• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore courts side with US bank to dismiss pregant employee

Allow ALL companies to FIRE female staff who get pregnant.

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
Not sure dr what u are arguing about...is it for discrimination against a pregnant woman or for unethical employment practices...if it's the former hard to prove as being pregnant is part of being a woman where does the sympathy line start and when does it stop...of course u can say our mothers wives sisters relatives who are females do get pregnant and what comes round goes around...if there is a natural disaster now and it requires quick feet obviously the pregnant womn maybe last and end up perishing and this is the law of nature...u cannot fault people for not sacrificing themselves for a pregnant woman...as for the latter its just the science of convenience...if I am the boss and doing performance appraisal and I compare the pregnant woman with a non pregnant one and the non pregnant one turns up for 20 days of work a month while the pregnant one turns up for 18 due to her condition and for mile stone checks...obviously I have the right to say the one who turns in more days have more working days to be appraised...and also not forgetting the staff male or otherwise who have to cover the pregnant one as and when she is not around and is seldom rewarded for...i am a son and a father and worked in multiple industries so all I can say is a pregnant woman has to protect herself as well and not expected society to hand her privileges on a silver plate..remember lastly pregnancy is a normal developmental milestone for a woman it is not a disease...if they can cope from young to having period they will need to cope with pregnancy likewise

Simple question to you.

Do you think becoming pregnant should become a valid reason for Sinkie employers to FIRE their staff?

There is no need to JUSTIFY. Just say yes or no.

It is election strategy. Which govt will tell u they anti birth? Look at what they do, not what they say. :cool:
Right now the only ones breeding are the trailer park trash..n it's an irony bcos dead fart was always against the m&ds n trailer park trash from breeding tat is why there was the stop at 2 and graduate mother's scheme. Now we have the wrong ones breeding. No benefits to society n as a matter of fact a menace to society. Look at the demands n garbage being spew forth from single moms n m&ds n the problems these ppl caused

Yeah what. All the hardworking good females all dont dare get pregnant scali get fired.

So of course end up only the trash not working are getting pregnant lah.

Stupid!

Simple question to you.

Do you think becoming pregnant should become a valid reason for Sinkie employers to FIRE their staff?

There is no need to JUSTIFY. Just say yes or no.
Ethically no but such mentality also gives rise to complacency...just like crossing the road at the zebra crossing and expecting NO drivers to hit you for whatever accidental or careless reasons heck even careless people run down their own family members in their own home...the pedestrian has to have good road awareness as well to observe for traffic..in this case the "unjustly" terminated pregnant woman should have similar work awareness...would your argument be the same if she is the top earner in the call centre of an about to be bankrupt company and was let go? Going back to your argument and since both of us are from the healthcare industry if a surgeon is pregnant and in her third trimester and for the sake of the welfare of the surgeon and the safety of the patients, she is taken out from many surgeries thus reducing her income, does she have a case to sue the hospital?

You can always be the first in canada to hire a pregnant woman as your staff say hire her during her third trimester, and pay for her maternity expenses as well as leave...would you do it?

Lastly lets revisit the law of nature...if a woman wants to get pregnant usually the first step is for her to be inseminated either naturally or artificially, which means she made her choice. once she is pregnant there are still many permutations she can use to cope one quit her job if she has enough savings and her partner can take care of her two switch to part time means having less presence and less salary from the company lastly ask for no pay leave...

Ethically no but such mentality also gives rise to complacency...just like crossing the road at the zebra crossing and expecting NO drivers to hit you for whatever accidental or careless reasons heck even careless people run down their own family members in their own home...the pedestrian has to have good road awareness as well to observe for traffic..in this case the "unjustly" terminated pregnant woman should have similar work awareness...would your argument be the same if she is the top earner in the call centre of an about to be bankrupt company and was let go? Going back to your argument and since both of us are from the healthcare industry if a surgeon is pregnant and in her third trimester and for the sake of the welfare of the surgeon and the safety of the patients, she is put on taken out from many surgeries thus reducing her income, does she have a case to sue the hospital?

You can always be the first in canada to hire a pregnant woman as your staff say hire her during her third trimester, and pay for her maternity expenses as well as leave...would you do it?

You are confounding the issue.

I did not ask for women to be hired during 3rd trimester. Or that female surgeons work during 3rd trimester.

I also did not say that companies should start hiring pregnant staff.

If you fire a pregnant woman in her first trimester she will not be able to get another job till after she delivers. 7 to 8 months.

