• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore appointed 2 idiots to lead the task force.

Lawrence gives heartfelt thanks. :notworthy::inlove::tongue:

Lawrence Wong

·
Heartfelt thanks to our unsung heroes at SMRT and Land Transport Authority. You have all worked so hard behind the scenes to safely restore train services, and to assist commuters on their journeys. We are grateful for your dedication and service.
(
1f4f8.png
: [1] The Straits Times Photo by Jason Quah, [2] FB / Land Transport Authority, [3 and 4] FB / SMRT)

461959009_1083432889808856_2345206183276565144_n.jpg

Lawrence will continue to uphold the highest standards of integrity and propriety. :cool:

Lawrence Wong

1h ·
Mr Iswaran has been sentenced to 12 months of imprisonment.
Our system of government and politics must always stay clean and free from corruption.
My team and I will continue to uphold the highest standards of integrity and propriety. The integrity of the Singapore system and tone of our society depends on the senior political leadership remaining clean and incorruptible, and unflinching in acting against corruption wherever it is discovered.
Read my statement here:
Statement by PM Lawrence Wong on the Sentencing of Mr S Iswaran

PMO.GOV.SG
Statement by PM Lawrence Wong on the Sentencing of Mr S Iswaran
Statement by Prime Minister and Minister for Finance Lawrence Wong on the sentencing of Mr S Iswaran on 3 October 2024.

Lawrence wishes all children Happy Children’s Day. :smile:

Lawrence Wong

11h ·
Happy Children’s Day to all our little ones! May your days be filled with laughter, learning, and endless joy.
(Video clip from my recent visit to Woodlands Primary School)

Lawrence had a wonderful visit. :smile:

Lawrence Wong

·
Had a wonderful visit to Ang Mo Kio GRC, Kebun Baru & Yio Chu Kang SMCs Community this morning! I stopped by their Sports and Wellness Carnival, and also spent time at the nearby Hougang Village. It was heartening to see many seniors keeping healthy and staying engaged with one another. These close bonds are what make our neighbourhoods thrive and Singapore the home we cherish!
(
1f4f8.png
: MDDI Photos by [1, 2, 4 & 5] Chwee [3] Fyrol)

Lawrence is committed to creating a more family-friendly environment. :wink:

Lawrence Wong

is with Josephine Teo and
2 others
.​

·
Families are the bedrock of our society. That’s why PCF organises a Family Day every year! It was heartwarming to see many parents and their little ones spending quality time together.
I’m proud to have had a long association with PAP Community Foundation - as a PCF kindergarten alumni and, after entering politics, as PCF Exco Chair and Council Chair. I am happy to continue supporting it in my current capacity as prime minister.
The Government is committed to creating a more family-friendly environment. We will continue to work with all stakeholders and partners to build a brighter future for all families in Singapore!
Josephine Teo
Sun Xueling
Low Yen Ling
(
1f4f8.png
: MDDI Photos by Terence Tan)

Lawrence is dedicated to improving mental health through the National Mental Health and Well-being Strategy. :thumbsup:

Lawrence Wong

·
The World Mental Health Day, on 10 Oct, reminds us that mental health is just as important as physical health. While there used to be considerable stigma attached to mental health conditions, attitudes are changing. There is now greater awareness of mental health and well-being.
The Government is dedicated to improving mental health through the National Mental Health and Well-being Strategy. Employers can do their part too by supporting the mental health of their staff. This is a collective effort — let us work together to foster a more caring and inclusive environment for all.
#WorldMentalHealthDay #MentalWellness

Lawrence wants to build a society where our children grow up alongside friends of every race and religion, and where kindness and tolerance prevail. :wink:

Lawrence Wong

updated his cover photo.​

·
Deepavali, the festival of lights, is less than a month away and the lights are up at Little India! In a world where conflicts and tensions are sadly on the rise, the spirit of Deepavali calls us to renew our commitment to empathy, understanding, and unity.
As Singaporeans, let’s hold firm to these values and build a society where our children grow up alongside friends of every race and religion, and where kindness and tolerance prevail.
(
1f4f8.png
: MDDI Photo by Terence Tan)

462219346_1086831526135659_5040039973825049811_n.jpg

Lawrence had a good meeting. :wink:

Lawrence Wong

5h ·
Singapore and the Republic of Korea have much in common. We were both “Asian Tigers” that successfully transformed our economies. Korea of course has done so on a much bigger scale, with its innovative companies and trendsetting culture.
Our shared experience makes us natural partners. Our bilateral cooperation is excellent, anchored by strong economic links and people-to-people ties. We also have a common interest in upholding free trade and the rules-based international order.
I had a good meeting with President Yoon Suk Yeol (윤석열) and hosted him for lunch. We agreed to work towards upgrading and strengthening bilateral relations to our Strategic Partnership in 2025, when we mark the 50th anniversary of diplomatic ties.
As a testament to our growing cooperation, we witnessed five MOUs and agreements in areas like supply chains, food safety, start-ups, and technological cooperation; and the signing of an extradition treaty.
I wish President Yoon a pleasant stay in Singapore and I look forward to working with him to take our relations to greater heights
1f1f8_1f1ec.png
1f1f0_1f1f7.png

