• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Service staff who only speak Mandarin

char_jig_kar

All in all, come up with legislation to curb mandarin speaking. 'cause mandarin is dirt, from pov of many of the chinese sporeans. Talking down on chinese language is okay. Its dirt. Nevermind 75% of the population here are Chinese.

But god forbid, don't ever talk bad about ang moh English language here in this country. You will touch their cultural, their root nerve. 'cause many of them here think their roots are from the Western countries.

Just declare singapore is a ang moh country. Scrape off all asian languages. Okay? Like that no confusion liao. No more western wannabe. 'cause WE ARE WESTERNERS! WE DON'T SPEAK ASIAN LANGUAGE! OKAY?? JUST DECLARE TO THE WORLD: WE ARE ANG MOH! NO MORE CONFUSION AND BICKERING OVER LANGUAGES HERE IN THIS ISLAND.

What's wrong with being bilingual for a start, then becoming trilingual or even multilingual as we grow and go along?

Yes, the blogger is right. We are not part of China. BUT ARE WE PART OF AMERICA, OR GREAT BRITAIN?? USING CHINESE LANGUAGE MEANS WE ARE PART OF CHINA, GOING BY THAT LOGIC, ARE WE NOW PART OF AMERICA, CANADA OR GREAT BRITAIN?

Neither are America and Canada part of England. Why then are they speaking English?

Just come up with a legislation, its illegal for chinese to speak mandarin here in this country. Its against racial harmony. Minimum 1 week jail. Problem solve. Chinese speak Mandarin to other races such as Malay, or Indian? Thats lagi outrageous. Minimum 3 weeks jail.

Do you also think that Malay speaking Malay to Chinese should be jailed?

Come up with a legislation, anything gotta do with Chinese culture and language here in this country, is against racial, religious or cultural harmony. Like that happy?

What about anything to do with Malay or Indian culture? Jail also?

char_jig_kar

to many of the forumers here, chinese speaking mandarin even among themselves, its against racial harmony.

as for malay speaking malay, or indian speaking indian among themselves thats authentic. no jail for them.

char_jig_kar

Neither are America and Canada part of England. Why then are they speaking English?

How many of them are from England? If most of them are from Germany, do u think America or Canada will be using English as their language?

Anything to do with Malay or Indian culture is authentic. no jail for them.

Sporean Chinese meddling with chinese language and culture is against racial harmony.

What makes you say that? Why isn't Chinese language or culture "authentic" and why is it against "racial harmony"? Singapore has Speak Mandarin campaigns 华人讲华语 isn't it?

char_jig_kar

What makes you say that? Why isn't Chinese language or culture "authentic" and why is it against "racial harmony"? Singapore has Speak Mandarin campaigns 华人讲华语 isn't it?

Don't ask me. Ask those Chinese Sporean why they think that way.

As for the speak mandarin campaign, its just paying lip service. Its not for real.

If you look at the TV media, there're 2 Chinese channels (Channel 8 and U Channel), 2 English channels (Channel 5 and CNA), 1 Malay channel (Suria) and 1 Indian channel (Vasantham). Looks OK, isn't it?

If you look at the press media, there're 4 English dailies (Straits Times, Business Times, New Paper and Today), 3 Chinese dailies (Zhao Bao, Wan Bao and Xin Ming), 1 Malay daily (Berita Harian) and 1 Tamil daily (Tamil Murasu). Looks OK, isn't it?

The question for you, I think is, why should Chinese (and others) watch English channels and read English papers? My question is, why not?

char_jig_kar

If you look at the TV media, there're 2 Chinese channels (Channel 8 and U Channel), 2 English channels (Channel 5 and CNA), 1 Malay channel (Suria) and 1 Indian channel (Vasantham). Looks OK, isn't it?

If you look at the press media, there're 4 English dailies (Straits Times, Business Times, New Paper and Today), 3 Chinese dailies (Zhao Bao, Wan Bao and Xin Ming), 1 Malay daily (Berita Harian) and 1 Tamil daily (Tamil Murasu). Looks OK, isn't it?

The question for you, I think is, why should Chinese (and others) watch English channels and read English papers? My question is, why not?

Doesn't matter those chinese tv media and print media we have here in this country. Crux of the matter is many of the Sporean Chinese don't respect Chinese language. Period.

I have no problem with Chinese Sporeans reading, watching, listening to English media. The problem I have is many of the Sporean Chinese attitude toward Chinese language and culture. They look down on it.

Doesn't matter those chinese tv media and print media we have here in this country. Crux of the matter is many of the Sporean Chinese don't respect Chinese language. Period.

I have no problem with Chinese Sporeans reading, watching, listening to English media. The problem I have is many of the Sporean Chinese attitude toward Chinese language and culture. They look down on it.

I'm Chinese and not only do I respect the Chinese language, but I hold it in awesome esteem. As to other Chinese, I don't know and anyway I have no authority over their minds and preferences.

The minorities like the Malays and the Indians have to adapt to Mandarin speaking Chinese in Singapore. Its always good to learn one more language, just like I have learned
Malay in School. I learned Thai because I always go to Thailand for the sake of communicating. Let me give you an example.
I was in Paris last week for the 1st time. Buy a Metro (MRT) one way ticket was a
nighmare to me. Everything was French. I just could not figure out. I looked for a French man to help me buy from the machine. The second problem was the exit. I just could not find the way out. Unlike Singapore a blindman could figure out easily. I looked for signs but in French. Metro in Paris and Tube in London are tunnels. Those who been there will understand me. So what would I do. I waited for the next train
to come and follow the commuters who rushed their way out and only to find out that
he word SORTIE is the exit for French.
Do I have to complain. No, I only have to adapt to myself. Just like the famous saying
" Do as the Romans do"

TeeKee

speak for yourself lah, the Chinese characters are much prettier and beautiful than the English alphabets.

你说,这些中文字漂不漂亮啊!

maybe you are too lazy to remember all the characters and you failed badly during your school times? thereby generating your disgust against anything chinese? you will always look like a Chinese whenever you go...you cannot escape your heritage....don't believe try to visit countries like OZ or US.

Sideswipe

you will always look like a Chinese whenever you go...you cannot escape your heritage....don't believe try to visit countries like OZ or US.

right, they will think of you as a chinaman then japanese. To the caucasians, all the yellow skin peoples ( chinese, japan, korea ) are chinese.
Many Singaporeans lack of respect for the Chinese language is because of our govt neglecting and destruction of chinese cultures over the decades.
IMO, we should have dual language policy - Chinese and English in Singapore ( Govt documents, Road Signs all in both languages )

and English as a national languages in a non-caucasian country is nothing special. Many past British African colonies all had English as their official language after independence.

char_jig_kar

speak for yourself lah, the chinese characters are much prettier and beautiful than the english alphabets.

你说,这些中文字漂不漂亮啊!

maybe you are too lazy to remember all the characters and you failed badly during your school times? Thereby generating your disgust against anything chinese? You will always look like a chinese whenever you go...you cannot escape your heritage....don't believe try to visit countries like oz or us.

您误会了. 我并没看不起华文.

char_jig_kar

I'm Chinese and not only do I respect the Chinese language, but I hold it in awesome esteem. As to other Chinese, I don't know and anyway I have no authority over their minds and preferences.

who are u kidding? u are a chinese sporean and u don't know chinese sporean attitude towards the language?

TeeKee

actually to be more accurate, should be 华人讲蛇字!