• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sam Leong's band of brothers - cyclists

cocobobo

It is the same with all sports.

One needs to play the game to appreciate the feats achieved by the sportsmen.

I have played many sports. Tennis. Basketball. Soccer. Golf. Badminton. Rugby. Softball. Table tennis.

I remember a good friend telling me tennis is such a slow game compared to badminton. He said the ball moves so much slower than the shuttlecock. Well when i took him to play a game of tennis with me he wasnt having any of that "tennis ball moving slowly" chasing my baseline drives at him or try to volley shots passing him. Lol!

So yes i understand there are many intricacies of the cycling sport which i do not appreciate because i have never participated in it.
Its a great weekend for all round sports lovers.... tdf, wimbledon, euros, f1, international rugby, copa america

Covid may not be real to you, but i'm sure lactic acid is

Covid is real and so is lactic acid but having been riding for so many years I have built up a reasonable FTP for my age of about 220W. However I'm now stuck at this number and no amount of training seems to improve it.

nayr69sg

Staff member
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/new...r-speeding-cyclist-tampines-15140374#cxrecs_s

who is the covidiot who says cyclists terrorize motorists again ?

Cyclists and motorists should not be on the same roads at the same time. It is simply dangerous. Disasters waiting to happen. Especially for the cyclists.

Common sense man. I mean for TDF they block off the roads for the race right? Imagine saying oh we can do it while there are drivers and buses on the roads as well......

But thats kind of what cyclists who cycle on the roada are expecting. That the cars and buses will watch out for them.

Reality. Many dont.

But you are right it is the cars terrorizing the cyclists not the other way round. What i dont understand is why knowing this cyclists still ride on roads and let themselves be terrorized? I think they are in denial.

Cyclists and motorists should not be on the same roads at the same time. It is simply dangerous. Disasters waiting to happen. Especially for the cyclists.

Common sense man. I mean for TDF they block off the roads for the race right? Imagine saying oh we can do it while there are drivers and buses on the roads as well......

But thats kind of what cyclists who cycle on the roada are expecting. That the cars and buses will watch out for them.

Reality. Many dont.

But you are right it is the cars terrorizing the cyclists not the other way round. What i dont understand is why knowing this cyclists still ride on roads and let themselves be terrorized? I think they are in denial.

There are many commuters who cannot afford a motorised vehicle so cycling is the next best option.

nayr69sg

Staff member
There are many commuters who cannot afford a motorised vehicle so cycling is the next best option.

We all have to make realistic choices.

There is public transport as well. Which may be safer but less convenient and more costly.

Riding PMD or bicycle or even motorcycle on the roads with cars, SUV, trucks, semi truck, concrete mixers, bus, double decker buses is not so safe in fact probablu quite dangerous. But yes probably cheaper and a lot more convenient.

We all make our choices. You have to accept the realities of each decision.

Trying to campaign for all motorized cars ans heavy vehicles to be banned from roads and have PMDs ans bikes instead is going to take a while to become reality if ever.

Meanwhile.....you got to choose.

LordElrond

Put all drivers through a test of how to pass a cyclist safety

0BE0946A-3FFC-4F4F-9823-545FCEB2FBB0.jpeg

LordElrond

We all have to make realistic choices.

There is public transport as well. Which may be safer but less convenient and more costly.

Riding PMD or bicycle or even motorcycle on the roads with cars, SUV, trucks, semi truck, concrete mixers, bus, double decker buses is not so safe in fact probablu quite dangerous. But yes probably cheaper and a lot more convenient.

We all make our choices. You have to accept the realities of each decision.

Trying to campaign for all motorized cars ans heavy vehicles to be banned from roads and have PMDs ans bikes instead is going to take a while to become reality if ever.

