• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SAF MO scolds sick NSman: You can only report sick if you collapse!

We are discussing about this NSman reporting sick during a RT Training why are you linking to the introduction of NS Service? Anything wrong for this chap to take precaution of his own safety? Does it mean it takes the life of the NSman for you to say the M.O is clearly at fault for not excusing the NSman from the training since the NSman has reportedly declared unwell?

My apologies for going off track.

I'd be the one of the first to speak up against negligence but this isn't the case here. It's about risk analysis. Life is all about weighing risks against consequences. We do it subconsciously on a daily basis and organisations do it as part and parcel of policy.

Take the airline industry as an example.. planes could be made safer than they are today but that would add significant cost to the point where the ordinary man would no longer be able to afford to take to the skies. A balance therefore has to be achieved between risks and cost factors and a compromise agreed upon which is practical and workable.

In a hospital setting, wouldn't it be great if each and every patient was assigned a full time nurse 24 hours a day from the moment of admission. The nurse could watch vital signs and monitor all the equipment and the probability of dying in hospital could be greatly reduced.

In reality, all each patient gets is a button to press and that includes first class patients (ruling elite excluded). If a patient has a sudden seizure, we all know full well he/she won't be able to hit the alert button in time. However, it's a compromise that is generally acceptable.

We are talking about symptoms which may be hazardous.
If there's some symptom of a plane's engine not working well, it shall be grounded, inspected, rectified before taking off.
If a patient has some symptom of critical condition, he or she will be transferred to the ICU.
In this case, the NSman has a symptom of body not feeling well, he reported sick. What's wrong?

If realism isn't achieved during peacetime training, you can forget about winning any war. In fact, many armies put their trainees through greater stresses during exercises than they would normally encounter in real battleground situations.

As for those who collapsed and died during RT, all I can say is that it's nature's way of weeding out the weakest links. Hopefully, it prevents the defective genes from being passed on to the next generation.

crap lah! i never trust MO. all they do is dispense panadol!

what makes you think that SAF is capable to engage a battle. if a war really break out, i think a lot of rich brat sons will awol first, then our ally USA will send in their carrier and dock in our deep water harbour. these days, we better befriend china as well, you never know if US will still be our world police.

Let me share another of my personal experience. During my NSF stint, i was down with fever on a Sunday morning. I went to SGH Outpatient to visit a doctor. I was diagnosed with fever and cough by the doctor. He was preparing to sign on the MC when he asked me this question. What are you working as? I replied, NSF. He puts the MC booklet back to it's original place. On my way home, i visited a GP near where i reside. I got a 2 days MC. As much as i would want to follow the National Service "Protocols", i realised it's all crap.

Bro I hate pappies, not that I condone the MO but the RT guy is an idiot in the first place. Who go RT will report sick, just fall out can liao

I thought so too. That's why i will give benefit of doubts.
The NSman mentioned that it was the PTI who wants him to see M.O. The M.O told him, he can just fallout out, no need to report sick.
The NSman should tell the M.O that it was the PTI who wanted him to do so. Read the story again.
M.O probably lost alot in Euro Cup. He should come here to gather some tips. :D
I thought there are medics there to advise.:rolleyes:

When it comes to disputes between Medical Officers and NS men, I will always take the side of the MOs as I know exactly how NS men try to feign illness. I did this by planting a spy amongst the men under my command.

When I was in the army, my favorite hobby was charging NS men for malingering.

Let me share another of my personal experience. During my NSF stint, i was down with fever on a Sunday morning. I went to SGH Outpatient to visit a doctor. I was diagnosed with fever and cough by the doctor. He was preparing to sign on the MC when he asked me this question. What are you working as? I replied, NSF. He puts the MC booklet back to it's original place. On my way home, i visited a GP near where i reside. I got a 2 days MC. As much as i would want to follow the National Service "Protocols", i realised it's all crap.

I tot i the only one kenna this type of treatment by govt doctors. I even kenna two times, those motherfarker govt doctors think everyone in NSF only know to keng.

first time, i on block leave, kenna cough two weeks oredy so go polyclinic in the afternoon to get some better quality medicine than army issue. Everything was fine, the lady doc advise better take xray since cough so long, then she ask what was i doing. i reply NSF. Then she ask where, Tekong i replied(on attachment). suddenly she turn nasty and asked why hair still so long. at first i a bit blur, then it dawned on me that she tot i recruit. Why neber report sick? why this why that.... i sibeh toolan, i said doc, i only want some better quality medicine and i am on leave so i not wanting any MC in the first place and walked out of the consultation room.