(
1f4f8.png
: MDDI Photos by [1] Terence Tan, [2] Lim Sin Thai, [3 & 4] Fyrol)

Lawrence sends his deepest condolences. :frown:

Lawrence Wong

·
I'm currently in Laos for the ASEAN Summit and just heard the sad news of the passing of Dr Lee Wei Ling.
I did not know Dr Lee personally. But I do know that she devoted her life to medicine, as a paediatric neurologist, epileptologist, and head of Tan Tock Seng Hospital’s neuroscience department. She helped to establish the National Neuroscience Institute and later served as its Director for 11 years. Throughout her career, she was unswerving in her focus on patient welfare and medical ethics.
Later in her career Dr Lee wrote newspaper columns, where she shared her stoic outlook in life, as well as stories of Mr Lee Kuan Yew. Many readers would have come away enriched by her strong convictions and incisive observations.
My deepest condolences to her family.

Lawrence looks forward to strengthening relations and meeting friends from ASEAN and beyond. :cool:

Lawrence Wong

·
Arrived in Vientiane, Laos late last night. I’m here to attend the 44th and 45th ASEAN Summits and Related Summits. It will be a busy couple of days ahead, but I look forward to strengthening relations and meeting friends from ASEAN and beyond!
(
1f4f8.png
: MDDI Photo by Betty Chua)

462418978_1088162079335937_7166620073869468064_n.jpg

Lawrence looks forward to meeting more counterparts from ASEAN and beyond. :cool:

Lawrence Wong

·
The ASEAN Summits kicked off today. It’s a valuable opportunity for leaders to come together to discuss how ASEAN should respond to the evolving geopolitical environment, and accelerate regional cooperation and integration.
Issues like sustainability, digitalisation, energy transformation, and the green economy were on today’s agenda. There were meetings with parliamentarians and youths from ASEAN, and I was glad to have Deputy Speaker of Parliament Ms Jessica Tan and two youth leaders (Druga and Adriale) representing Singapore.
Another busy day awaits tomorrow. I look forward to meeting more counterparts from ASEAN and beyond!
1f4f8.png
: [1 and 3] MDDI Photos by Betty Chua, [2] Photo by ASEAN

462513127_1088461445972667_6745186158924478717_n.jpg

Lawrence had productive discussions. :cool:

Lawrence Wong

·
At yesterday’s Summits, I had productive discussions on the side with Malaysia’s PM Anwar Ibrahim, Vietnam’s PM Pham Minh Chinh, and Thailand's PM Ing Shinawatra.
PM Anwar and I had a fruitful discussion on a wide range of issues. We shared our way forward, fostering a positive environment for cooperation while addressing long-standing issues. There is much our two countries can achieve together and Singapore stands ready to support Malaysia during its ASEAN Chairmanship in 2025. I look forward to meeting him again at the Singapore-Malaysia Leaders’ Retreat later this year.
I had our first Annual Leaders' Meeting with PM Pham Minh Chinh. The upcoming upgrade of Singapore-Vietnam relations to a Comprehensive Strategic Partnership will mark a new milestone in our cooperation.
It was my first in-person meeting with PM Paetongtarn following our phone call last month. Singapore and Thailand are old friends, and I look forward to further strengthening our bilateral ties, including in the digital economy, finance, and renewable energy.
Looking forward to continued progress for the benefit of our peoples!
(
1f4f8.png
: MDDI Photos by Betty Chua)

Lawrence sends his deepest condolences. :frown:

Lawrence Wong

·
Mr Ratan Tata had a long association with Singapore. He was a strong advocate of our country, and made valuable contributions to our economic transformation. He expanded and diversified Tata's operations in Singapore, from steel manufacturing to information technology. His investments and business acumen helped Singapore tap into higher value-added growth areas. He was always generous with his time and advice to Singapore institutions, serving on the advisory boards of EDB, MAS, and Temasek. For his contributions, he was conferred an honorary Singapore citizenship in 2008.
He was a true friend of Singapore, and we will cherish his contributions and legacy. My deepest condolences to his family and loved ones.

Lawrence hopes for continued peace, stability and prosperity of the region. :thumbsup:

Lawrence Wong

·
The ASEAN Summits are not just for ASEAN members but also involve meetings with our external partners - eg China, Japan, South Korea, India, Australia and the US. We meet with each of their leaders individually, and also as a grouping of ASEAN Plus Three (APT) and the East Asia Summit.
These engagements affirm the importance of “ASEAN Centrality”. It’s not that ASEAN controls everything, but it means that ASEAN provides a key platform for regional discussions on many issues. Our perspectives may be diverse or even divergent. But it’s important for all countries to have a say and to understand each other’s perspectives. This builds trust and facilitates cooperation on areas of common interest.
Through tangible cooperation including in areas like the economy, digital, sustainability, security and other issues, ASEAN is able to shape a more open and inclusive Asia Pacific. This is crucial for ensuring continued peace, stability and prosperity of the region.
(
1f4f8.png
May be an image of 6 people