Meanwhile.....you got to choose.
All deaths and injuries happen on the road when someone makes a reckless move. It can happen to bicycles, pedestrians, motorcycles and cars. No one gets killed when everyone behaves. To take a specific mode of transport away for “greater good” is debatable, why bicycles? Why motorcycles? The solution is to penalise and correct the behaviours, not to ban one mode so that the idiot drivers can continue to behave badly. This is something we all live with. There are probably more people who die from smoking. Meanwhile the only deterrent is to increase the punishment. Increase the fine, permanent driving ban… whoever that tells me it is unfair for drivers… please I’ve been driving for 30 years and have never injured anyone.

nayr69sg

Staff member
All deaths and injuries happen on the road when someone makes a reckless move. It can happen to bicycles, pedestrians, motorcycles and cars. No one gets killed when everyone behaves. To take a specific mode of transport away for “greater good” is debatable, why bicycles? Why motorcycles? The solution is to penalise and correct the behaviours, not to ban one mode so that the idiot drivers can continue to behave badly. This is something we all live with. There are probably more people who die from smoking. Meanwhile the only deterrent is to increase the punishment. Increase the fine, permanent driving ban… whoever that tells me it is unfair for drivers… please I’ve been driving for 30 years and have never injured anyone.

I agree with you. No one should be forced to make a decision they do not want to make.

No bans. In fact they should allow pedestrkand to walk and run on roads together with cars bicycles and PMDs and concrete mixers and double decker buses. Jog with a baby in the stroller if you choose to.

If we all look out for one another no one will get hurt of course.

The question though is what is the objective of the roads?

We could also do the same and allow anyone to use train tracks for running as well. All we need is for the trains to look out for people too.

Airport runways are wide and long. Great for car enthusiasts who wish to race cars. Why are cars banned? The planes should look out for cars no one will be hurt.

LordElrond

I agree with you. No one should be forced to make a decision they do not want to make.

No bans. In fact they should allow pedestrkand to walk and run on roads together with cars bicycles and PMDs and concrete mixers and double decker buses. Jog with a baby in the stroller if you choose to.

If we all look out for one another no one will get hurt of course.

The question though is what is the objective of the roads?

We could also do the same and allow anyone to use train tracks for running as well. All we need is for the trains to look out for people too.

Airport runways are wide and long. Great for car enthusiasts who wish to race cars. Why are cars banned? The planes should look out for cars no one will be hurt.
That’s pushing it a bit far isn’t it? Roads are meant for anything with two wheels and above, these mode of transport has been on the roads before I was born, bikes were on the roads before cars were invented, roads are built for all these modes of transport, it is allowed internationally in any civilised country in the world, government designates where what vehicles should be… now you’re making an analogy to asking baby strollers to go on the roads, cars to go onto airport runaways, planes to go into the sea. Come’ on.., I don’t expect that to come from a reasonable man like you.

nayr69sg

Staff member
That’s pushing it a bit far isn’t it? Roads are meant for anything with two wheels and above, these mode of transport has been on the roads before I was born, bikes were on the roads before cars were invented, roads are built for all these modes of transport, it is allowed internationally in any civilised country in the world, government designates where what vehicles should be… now you’re making an analogy to asking baby strollers to go on the roads, cars to go onto airport runaways, planes to go into the sea. Come’ on.., I don’t expect that to come from a reasonable man like you.

I am not serious when I suggest all those.

Just playing devil's advocate when it comes to safety.

The reality is that it isnt that safe for cyclists on roads anymore.

Another type of mode of transport was also on roads before even bicycles. Horses. Horse drawn carriages. Is it safe to have that now? No.

Anyway cycling is still allowed and legal. People choose to cycle.....at their own risk. I dont rhink you can dispute that simple statement from me. Can we make it safer? Sure. Build dedicated cycling tracks for cyclists cant get better than that.

porcaputtana

Cycling will be safe when motorists temper their inflated sense of entitlement and mature up to show some grace and courtesy towards more vulnerable road users.

My man Pogacar revealed his hands and into the maillot jaune.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Cycling will be safe when motorists temper their inflated sense of entitlement and mature up to show some grace and courtesy towards more vulnerable road users.

I agree wholeheartedly with you.

Where I live the cyclist and motorists get along well on the roads. But rhe roads arent too busy. Also we dont have too many buses and heavy vehicles driving within the city limits.

In cities where the lanes are narrow and traffic is very heavy with both heavy vehicles and buses all squeezing and cramming it is just too tall an order.

