• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Rubbish

CPTMiller

What To Dabao At These Hawker Centres In Singapore

Whampoa Food Centre

Whampoa Food Centre or Whampoa Makan Place has always been a dependable hawker centre for good food, and there are several stalls here that keep attracting lines.

There are also two sides here, Block 91 which is mainly catered to the morning crowd, while Block 90 has many stalls that open lunch or dinner onwards.

Stalls to queue for:
Beach Road Fish Head Bee Hoon comes in a flavourful fish stock that retains its original taste even with the addition of milk.
– Mat Noh & Rose Authentic Ginger Fried Chicken Rice is for their authentic ginger fried chicken rice, along with other traditional Singaporean delights. You can also order a variety of sides to go with the food to make it a complete meal.
– Best Lu Mian In Town with generous serving size of Lor Mee with ample amounts of pork, fried fish, and even some crisp chicken pieces.

Stalls to queue for:
Xing Ji Rou Cuo Mian with Minced Pork Noodle Soup which looked deceivingly light but was really flavoursome.
– Seng Hiang Bak Chor Mee also stands out for its delectably divine, soupy bowl of Bak Chor Mee.
Shi Wei Da serving Satay Beehoon with sauce which was rich, unique and tasty.

View attachment 121974

View attachment 121975

View attachment 121976
Whampoa Market hawker centre one of my frequent place.
Block 91 stalls mostly open morning and closed afternoon.
Block 90 stalls mostly open noon and closed evening

Where To Dabao The Best Roti Prata In Singapore

2. Sin Ming Roti Prata

AAO538g.img

Sin Ming Roti Prata is best known for its coin prata (S$4 for 6), which is made by rolling and twisting the dough into a circular shape prior to frying. The end result consists of crispy parcels of dough that flake similarly to perfectly baked croissants. Pair with a side of tender mutton curry for a meal that hits the spot.

(Image credit: @goodfomood)

Sin Ming Roti Prata

Address #01, 24 Sin Ming Rd, 51 Jin Fa Kopitiam, 570024

Phone +65 6453 3893

3. Springleaf Prata Place

AAO4V9p.img

Springleaf Prata Place offers over twenty types of savoury prata and a respectable selection of dessert versions. Pick from classics such as cheese (S$2.70), onion (S$1.70), plaster (which hides an egg within)(S$2.10), or banana(S$3.50). If you’re feeling adventurous — or sacrilegious, some might say– go for the more unconventional options such as portobello mozzarella (S$5.40)or mushroom, egg, and tomato (S$3.80).

(Image credit: @gninethree)

Springleaf Prata Place

Address 1 West Coast Drive, #01-108/9 128020 Singapore

Phone +65 9711 6159

4. Master Prata

AAO55KN.img

Master Prata is a must-try when you’re next in the Alexandra area. The stall prides itself in making the dough in-house according to a family recipe — rather than outsourcing it from factories– and offers an astounding 108 types of prata. Many say the kosong prata (S$1.20) is perfectly fragrant on its own and best paired with a glass of steaming hot teh halia (ginger tea).

(Image credit: @thesilverchef)

Master Prata

Address 321 Alexandra Rd, Singapore 159971

Phone +65 8268 8210

5. Casuarina Curry

AAO4YLS.img

Casuarina Curry is an iconic second-generation Indian restaurant boasting some of the best prata and curry in town. Purists will be pleased to tuck into the plain (S$1.30), egg (S$2.10), or onion (S$1.90) options, whereas the more adventurous can go for the banana chocolate or sausage roll variants. Other highlights here include fish head curry (from S$18) and mutton murtabak (from S$7.50).

(Image credit: Casuarina Curry)

Casuarina Curry

Address 136 Casuarina Road

Phone +65 6455 9093

6. The Roti Prata House

AAO55S2.img

The Roti Prata House is renowned for serving up some of the best prata in Singapore. The prata here is crispy on the outside, chewy on the inside, and perfumed with the aroma of ghee. There are over 80 varieties available, encompassing everything from the classic egg and onion renditions to unconventional options like bomb kaya and durian. All this means is that you’ll be back again and again to eat your way through the entire menu.

(Image credit: @indulgentprose)

The Roti Prata House

Address 246M/246K Upper Thomson Rd Singapore 574370

Phone +65 6459 5260

7. Rahmath Cheese Prata

AAO53fD.img

Rahmath is the go-to prata spot for many Toa Payoh residents. Expect long queues but many believe the buttery, freshly cooked slices of dough are worth the wait. In spite of its name, diners rave about the egg prata (S$1.50) and its crispy, fluffy texture. Be sure to arrive before 1:30 pm though, as the store only sells mee goreng after that.

