spend a lot of cooling system. haiz... damn moron..

condom_loong

Now we know why it is called SG FLYER

1547541763-singapore-flyer-to-remain-closed-pending-investigations.jpg

capt.b2d48f81e520447fb19e85708a87db7e.singapore_flyer_evacuation_sin101.jpg

capt.2a30a994f89741ec89d002195a3e1427.singapore_flyer_evacuation_sin104.jpg

capt.cps.opc17.231208191717.photo01.photo.default-341x512.jpg

2008_12_23t133522_450x300_us_flyer_odd.jpg

r2031566141.jpg

r612352992.jpg

It is because Uniquely Singapore you get to be hoisted out on a rope in mid-air, swinging and dangling flying like a bird. Until you pee in your pants! :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin: Singapore FLYER INDEED! FLY INDEED!

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/cna/20081223/tap-149-singapore-flyer-grounded-halt-te-231650b.html

Singapore Flyer to remain closed pending investigations
Channel NewsAsia - Wednesday, December 24

SINGAPORE: The world’s largest observation wheel, the Singapore Flyer, will be closed until investigations into Tuesday’s incident are complete.
ADVERTISEMENT

A major power disruption left 173 passengers stranded for about six hours.

Police say operations will be allowed to resume once the ride is certified safe.

Trapped passengers were able to leave their capsules after the Singapore Flyer resumed rotating at about 11:11pm (1511 GMT) on Tuesday.

Earlier, a few passengers were lowered down to safety in a sling—like device from one of the observation capsules.

A 70—year—old woman complaining of dizziness, and a boy who vomited were taken to hospital, said Lieutenant Colonel N. Subhas, of the paramedic and fire service.

A spokeswoman for the attraction said about 173 people were onboard the wheel when a short circuit in one of the drive motors occurred at around 5:00pm.

At least five passengers were lifted through the hatch on top of each capsule and winched to the ground by a private rescue firm engaged by Singapore Flyer.

The Flyer’s technical team managed to isolate the problem and restored electricity, including the air—conditioning, to the capsules. The team also worked with the Singapore Civil Defence Force to resolve the problem.

Those stranded were provided with food and drink.

Mr Steven Yeo, General Manager of the Singapore Flyer, said: "At 4.50pm, we experienced an electrical problem on our drive unit number 1, north unit, which caused several of our electrical supplies to be cut. The defect has actually been isolated. We found it to be the drive unit itself. The rest of the wheel, the rest of the supply, is in full functioning order at the moment."

A passenger who was stuck in one of the capsules said there was a sudden jerk before the wheel stopped turning. An announcement a few minutes later said there was a technical error.

Madam Lim Boon Siang, a passenger stuck in one of the capsules, said: "About 4.30pm or 4.15pm, after we passed the maximum altitude, it suddenly jerked to a stop, and then for a good five to 10 minutes, we waited.

"We thought that this could be something normal. And then there was a message that came in that said that it has stopped temporary. Everybody was calm, but initially the air—con was switched off, so it was very hot due to the evening sun. They opened up the air ventilator, and the air—con is working now."

She said there were about 10 other people, including children, in her cabin.

The spokesperson said: "Their safety was never at risk while they were in the capsules. Every capsule is equipped with an intercom system which is linked to the control room — for passengers and the control room personnel to communicate.

"Our staff promptly informed passengers of the situation and reassured them that measures were being taken to fix the technical problem. There are also surveillance cameras installed in every capsule for the operations team to monitor what is going on in all capsules."

Singapore Flyer has reimbursed all affected passengers for their tickets and is making alternative transport arrangements for travellers who missed their flights to Europe and coaches to Malaysia.

A ride on the 165—metre tall wheel, about 42 storeys high, typically takes half an hour and each capsule can take up to 28 people.

Since the Flyer became operational in February this year, this is the third time it has encountered problems.

The last time a technical glitch occurred was just three weeks ago, on December 4. The wheel was stuck for nearly five hours due to extreme weather conditions and some 70 people were affected. In July, the Flyer stopped due to a minor fault in the braking system.