then still at tekong attachment, kenna high fever, 40 degree so kenna sickbay "tiao shui". afternoon MO examined again, fever still high so medievac out of the island to changi hospital. That time i in PT kit, lucky got bring wallet, was sent to CGH via CO personal boat then SAF ambulance to CGH. the medic register me as per normal, but due to fever and lack of warm clothing, i suffer shivering in the aircon A&E. waited one hr plus, finally see the doc. The farker face black black, and jam the thermometer into my ear without saying a word. The readout show 38+ and he beri behsong and shouted where got high fever. KNN, i medievac by the MO, CGH doc not happy can call back camp. The doc then fark the accompanying medic and ordered the medic to send me back camp. It abt to 1900hrs liao, where got bumboat back to tekong. then find a public telephone (those day HP very expensive) and call coyline. CSM more reasonable, tell me to go home see GP then call back to inform on MC status. lucky i hold on to the wallet, so can take bus from CGH back home to see neighbourhood GP. the ah pek GP told me because i kenna dripped two packet water and the aircon cause my core temperature to drop. When GP examined, i went up 39+ again. Give me antibodies, fever medicine plus three days MC. CSM very good, said i just stay home till MC finish then return, no need to endorse MC. Too bad that time i fever till blur blur, if not i will take down the farker name to complain him to the hospital.

When it comes to disputes between Medical Officers and NS men, I will always take the side of the MOs as I know exactly how NS men try to feign illness. I did this by planting a spy amongst the men under my command.

When I was in the army, my favorite hobby was charging NS men for malingering.

The NS men you referring to are reservist right? I have a feeling you have been talking about NSF here......

I tot i the only one kenna this type of treatment by govt doctors. I even kenna two times, those motherfarker govt doctors think everyone in NSF only know to keng.

first time, i on block leave, kenna cough two weeks oredy so go polyclinic in the afternoon to get some better quality medicine than army issue. Everything was fine, the lady doc advise better take xray since cough so long, then she ask what was i doing. i reply NSF. Then she ask where, Tekong i replied(on attachment). suddenly she turn nasty and asked why hair still so long. at first i a bit blur, then it dawned on me that she tot i recruit. Why neber report sick? why this why that.... i sibeh toolan, i said doc, i only want some better quality medicine and i am on leave so i not wanting any MC in the first place and walked out of the consultation room.

then still at tekong attachment, kenna high fever, 40 degree so kenna sickbay "tiao shui". afternoon MO examined again, fever still high so medievac out of the island to changi hospital. That time i in PT kit, lucky got bring wallet, was sent to CGH via CO personal boat then SAF ambulance to CGH. the medic register me as per normal, but due to fever and lack of warm clothing, i suffer shivering in the aircon A&E. waited one hr plus, finally see the doc. The farker face black black, and jam the thermometer into my ear without saying a word. The readout show 38+ and he beri behsong and shouted where got high fever. KNN, i medievac by the MO, CGH doc not happy can call back camp. The doc then fark the accompanying medic and ordered the medic to send me back camp. It abt to 1900hrs liao, where got bumboat back to tekong. then find a public telephone (those day HP very expensive) and call coyline. CSM more reasonable, tell me to go home see GP then call back to inform on MC status. lucky i hold on to the wallet, so can take bus from CGH back home to see neighbourhood GP. the ah pek GP told me because i kenna dripped two packet water and the aircon cause my core temperature to drop. When GP examined, i went up 39+ again. Give me antibodies, fever medicine plus three days MC. CSM very good, said i just stay home till MC finish then return, no need to endorse MC. Too bad that time i fever till blur blur, if not i will take down the farker name to complain him to the hospital.

When i kena this incident, i know many out there will kena too. Was damn sick that day, waited for half a day. I remember temp was 38.x. Your CGH incident very terok. KNN, luckily you got a good CSM.

Risk analysis is not exclusive to the private sector. Public hospitals weigh the pros and cons of many of their procedures and adopt certain policies and procedures only if the benefits outweigh the risks.

blah blah blah... u have deliberately avoided my point: i am saying it is unconscionable for a lower standard of care to be applied under the guise of risk analysis in the case of NS because it is compulsory by law.

a sick man can choose a better hospital or even go to a malaysian private hospital etc. he can have a choice of hospitals.

can the average citizen, who is not son of tony tan, choose his own vocation?

blah blah blah... u have deliberately avoided my point: i am saying it is unconscionable for a lower standard of care to be applied under the guise of risk analysis in the case of NS because it is compulsory by law.

All Enlistees go through the same medical screening process regardless of their status in society.

yes and the rich ones will buy their way out of the system. great way your country is set up to be run. let the poor die due to negligence by the state.

It's the same the world over. Wealth and position has its privileges. The sooner you come to terms with this fact of life, the better it will be for you.

You epitomise the exact definition of hypocrisy. I still remember the mention of the middle finger to Singapore on the plane out.

I'm a realist. Human nature's the same the world over. It's part of the species.

If wealth and power brought nothing positive, the human race wouldn't spend their whole lives chasing success.