• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Service staff who only speak Mandarin

nitecrawllerr

aiyah, give them time...these mandarin speaking foreign workers will speak queen's english -

You think so. I bet after 2 to 3yrs of sloting here, after earning enough of sinkie dollars, they would say chai chien to sinkie land. :rolleyes:

In govt sector, everything is conducted in English. Our minorities have no problem in communication at all.

Just wondering are SAP school a Chinese school?

Anyway just the other day, was at ICA bldg, collecting my passport. The phone rang, a Chinese staff picked up the phone, saying "Wei, Ning hou"? :rolleyes:

motuiti

Somebody tell me, amidst all this issue of non-English speaking service staff, where have Singaporeans all gone? Why are they not working in retail/services? Or have there suddenly been so much many job vacancies that there are not enough Singaporeans to fill the positions, hence the influx of PRC's?

The issue should be "Why are all the retail/service staff PRC's and not singaporeans?"

chupacabra

Somebody tell me, amidst all this issue of non-English speaking service staff, where have Singaporeans all gone? Why are they not working in retail/services? Or have there suddenly been so much many job vacancies that there are not enough Singaporeans to fill the positions, hence the influx of PRC's?

The issue should be "Why are all the retail/service staff PRC's and not singaporeans?"

Its all about greed. Cheap workers with 1-2 days off. Which sinkee you know wants that?

Employers give excuse that sinkees complain alot and are lazy. Well why don't they provide a first world working environment and wages because thats what sinkees are paying. Sinkees are paying first world rates and earning third world wages.

Why is it in west blue collar workers are made up of locals and not FTs?

These cheap workers in the F& B and service sector gonna hurt the economy in the long run.

Sinkee companies here can never compete globally, their staff are made up of underpaid third world workers who are only concern about sending money back home to their village.

Imagine a company with 10 well paid and motivated staff compared to a company with 10 cheap workers. Which company gonna come in on top in terms of ideas and innovations?

Hire 10 well paid sinkies and INNOVATION is the last thing on earth you're going to get.

Sinkies are good at following orders and nothing much else. They'll throw in a bit of "wayang" along the way to give the appearance they're actually hard at work while they're actually surfing sammyboy during office hours. :p

i_am_belle

at $5 per hour, which s'porean wants to work in retail/F&B ?? :o

motuiti

So do you believe that government when they say that s'poreans don't want to do these jobs?

I think they can't afford to do these jobs!

chupacabra

Hire 10 well paid sinkies and INNOVATION is the last thing on earth you're going to get.

Sinkies are good at following orders and nothing much else. They'll throw in a bit of "wayang" along the way to give the appearance they're actually hard at work while they're actually surfing sammyboy during office hours. :p

You may be right. But I wasn't referring to sinkees anyway when I was talking about innovation.

Sinkee and innovation are two words not meant to be in the same sentence thanks to your favorite government the pap smears.

There's something about the way some china men and women that behave that makes u dislike them instantly. For some of them their looks makes u damn dislike them.

Hate their disgusting arrogant looks.

blackmore

There's something about the way some china men and women that behave that makes u dislike them instantly. For some of them their looks makes u damn dislike them.

Hate their disgusting arrogant looks.

I totally agree with you on that. You must be referring to the northern chinese buggers. Yes they do have that snob look that you would like to hit the face instantly.

The southern chinese have that everyday joe look.

cunnosieur

Lao Bang Lao Bang

Hiya Hiya

Lai ma Lai ma

Wo Fu Wu Heng Hao De

GUESS WHICH BANK GOT THE HOTTEST RELATIONSHIP MGRS?

For the first point, I think it's the minorities who should learn the majority's mother tongue language to adapt to the bigger environment. Like a foreigner would learn french in France or chinese in China.

That's in cases where there're indigenous languages and the indigenous speakers are in majority, e.g. French in France or Chinese in China. However, there's no such thing as the Singaporean language. Bahasa Melayu can be said to be the indigenous language of Singapore, but the Malays are in minority.

When did Singapore get constituted as an English-speaking country?

The Constitution and the Statutes of Singapore are all written in one language only, English. There's no official alternative language version like e.g. English and Chinese in Hong Kong or English and French in Canada.

This is a unfair world. Accept it, face it but with hope, not bitterness.

Agree.

TeeKee

The shit is hitting the fan.

Can businesses really afford to ignore non-Chinese customers?

i repeat, neber antangonise people who work in the food industry...you neber know what extra ingredients you are going get in your food...hehe...

one interesting story to note when i was ordering some noodles from a food court stall, realizing a PRC was serving me, i tried not to use the word mee pok, because it's hokkien, so i used no. xx from the menu, bloody hell, she ask if i wanted mee pok, very paisei leh....:biggrin:

maybe we all try to be less of a language supremacist and start to find out the reason for communication?

TeeKee

It's a difference of opinion. I believe we are Chinese by blood and Singapore with 75% chinese should be made a Chinese country in 1965 and not a English speaking country. You can't betray your roots. A Englishman is always a Englishman, A German is a German and a French is a French.

multi-racial. I don't know but 75% of a single race is a clear majority in a country. If 75% + 25% is your definition of multi-racial then China with 92% Han 1.14 billion + 8% 56 ethnic minorities groups, total 160 million is also a multi-racial country.

do you think a German blood can be used for transfusion for a Chinese fella, or a Englishman blood can be used as transfusion for a German fella?

char_jig_kar

http://dottsg.blogspot.com/2008/11/singapore-is-part-of-china.html

The shit is hitting the fan.

mandarin-only.gif

Can businesses really afford to ignore non-Chinese customers?

Just declare singapore is a ang moh country. Scrape off all asian languages. Okay? Like that no confusion liao. No more western wannabe. 'cause WE ARE WESTERNERS! WE DON'T SPEAK ASIAN LANGUAGE! OKAY?? JUST DECLARE TO THE WORLD: WE ARE ANG MOH! NO MORE CONFUSION AND BICKERING OVER LANGUAGES HERE IN THIS ISLAND.

char_jig_kar

Just come up with a legislation, its illegal for chinese to speak mandarin here in this country. Its against racial harmony. Minimum 1 week jail. Problem solve. Chinese speak Mandarin to other races such as Malay, or Indian? Thats lagi outrageous. Minimum 3 weeks jail.

char_jig_kar

Come up with a legislation, anything gotta do with Chinese culture and language here in this country, is against racial, religious or cultural harmony. Like that happy?

desperateuk

you should have taken the time and the effort to learn mandarin. you don't understand mandarin your business. obviously you don't study well in our schools. all our kids speak mandarin, including some non-chinese students.

it's an utter shame for chinese singaporeans not able to speak mandarin. it's a bloody shame. don't blame these mandarin speaking foreign workers. blame your own stupid brains and laziness. go and pick up mandarin. not to do so is to imperil yourself to future suffering. china is a economic giant.singapore is nothing - one small fart. go and learn mandarin otherwise you'll be left behind as the world marches forward.

blame yourself. stop blaming the mandarin speaking workers. no shame.

My avatar to you.

char_jig_kar

Another legislation to curb mandarin speaking in this country. Because ang moh language is the best, chinese parents speaking mandarin to kids will kind of like jeopardize the kid's future, thats just like child abuse, so minimum 2 months jail.