• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Service staff who only speak Mandarin

chupacabra

these trash r no longer cheaper than the locals already.

not too concerned about viruses. but i m worried about unqualified FTrash coming in and causing immediate problems socially. more crimes (serious and fatal), prostitution and the pressure on public services like housing and transportation. but then again, our gahmen screw us more with the 2 casinos... more crimes, more undesirable and professional gangs, more gambling problems, more family breakups, suicides, prostitution, drugs and STD epidemic. this peesai will become like gotham... and batman does not exist. damn, the more i think about it, the more i must try harder to convince my parents to migrate liao!!!

You are right on the money. There is no turning back in peesai. Pappies fuck it up big time. No Obama gonna come to our rescue. But your immigration plan is your(and mine ) salvation. Be free my friend.

myo539

it's an utter shame for chinese singaporeans not able to speak mandarin. it's a bloody shame.... don't blame these mandarin speaking foreign workers... no shame.

Alamak I feel so shameful - who says "no shame".

I learnt English, Mandarin and Malay in school - but not of Prime Minister materials - because I couldn't master them all.

I heard Mina proudly telling the young PR salesgirl at the service station : We Singaporeans speak English; you must learn to speak Singlish - I mean English - if you want to work here. She was obviously angry and embarrassed (shame, that is) when I kek kian and translated the mandarin for her. Cina Cina mahu cakap Melayu!

Another great shame is for non-Malays not to understand or speak their National Language other than mari kita. A is for anjing, B is for buku and C is Coo-coo-cheow..

angry_one

I cannot believe the outward racism and bigotry exhibited through some of the comments here? You actually want sinkeepore to be a chinese-speaking country and make minorities adapt to it?? What next, sinkeepore become a province of china??

English is the only thing united all races here and is the de facto first language. I don't need to give any link to prove it. Look at our schools and all manner of communications. Are they not using english??

Sinkeepore is not, and should not be, a chinese country - and that's from me a chinese. It must be a multi-racial country where all races are treated equally.

Nothing beats the Chinese when it comes to hilarious signs.... What a bunch of twits! :p

Sideswipe: Cherish the cloth grass

4:00AM Monday Dec 01, 2008
By Ana Samways

ss011.jpg

Sign in a hotel bathroom in China: Could "Cherish the cloth grass" mean "Please look after your towel"?

Sideswipe

I cannot believe the outward racism and bigotry exhibited through some of the comments here? You actually want sinkeepore to be a chinese-speaking country and make minorities adapt to it?? What next, sinkeepore become a province of china??

It's a difference of opinion. I believe we are Chinese by blood and Singapore with 75% chinese should be made a Chinese country in 1965 and not a English speaking country. You can't betray your roots. A Englishman is always a Englishman, A German is a German and a French is a French.

multi-racial. I don't know but 75% of a single race is a clear majority in a country. If 75% + 25% is your definition of multi-racial then China with 92% Han 1.14 billion + 8% 56 ethnic minorities groups, total 160 million is also a multi-racial country.

theblackhole

so simple.no need to argue or debate.

u can't speak mandarin.that's your own funeral.

selamat jalan lah!!!

Wayne Piew

Those who stay in countries should learn to the speak the language of the natives. In the case of S'pore, that is mandarin.

KKC007

you should have taken the time and the effort to learn mandarin. you don't understand mandarin your business. obviously you don't study well in our schools. all our kids speak mandarin, including some non-chinese students.

it's an utter shame for chinese singaporeans not able to speak mandarin. it's a bloody shame. don't blame these mandarin speaking foreign workers. blame your own stupid brains and laziness. go and pick up mandarin. not to do so is to imperil yourself to future suffering. china is a economic giant.singapore is nothing - one small fart. go and learn mandarin otherwise you'll be left behind as the world marches forward.

blame yourself. stop blaming the mandarin speaking workers. no shame.
Err ... wasn't there a time when chinese learn Malay and English in school? Was it by choice?

KKC007

It's a difference of opinion. I believe we are Chinese by blood and Singapore with 75% chinese should be made a Chinese country in 1965 and not a English speaking country. You can't betray your roots. A Englishman is always a Englishman, A German is a German and a French is a French.

multi-racial. I don't know but 75% of a single race is a clear majority in a country. If 75% + 25% is your definition of multi-racial then China with 92% Han 1.14 billion + 8% 56 ethnic minorities groups, total 160 million is also a multi-racial country.
How many second/third generation americans of german/italian/irish etc speak their native tongues?

On a related note, you'll be surprised how many Canadians do not speak English/French. I was. Go figure.

theblackhole

no big deal lah...speak or no speak mandarin...just use your hands and your fingers...if worse comes to worse use your body language lor!!!

what big deal u want foreign workers here to speak inglish!!! what the big deal!!! you go to germany and france, those angmohs don't even give a hoot to your farting inglish!!!

you can't speak french or german, you get bread with shit from them...know or not...you know not death!!! kampah!!!

Sideswipe

How many second/third generation americans of german/italian/irish etc speak their native tongues?