(Image credit: @george.kooi)

Rahmath Cheese Prata

Address #01-08, 74 Lor 4 Toa Payoh, Singapore 310074

Phone +65 8712 9115

What To Dabao From Newton Food Centre In Singapore

1. Chilli Crab and Sambal Stingray

103233_800x.jpg

Image Credit: jh_tan84
103240_800x.jpg

Image Credit: Amy W
It would be a gross understatement to say that Newton Food Centre is famous for its seafood. After all, there are around 30 stalls serving up their own rendition of your favourite dishes – with this much competition, you know that they all have to be good to stay in the game. Unsurprisingly, the most popular dish is one that has propelled Singapore’s name worldwide; chilli crab! Listed at #35 out of the World’s 50 most delicious foods, this dish comprises of a stir-fried crab doused with a hearty tomato-based chilli sauce. Eating this is an experience in itself, and you have to get your hands dirty before you can savour the succulent, flavourful crab meat. Definitely worth the mess! Crabs and other shellfish tend to be priced in terms of their weight, and the average price of a crab between 750g and 800g is $36.

The sambal stingray is also another hot favourite, pun intended. After the stingray has been been barbecued and infused with a rich smoky flavour, it is drenched with sambal chilli. This sauce is a mix of chili peppers, shrimp paste, fish sauce, lime juice, and other spices that come together to make your mouth water. Although it may be spicy for some (like me), it is hard to resist this perfect combination of flavours, so just get your drinks on standby. Stalls tend to sell this dish in varying sizes, and the prices may range from $12 to $20.

One of the most highly raved about seafood stalls at the food centre has got to be Alliance Seafood (#01-027), which clinched the Michelin Bib Gourmand Awards in both 2016 and 2017. It opens daily from 1pm to 2am (except for Wednesday), so head on down to try out the chilli crab, sambal stingray and other delectable seafood!

2. Fried Prawn Mee

103236_800x.jpg

Image Credit: Jpatokal
Fried prawn noodles, referred to affectionately as Hokkien Mee by locals, is a staple in the Singaporean food experience. Deviating from the original Fujian version, this dish is made by stir-frying a combination of thin yellow noodles and vermicelli with concentrated chicken stock, prawns, squid, pork belly, and beansprouts. The result? A delicious savoury meal that guarantees you a pop of flavor with each mouthful! Squeeze the lime over the noodles to get a punch of acidity, and mix in the sambal chilli if you’re feeling adventurous.

If you want to go for the gold and try out Newton’s best fried prawn noodles, check out Kwang Huat Prawn Noodle (#01-015), which serves a generous portion at an inexpensive $5 a bowl. Known for opening a bit later in the day, pay it a visit if you are there for dinner or supper.

3. Oyster Omelette

103237_800x.jpg

Image Credit: Terence Ong
Even though it might look deceptively simple, this oyster dish definitely has an unprecedented depth of flavour. The most unique thing about the omelette is that starch is added to the egg batter when it is being fried, creating a thick and chewy texture that is crisp around the edges. Fresh oysters are added to the wok, and their natural sweetness complement the omelette well. Personally, this dish is my favourite comfort food, and I don’t think I could ever get tired of this eggy goodness!

Given that the whole store is dedicated to the dish, it’s no surprise that Hup Kee Fried Oyster Omelette (#01-073) does it well. It offers both the Oyster Omelette and the ‘Oyster and Egg’, which is a variant that does not contain starch. Prices range from $6 to $10 and the store opens daily from 6pm to 1am (except for Wednesday).

4. Popiah

103238_800x.jpg

Image Credit: Insatiablemunch
Popiah, which is Teochew for ‘thin pancake’, is a yummy snack that is cut up into bite-sized portions. It is similar to a spring roll, where the thin crepe-like skin wraps around a chock full of fillings. The most fundamental ingredient is shredded turnip soaked in stock, but other components like sweet sauce, egg, lettuce and prawns may be included as well. Each bite promises to pack a whole punch of flavour, so you’d probably be going at it mouth after mouth.

Bee Hiang Popiah (#01-012) is a top favourite among Singaporeans, and has been featured in the local newspapers for its brisk business. Each row of popiah is sold for $2.20, and there is a minimum of two rows per order. The stall is open from 11.45am to 11pm daily (except for Monday).

5. Satay

103239_800x.jpg

Image Credit: ProjectManhattan
Meat on a stick – what could go wrong? Satay is a form of skewered meat, typically chicken, pork or mutton, that is grilled over a charcoal fire. The skewers are then served up with peanut sauce and fresh side dishes, such as raw onions, cucumbers and ketupat (a diamond-shaped rice dumpling). Since there is typically a minimum order of either five or ten sticks per type of meat, this fuss-free dish is perfect for sharing between you and your other ravenous friends!