Anyway you have said your answer is no. But your justification is for a yes.

So what are you? A hypocrite?

Jury is in. Sinkies dont support pregnant women who work.

Simple as that. It is a preference issue. Your country is like that. Good luck!

if sg leaders want (boy) babies for ns, they should just clone them in bukit gombak. no point asking sinkies to fuck in small spaces and poop babies after getting fired.
1570667509064.png

KNN actually the best solution to this is for company to not have maternity leaves but same time having no bias KNN they can choose to give birth on a unpaid leave while still keeping the job KNN also for hospitalization leave doc like you should not anyhow issue hospital leave to workers KNN

That is cruel to fire a employee because of pregnancy. Maybe a chinese manager in charge. He trying to Show how clever he is by saving company thousands in medical. I know a chinese managed company who did the same thing firing a employee who worked for over a decade just because she got married and got Pregnant. They sacked a very dedicated experience employee to save a few thousand, and ended up With a rookie which they had to train from the ground up. And the women boss proudly said she is a astute and shrewed manager to the other staffs.

Wat about discrimination against those who have reservist obligations? Why no one kpkb about tat but everyone kpkb about preggies getting the sacked ? N the reason they get sacked is their productivity drops tremendously during pregnancy n after pregnancy too. For NS it's just 2 to 3 weeks..so which is worst? And I have not even add in m&ds..m&ds will maximize sick n hospitalisation leaves n minahs will maximize both n include maternity leave as well...not surprising that minahs are having more kids due to maternity benefits..no wonder m&ds n preggies have employment problems.

KNN actually the best solution to this is for company to not have maternity leaves but same time having no bias KNN they can choose to give birth on a unpaid leave while still keeping the job KNN also for hospitalization leave doc like you should not anyhow issue hospital leave to workers KNN
How long u expect an organisation to keep a position reserved for someone who does not turn up for work? U think the employee is Ho Jinx?

Wat about discrimination against those who have reservist obligations? Why no one kpkb about tat but everyone kpkb about preggies getting the sacked ? N the reason they get sacked is their productivity drops tremendously during pregnancy n after pregnancy too. For NS it's just 2 to 3 weeks..so which is worst? And I have not even add in m&ds..m&ds will maximize sick n hospitalisation leaves n minahs will maximize both n include maternity leave as well...not surprising that minahs are having more kids due to maternity benefits..no wonder m&ds n preggies have employment problems.
Eh only I one person kpkb about preggie sacked lah.

All the sinkies say good to sack preggie. You see you really have no insight at all.

You are in good company.

Eh only I one person kpkb about preggie sacked lah.

All the sinkies say good to sack preggie. You see you really have no insight at all.

You are in good company.
So u r a preggie? Or bcos u upset u lost half yr income cos yr wife got sacked?

To be fair to employers....employees must have worked there for at least 1 year to enjoy any maternity leave privileges.

Last time my company got many m&ds...every year maternity leave. I think for them they think it is cheaper by the dozen.

Eh people go vote on the poll lah. Otherwise people think all sinkies support preggie.

Put in those yes votes. Let everyone know they are in good company.

And time to tell MP to repeal maternity leave! And baby bonus what shit?

To be fair to employers....employees must have worked there for at least 1 year to enjoy any maternity leave privileges.

Last time my company got many m&ds...every year maternity leave. I think for them they think it is cheaper by the dozen.
Tat means work 1 year, get 1 year benefits...good hor

We have to listen to both sides of the story.

As an employer, frankly I would prefer to have less disruption in my work flow. Occasional NS obligation (1~3 weeks) is tolerable. Imagine 3 ~ 4 months. If the employee have been serving the company diligently and for a couple of years I can understand her situation. I came across some employee cut short their leaves as they knew their company is short handed, some were willing to work from home. During their absent they still keep in contact with their staff at work.

On the other hand some of them after joining the company, few months later (usually after confirmation) say they are pregnant. Do you think it is fair for the company to bear the burden of finding a replacement (which is not easy to find). In the first place you haven't even contribute anything yet still make full use of the system.

If you are trying very hard for a kid all along and it came unexpectedly, you should discuss with your management and volunteer to resign if there is too much hassle. And when you jolly well know that when you are in a new job, there are many ways to prevent pregnancy. Condom for a start.

I am sure in the above case, the employee hides her pregnancy and try to beat the system. That is why the verdict was against her.

IQ and Race

See another one dont support maternity leave.

Only just me different lah.

Sinkies condemn pregnant women working! Ho say!