• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SAF guniang cries bec of 8 km road march

†††††

Gen Y soldiers soft? Not us

I REFER to the commentary by senior writer William Choong ('Are Gen Y soldiers soft?'; last Friday). I was in the same basic military training unit that was shadowed by the filming crew of reality TV series Every Singaporean Son.

The article suggests that we are soft because we were seen crying in the Breaking Point episode, after successfully completing a gruelling field camp. We didn't break down because the field camp training was tough.

In fact, we had gritted our teeth and pulled through five days of strenuous training. It was an extremely tough experience, as it was our first field camp since our enlistment.

It began with an 8km route march, after which many of us were near exhaustion due to the heat in Pulau Tekong. Yet, we continued with the training, despite having to spray cold water over ourselves to cool down.

We cried because as a result of that experience, we realised the importance of our family - the care they provide us, the love they give us and the joy they share with us.

We knew then that we were training for a reason - to protect our families.

There is nothing wrong with tears as an emotional expression or outlet. Crying does not mean one is soft, and stifling one's tears is not necessarily a good thing. Perhaps our generation no longer holds on to the stereotype that 'strong men don't cry'.

An army of soldiers who believe in their country is a greater deterrent than an army of soldiers lacking a sense of purpose, no matter how strong or rugged they are - especially now when soft power precedes brute force.

Eruza Tan

It began with an 8km route march, after which many of us were near exhaustion due to the heat in Pulau Tekong. Yet, we continued with the training, despite having to spray cold water over ourselves to cool down.

We cried because as a result of that experience, we realised the importance of our family - the care they provide us, the love they give us and the joy they share with us.

That is so wayang.

Come on lah. This kind of thing is so common for cool guys that did physical training in their school days. Just do some exercise and starts to talk about protecting family? WHat bullshit is that?

During my time, most of my frens are sports buff and athletics of their own kind. During BMT, they will trying to win each other in 2.4km each of them run at sub 9 and 8 mins. Many of them go to OCS.

Just a road stroll and start to think so much and talk like some one who go through tons of hardship and years of war. WHAT THE HELL IS THAT?

We knew then that we were training for a reason - to protect our families
Really? I thought it was for the platoon commander and his cronies to get their kicks by tekkaning us.

Arnold, STallone, and Bruce neber cry ok?

I recall doing 30km Forced march with FBO, took the whole day. After the first 1 hour, u already feel like dropping. What the hell is 8km? A walk in the park?

i uses to walk from eunos to east coast mcdonald, that about 7km liao
and back to eunos another 7km, that 14 kms.

didn't realise I am so fit

Eruza Tan

Idiot, you want to protect your family then better migrate. Why fight for a losing cause.

That is so wayang.

Come on lah. This kind of thing is so common for cool guys that did physical training in their school days. Just do some exercise and starts to talk about protecting family? WHat bullshit is that?

During my time, most of my frens are sports buff and athletics of their own kind. During BMT, they will trying to win each other in 2.4km each of them run at sub 9 and 8 mins. Many of them go to OCS.

Just a road stroll and start to think so much and talk like some one who go through tons of hardship and years of war. WHAT THE HELL IS THAT?
\

CB kia tonychat,

amny of your frens go ocs. so? what about u? chow pte is it:D fucking fatty okt.

fuck you lah. what a disgrace. uncle i pass-out from ocs ok. pui:oIo::oIo:

i uses to walk from eunos to east coast mcdonald, that about 7km liao
and back to eunos another 7km, that 14 kms.

didn't realise I am so fit

Not the same lah. Route march is with FBO, thats 40lb backpack, rifle, ammo, canteen, etc.

erm??? lets start by trying to convince me that eruza is not a sissy name for a guy.

Eruza is Azure spelled backwards. Anyone who uses azure in normal conversations to describe a colour -> GAY. :D

In short, they were crying for mummy.

This country is doomed.

In this modern times, why do our soldiers still need to walk for more than 5KM to attack an objective? Use Transport lah... Walk - tired out the soldiers how then to fight?

These days I dont know what those wankers are crying for. The dont have

1. Stand by bed in parade square
2. Change parade
3. Stand by rifle - min 200-300 pushups per session, ranger jumps not counted yet.
4. Hokkien Peng cook sergent and cooks to deal with
5. Stand by area
6. and the list goes on...

8 klicks is holiday camp almost like "CO nite"

When do soldiers break down, if they do at all - Its during the advance combat course post BMT, and the thing is, the fitter they are, the more prone that they will break down and go out of course..during my time GPMG / MORTAR and 106 recoilless rifle course, the out of course rate is as high as 20% and within these 20%, 90% pf them are muscular hunk body kinda guys, those fat fuck spectacles blokes are the better ones in passing through the courses...

These days I dont know what those wankers are crying for. The dont have

1. Stand by bed in parade square
2. Change parade
3. Stand by rifle - min 200-300 pushups per session, ranger jumps not counted yet.
4. Hokkien Peng cook sergent and cooks to deal with
5. Stand by area
6. and the list goes on...

8 klicks is holiday camp almost like "CO nite"

When do soldiers break down, if they do at all - Its during the advance combat course post BMT, and the thing is, the fitter they are, the more prone that they will break down and go out of course..during my time GPMG / MORTAR and 106 recoilless rifle course, the out of course rate is as high as 20% and within these 20%, 90% pf them are muscular hunk body kinda guys, those fat fuck spectacles blokes are the better ones in passing through the courses...

ah? i no change parade? lol i remember lunch and dinner time, kena tekan by the cooks. ask for more rice they give less, ask for less they give more. orange and apple throw on my tray and bounce off onto the floor! the good old days!

8km crying like baby. If put this fellow in war zone he will piss in the pant and fainted when hera a bomb 1 km away.
Look like NS only train sissy. Singapore are doom don't talk about war anymore.!

In this modern times, why do our soldiers still need to walk for more than 5KM to attack an objective? Use Transport lah... Walk - tired out the soldiers how then to fight?

[COLOR="_______"]Now don't even need to walk 100 meters. You ask PAP and they will tell you your enemy is staying just next door, few steps away. Trained to attack? myfoot!!! PAP has already welcomed them with open arms and LEGS too. Our country and its assets have been slowly sold years ago. Please wake up![/COLOR]

That is so wayang.

So did u pass out BMT? or recourse till your 2 years is up? Cmon Mr Tony Chat... Dun keep deceiving yourself. machiam you are so high up in the sky...

CB kia tonychat is those obesse 5 month bmt type. when he look down, he cannot even see his tiny kukucheow, his ernomous tummy will block his view. :D