On a related note, you'll be surprised how many Canadians do not speak English/French. I was. Go figure.

As you say, they are already Americans but I bet if back then those german/italian/irish migrants are stuck somewhere in a island in any part of the world and they form 75% of a single race. Their national language would be German/Italian/Irish.

BTW, I'm surprised - you mentioned that a lot of Caucasian Canadians don't speak English/French?

chupacabra

How many second/third generation Americans of german/italian/irish etc speak their native tongues?

Canada's immigration law is stupid. Let the non-English speaking but educated easily obtain PR. Priority should be given to people who can integrate easily because speaking good English can land you good paying jobs in Canada. Employers willing to train you if you can communicate with their team The oil and gas region of Alberta is booming and crying out for workers and yet these migrants choose to be waiters at the Mandarins restaurant.

What happens is these non- English people tend to congregate among themselves. They might land in Nova Scotia or Winnipeg but end up either in Toronto and Vancouver to be close to their community. Hence the unevenly spread out population.

I was working in Toronto a few years back and was surprised when I was told by my boss that a lot of job applicants cannot speak a single word of English. Some of them have been in Canada for more than 10 years and they would let their school going children to ask questions about the job over the phone for them.

That was the first time in my life that I ever heard a child applying for a job for his parent!

KKC007

As you say, they are already Americans but I bet if back then those german/italian/irish migrants are stuck somewhere in a island in any part of the world and they form 75% of a single race. Their national language would be German/Italian/Irish.

BTW, I'm surprised - you mentioned that a lot of Caucasian Canadians don't speak English/French?
That's my point. They are americans. Just like Singaporeans are Singaporeans, and not Chinese.

The non English/French speaking Canandians are mainly first generation migrants. I have received letters (alerts/warnings) from the local police printed in English, Mandarin, Korean and Punjabi!

Sideswipe

That's my point. They are americans. Just like Singaporeans are Singaporeans, and not Chinese.

The non English/French speaking Canandians are mainly first generation migrants. I have received letters (alerts/warnings) from the local police printed in English, Mandarin, Korean and Punjabi!

I got your point but you missed my point.

Singapore are founded in 1965. We with 75% Chinese had a chance and should form a Chinese state back then. The migrants or minorities should try to get assimilated into the new local culture or face social problems that u mentioned with the Canadians.

I got your point but you missed my point.

Singapore are founded in 1965. We with 75% Chinese had a chance and should form a Chinese state back then. The migrants or minorities should try to get assimilated into the new local culture or face social problems that u mentioned with the Canadians.

Chinese state in the middle of a Muslim sea???? :eek: That's a good one. :biggrin:

Sinkieland was so terrified of its neighbours it made Malay the National Language.

BTW back in 1965, the Chinese WERE the migrants. :p They have now become Sinkies after 40 odd years.

shOUTloud

you should have taken the time and the effort to learn mandarin. you don't understand mandarin your business. obviously you don't study well in our schools. all our kids speak mandarin, including some non-chinese students.

it's an utter shame for chinese singaporeans not able to speak mandarin. it's a bloody shame. don't blame these mandarin speaking foreign workers. blame your own stupid brains and laziness. go and pick up mandarin. not to do so is to imperil yourself to future suffering. china is a economic giant.singapore is nothing - one small fart. go and learn mandarin otherwise you'll be left behind as the world marches forward.

blame yourself. stop blaming the mandarin speaking workers. no shame.

uncle, this is Singapore not China. Much as I can converse with them, I dun see why they cannot learn simple English to speak with our Malay and Indian citizens.

the other day, I was asking for "Coke" and the PRC girl looked at me blankly. Then I said "ke le" (Coke in Chinese), she still looked blankly. Then my wife say "shui", water and she went for Pepsi. wah lau eh

theblackhole

aiyah, give them time...these mandarin speaking foreign workers will speak queen's english - much much better than the singlish we're farting around...and they're so pretty compared to our local products!!! just pick on any of these china mei mei, they beat our locals hands down...no need to say more if they dress down!!!

the other day, I was asking for "Coke" and the PRC girl looked at me blankly. Then I said "ke le" (Coke in Chinese), she still looked blankly. Then my wife say "shui", water and she went for Pepsi. wah lau eh

PRC girls should stick to whoring. It comes to them naturally. :p

Wave some money in front of them and their legs spread automatically as a result of a reflex action built into their genetic code.

No spoken language is necessary. $$$ does all the talking! :biggrin:

Sideswipe

Chinese state in the middle of a Muslim sea???? :eek: That's a good one. :biggrin:
Sinkieland was so terrified of its neighbours it made Malay the National Language.
BTW back in 1965, the Chinese WERE the migrants. :p They have now become Sinkies after 40 odd years.

u believe every word that LKY say??
In 1965, we chinese have spilt from Malaya, that small island is ours, chinese form 75%.

till now, peoples still believe that Malaysia and Indonesia are going to invade us in the 1960s if we declared ourselves a ethical chinese country.
English was made the administration language not for country, racial harmony, economic reasons. It's for political reasons to ensure the continued political dominance of PAP.