For our Muslim friends, Satay Sedap (#01-067) is a recommended halal option, and even offers unique satay options such as skewered prawns. Otherwise, if you would like to try out pork satay, TKR (#01-50) is a non-halal option that offers skewers at $0.60 each. In addition, they are popular for their barbecued chicken wings, which are sold at $1.30 each. The stall opens daily, from 10am to 2am.

6. Nasi Briyani and Chicken Tikka Masala

103271_800x.jpg

Image Credit: Garrett Ziegler
Singapore is renowned for being a diverse and multicultural city, and this is reflected in our food as well. Aside from dishes that have Chinese or Malay origins, Newton Food Centre also boasts a variety of Indian food stalls.

One of the most fundamental Indian dishes, Nasi Briyani, is a staple food that consists of long grained rice mixed with different spices, meat (either mutton, chicken, beef or fish) and sometimes even egg. The dish is made appetising not only by its depth of flavors, but also its aromatic fragrance and vibrant colours.

103269_800x.jpg

Chicken Tikka Masala | Image Credit: frothymilk
Many people like to pair their staple with a sauce or soup based dish, such as the Chicken Tikka Masala and Kambing Soup (Mutton-Soup). The chicken tikka masala is essentially a chicken curry dish, but is made unique by the addition of a cream base (such as yoghurt) and a special masala spice mix. On the other hand, kambing soup is a hearty bowl of soup that consists of tender mutton meat that has been stewed in tomatoes, celery, onions and other herbs. The abundance of herbs and spices in both these dishes creates a rich flavour, and you’ll keep going back for more.

To get your hands on some tasty Indian cuisine, Indian Palace (#01-044 and #01-064) has been touted as one of the best stalls to do so. While prices may seem a little higher than that of other dishes in the food centre, they are certainly worth it for the authentic Indian flavours. The stall is open daily from 8am to 1am.

7. Drinks – Sugarcane or Coconut Juice

103234_800x.jpg

Image Credit: MyguideSingapore
While you’re enjoying all those delicacies, you’re probably craving for something to quench your thirst. Instead of reverting to your usual favourites like Coke or Sprite, the best drinks to have with Singaporean cuisine are…Singaporean drinks! Most of the drinks stalls at Newton Food Centre will not only offer a selection of canned drinks, but also local specialties like sugarcane and coconut juice. These options are as fresh as it gets – watch as the shop owner work his magic, and turn those sturdy sugarcane shoots into a refreshing drink right before your very eyes.

8. Traditional Desserts

103245_800x.jpg

Cheng tng (top), ice kachang (bottom left) and tau suan (bottom right) | Image Credit: Kyle Lam (top), Grace (bottom left), Lim Ashley (bottom right)
We all have a stomach for food… and a separate one for desserts! To end your food journey at Newton Food Centre, try out some traditional desserts to wrap up your entire meal. Available in both hot and cold options, these desserts are not only refreshing but also help to cleanse your palate. Local favourites include cheng tng (a clear sweet soup that has gingko nuts, white fungus, dried longans, dates and other nutritive ingredients), ice kachang (a mountain of shaved ice that conceals beans, jelly and corn underneath) and tau suan (split mung beans and fried dough fritters).

To satiate the sweet tooth, try these desserts out at 88 San Ren Cold and Hot Dessert (#01-005). Prices of the desserts range from $2.00 to $4.50. The stall is opened daily from 11am to 11pm (except for Wednesday).

Where To Dabao Breakfast & Brunch In Singapore

Baker & Cook​

best breakfast cafe in singapore

© Provided by The Asian Parent best breakfast cafe in singapore
Image source: Facebook / Baker & Cook Singapore

You can enjoy a good plate of breakfast or brunch at Baker & Cook as they have a wide variety of meals fit for the morning.

Indulge in some Eggs Benedict, B&C Toast of the Day, B&C Healthy Plate and so much more! You can also try out their crowd favourites from B&C Tartines (French Open-Faced Sandwich), Cobb Bowl to B&C Bowl.

Of course, they also serve an assortment of hot and cold drinks such as an Allpress Espresso Coffee from New Zealand and a Tea Pigs Tea from the UK.

Where To Dabao Breakfast & Brunch In Singapore

Bee’s Knees At The Garage​

a bowl of food on a table

© Provided by The Asian Parent
Image source: Bee’s Knees website
Located right in the middle of the Botanic Gardens, Bee’s Knees At The Garage has an all-day dining menu including, of course, hearty breakfast meals.

They offer dishes made from the freshest ingredients and at affordable prices.

Enjoy good food in a calming safe space away from the bustling city. You can also bring along the kids and your pets as the shop has a garden playground for them to play around in.

Location: 50 Cluny Park Road, Level 1 Singapore Botanic Gardens, Singapore 257488