I think the litmus test is whether drivers of cars can tahan other car drivers. If already very hard then adding cyclists to the mix is just aggravating things and the ones at mortal danger are the cyclists.

I wouldnt trust other drivers to look out for my son if he cycling in Singapore. Sorry. That's honest opinion from me.

talk cock lah. how to mature when millions of teens graduate from high school every year, and mommy and daddy spoil precious baby with not a honda civic nor toyota corolla but a 369hp m4 or a 400hp amg? the billionaire hubby of one of sg’s most wealthy ladies died when he was cruising carefully with his fully restored classic dream car (seat belts but no airbags) on a highway when he was hit (and rolled over) by a 19-year old driving a bmw 5-series at very high speed. funeral and memorial was last week. rip.

nayr69sg

Staff member
download.jpeg

motorist-roads-PIE-avoid-peak-hour-rush-singapore-2019.jpg

motorist-roads-TPE-avoid-peak-hour-rush-singapore-2019.jpg

The roads in Singapore are something like this during peak hours....everyday.....i cant imagine expecting to cycle safely in those road conditions daily. (That's what we are speaking of when we say using cycling as a mode of transportation in sg right?)

nayr69sg

Staff member
talk cock. how to mature when millions of teens graduate from high school every year, and mommy and daddy spoil precious baby with not a honda civic nor toyota corolla but a 369hp m4 or a 400hp amg? the billionaire hubby of one of sg’s most wealthy ladies died when he was cruising carefully with his fully restored classic dream car (seat belts but no airbags) on a highway when he was hit (and rolled over) by a 19-year old driving a bmw 5-series at very high speed. funeral and memorial was last week. rip.
Sad. Already car vs car can kena crash and driver died!

Much less cyclist on a bicycle.

I am not defending the motorists. They are guilty as hell. Killers on the road. But you have to be realistic about the road conditions how heavy traffic is congestion culture how the society values other people above themselves etc.

If it isnt safe it isn't safe no matter how you wish and think it should be safe.

Maybe someday. But not yet.

View attachment 115422
View attachment 115423

View attachment 115424

The roads in Singapore are something like this during peak hours....everyday.....i cant imagine expecting to cycle safely in those road conditions daily. (That's what we are speaking of when we say using cycling as a mode of transportation in sg right?)
not only that, unlike over a hundred years ago when bicycles could safely co-exist with bullock carts, horse-drawn carriages, early automobiles (including electric cars in those days), trishaws, rickshaws, horses, vehicles these days that share the roadways are different beasts - 18 wheelers, double-container rigs, dirt haulers, low loaders, trucks, vans, buses, (faster, more powderful, and more nimble cars), and motorbikes. the gig economy has caused more of the logistics and utility type vehicles to go on the road - rigs, trucks, vans, pickups, suvs, and of course, cars and motorbikes delivering parcels and food to households. and they are zipping in and out trying to make ends meet. road use has evolved, and the rush to meet deliveries pose worse dangers to cyclists. that’s why cities and counties in sillycon valley have decided (from too many accidents involving motorists, cyclists, pedestrians) based on real data to segregate pathways and lanes between 3 main groups of users - motorists, cyclists and pmd users, pedestrians - to at least reduce accident rates year on year. in 6.9 cities we now have dedicated sidewalks for pedestrians only (no bicycles and pmds), dedicated green bike lanes for cyclists and pmd riders, and roadway lanes for vehicles only (cyclists and pmd riders on them will get fined). i’m surprised to see the same dedicated paths being constructed in pleasanton, a small town in the east bay where it isn’t as congested nor busy like sf, oakland, and sj. on rural and suburban roadways, roadies can still share the road as they are not as busy and congested like in a typical city. at least the geography is huge in the bay area, and roadies can find long secluded rural roads free of hikers and pedestrians for their tdf-wannabe races. sg is too small, too dense, and too urbanized. and tdf wannabes eek out whatever slivers of “highways” to do their speed thrills? actually very pitiful and hilarious at the same time. i have a good laugh everytime i hear that darwinian nonsense.

It's not just traffic that cyclists have to battle against.