Unlike cramped, old—style Ferris wheel carriages that hang in the open air, the Singapore Flyer and other large observation wheels feature fixed "capsules".

The 28 sleek—looking capsules — about the size of a city bus — can hold up to 28 people, and passengers can walk around during the slowly—moving ride.

The Singapore Flyer, worth about S$240 million (US$171 million), was a private venture backed mainly by German investors and built by Mitsubishi Corp and Takenaka Corp of Japan.

Singapore—based Great Wheel Corp is also building wheels in Beijing and Berlin, which will edge out the Singapore Flyer as the world’s biggest when they begin turning in about two years, the chairman of Singapore Flyer, Florian Bollen, said before the attraction opened. — AFP/CNA/vm/de

jasti

Re: Over 100 people trapped in Singapore Flyer

Allen, the Australian visitor, said she saw workers in hard hats climbing the wheel while she and her family were trapped. Allen said she was "not sure" at the time whether they would emerge unharmed.

"It was great until it stopped, and when it stopped there was a lack of information," her husband said.

The Australian visitor is probably not aware that in Singapore, like any other third world country, many things are hush hush and top secret. It's a culture of the ruling elite to keep pertinent information from the public. It enables them to sweep a lot of dirt under the carpet and to fool the public with propaganda from a controlled press. Somehow, this culture has spread to the top management in many commercial entities too.

Einfield

To save/cutting cost, they took away motor protector,thermal protection, NFB, ELCB only for one main, undersiezed motor, cables and also make in China one. Smaller Control panel with poor air ventilation. And also no alarm/smart detector before breakdown should have error or alarm before totally stop to prevent people stuck inside the flyer half way. That why is break down.

This is build by Mitsubishi I think.
I can hardly believe they will make such fatal mistakes.

I don't know what's the story behind this, maybe like you say we made them cut budget until basic safety also take out of the design.

The designer and engineering team for this project better come out and justify their design, I wonder any sinkies involve.

methink

The Australian visitor is probably not aware that in Singapore, like any other third world country, many things are hush hush and top secret. It's a culture of the ruling elite to keep pertinent information from the public. It enables them to sweep a lot of dirt under the carpet and to fool the public with propaganda from a controlled press. Somehow, this culture has spread to the top management in many commercial entities too.

Top secret... YOU can be prosecuted under state laws!

Einfield

PAP is very good at controlling the media and try to spin and brain wash everyone, they rather do harm to the country in the long run then to risk loosing power and credibility and avoid talking about accountability for damaged that they have done to the country and their people.

Just like Madoff and his Ponzi scheme, everyone held high regards and respect for him as he produce what he promise, but eventually, the whole scam surface and 500B vaporized. Even PWC their auditors did not realize anything wrong for the pass 20 odd years.

So you think Madoff is bad?

LKY rule with his absolute power for 40 years, you all better get ready for heart attack when his shit hits the fan.

The designer and engineering team for this project better come out and justify their design, I wonder any sinkies involve.

Probably will never happen. Another one for the X files.

Collapse of Nichol Highway, MRT breakdowns, ....., did anyone come out & to clarify :confused:

Confirm some passenger on the flyer have make comment that some of them have pee/urine on that capsule and I think others capsule also have been pee.

Main contract is Mitsubishi and maybe subcon to local company with only Mistubishi Signature on the paper.

ahleebabasingaporethief

Actually they spend more than $200million on construction alone.

Where is the business model to make money ah?

its overheat lar.. bro.. u see the place they put the wheel.. so hot and humid.. which engine can take it.. unless u spend a lot of cooling system. haiz... damn moron..

Using electric motor not engine. Have cooling fan. What I suspect is cost cutting and all part are under spec like cable and motor.

Einfield

If what you say is true, LKY will get his legal dogs to sue Mitsubitshi, how much is Singapore's reputation worth, throw in loss in confidence and our their effort to promote Tourism.

Mitsubitshi have deep pockets, they can afford to pay.

Or Dirty Harry is afaid of his formal master in WW2?