Lawrence was happy to meet PRC Premier Li Qiang. :smile:

Lawrence Wong

·
I last met PRC Premier Li Qiang in Dec 2023 and was happy to meet with him again, in my new capacity, on the sidelines of the Summits.
Singapore and China share a longstanding and deep relationship. Our bilateral ties are in excellent shape. We had a good exchange on ways to further enhance cooperation through our upgraded “All-Round High-Quality Future-Oriented Partnership”.
This year marks the 30th anniversary of the Suzhou Industrial Park, and next year, we will celebrate 35 years of diplomatic relations. The Singapore-China Joint Council for Bilateral Cooperation (JCBC) is our apex bilateral platform to review and set the overall direction for our cooperation. DPM Gan Kim Yong has taken over from me as the Singaporean co-Chair of the JCBC and will be hosting Vice Premier Ding Xuexiang for the next JCBC later this year.
I look forward to stronger ties with China, for the benefit of both our peoples.
(
1f4f8.png
May be an image of 8 people and text

Lawrence had the pleasure of hosting the Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong of Malaysia and Sultan of Perak, His Royal Highness Sultan Nazrin Shah to lunch at the Istana. :smile:

Lawrence Wong

42m ·
I had the pleasure of hosting the Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong of Malaysia and Sultan of Perak, His Royal Highness Sultan Nazrin Shah to lunch at the Istana today. It was good to catch up with him again since the last time we met in 2022.
We had a wide-ranging discussion on global developments, ASEAN’s future, and Singapore-Malaysia ties.
As close neighbours, Singapore and Malaysia, including Perak, share close and enduring people-to-people ties. In fact, my late father spent his early years in Ipoh before moving to Singapore. I look forward to working with His Royal Highness to further strengthen the bonds between our two peoples.
(
1f4f8.png

Lawrence explains NTUC Enterprise's proposed sale of Income shares to Allianz. :wink:

Lawrence Wong

·
In the course of reviewing NTUC Enterprise's proposed sale of Income shares to Allianz, we came across additional information that gave us cause for concern. The Government has therefore decided not to approve the transaction. We have tabled an amendment to the Insurance Act in Parliament today to allow MAS to withhold approval of the sale on the grounds of public interest when it involves a current or former cooperative insurer.
To be clear, the Government supports having a strong partner for Income, so as to strengthen its capital base and market position. We have no concerns over Allianz's standing or suitability to acquire a majority stake in Income. Allianz is a major global insurance company and asset manager that can bring financial strength and expertise to Income.
Our concerns are over the structure and terms of this specific transaction, particularly in the context of assurances which Income had given to MCCY when the former was corporatised in 2022. Though this transaction will not proceed, we remain open to a new deal that Income may pursue with Allianz or other partners, so long as our concerns are fully addressed.
Minister Edwin Tong has delivered a Ministerial Statement in Parliament to explain the government’s position. You can refer to it for more details (https://go.gov.sg/parl14oct)
May be an image of 3 people and text

Lawrence thanks athletes, their families, and team officials. :wink:

Lawrence Wong

Yesterday at 06:32 ·
We paid tribute to our Olympians and Paralympians today in Parliament. They have given their best on the world stage, pushing beyond limits and inspiring us all.
The government will continue to invest in sporting excellence and support our athletes to fulfill their aspirations.
To our athletes, their families, and team officials, thank you for representing Singapore with passion and grit. We salute you.
1f1f8_1f1ec.png
1f4aa.png
Team Singapore

Lawrence will continue to ensure that BTO flats remain affordable. :wink:

Lawrence Wong

·
Housing & Development Board has just launched its October 2024 sales exercise. This is the first batch of flats to be sold under the new Prime, Plus, and Standard framework. That means flats located in more attractive areas (i.e the Plus and Prime flats) will come with additional subsidies (and also tighter resale conditions) to keep them within reach for more Singaporeans.
We will continue to ensure that BTO flats remain affordable, and cater to the diverse needs and budgets of all Singaporeans.
1f4f8.png
: Artist Impression of the Merpati Alcove BTO by HDB

463440793_1093417945477017_5128037427185606955_n.jpg

Lawrence was happy to officiate the groundbreaking of the PSA Singapore Supply Chain Hub. :smile:

Lawrence Wong

is with Chee Hong Tat 徐芳达.​

1h ·
The Tuas Port is set to become Singapore’s largest and most advanced container terminal, marking another milestone in the Singapore Story.
Today, I’m happy to officiate the groundbreaking of the PSA Singapore Supply Chain Hub— another key step in developing our Tuas Port. When fully completed, Tuas Port will handle 65 million TEUs annually— nearly double our current port capacity.
Behind this ambitious project is the hard work of our people, who are innovating and contributing in key ways towards this vision.
We are shaping a future where Singapore stays competitive as a thriving hub. I’m confident that PSA will not only transform the logistics landscape, but also inspire the next generation of maritime talent!
(
1f4f8.png